BBB Accredited Business since

Hannabery Electric, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 366-9400 Fax: (610) 366-9403 View Additional Phone Numbers 200 Schantz Rd, Allentown, PA 18104 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hannabery Electric, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hannabery Electric, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1972 in PA Business incorporated 05/20/1976 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA008215.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Richard Lichtenwalner, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Lichtenwalner, Controller
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Electricians

Alternate Business Names
Hannabery HVAC

Additional Locations

  • 1342 S West End Blvd

    Quakertown, PA 18951

  • 200 Schantz Rd

    Allentown, PA 18104 (610) 366-9400


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 11-19-14 Hannabery came to diagnose & repair nonworking heat pump. Tech performed Freon leak test ,charged system withR-410A( 2lbs), & told my husband & I it was fixed. I immediate disputed the statement saying that it was blowing cold air. He responded "that's what heat pumps do, they do not blow hot air." I agreed that I did not expect hot air but at least warmer air than the ice cold air that was blowing. He advised me to give it some time and asked for payment for a total of $362.33. ($105 for diagnostic fee/trip fee) I gave him my ******** card. We froze the rest of the night and had to use an infrared heater in our bedroom and woke to a temp of 58 with the unit set at 70. I called Hannabery the next morning and that afternoon a different tech came to our house and after a few hours called for another person to come to help him diagnose the problem. After a total of over 5 hours they informed me that it would cost me over $3500 to repair and it would probably be best to replace the unit since it was 8 years old. They printed out an estimate for a new unit and I declined for the moment, wanting to get a second opinion. I than called my credit card company to voice a complaint and to stop payment for the previous day's charge since it indeed was not fixed. Hannabery had been to my house 2-19-14 for the same problem and diagnosed it as, need of a new motor which was out of warranty for $610.88, which I paid. I believe Hannabery does not have the qualified first line techs to diagnose a problem correctly or I was deliberately taken advantage of for multiple repairs which did not resolve the problem. I do not believe I should be charged for work that did not fix my heat pump. I had two other HVAC certified techs come to my home who both did feel that it was in my best interest to replace the heat pump and also stated that the heat pump had been damaged either initially from the factory (may have never ran properly) or was damaged during installation or servicing. They also both stated that there was shotty workmanship and installation multiple joints in lines any of which could be leaking Freon. I have received bills from Hannabery and have tried to resolve this by phone. I have called multiple times have spoken to Eric initially in service who could not help me and promised to have Mike the service manager call me after he was back from vacation. No return call. On my many calls both Eric and Mike are in meetings or on vacation and I get forwarded to voice mail. I received voice mail from Eric recently on 6/15/15 that it is out of his hands and I need to speak to billing. Now I have received notification that they have sent me to collections. I have disputed this with the collection agency and did get Mike to return my final call. I told Mike that I am willing to pay the trip fee for them to diagnose the problem even though that did not occur on the date the first tech came to my home, but do not feel that I owe them for anything else. He stated that he did not make any money on me during those two visits to my home and that I needed documentation from his tech stating that he fixed the problem the first day or documentation from the other two HVAC company's of their wrong doing. I tried again today but was told he is in a meeting and had to leave a voice mail. I am in the process of gaining written statement from the tech who gave me a second opinion and installed my new heat pump.

Desired Settlement: agreement of $105 trip fee to be payment in full and removal from collections and my credit report

Business Response:

July 10, 2015

Dear *** *****,

The below is the history for **** *******:

11/19/14 Call for insufficient heat-Tech found 2 lbs low on charge outside temp was 30 degrees. Did leak check with 55lb. standing pressure. Could not find any leaks at that time. “OPERATING WITHIN SPECIFICATIONS -indoor air temp was 70 degrees temp split 19 degrees. Customer was billed $105 for trip charge $144.50 for refrigerant

11/20/15 Customer called 9:46 AM to report no heat. They did not call overnight for emergency service. First tech was troubleshooting system and was finding the reversing valve was sticking in defrost mode this would cause it to intermittently blow cold air. This was not happening the day before. He called for a second tech to assist as it was approaching the end of his shift.  The two of them had to boost the pressure in the system with nitrogen to 400 lbs to locate the leak which could not be found with the standing pressure of 55 lbs the day before. This is normal protocol for difficult to find leaks.

