BBB Accredited Business since

Blue Ridge Arsenal

Phone: (703) 818-0230 14725K Flint Lee Rd, Chantilly, VA 20151

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Ridge Arsenal meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Ridge Arsenal include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Ridge Arsenal
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 23, 2008 Business started: 07/01/2008 in VA Business started locally: 07/01/2008 Business incorporated 02/23/2005 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF)-Federal
99 New York Avenue, NE, Room 5S144, Washington DC 20226
Phone Number: 800-800-3855
The number is 1-54-059015K-35833.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Earl Curtis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Earl Curtis, President
Business Category

Guns & Gunsmiths Rifle & Pistol Ranges Gun Dealers Gun Safety & Marksmanship Instruction

Additional Locations

  • 14725K Flint Lee Rd

    Chantilly, VA 20151


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order and paid for a Benelli M2 shotgun on 17 Dec 12. At that time the expected delivery date was 3-6 months. After nearly 10 months I have neither the product or even a firm delivery date. I have been in contact with the salesman/manager, **** ******, repeatedly since July, but is unable to provide any specific details on a delivery date. I believe that I am being strung along and possibly defrauded.

Desired Settlement: I request that Blue Ridge Arsenal either deliver the item I ordered or refund the full amount paid ($1,365.95)

Business Response: From: <************************>
Date: Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 12:15 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania complaint #*******.
To:, *********************

The customer in question has been in contact with our Sales person **** ****** the whole time.  The manufacturer of this product has not delivered the product as promised but **** had relayed this to the customer.  As of Friday Benelli called us to tell us the firearm was ready for shipment and would be shipped today October 7, 2013 to our store in *********.  as soon as the firearm is int he store and logged in the customer will be notified.  
Defrauded - Seriously???  We have customers waiting two years for manufacturers to deliver firearms they promised in three months.  The firearms industry is notoriously slow in delivering on products when there is a run on firearm purchases in this country which we have had since the Sandy Hook incident.  
We have no intention of defrauding anyone, we resent the implication.
**** and ******* CurtisOwnersBlue Ridge Arsenal

Enjoy the Sport!

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec. 19, 2012, I ordered a ***** BEAR gas piston AR-15 over the phone, they charged my credit right away. When I went to pick the rifle up, I didn't at the time know how to ceck and see if it was indeed a gas piston AR. After speaking with *****, they asked for the serial number of the rifle. When I gave the serial number to them, they told me it was NOT a gas piston BEAR, but a gas impingement rifle! This is NOT what I ordered. I called Blue Ridge Arsenal mnay times, and spoke with **** there, he was helpful, and told me they fired the salesman who sold me the rifle, then I was told to contact the GM ******, he then told me there was NOTHING they could or would do to resolve the issue. After spending $1576.00 on the MODEL i wanted this is ASBURD !

Desired Settlement: To get the gas piston ***** BEAR I ordered from them!

Business Response: This person bought the rifle in December and has shot 400 rounds through the rifle. I'm not going to take the rifle back 5 months after he has bought the rifle. He knew it was a gas rifle when he purchased it. 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Yes, I did purchase the rifle in December and since then I have put rounds through it under the pretense that it was a gas piston rifle. At the time, had there not been a shortage in ammo I would have been able to shoot the rifle more often and would have discovered the problem sooner. The salesman (who's name is on my original receipt)  that sold the rifle to me told me they had an AR gas impingment (blow back) for less than $1000.00.  He then told me they had one ***** BEAR gas piston for $1499.99 which is the one I agreed to purchase. Since then, the salesman been fired. After many calls to ***** defense due to not cycling, a representitive with ***** Defense suggested I replace the two selector with a four selector. I purchased this item and when trying to install it is when I realized there was no piston in the rifle. The ***** representative then told me that was impossible, a normal gas piston rifle would not fire without it. Then she asked for the serial number of my rifle and informed me at this time I did not have a gas piston rifle I have a gas impingment (blow back) which are two completly different rifles. That was when I contacted Blue Ridge Arsenal and informed them of the error.


****** *****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Of course the rifle has been used. I purchased the rifle in December under the assumption it was a gas piston ***** Bear because that's what I was told I bought, I took it out and shot it, that was when I started having the cycling issue. I then contacted *****. All I want is a new gas piston upper receiver in exchange I will give them the gas impingment one that is currently on my rifle.


****** *****

Business Response: I guess he is out of luck. All gun sales are final.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:YOU say I'm outta luck, BS ! YOU sold me a rifle, then delivered a completly different model ! What BS is that? I ordered a gas piston, you delivered a gas impingmnet! And ALL you can say "I guess he's outta luck" ? BS  way to run a buisness. Everyone who brought from you should check their rifles. But guess ALL your customer's are OUTTA LUCK when you mess up ! All I've ever asked was that YOU correct YOUR mistake ! Manager even told me the salesman had been FIRED, due to mutiple REASON'S, I'm sure this is ONE of them! Horrible Customer Service! Be A MAN a right YOUR WRONG !


****** *****

Business Response: *** ******

You purchased the rifle in December and fired 400 rounds through the rifle. The rifle has been in your possession for 6 months. I also understand this is you second AR rifle and you should know the difference between a Gas Impingement rifle and Gas Piston rifle. The person who sold you the rifle was not fired. He is a veteran who finished his degree and is now working in his field of study. You are wrong about him being fired. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
My father own's the ********** mentioned prior. I have never broken down his ********** so I was not familiar with it on that level, that is  why I wanted a "GAS PISTON" ***** BEAR.  The ***** gas impingment and the Gas Piston  BOTH share the the same selector swtich!  It wasn't untill I ordered the four position selector switch, which works with  a GAS PISTON rifle, did I realize there was a problem.  Thats when  I realized I did  not have the rifle I was told I purchased. Your salesman that sold it to me told me at the time I was purchasing a Gas Piston ***** Bear. I was also told by another salesman at the time the same thing and whom also helped me several times afterwards with the gas impingment rifle obviously knowing thats not what I had. Again, I am only asking for an honest solution to my request. I only want what I paid for.
 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


****** *****

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service