BBB Accredited Business since

Global Services

Phone: (215) 914-5480 View Additional Phone Numbers 7707 Castor Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19152 http://www.GlobalServicesNow.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Service & installation of all heating & cooling,
heat pumps, boilers & furnaces.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Global Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Global Services include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Global Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Global Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 18, 1994 Business started: 04/01/1988 Business incorporated 01/01/2001 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA006823.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Fox, President / Owner Ms. Debbie Bram, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Debbie Bram, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Stephen Fox, President / Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Contractors Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Supplies & Parts Heat Pumps

Alternate Business Names
Eastern Heating & Cooling

Additional Locations

  • 7707 Castor Ave

    Philadelphia, PA 19152 (215) 914-5480

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They originally came on April 3rd or 4th to diagnose problem with my HVAC. I called 5 weeks later (no one came back to fix the HVAC) and they had lost their notes on what they found. No one ever called to tell me what the problem was or that they lost their notes. After I called to see what was happening they said they would need to send someone out again to diagnose the problem since they had no notes on first service call. I was called and told they needed to order a part and come back again to fix it. I was never told what they did or what they found to be the problem. However, on June 13th when I got my credit card statement I discovered I was charged $514 on May 24th. Before I received my credit card statement in the mail, on about June 10th I called to check on the part they had ordered and finally someone came on June 13th to replace a fan motor. The repair person said the original diagnosis was wrong (they did not originally diagnose fan was broken) and I was given a bill for $350 for 15 minutes work. Later that day, after getting my credit card statement, I called to ask about being charged $514 and then another $350. I found out that the parts for both service calls were covered by the warrantee and I should not have been charged for parts (which I apparently was). That is, I was charged a total of $864 for less than a total of an hour of repair time (all parts were covered). They offered to take off some money, but after hanging up I realized that they were just taking money off for some of the cost of the parts that were covered and I was not really getting any adjustment for outrageous labor charges (over $600 for less than an hour's work). I don't even know if the first bill for $514 was necessary because I have no idea if that part was even necessary since it did not fix the problem. In addition, it took from April 3rd to June 13th (10 weeks) for them to repair the system. I feel I was greatly overcharged, they charged me for parts that were covered and it took them 10 weeks to make the repairs. I left a message on June 14th to state I still felt I was being overcharged but have not heard back.

Desired Settlement: I feel it is fair to pay them for one hour (two at most) for labor which should be close to $80-$160 dollars. I should not have to pay for covered parts or extra trips since the extra trips were due to their mistakes (lost notes, misdiagnosis of problem).

Business Response: Please see attached response..

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find the financial resolution of owing them a total of $310, or additional $214 (since they already received $86) for al of their repairs and visits is satisfactory to me. 

However, I want to point out that there were many inaccuracies in their response. 

1. I never received a call or a voice mail after their first visit.  I had to call five weeks later to get a response from them. 

2. They say the technician had not turned in his service slip because I had not paid them. As I said, I was never contacted.  Also, it is hard to believe that a technician does not have to hand in all of his paper work at the end of the day.  I think he just misplaced it and never called me.

3. They said that when they returned five weeks later they contacted me to agree with the repair and approve the pricing.  I never received any call. I have no record of it or any voice mail. The first I learned of the repair was when I saw my Visa bill on May 25 - several weeks after they supposedly repaired the system. I say supposedly because when they left the system still did not work.  My system was not fixed.

4. Only after questioning their bills did they look up the parts they repaired and found out they were under warrantee.  If I had not questioned the bills, I would have paid for parts that were covered.

5. After "fixing" the system the second time, when they left, the system still did not work. How can they continue to leave without realizing (or caring) that the system did not work.  I have recorded phone calls after this second "repair"  in which I was told the problem was that my tenant had too many things on (washer, dryer etc) and that the system was tripping the circuit breaker because of the amount of electricity my tenant was using. I explained that even after my tenant turned off everything, the system still tripped the breaker, but the person in the office insisted it was my tenant's use of electricity that was the problem.

6. Since it was now July (I had originally called on April 3rd) and the HVAC system still did not work, I finally called in another company who said the problem was a faulty compressor. The faulty compressor was causing the breaker to trip and not my tenant's use of electricity. They replaced the compressor and now the system finally works. I have no idea if the repairs made by the company I am complaining about were even needed since they never got the system to work and they misdiagnosed the problem at least twice.

Regards,

******* ********

3/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: heater quit working 12 hours after repair. will not honor their work.

Desired Settlement: complete refund.

Business Response:

Our technician went out to *** *** **** ***** on 2-3-13 Sunday morning and informed them that the contactor (electrode) was not responding. Our technician told them that he will send out another one of our technicians that specializes in oil systems the next morning 2-4-13 to see if he could fix the electrode or if it had to be replaced. The following morning our technician was dispatched and made adjustments to the electrode and purged the pump. Our technician was there for about an hour. The customer called the following day and was told that a service charge would only be charged to him if it was unrelated to our repair. If our repair was the issue he would not be charged. We state that to any call back and since he didn’t allow us a chance to rectify the situation. We were not given the chance to stand behind our repair. We wish we were given the opportunity to keep this customer and continue our relationship with them. Please have them contact us if they wish to use us in the future.

 

Sincerely

******* *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:Their statements are false and I would not let them within a mile of my heater again. I've had it fixed by a professional and what Global said was wrong, was;nt even close! They are the "Edsel" of heater repair!


Regards,

****** *****








Business Response:

This customer declined our attempt to come back out and make good on the repairs. We left the system working after our visit and it showed a problem shortly after and the customer did not want us to come back out to make good on our repair. We are willing to give him a refund of $155.00 for a satifactory conclusion to this complaint. We consider ourselves a fair and talented company with exceptional employees that could never be compared to some antiquated idea from the middle of last century. Thank you .

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service