This Business is not BBB accredited

Kop's Repair LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (215) 639-8114 View Additional Phone Numbers 829 Bristol Pike, Bensalem, PA 19020 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kopsrepair.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kop's Repair LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kop's Repair LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 31, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1982 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA 029190.

Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs (BPOA)-PA
PO Box 2649, Harrisburg PA 17105
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/account
Phone Number: 717-783-1404
Fax Number: 717-705-5540
ST-ACCOUNTANCY@pa.gov
The number is Lic# CO1910.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Rina Kop, Secretary Mr. Steve Kop, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rina Kop, Secretary
Principal: Mr. Steve Kop, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Electricians

Products & Services

Kop's Repair LLC sells the following brand(s): all makes and models

Method(s) of Payment
All major credits and financing available!
Alternate Business Names
Kop's Repair Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2475 Elfreths Aly

    Bensalem, PA 19020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    829 Bristol Pike

    Bensalem, PA 19020

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this person to fix a heater as there was no heat going in the house. He did come out that day and was able to get heat going throughout the house. However, he wrote up a slip listing of some additional charges that we were going to need to fix a heater. The next day, the heater fails and water is leaking in the basement. I called the serviceman, along with my sister on separate phone calls, and he refused to come out and fix this. The serviceman and my sister got into a very heater arguement and we both told him that it was best that we did not need his services. One month later, we find out that we were charged for his 1/3 of a billing statement that he wrote up and listed some suggested things that he wanted to do. We are ok with giving him something for coming out and getting the heater started, however, the work that was done was not worth $800.00, nor was it $2400 as what he said the cost would have been. We contacted another person, and he told us that all that was needed to fix the heater was to fix a spring that was only worth $6.00. This serviceman that we have complained about has not done anymore work with this heater since as we told him that his services were no longer needed, and that we did not want to be charged what he planned. I have also disputed this with my credit card company.Feel free to contact me directly and I can give you more information that I cannot disclose publicly.

Desired Settlement: We should not be charged $800.00 or more for his services. This charge was a proposed service that never happened. However, he is entitled to something for coming out and was able to get heat going throughout the house, although it did fail the next day. A lesser payment would be acceptable.

Business Response:

March 8, 2014

Dear Sir or Madam:

Please find the rebuttal and information regarding the above listed chargeback:

#1) Customer called late Saturday PM & asked for service on Monday, called back 10 minutes later to request EMERGENCY service because his mother’s house was cold and they didn’t want to wait. We came out immediately (emergency Saturday PM service in snow). Troubleshoot & diagnose problems with gas-fired boiler that was installed approx. 8 yrs. ago (?). Found system off, ran several diagnostic test to determine what problems boiler had, system had been neglected, never cleaned, maintained, flushed, filled or bled, and the pilot safety device burned out. So, in order to provide heat for the entire 3 story house on a 10 degree cold (snow) evening, we supplied & installed new pilot safety device & wired into unit & filled & bled radiators to give house temporary heat while we can pick up remainder of material & set job up for Monday. At the same time, discussing with *******, the heat was off for some time and it’s 30 degrees in the house. We got unit running, fired it up, raised the temperature of the water, & got water circulating so it would not freeze , thereby preventing major damage to system and the house.  Customer agreed to get all work done on heating system that was agreed was needed. Customer signed & initialed in 4 different locations of our invoice and payment slip confirming; a) Emergency work authorization waiver, b) non-cancellation of entire contract, c) initialed the payment schedule, and d) signed credit card slip for the deposit of $800.00.

#2) Sunday customer called to say water was on floor and wanted to get job done that day and since I could not come out on Sunday - they got someone else. ******* agreed the deposit of $800.00 would cover the work and temporary heat provided  already & the Emergency Saturday service call. In return, I cancel remainder of contract even though they signed a non-cancellation contract (see enclosures).

