BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

F H Furr Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Phone: (703) 491-1234 View Additional Phone Numbers 9040 Mike Garcia Drive, Manassas, VA 20109 http://www.fhfurr.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that F H Furr Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for F H Furr Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 27

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 19, 1999 Business started: 02/19/1981 in VA Business incorporated: 03/01/1981 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The license number is 2701036090 A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Barbara J Furr, Secretary Treasurer Mr. Floyd H Furr, President Mr. Joe Bamford, General Manager Ms. Brenda Everett, Personnel Manager Mr. Samuel C Nantz, CFO/Human Resource & Safety Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Barbara J Furr, Secretary Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Floyd H Furr, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Samuel C Nantz, CFO/Human Resource & Safety Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning

Industry Tips
HOME REMODELING CONTRACTORS

Additional Locations

  • 9040 Mike Garcia Drive

    Manassas, VA 20109 (703) 491-1234

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (540) 659-3900(Phone)
  • (703) 278-3900(Phone)
  • (703) 352-8808(Phone)
  • (703) 430-1374(Phone)
  • (703) 490-6925(Phone)
  • (703) 491-2599(Phone)
  • (703) 491-6857(Phone)
  • (703) 497-6857(Phone)
  • (703) 497-7307(Phone)
  • (703) 497-7811(Phone)
  • (703) 497-9636(Phone)
  • (703) 690-0164(Phone)
  • (703) 690-1133(Phone)
  • (703) 690-1342(Phone)
  • (703) 690-2354(Phone)
  • (703) 690-4499(Phone)
  • (703) 690-8247(Phone)
  • (703) 841-4321(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 14, 2013, a technician (*****) from F.H. Furr visited my home and provided me an estimate for replacing my water heater; the amount of the estimate for the water heater was $3215.00. After obtaining estimates from several other companies, I selected F.H. Furr to replace the water heater. My decision was based mainly on price. The work was scheduled for November 11, 2013. When the technician (*****, again) from F.H. Furr came to my house to do the work, he said that the price of the water heater would be $4031.00 and not the $3215.00 he originally quoted on the written estimate. When I asked the reason for the increase, ***** gave me three different responses, two of which he later admitted were not accurate. First, he said that the estimated price was likely based on old prices; however, he checked his price book and admitted that prices had not changed since the Oct 14 estimate. Next, ***** said that the $3215.00 price was probably based on my agreeing to sign the company's "service club agreement," which provides customers 15% off of plumbing repairs. When I pointed out that 15% off of $4031 is only $604 (meaning the price of the water heater would be $3426), he agreed that this also did not explain the price discrepancy. Lastly, he blamed the discrepancy on the fact that he scanned the wrong code for the water heater into his hand-held scanner when calculating the estimate. I called the company's headquarters office while the work was being performed to ask what the company's policy is on honoring estimates. The receptionist said that the plumbing manager would have to get back to me. When the plumbing manager did not return my call, I called back. After finally reaching the plumbing manager, he dismissed my concern, telling me that he would "not eat the $900 difference" and that I should have told the technicians to leave when I learned the new price. I made it clear to the plumbing manager that I was not asking him to "eat the difference" but simply wanted to understand the company's policy on honoring estimates. He asked if the technician explained that the price would be higher. I indicated that ***** had indeed said that the price would be higher, but again I emphasized that I was simply calling to verify the company's policy. The plumbing manager said that I called him well after the work had started and that he could not do anything about the issue after the fact. I asked him what could have happened had I contacted him to discuss the price discrepancy prior to the work being started. He indicated that he would have told his technicians to leave, given that he could not honor the estimate. I thanked him for finally answering my original question concerning the company's policy on honoring estimates.

Desired Settlement: I believe that I deserve an apology from the plumbing manager for his rude treatment. He was dismissive of my concerns, and tried to turn the blame on me. I also think the company should provide better training to their technicians to prevent problems like these in the future. Finally, I think that Furr should consider changing its policy to honor written estimates. I understand that mistakes happen. However, I invested a lot of time getting various estimates, and I based my decision to use FH Furr primarily on price. Granted, I could have told the Furr technicians to leave when I learned the new price, but by the same token, the company should have been more careful when quoting me the price, making sure that all scanned codes were correct. Otherwise, why bother getting an estimate?

Business Response:

**. ****** this is in reference to complaint ID # ******* (******** *******)

 

Prior to the installation of a direct vent water heater for ***. ******* my tech ***** had noticed that he had scanned the wrong price for the customer. He then made the customer aware of the price difference apologized to the customer and asked her if she would like to continue with the installation given that there is a difference in price. The customer chose to continue with the job. Before the tech spoke with the customer he spoke with me on the phone and I directed him to make customer aware of the price difference and that he had made a mistake and we would gladly leave if she chose not to do the job. Once the job was complete the customer called in to the office to complain about the price that she approved earlier in the morning. I am very sorry that my tech made a pricing error unfortunately we still in our industry have the human factor and they do make mistakes. I feel as the service provider did everything we could do to make the customer aware of all aspects of the service call.  

 

Description: Description: logo

***** ****
Plumbing Service Manager
F.H. Furr Plumbing, Heating And A/C

9040 Mike Garcia Dr l Manassas, VA 20109

Office:###-###-####
Email:
****************
www.fhfurr.com


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because at no time did the service tech (*****) speak to the plumbing manager (***** ****) about the price difference and the appropriate course of action. This is an outright lie. The tech spoke with me and I allowed the work to proceed. This is not in dispute. FH Furr does not honor its estimates, and that should be made clear to customers in a disclaimer on the estimate. ***** **** owes me an apology for his inconsiderate treatment. FH Furr should hold it employees to a higher standard. Rude treatment and lying in response to a BBB complaint should not be tolerated. I will be certain to let my friends, neighbors, and condo association know not to do business with this company.


Regards,

******** *******

Business Response:

*** *******************

9:50 AM (1 hour ago)
tome
 
 
 
 
The company feels that we have more than adequately responded to **s *******'s complaint. We apologized over and over again for the mistake on pricing prior to her accepting the work. As to he said she said on who talked to who, that will never be proven. Both ***** and ** **** are adamant that they spoke with each other regarding this service call. We have the phone records to prove it. All apologies that could be made in regards to this complaint have already been made.

****** *****
CFO
FH Furr Plumbing, HTG & A/C
Sent from IPhone
 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because the company continues to misrepresent the facts in an attempt to clear its name. They did not apologize "over and over," as they claim. I received an apology from the plumbing manager only after asking for one via this complaint process. It was obvious that it was insincere and done only to try to get me to go away.


Regards,

******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: October 2010 I bought a new Lennox hvac system for my home fro F.H. Furr. I found out that they were switching out other products and selling them as Lennox. I made them replace the product. I then found out that they sold me an underpowered furnace and made them replace it. I then had them install a new system January 2011, which had broken down 4 times since then. The last time was November 27, 2013. I called for a repair man and when he came informed me that Furr would not honor my service or parts contract and that I should have to pay an additional 150 for the visit. Which he was unable to diagnose the problem or fix it leaving my 68 year old wife and me without heat. The temperature was 29 degrees and the temperature in the house was 54 degrees. On the 29 I called *******, general manager on his cell phone as per the agreement we had if there was a problem.. He did not return my three calls. On the 29th i then called furr and asked what was happening they told me that they ordered a part and would be out Monday four more days without heat. I asked for someone to come out and turn on the heater in a temporary way, they refused. I eventually got ****** heating to do this. I called costco and had the managers ask ******* to send someone out, he refused. At 3:30 on the 29 ******* called me and told me that he would no longer honor my service/parts contract and he gave the contract to another 800 company.

Desired Settlement: I want all my money refunded

Business Response: To:    ***** ******

Subject:    ******* #*******

**. *******'s warranty is with ******* ***.An authorized warranty provider for Lennox heating and Air Conditioning equipment. His contract number is ********. His warranty agreement is between the warranty company and **. *******. ** ******* became abusive to my staff and we are no longer able to provide service to his home. F.H. Furr notified the warranty company that we were no longer able to provide service. ******* ***, the warranty company provided **. ******* another authorized dealer to provide warranty service to fulfill there contract. F.H.Furr has no financial or legal obligation to provide service in his home his agreement is between Service Net "the warranty company''’ and himself.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had work done by FH Furr, work is not completed, we cannot get anyone to repair the problem. After calling numerous people including the salesman, his boss and then his boss no one has returned our call.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the work completed and have someone call us to let us know that this is going to be done. I spoke with customer service today they have the work as done. The work is not done. They have scheduled an appointment on Monday, November 25, 2013. Hopefully someone will show up and complete this for us. We are both in our 70's, people just take advantage of older people.

