BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maitz- Plumbing Heating Air Conditioning Electrical Water Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Maitz- Plumbing Heating Air Conditioning Electrical Water Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1950 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA005662.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David Dewalt, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Dewalt, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Plumbers Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians

Alternate Business Names
Maitz Home Services

Additional Locations

  • 2 N Main St Ste B

    Topton, PA 19562 (610) 376-7666

  • 30 S Sitgreaves St

    Easton, PA 18042 (610) 252-4979

  • 354 W Susquehanna St

    Allentown, PA 18103 (610) 797-8722


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They came to my home two days in a row had pipes blocked in upstairs bathroom unable to use only bathroom in home shared piping with neighbors home. Quoted a price to repair of 2756.00 which to rip part of a wall out replace old copper piping with pvc and couplings (cost of material is around $30) is outrageous price. I was in a jam needed work done with 5 people living in my home two young children. Charged for work one of 679 for removing toilet and snaking the line. Second day had water damage thru my kitchen big time insurance will cover all of that but not the sewage back or pipe replacement. They were suppose to show up Friday November 28th. We have been without since Sunday November 23rd. We did have water Tuesday evening till Wednesday morning then it blocked up again. Friday got the call can't make it. I have so many health issues that stress does not go well with me sends me into flare ups big time I work full time 3-11 for only $10hr. I have worked in the service industry and know the importance of taking care of customers who are without and needing to get them taking care of. They do work weekends saw that on their website but no they didn't get anyone there till Monday December 1st. My tub looked like sewage back it was gross my house smells of sewage. They told me they would cover everything up in kitchen so not to make a mess. I have to pull everything from my cabinets and wash the cabinets down because of black dust, the pulled the toilet left grease marks all over my bathroom and floor and tub never cleaned up after wards never put my fridge or stove back after replacing the pipe. They were here for 4hrs so parts are $30 price of job $2756 -30=2726 two workers that comes to $340.75 an hour per employee that is priced way to high in my eyes. Granted they buy material in bulk the price I quoted for material is if I went to buy it because all it is a piece of pvc and rubber daughter and I could have done this job hands down. I am outraged at how they left my home. I had my kitchen sink back up from whatever they dumped down that came out of the pipe they cut out. They left a door open in my basement that is heavily insulated that leads to my oil tank let all the cold air in because it is under my front porch they had NO RESPECT FOR MY HOME AT ALL.....I will not ever use this company and plan to let a lot of people know never to use them. They have high advertisement out there I know the prices they pay for that they need to charge high price to pay just for that. Come to my home smell it. My grand kids should not be here smelling this no one should have. I have spoken with Ken from there he is crediting my father $500 on his card since he paid to help me out get this fixed do I feel this is enough....No...I don't the aggravation the cleanup the stress the turmoil it put my family thru how does on put a price on that for an overly priced job.

Desired Settlement: They need to refund my fathers card for the first time they came out here and the job that was done which never resolved anything at all. The $500 is not enough in my eyes. The job is way over priced for the second time around. The first job was $696 I want that refunded back to my father. To me it was never fixed the first time around that should have been taken off the second bill right away common policy in a business. This business is out there just to rip people off. I pity the elderly if they ever have to call them. Website even says payment plans. What a joke.

Business Response:

Dear ****** ******:

On December 2nd the credit card that was used for payment of the job was credited $500.00. I agreed that some minor clean up was missed by my Technicians. However, the mess in the tub was there because of the original backup of the sewer line and the continued use of the facilities by the homeowner.

Maitz Home Service gives all our customers the price before the work starts. We get a signature approving the work and verify payment will be made when the work is complete. My customer knew the price before we started both jobs and paid for the work in full when the jobs were complete.

I just received an email from the customer wanting a shop vacuum replaced. I will take care of this issue with the customer. The $500.00 was agreed upon as final. That is as far as Maitz Home Service is willing to go in this matter.

Thank you,

Ken M
Service Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
We did not use the bathroom while it was not usable. Tuesday it was opened we were able to use it Wednesday it clogged back up I did call again and made it clear to everyone in home not to use bathroom the water was shut off for toilet my grandkids stayed over at my parents home. I went to friends home to use shower. My daughters went to friends homes for showers for bathrooms we went to different business's in town or for me I went at work when I was working. One day the day they came to repair my 7 year old grand daughter did use the toilet did not flush the toilet I was upset for the fact that my daughter told her to do so. Usually she gets up with them takes them to one of the business's close by in the morning. So there was only one time that it was used. Stating that we continued to use it is a false statement on there end. My middle daughter spent most of the time at her boyfriends home. My oldest daughter had her kids spend time at friends home or my parents home over night so they were not her most of the time. I was usually the only one here and I did not use the bathroom at all. I went to friends homes for showers. I could not spend nights away from my home due to my dogs being here. 

