BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Blue Ridge Arsenal

Phone: (703) 818-0230 14725-K Flint Lee Road, Chantilly, VA 20151 http://www.blueridgearsenal.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business has applied for accreditation with BBB, and our initial review has found it to meet the BBB Code of Business Practices. Accreditation is pending consideration by the BBB Board of Directors, as required by BBB policy.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Ridge Arsenal include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 23, 2008 Business started: 07/01/2008 in VA Business started locally: 07/01/2008 Business incorporated: 02/23/2005 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Earl Curtis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Earl Curtis, President
Business Category

Guns & Gunsmiths Rifle & Pistol Ranges Gun Dealers Gun Safety & Marksmanship Instruction


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14725-K Flint Lee Road

    Chantilly, VA 20151

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order and paid for a Benelli M2 shotgun on 17 Dec 12. At that time the expected delivery date was 3-6 months. After nearly 10 months I have neither the product or even a firm delivery date. I have been in contact with the salesman/manager, **** ******, repeatedly since July, but is unable to provide any specific details on a delivery date. I believe that I am being strung along and possibly defrauded.

Desired Settlement: I request that Blue Ridge Arsenal either deliver the item I ordered or refund the full amount paid ($1,365.95)

Business Response: From: <************************>
Date: Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 12:15 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania complaint #*******.
To: info@mybbb.org, *********************


The customer in question has been in contact with our Sales person **** ****** the whole time.  The manufacturer of this product has not delivered the product as promised but **** had relayed this to the customer.  As of Friday Benelli called us to tell us the firearm was ready for shipment and would be shipped today October 7, 2013 to our store in *********.  as soon as the firearm is int he store and logged in the customer will be notified.  
Defrauded - Seriously???  We have customers waiting two years for manufacturers to deliver firearms they promised in three months.  The firearms industry is notoriously slow in delivering on products when there is a run on firearm purchases in this country which we have had since the Sandy Hook incident.  
We have no intention of defrauding anyone, we resent the implication.
**** and ******* CurtisOwnersBlue Ridge Arsenal

Enjoy the Sport!

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec. 19, 2012, I ordered a ***** BEAR gas piston AR-15 over the phone, they charged my credit right away. When I went to pick the rifle up, I didn't at the time know how to ceck and see if it was indeed a gas piston AR. After speaking with *****, they asked for the serial number of the rifle. When I gave the serial number to them, they told me it was NOT a gas piston BEAR, but a gas impingement rifle! This is NOT what I ordered. I called Blue Ridge Arsenal mnay times, and spoke with **** there, he was helpful, and told me they fired the salesman who sold me the rifle, then I was told to contact the GM ******, he then told me there was NOTHING they could or would do to resolve the issue. After spending $1576.00 on the MODEL i wanted this is ASBURD !

Desired Settlement: To get the gas piston ***** BEAR I ordered from them!

Business Response: This person bought the rifle in December and has shot 400 rounds through the rifle. I'm not going to take the rifle back 5 months after he has bought the rifle. He knew it was a gas rifle when he purchased it. 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Yes, I did purchase the rifle in December and since then I have put rounds through it under the pretense that it was a gas piston rifle. At the time, had there not been a shortage in ammo I would have been able to shoot the rifle more often and would have discovered the problem sooner. The salesman (who's name is on my original receipt)  that sold the rifle to me told me they had an AR gas impingment (blow back) for less than $1000.00.  He then told me they had one ***** BEAR gas piston for $1499.99 which is the one I agreed to purchase. Since then, the salesman been fired. After many calls to ***** defense due to not cycling, a representitive with ***** Defense suggested I replace the two selector with a four selector. I purchased this item and when trying to install it is when I realized there was no piston in the rifle. The ***** representative then told me that was impossible, a normal gas piston rifle would not fire without it. Then she asked for the serial number of my rifle and informed me at this time I did not have a gas piston rifle I have a gas impingment (blow back) which are two completly different rifles. That was when I contacted Blue Ridge Arsenal and informed them of the error.


Regards,

****** *****








Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Of course the rifle has been used. I purchased the rifle in December under the assumption it was a gas piston ***** Bear because that's what I was told I bought, I took it out and shot it, that was when I started having the cycling issue. I then contacted *****. All I want is a new gas piston upper receiver in exchange I will give them the gas impingment one that is currently on my rifle.


Regards,

****** *****








Business Response: I guess he is out of luck. All gun sales are final.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:YOU say I'm outta luck, BS ! YOU sold me a rifle, then delivered a completly different model ! What BS is that? I ordered a gas piston, you delivered a gas impingmnet! And ALL you can say "I guess he's outta luck" ? BS  way to run a buisness. Everyone who brought from you should check their rifles. But guess ALL your customer's are OUTTA LUCK when you mess up ! All I've ever asked was that YOU correct YOUR mistake ! Manager even told me the salesman had been FIRED, due to mutiple REASON'S, I'm sure this is ONE of them! Horrible Customer Service! Be A MAN a right YOUR WRONG !


Regards,

****** *****








Business Response: *** ******



You purchased the rifle in December and fired 400 rounds through the rifle. The rifle has been in your possession for 6 months. I also understand this is you second AR rifle and you should know the difference between a Gas Impingement rifle and Gas Piston rifle. The person who sold you the rifle was not fired. He is a veteran who finished his degree and is now working in his field of study. You are wrong about him being fired. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
My father own's the ********** mentioned prior. I have never broken down his ********** so I was not familiar with it on that level, that is  why I wanted a "GAS PISTON" ***** BEAR.  The ***** gas impingment and the Gas Piston  BOTH share the the same selector swtich!  It wasn't untill I ordered the four position selector switch, which works with  a GAS PISTON rifle, did I realize there was a problem.  Thats when  I realized I did  not have the rifle I was told I purchased. Your salesman that sold it to me told me at the time I was purchasing a Gas Piston ***** Bear. I was also told by another salesman at the time the same thing and whom also helped me several times afterwards with the gas impingment rifle obviously knowing thats not what I had. Again, I am only asking for an honest solution to my request. I only want what I paid for.
 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

****** *****







BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1