Business Response: See Handwritten Attachment

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Trane Heating & AC system from FH Furr in **********, VA, and it was installed on 29 October 2010. The warranty/terms of the contract included 5 years on all labor, as well as 10 years on parts, 12 years on compressor, and 20 years on heat exchanger. In summer of 2012, we found the air conditioning unit was louder than in the past, so we contacted FH Furr to check it out. On 2 July 2012, a FH Furr technician came out and found all the readings to be within specifications, but the "compressor is noisier than expected". He added that he would turn that information over to a Trane representative. Obviously, the noise didn't reduce, but seemed to get louder as time passed, so in September we asked FH Furr to come out and check again. On 10 September 2012, a FH Furr technician came out and mentioned he would try to find a compressor noise reduction blanket, else found all readings to be within specifications. We never heard anything more about the blanket. As to the noise, we were concerned that there was a problem unbeknownst to the technician that would not get addressed until after warranty expires. It seems to us that the noise was getting louder from the unit, which should alert to a problem. Wife shared with the technician that she wanted Trane to send someone out to check the unit and get their opinion. Believe technician thought wife would call Trane, and wife thought the technician would call Trane, but nothing else happened in 2012, especially since the cooler months were soon upon us. As soon as the heat rose in 2013, we noticed the noise from the AC unit again, and contacted FH Furr. They sent someone out on 7 June 2013. The technician shared that all the readings were within specifications, and that perhaps the noise we were hearing was a result of higher demands on the system (when it operates in second stage). He then added that we should buy an upgraded contract, because they would start charging us for coming out when they find all readings within specs "no problem". So, this obviously begins to look like a ploy to get more money out of the customer. We already have a warranty for 5 years of free labor. NO conditions/limitations were attached to that warranty. How does a customer know if noise is a potential problem or an actual problem? Do you just wait and HOPE that it is okay? Further, do you wait until it breaks to call a technician, only to hear them possibly say, “well if you would have contacted us sooner ..”

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome is threefold. First, we would like a Trane representative (not FH Furr) to come and listen to the unit and giver their honest opinion regarding the noise of the compressor (AC unit) and without cost to us. Secondly, we want FH Furr to honor their agreement with us that we have 5 years of free labor, not 5 years of free labor at their discretion. Third, we would like the noise reduced, if possible.

Business Response: See Attachment

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About a month (April 2013)ago FH Furr installed a kitchen faucet for us that we supplied. Unfortunately I was not home and my husband agreed to pay $500 for the service - that cost in itself was highway robbery! Now (May 2013)the faucet is extremely loose and I called for repair. I specifically asked if FH Furr warranties installations, and she looked up our record and indicated they do. I made the appointment and was on a first call for this morning, May 20. At 8:40am I still had not heard anything from the dispatcher so I called - found out that the technician had a family emergency and they were trying to reschedule (why hadn't anybody called me to let me know?). The dispatcher also said this was a billable repair call because we supplied the equipment (which was brand new out of the box). I indicated that information contradicted what I was told when I made the appointment. The dispatcher wanted to know if I wanted to reschedule and I declined - why would I give this company more money when they don't stand behind their work?! Seems to me the company should guarantee their installations and also honor commitments of their employees (the one who told me the service call was covered under installation warranty). It is time now to find another company that guarantees the quality of their employees' work.

Desired Settlement: I would like FH Furr to repair the faucet or reimburse my costs if I have already found alternative company to do the work.

Business Response:

***** **** <****************>2:13 PM (16 minutes ago)to meWent to customer home and retightened faucet at no charge to customer.  ***** **** 
Plumbing Service Manager 
F.H. Furr Plumbing, Heating And A/C9040 Mike Garcia Dr l Manassas, VA 20109Office: 703.490.6917
Email: ****************
www.fhfurr.com

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/21/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service