Yes I signed for the repair to be done had no choice. I had repeatedly asked for detailed bill due to the fact that I was not the one paying for the repair my father paid for repair. I signed because my father said to get it done. I didn't agree to the price I thought it was way to high even told them so. I did not pay my father did. If it was coming out of my pocket I would have kept asking for detailed bill. They ruined my shop vac. The mess they made was not minor to me. I never agreed to the $500 refund. They got paid for a job on Tuesday that did not fix the problem came back Wednesday then charged way too high on Monday. That bill on Tuesday should have gone into Mondays bill since repairs were not done correctly the first time around. Plan and simple this is a company that will not show a detailed billing, charges way too high pricing, tells people things need to be done when they really don't need to be. Will never call on them again. 


****** ****

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sir/MadameNo, Maitz representative has ever reached out to me about resolving the issue on my new unit install, it seems they are getting tired of my phone calls of trying to resolve the issue. Since the new unit was installed, I have had nothing but problems with cooling, and keeping temperature in my home. Since the initial install of the new unit, a Maitz technician has been out (8) times to try and resolve the issue. Each time a different opinion has been given as to why the unit isnt cooling/keeping desired temperature, and the technician leaves with the problem still existing. Some recommendations by the technician to troubleshoot the issue have been done, at an additional cost to me, and the problem still remains.

Desired Settlement: At this time, I would like Maitz Home Services to either upsize the unit to the proper size that keeps the home cool, and holds temperature, or to uninstall the existing new unit and put/ re-install my old unit that works properly.

Business Response:

August 20, 2014

Dear ******* *******:
We are writing in response to your Better Business Bureau letter. We first want to apologize for inconvenience in this matter. However, we wanted to state how we have exhausted every possible option of repairing the air flow issues in your home. We want to inform you that the acronym SEER is similar to the acronym MPG. It actually has nothing to do with the power or tonnage of the equipment. SEER is an efficiency rating. Example a car that gets 25 MPG’s can travel at 65 MPH the same way a car that gets 45 MPG, one just uses less gas. Tonnage is the power requirement of the equipment. The 13 SEER is the minimum government requirement on efficiency. Our tests show that your 3 Ton system is more than sufficient to cool your home, if the ductwork was repaired. We hope that this has cleared some of the confusion.
Thank you again for your attention in this matter and we hope this situation can be resolved amicably.
Alexander R

Sales Manager Maitz Home Services

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Home was not properly sized for unit, at one time Maitz also said ducts were full of water (which they weren't), when the furnace blower was hooked up to the new unit it blew through the ducts fine, it was later disconnected because it was blowing better than the AC unit, and the coils were freezing on the unit. Maitz said the reason for the coils freezing was the unit was overcharged, then came back and said the unit was under charged. Maitz also said they couldn't guarantee the new duct work would solve the issue, but would try it for $1852.00 Maitz also claims the unit might not work for my home due to the design of my home. Maitz knows the old unit worked, but was in need of some electrical work that would be costly, and Maitz recommended it would be cheaper in the long run by replacing the unit with a more efficient unit. They replaced the unit with a unit that meets minimum government SEER rating. I feel the unit is undersized, for my home which I will be having measured, and tested later this week. Not once has Maitz said the unit might be under sized. I asked Maitz about a factory representative to look at the unit for proper size, and setting, they told me yes but at an additional charge. Why if there trying to solve the problem would they charge me for for a factory representative to come out and look at what's going on. After all with all the settings on the new unit Maitz had to adjust would they think something was wrong? Maybe the unit is sized improperly like I suggested.


******* *******

Consumer Response:

I have reached an agreement with Maitz. They have removed the unit from my home due to the wrong type of AC unit installed in my home , and I received a full refund. Attached is a copy of my initial 2nd opinion done by UGI.


Thank you for your help in this matter


******* ******* 

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Maitz- Plumbing Heating Air Conditioning Electrical Water Conditioning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart