This business is not BBB accredited.

Madera Floors, LLC

Phone: (703) 855-6847 View Additional Phone Numbers 3204 Dye Drive, Falls Church , VA 22042 http://www.maderafloors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Madera Floors, LLC include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

Factors that raised the rating for Madera Floors, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Madera Floors, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 2011 Business started: 12/01/2008 in VA Business started locally: 12/01/2008 Business incorporated 04/27/2010 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705129683 C.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Javier O Flores, Member Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Javier O Flores, Member Manager
Business Category

Hardwood Floor Contractors Floor Coverings & Installation Contractors - Flooring Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3204 Dye Drive

    Falls Church , VA 22042 (703) 855-6847

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Madera Floors in July to refinish my hardwood floors. The first time they came, they didn't make any effort to keep all of the sawdust out of my new HVAC system and the ducts were clogged with it, nor did they make any effort (e.g. painter's tape) to keep the stain off of the stair stringers or wall trim. They also left chatter marks in several areas, the worst of which was a large "T" section that extended from the stairs to the front room, which they later attributed to "problems" they had with that particular sandpaper. Even thought the owner, Javier F*****, offered to redo the section (and put the offer in writing) while picking up the check for the balance, I couldn't get him to actually send the offer until several weeks later when I finally threatened a chargeback on my credit card. When they arranged to come back on September 15th, they never showed and didn't return my phone call. It wasn't until the next day after I threatened a chargeback again that they came. After doing a test area and realizing that they couldn't match the color at all, they completely refinished the entire floor again but only addressed the chatter marks in the front room and did not remove the chatter marks between the stairs and the front room. They also messed up 2 areas in the front room (it appears that they missed it with the stain and the first two coats of polyurethane) and again didn't bring disposable filters to protect the HVAC system even though Mr. F***** assured me after the first time that they keep them on the truck just for this purpose. To make matters even worse, they didn't protect my stairs this time and got stain all over the bottom of my brand new top-of-the-line carpeting. I waited all day on Saturday the 20th for Mr. F***** to come out and inspect the problem areas but he never came. He also didn't come on Monday the 22nd, the day for which he requested we reschedule. My only recourse now is to take them to court.

Desired Settlement: I have already filed chargebacks on my credit card for $2,648.30, the cost of the work. I also want to be reimbursed for the full cost of having my ducts cleaned, the cost of replacing the new carpeting run from the stairs to the first landing,, due to the stain damage they caused. Since the floor cannot be sanded again, I want to be reimbursed for the difference in price between refinishing and replacing the hardwood floor.

Business Response: When we arrived at ****** home to repair and refinish her floors she had already ran off a flooring contractor or so we thought. At first we thought it might have been a contractor which had not done a good job but we found out soon enough that ***** was a very difficult person to deal with. Upon completion of her project she had complaints about some slight chatter marks on the floor which we had supposedly left behind, when we went back to inspect the floor there was nothing visible from a standing position which was out of the ordinary. To satisfy ***** as well as guarantee our work we came back and told ***** that we would go ahead and refinish the job although we had initially explained to her that certain imperfections were to be expected as well as accepted when doing any sort of hand work to a hardwood floor which needs to be refinished. Upon the second completion she still wasn't satisfied and we advised her to seek a professional hardwood floor inspector to come look at the job and get us something in writing as to what was wrong with the floor so she could have a second opinion, she refused and that's when we parted ways. She has been recently blogging the internet writing negative reviews on as many sites as she can and has also charged back her credit card which she used to pay for the work. We have come to the conclusion that ***** possibly is trying to find anything she can in order to not pay for the work we performed in her home. Hopefully this feed back helps.


Thanks

Javier F***** 

Owner Madera Floors

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The chatter marks are not "slight" as Mr. F***** claims, they are highly visible  and the attached pictures to prove it.  I would not have complained if they were few and not very noticeable as he claims. According to the home improvement experts online, chatter marks are the result of faulty equipment and are never acceptable:



In fact, when Mr. F***** saw the chatter after the first job, he immediately made a call to have his sander checked out.  The whole reason for the second refinishing was to remove these chatter marks, which did not happen and leads me to believe that they either didn't know what they were doing or just didn't care enough to do a good job. Additionally, there are now two areas that are approximately 7" long where the finish is really messed up, three areas where black knots with holes appeared and they got floor stain along the bottom of my new carpet.  I don't need to pay a professional flooring inspector over $650 to tell me that they did a lousy job. I have already has another flooring company come out for an inspection and they confirmed that it would be a bad idea to try to refinish the floors again and highly recommended that they be replaced. 

Regards,

***** ******








Consumer Response:
***** ******
Dec 5 (4 days ago)

to me 
Thank you very much, *** ********. I understand that you are not able to force the company to do anything. I simply want the status of the case to reflect the fact that they were unwilling or unable to correct the problems that they caused. Also, you might be interested to know that they still list themselves as BBB Accredited on their website (www.maderafloors.com) when they are not. Your own website states this:

On September 17,2014 the Bureau wrote to this company concerning the company’s claim of BBB membership on the company’s website page. To date, this company has not responded to the Bureau’s inquiry and has failed to remove their claim. 

That is the kind of dishonesty that I have been trying to tell you about.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Madera Floors, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)