To make the needed repairs it was estimated to be approximately $3,500 at which point we recommended the customer consider a replacement.

We did have a total of 7 man hours and did not charge anything for the extra diagnostic services provided.

We heard nothing from the customer until 12/22/14 when her CC was declined.  We called and left her a message which she did not respond to until 12/30/15.

Our Accounts receivable person returned her call and left a message regarding her account. We received no reply and left her another message on 1/6/15 stating she would be receiving a 10-day collection letter. 1/20/15 Letter was sent and customer called 1/28/15.

We reviewed her complaints and explained our position. She claimed other company accused us of installing wrong motor the year before (it was a factory **** exact replacement).  The other accusations were factory or install damage, shoddy workmanship, too many braze joints etc., etc.

We simply asked her to provide us with documentation stating that these were the issues that were found by either of the two companies. The customer was asked to provide this documentation on 1/28/15, 2/11/15, 6/16/15 and 6/26/15.

At one point in my conversation on 6/26 she claimed that she already sent the documentation requested and that the other company also sent pictures and documentation. I also gave her my email address and said I would wait for them to be sent however to please call me the moment she sent them. No phone call was received , nor did any documentation arrive.

Today is July 7th and to date we have not received anything at all from the customer nor anyone else to back up the claim stating/showing the other company accused us of.  (not even repairs or invoices, nothing.   We have attempted to work with the customer and have made reasonable request for information to understand the issue.  However, at this point, we don’t feel that the customer has made any attempt to help us resolve the situation other than her efforts to attempt to get out of paying a legitimate bill.


Michael S.

Service Manager

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the response is inaccurate.  When the tech from Hannabery left my home on 11/19/194 the temperature was no where near 70* but closer to 62* and was blowing ice cold air.  My complaint that it was not fixed was ignored and we were told that we should give the system some time to get the temperature to the desired set temperature of 70* and if it was not working I could call in the morning.  I was billed a total of $361.33 ($105 for trip/diagnostic fee, $144.50 for refrigerant leak check plus and not mentioned in Hannabery's response an additional $76.50 and 35.33 to charge the system.  I gave the tech my ******** Card.  The next day the temperature had not improved and we did have to use portable so I called and they sent the tech back to my home  arriving @ 145pm.  A second tech was called to my home due to the first tech's inability to determine the problem.  This was not because of a shift change as stated in response, as both men left my home at 7pm after determining it would be best to replace the heat pump due to the expense.  I am sorry that it took 7 hours to determine I needed a new heat pump but I was told that the trip/diagnostic fee was the same whether they were at my house 10 minutes or 10 hours, and that is what I agreed to pay. It took less than 30 minutes for the two other HVAC companies to diagnose and give me estimates on a new system.  Both companies made comments of poor workmanship in the installation with too many joints making it easier for leaks and difficulty finding leaks. Also the motor that was replaced was not **** brand but instead a cheaper generic motor. 

The next day I call my credit card company to place a complaint and they advised me to stop payment.  I assumed that Hannabery had dropped the charges.

I spoke to Becky on 12/30/15 after returning from vacation and told her of my dissatisfaction especially since I had them out the end of February for the same problem and they diagnosed it as need of a new motor for a cost of $610.88 and the system really never improved and was always running on auxiliary heat.  She told me I would need to speak to Eric but he was on vacation for two weeks and would call me back when he returned.  After receiving a bill I called again stating Eric never called me back, but he was in a meeting.  He did get back to me on 2/11/15and told me he would need to speak to his supervisor Mike and that he would be getting back to me when he returned from vacation.   No return call.  I made multiple calls after receiving bills with interest now added but he was in meetings and I was forwarded to his voice mail. After receiving a letter that they were going to send me to collection I called again to speak to Mike on 6/12/15 who again was in a meeting and than was forwarded to Eric voice mail.  Eric did return my call and told me it was out of his hands and promised me that Mike would call me right back.   No return call.  I called again 6/15/15 and left another voicemail which Mike returned and asked for me to forward documentation of the other companies statements so he could go to his supervisor to try to work something out. 