Signed,









Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

******* *********

I have read the details that were attached, and I do not agree with his recall of what occurred.  I did not have heat which did not work on Saturday and we were informed that parts of the heater were broken and needed to be replaced.  ***** gave an estimate and wanted a deposit of 1/3 of the amount for the upcoming work.  There was not a written nor signed contract.  When the heater did not work on Sunday and he refused to come out to fix it (we also had a pipe which was broken and leaking water), I felt that he did not have our best interests in hand, and we needed to establish heat so that more pipes would not break.   My sister, ****, called another repair person who came out immediately and repaired the heater.  At this point, **** called ***** and explained to him that it was unacceptable that no one was available to come out to fix the heater especially when they were out the day prior, and that waiting until Tuesday when it is 8 degree outside is unacceptable.  She also explained to him that we acquired someone else to come and look at the heater and wanted to know what the cost was for yesterday's work since the $800 was only agreed upon for the upcoming work (the parts and labor of the heater that were perfectly fine).  He said that he would call us back.  When ***** called back **** and informed her that the job would still be $800.00,  **** explained to him that we were extremely upset with this because this is not what it cost for the work that he did on Saturday and that it included parts and labor for upcoming work which he would not be doing.  I feel that he was being very spiteful.  **** then explained to him that if he did charge us this amount, we were planning on disputing this to ******** ******* as well as reporting him to the BBB.  At this point in time he got irate, told **** that he didn't care that he was losing the job, and that he was calling **** to talk to him.   When he called ****, he explained that he did not want to lose the job.   ***** was also very upset that we called someone else because he wanted to do the work.  I'm sure he did since he was "ripping us off" and didn't want us to find out.  I did inform ***** that I felt that he was  entitled to compensation for only the work that was done on Saturday, which does not amount to $800.00. 

I was informed from the next contractor that the only thing which was wrong with the relatively new heater was that a spring needed to be adjusted.  The same person came out on Monday to fix the valve that needed to be repaired, as he was unable to do it on Sunday because the store was closed where he needed to get the part.  At this point I was very upset because we were getting "ripped off" by ***** especially since the parts of the heater he was planning on replacing were working just fine.  If you go online to look at his reviews by other customers you will see that others have commented that he is a "crook".  I feel very strongly that this person takes advantage of people when they are at need and its not fair to innocent, hard working people.  If you need a bill from our second contractor with the explanation of what he fixed, I can certainly get that for you.  I agree that ***** should be paid something for the emergency visit and for very poorly fixing the heater so that I got heat for less than 24 hours.   I am willing to pay him $225.00 for his work since he was only at the house for 1 hour.  I hope that we are able to resolve this matter.  Thank you in advance for your time and consideration on this matter.

******* and **** *********





Business Response:

March 24, 2014

Dear Sir or Madam:

Please find the rebuttal regarding the above listed chargeback rejection:

As submitted with my response, dated March 8, 2014, please refer to the signed documents by the customer acknowledging the work to be done, and agreeing to the price and so on.  The contact person we dealt with was ****, I never spoke to **** until that  Sunday, so naturally my concerns would and should be discussed and directed to **** since **** was not present at the time of my service call.   It is ****’s credit card. 

Particularly, when **** called on Sunday she was belligerent and demanding from the start.  My first thought when first speaking with her was that obviously there must be something else making her so offensive and brash.  I attempted to speak to her in a professional and calm manner, trying to decipher her concerns so I could address them, but after a few minutes into our discussion it was apparent she was not allowing me to respond, only demanding immediate service.  It was then that I asked to speak to **** since it was he who I dealt with all along.  I explained to **** that I would return Monday first thing.  **** called back stating that it was unacceptable to her.  She was being unreasonable and refused to speak with me further.

I have been in the industry for over 30 years, and have literally 1000’s of satisfied customers.  No company has a perfect tract record.  The somewhat-anonymous nature of the Internet gives some people the freedom to write things they would never say to another person face-to-face. They may even stretch the truth to make their comments more notable, or to inflict damage on a business. In  that way, so-so experiences become terrible, and minor disappointments become major tragedies.  Our company regularly provides  customers with great service, products and when problems arise, as they sometimes do, we handle them with professionalism until we have a satisfied customer.  The few negative reviews about our company have proven to be, unfortunately, illegitimate, the facts did not match up and steps were taken to have them removed to no avail.  

It is an unfortunate occurrence for some contractors to badmouth their competition, whether or not it is warranted, when trying to win your business, when they should be talking about their strength of their own service rather than trying to drag down others. 

I am sorry that the ********** are not happy. I reassure you I earned the $800 as documented in my previous response. 
I replaced their pilot safety device, which is still in the unit.  When they called on Sunday, they said a pipe was leaking, which had nothing to do with the new parts I installed.  The system needs or needed everything I said it did, it was never done for whatever reason.  I tried and made an attempt to satisfy them to no avail.  I was unable to meet their unreasonable demand of immediate service on Sunday evening, when I need to get the rest of the parts on Monday anyway and for that they called another contractor the next day.

Thank you,