BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that F H Furr Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for F H Furr Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc include:

  • 28 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for F H Furr Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 28

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 19, 1999 Business started: 02/19/1981 in VA Business incorporated: 03/01/1981 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The license number is 2701036090 A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Barbara J Furr, Secretary Treasurer Mr. Floyd H Furr, President Mr. Joe Bamford, General Manager Ms. Brenda Everett, Personnel Manager Mr. Samuel C Nantz, CFO/Human Resource & Safety Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Barbara J Furr, Secretary Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Floyd H Furr, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Samuel C Nantz, CFO/Human Resource & Safety Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning

Industry Tips
HOME REMODELING CONTRACTORS

Additional Locations

  • 9040 Mike Garcia Drive

    Manassas, VA 20109 (703) 491-1234

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (540) 659-3900(Phone)
  • (703) 278-3900(Phone)
  • (703) 352-8808(Phone)
  • (703) 430-1374(Phone)
  • (703) 490-6925(Phone)
  • (703) 491-2599(Phone)
  • (703) 491-6857(Phone)
  • (703) 497-6857(Phone)
  • (703) 497-7307(Phone)
  • (703) 497-7811(Phone)
  • (703) 497-9636(Phone)
  • (703) 690-0164(Phone)
  • (703) 690-1133(Phone)
  • (703) 690-1342(Phone)
  • (703) 690-2354(Phone)
  • (703) 690-4499(Phone)
  • (703) 690-8247(Phone)
  • (703) 841-4321(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Trane Heating & AC system from FH Furr in **********, VA, and it was installed on 29 October 2010. The warranty/terms of the contract included 5 years on all labor, as well as 10 years on parts, 12 years on compressor, and 20 years on heat exchanger. In summer of 2012, we found the air conditioning unit was louder than in the past, so we contacted FH Furr to check it out. On 2 July 2012, a FH Furr technician came out and found all the readings to be within specifications, but the "compressor is noisier than expected". He added that he would turn that information over to a Trane representative. Obviously, the noise didn't reduce, but seemed to get louder as time passed, so in September we asked FH Furr to come out and check again. On 10 September 2012, a FH Furr technician came out and mentioned he would try to find a compressor noise reduction blanket, else found all readings to be within specifications. We never heard anything more about the blanket. As to the noise, we were concerned that there was a problem unbeknownst to the technician that would not get addressed until after warranty expires. It seems to us that the noise was getting louder from the unit, which should alert to a problem. Wife shared with the technician that she wanted Trane to send someone out to check the unit and get their opinion. Believe technician thought wife would call Trane, and wife thought the technician would call Trane, but nothing else happened in 2012, especially since the cooler months were soon upon us. As soon as the heat rose in 2013, we noticed the noise from the AC unit again, and contacted FH Furr. They sent someone out on 7 June 2013. The technician shared that all the readings were within specifications, and that perhaps the noise we were hearing was a result of higher demands on the system (when it operates in second stage). He then added that we should buy an upgraded contract, because they would start charging us for coming out when they find all readings within specs "no problem". So, this obviously begins to look like a ploy to get more money out of the customer. We already have a warranty for 5 years of free labor. NO conditions/limitations were attached to that warranty. How does a customer know if noise is a potential problem or an actual problem? Do you just wait and HOPE that it is okay? Further, do you wait until it breaks to call a technician, only to hear them possibly say, “well if you would have contacted us sooner ..”

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome is threefold. First, we would like a Trane representative (not FH Furr) to come and listen to the unit and giver their honest opinion regarding the noise of the compressor (AC unit) and without cost to us. Secondly, we want FH Furr to honor their agreement with us that we have 5 years of free labor, not 5 years of free labor at their discretion. Third, we would like the noise reduced, if possible.

Business Response: See Attachment

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About a month (April 2013)ago FH Furr installed a kitchen faucet for us that we supplied. Unfortunately I was not home and my husband agreed to pay $500 for the service - that cost in itself was highway robbery! Now (May 2013)the faucet is extremely loose and I called for repair. I specifically asked if FH Furr warranties installations, and she looked up our record and indicated they do. I made the appointment and was on a first call for this morning, May 20. At 8:40am I still had not heard anything from the dispatcher so I called - found out that the technician had a family emergency and they were trying to reschedule (why hadn't anybody called me to let me know?). The dispatcher also said this was a billable repair call because we supplied the equipment (which was brand new out of the box). I indicated that information contradicted what I was told when I made the appointment. The dispatcher wanted to know if I wanted to reschedule and I declined - why would I give this company more money when they don't stand behind their work?! Seems to me the company should guarantee their installations and also honor commitments of their employees (the one who told me the service call was covered under installation warranty). It is time now to find another company that guarantees the quality of their employees' work.

Desired Settlement: I would like FH Furr to repair the faucet or reimburse my costs if I have already found alternative company to do the work.

Business Response:

***** **** <****************>2:13 PM (16 minutes ago)to meWent to customer home and retightened faucet at no charge to customer.  ***** **** 
Plumbing Service Manager 
F.H. Furr Plumbing, Heating And A/C9040 Mike Garcia Dr l Manassas, VA 20109Office: 703.490.6917
Email: ****************
www.fhfurr.com

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/21/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/2/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1