BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Granite and Marble Express Inc

Phone: (703) 378-9520 14154 Mariah Crt, Chantilly, VA 20151 http://www.gandmexpress.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Granite and Marble Express Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 2001 Business started: 01/20/2000 in VA Business started locally: 01/20/2000 Business incorporated: 01/21/2000 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The license number is 2705122932C.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ali Beheshtin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ali Beheshtin, President
Business Category

Granite Marble & Terrazzo Cleaning & Service Marble - Natural Stone - Natural


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14154 Mariah Crt

    Chantilly, VA 20151

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec 28, 2013, my wife and I selected a granite countertop at Granite and Marble Express working with a salesman named ****. We showed him a drawing of the countertop, sink, cabinet, and appliance locations and dimensions. We agreed to during the initial purchase to ONLY remove the countertop, sink, and plumbing and that was noted on the sales document. **** said that, Granite and Marble Express would do the rest and the next step was to confirm my measurements. He said that all they needed was someone to get them into the house/kitchen to do the measurement to validate my measurement, so I had my son handle that. During the measurement, that person told my son and later my wife who arrived once she heard it was more than a measurement, a number of new terms and conditions that were not discussed during the purchase. This alerted me to a bait and switch type operation. On Dec 31, 2013, a different individual, ***** *********, sent a final contract with terms and conditions that we had not seen during our purchase and I would not sign. At that point, I contacted Granite and Marble Express and I asked multiple times for my funds to be returned. I told them that I had never seen these terms and conditions and would not sign the document. Instead of ONLY removing the countertop and plumbing, the final contract made me liable for much more, and that was not what was agreed upon during the sale. Out of no where, the salesman, ****, in an email with a CC: to ***** *********, said to charge me $175 for their site survey. That was never mentioned to either me or my wife during our purchase. Neither was the terms and conditions of the final contract. On January 10, 2014 I finally received only a portion of my funds, $1,761.08, which is $175 short of the toal $1936.08 that was provided. The uncomfortable feelings I had with the "surprise" final contract terms and conditions were then confirmed with this $175 "surprise" charge solidifying that Granite and Marble Express are employing unethical business practices in the state of Virginia. Please do a full investigation of this company's business practices.

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund of the $175. For all future sales: Require Granite and Marble Express to provide both a verbal and written fees document if they plan to bilk the public of $175 for a simple site survey. Require Granite and Marble Express to provide a copy of the final contract terms and conditions, prior to completing the intial sale. These would be basic ethical business practices that I would expect out of any company doing business. Had I been provided that information, I would have left that business immediately.

Business Response: In regards to the complaint # *******, our company’s policy is to charge a non-refundable fee of $175 for site survey in case of cancellations after the templates are done to cover our expenses associated with the measurement trip and time we spent for the customer before the cancellation. However, since this fee was not indicated in the final contract presented to *** ******, we have authorized the reimbursement of this charge to him.

8/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service