I did speak to the HVAC tech who installed my replacement and he was going to check to see if he had not disposed of old unit and take pictures and would provide statement to Hannabery.  Unfortunately, he informed me about two weeks later that he no longer had unit and that his best friend had committed suicide and been a rough few days and was sorry he did not get back to me or Hannabery.  At this point he did not want to get into a legal issue with Hannaberry.  On 7-8-15, I sent check for the trip/difficult diagnostic fee with notation that this is all I was going pay, a note that no statement or pictures were available from HVAC tech, however I did include original home inspection report with pictures of poor workmanship/installation of unit which they installed for previous owner, which I had to pay them over $1000 to properly(or at least I thought properly) reinstall. (SEE ATTACHMENT PAGE 15). I feel very taken advantage of by this company. They are  lucky to get $105 from me.


**** *************


Beth Stahley-cuffy

Business Response: **********’s response does not accurately represent the facts.

Customer purchased home 10/17/12 from a previous owner, which we had not had prior complaints. A system that’s been installed for several years may need to be re-leveled due to ground freezing, thawing and settling and may need to have the pipe insulation replaced from time to time due to UV rays. These are natural causes and in itself does not reflect a poor installation. 

Customer also stated that the system “hasn’t worked right since I moved in” however we were never contacted until 18 months after she moved in.

As stated prior and in my conversations with the customer we did in fact install a **** factory motor part number *************.  This was not a “cheaper generic motor” as *** ******* claims.

********** claimed to have had two company’s come to her home (and per ********** she claims they said “shoddy workmanship”) in addition the installer also who was giving her documentation.  Therefore, in her complaint, that’s three different documents she claims to have to back up her claims and accusations.

However, six months later we still have nothing, despite our repeated requests, she has NOT provided ANY of the documents requested to back up her accusations.

At this point it appears to us that ********** would prefer to make inaccurate claims with nothing to back them up and continues to make accusations vs. paying for services rendered.  In our conversations, she never said any of the other company’s had disputed our diagnosis on the second service call.

Thus far, ********** has declined our offer to review her requests for an adjustment on the initial bill by simply not providing any of the requested documentation.  Thus, we consider this to remain a collection matter as nothing has been provided to substantiate.

However, if she first forwards the three companies documents she claims she has, we will review them and then would be willing to visit her home to discuss the entire matter.

We appreciate the BBB’s role in trying to assist in working this out.  

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December 2011 Hannabery was contracted with *** ****** to install a 7.5 Ton Heat pump for the sum of $9,167.00 this heat pump was to heat the Senior Center/Community Room at an elderly apartment complex. Since the install the heat has not worked properly and Hannabery has been called out to repair the unit several times over the course of the the past 3 years. Once again when the weather got cold they were called out and once again they have not fixed the problem instead they sent out technician that can not fix the problem and then we are billed for the service call. The thermostat is set on 80 degrees and the room temperature is 62 degrees in the room. We contacted them and continue to get the run around and eventually we had to call out another contractor who in turn contacted the manufacturer because they could not get the heat to work properly either only to find out that the unit was not installed properly based on the electrical wiring diagram submitted to us by *****. I can not get a clear answer from them what the warranty if for the product is and they are very elusive about this area.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Hannabery to make us whole by fixing whatever is wrong with the unit to ensure that the elderly people attending the community center are comfortable in the winter as well as the summer.

Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau Representative.  We have received the complaint, but have been unable to review the facts for our response within the requested time due to an extensive vacation of a key person required to review the matter with, as well as a disaster we are dealing with which occurred at one of our facilities early this week.  Please allow us 10 additional days for our response.  Thank you for your consideration of this request.  

Business Response:

The unit is a commercial unit.  We received a service call because the unit was iced up.  We found a sensor was not working properly.  We ordered the sensor and installed it.     Thereafter, we received a call because the same thing happened again.   During this time, the area the unit serviced had backup heat, so there should not have been any area without heat (unless the thermostat was not properly set by someone at the facility).  Each time we were there, we have recorded indoor temperatures ranging from 72 to 74 degrees.

We contacted the manufacturer because we wanted them to verify the part they provided was the correct part.  After extensive review and research by our office with the manufacturer, the manufacturer later confirmed the part sent and installed was the correct part.  The manufacturer authorized us to make a field modification of the part that was installed to complete the repair.  When we attempted to schedule the manufacturers’ recommended work, we were told that they had another company out and told us not to come back.  We were also told the other company found dirty / blocked filters as the cause of that call (which is a lack-of- maintenance issue).  We had then requested a copy of the company’s repair ticket so we could review.   We did not receive it.   Please send a copy of other company’s work ticket so we can further evaluate the problem and provide the proper response.    

Consumer Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ******* ****** <******************>
Date: Mon, Apr 20, 2015 at 8:15 AM
Subject: RE: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #********.
To: ****** ****** <*******>

*** ******,
Attached is the field reports from the company we had to hire because Hannabery was giving us the run around.  The population in this building is elderly and disabled.  As you can see they did not even wire the system properly which case the secondary heat pump to blow.  They should be accountable for this.
Denise *. F*****, AHM | WinnCompanies
Property Manager
T ###-###-#### | F ###-###-####
* ** *** ******, Bethlehem, PA *****

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

May 1, 2015

Re: ID ********

****** ******/*** ******

Thank you for your follow-up.   In the previous communication, we had requested a copy of the documentation from *** ****** of the approximate late November service call performed by the other HVAC company she called, where she reported that they found blocked filter (lack of maintenance) as the cause of the no-heat problem.   Instead, with the recent information provided, we were sent documentation of service performed in February 2015. Upon review of the two calls sent, very likely the calls were caused from the blocked filter and possibly even the subsequent work performed by the other company, which we can’t determine as we have not been provided all the records to review, despite the multiple requests.

To recap, we completed our installation of the system on December 15, 2011.  The system ran the entire winter of 2011/2012 without any reported issues.  The system carried a one-year warranty by us.  In October 2012, service was required as a result of a belt adjustment inside the indoor unit that loosened with the fan belt slipping off, resulting in a reported no-heat condition (this may also have been caused as result of a dirty/blocked filter from lack of maintenance).  We made the repair and even returned to install a brand new belt in the unit.  The calls were performed under warranty.  On December 15, 2012 the Hannabery one-year warranty period was completed.  There were no outstanding reported issues.  The system continued to run the entire next two winters of 2012/2013 and 2013/2014 without any reported problems.  Thus, the system ran for three years with verified proper operation, with only one mechanical issue (from the fan belt).  (Therefore, contrary to *** *******’ opinion that we did not wire the system properly, the unit was wired properly, which was demonstrated by the three years of proper operation.)  

On November 20, 2014 we received a call for no heat.  The issue was related to the manufactures part (bad sensor).   When we initially arrived, the outdoor unit was completely frozen and could not be diagnosed.  We had to return when the unit was cleared.  Once it was defrosted, we returned and were able to properly diagnose the part that failed.  It was a sensor in the outdoor unit that had to be ordered from the manufacturer.  During the time period of these calls, the area had other sources of heat.  Also, even though the calls were scheduled with the property manager, once we arrived, we were not allowed access to the indoor unit as there were events and holiday parties.   When the part came in, we returned to install the sensor on November 25, 2014.   On November 28, 2014 we returned to verify proper operation.  We found some issues with the fan belt and made adjustments to bring the unit into proper operation.   This service call documented the operation showing the temperature and pressures were within the proper ranges (including air flow).     However, the technician performing the call did not think the defrost part appeared to be the correct one.  After much dialogue with the manufacturer over the part they provided, we were told on December 10, 2014 by the manufacturers service manager that the original part was discontinued and the part they supplied and we installed was correct as installed and only recommended it be permanently wired. 

Thereafter, we attempted to schedule the call to make the manufacturers recommended wiring modification and go over the entire system (that call would have been done at no charge as the call was our follow-up to the part already replaced and billed).  When we called to schedule the technician, we were told that they had called another company out and the other company found a dirty blocked filter and they did not want us to service anymore.      This is the documentation that we have been asking for and still has not been provided.  Perhaps they do not have a copy of the service call/s, never received any, or there is some other reason of why they won’t provide the documentation of the calls…     Upon review of the documentation that was sent of two February 2015 calls, showing electric heater elements had either malfunctioned (most likely caused by the dirty filter- lack of maintenance issue) which caused a lack of airflow over the electric heaters and most likely resulted in the electric heater element overheat and eventual malfunction/failure  (These calls would have been chargeable calls whether we performed or by the other company) or may have been due to the wiring changes the other company made.

However, because *** ****** prematurely decided to bring another company in the middle of our attempting to complete, (late November/ early December 2014) and from the documents she sent of the other company’s service in February 2015 showing they had extensively modified our installation of the system, at this point in time, we will not go back or be responsible for the unit and any of the changes the other company made.    

Therefore, we suggest as a resolution to send a refund in the amount of $105.00 for the attempted December 2014 service call that we were attempting to perform at no charge, to which our return was refused.   Additionally, we will extend the offer to have the current servicing company contact me to forward the explanation of the simple modification the manufacturer recommended for the sensor so that the unit will function properly next winter when it looks to go into defrost mode (if it has not been done already).  


Rich L************, Controller

3/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my home in March of 2007 brand new Hannabery HVAC installed the heating/AC system since I have owned the house each year I have called them out because in the winter the master bedroom overheats and the rest of the house is cold in the summer the rest of the house is cold and the master bedroom is still warm. There solution to the issue was to rebalance the system they did that the first time for free...still did not work. They did it the second time and charged me $200.00 or so and it still did not fix the problem. Each year I've called them for the same issue and they have not fixed it. This year they said sorry we can not do anything for you and did nothing. I also pay them annually to to the Preventative Maintenance on my HVAC unit this year they did not even change the filter I had to go to HOME DEPOT and buy a filter and change it myself as well as when they left the heat would not even start and when I called their after hour number it took them so long I had to call someone else. I have two 7 year old children in my house and they left me with no heat and the problem was the technician has left the door open on the boiler so the heat would not start.

Desired Settlement: I want Hannabery to fix the system so that it is distributed correctly. Not over heating one area of the home and under heating the other areas of the home.

Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau Representative.  We have received the complaint, but have been unable to review the facts for our response within the requested time due to an extensive vacation of a key person required to review the matter with, as well as a disaster we are dealing with which occurred at one of our facilities early this week.  Please allow us 10 additional days for our response.  Thank you for your consideration of this request.  

Business Response:

Dear Mr ******.  As we discussed last week on the telephone, we attempted to provide our response, but  the reference number was no longer open to accept a response.  Thank you for opening it up for the attached response...  If you have any questions, please let me know.  Thank you.,     

Upon review of the complaint received and of our personnel and records, we have documented the room to room temperature performance to be very good and well within industry standards. We have taken (and documented) phone calls/voice mail from this customer that are extremely loud, cursing, yelling, abusive, threatening etc. The service manager, attempting to respond to the customer, called the customer shortly thereafter. He was told by the customer that she refused to speak to him and she hung up on him. We respectfully decline to provide service anymore to this customer. This same person filed multiple and separate BBB complaints.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hannabery Electric, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart