BBB Accredited Business since

Artelye, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (301) 931-6616 Fax: (301) 931-6615 10116 Bacon Dr, Beltsville, MD 20705 http://www.artelye.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Our residential services include custom fabrication and installation of granite, marble and quartz counter top surfaces.  We also service the commercial construction market with custom stone and tile installations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Artelye, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Artelye, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Artelye, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 05, 2006 Business started: 09/06/1996 in MD Business started locally: 09/06/1996 Business incorporated 09/06/1996 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 87921.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 122628.

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705088696 A.

District of Columbia Consumer & Regulatory Affairs (DCRA)-DC
1000 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024
http://www.dcra.dc.gov
Phone Number: 202-442-9828
Fax Number: 202-727-6546
The number is 420212000085.

Department of Commerce-WV
74B Building 6, Capitol Complex, Charleston WV 25305
http://www.wvlabor.org
Phone Number: 304-558-7890
Fax Number: 304-558-2415
Licensing@wv.gov
The number is WV036493.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Serhat Akin, President Mr. Josh Yoltay, CEO Mr. Joe Apanisile, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Serhat Akin, President
Principal: Mr. Josh Yoltay, CEO
Business Category

Granite Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Tile Sales Tile & Marble Contractor - Commercial Countertops

Alternate Business Names
Artelye Marble & Granite

Additional Locations

  • 10116 Bacon Dr

    Beltsville, MD 20705 (301) 931-6616

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1040 Corporation Pkwy Ste 111

    Raleigh, NC 27610

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4719 Eubank Rd

    Richmond, VA 23231

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a granite slab. It took several months to arrange installation with constant delays from Artelye. Finally, the slab was installed. The slab installed however was defective and installed incorrectly, resulting in a cracked slab. Reluctantly, Artelye agreed to replace the slab. i had to wait several months for this to take place. Finally, Artelye installed the new slab. Once again, the slab was defective and installed incorrectly, resulting in a crack. Artelye has decided that it will no longer honor its warranty and advised that despite defective product and installation i will have to pay for a new slab. I also ordered marble from them for a bathroom. After contacting Artelye multiple months without installation occuring, Artelye outsourced to another company in its area which installed the marble the following week without incident. I also contracted with Artelye to install a fireplace surround. it has been nearly 1 year since i requested the installation. Artelye has taken measurements on two occasions but after a year, im still waiting on installation. My last call to Artelye, it had no idea of its prior measurements nor my order.

Desired Settlement: Complete refund

Business Response: 10/24/13

**** ****** Complaint ID #*******

Thank you for forwarding the information to me. I am not sure why the original message from you did not get to me. In the complaint the following was asserted:

1.    I ordered a granite slab and it took several months to arrange an installation

2.    The slab installed was defective and installed incorrectly resulting in a cracked slab

3.    After several months Artelye installed a replacement slab which was also defective and cracked

4.    Artelye decided after the second slab they would no longer honor their warranty

5. A separate company was sent to install the marble vanity with no issues.

6. I also have tried to get a fireplace surround installed and it is still not installed

The purchase date indicated in the complaint is 08/10/12. Subsequent contacts indicated were 9/10/12, 6/2/13, and 8/29/13. He indicated speaking with *****, ****, and ****. The value of damages were indicated to be $12,000.

Artelye, has a strong desire to have satisfied customers. This as I am sure you know is not always possible. Before we get too far there are quite a few factual items I should clear up. The time line of the first install did not take several months. A deposit was remitted on 9/14 and the initial contract for purchase was signed on 9/19. This is the purchase date. The measurements were taken for the job on 9/20, one day after receiving the signed sales agreement. The job was installed on 10/5, 12 working days after receiving the signed contract. The value of the total job and the amount paid was $8,978.06. The value of the outdoor kitchen top in question was $5,897. The other $3,080.38 related to a bathroom vanity top and tub deck. We did not hire a separate company to do any work. The marble install he is referring to that was done well, was done by us. The next contact I see is in February 2013 requesting a service call to inspect a crack in the top.

As you can see there are many factual inconsistencies. The top the complaint is centered around is an outdoor kitchen installed in a cold climate. The granite is installed directly on a brick and steel foundation. There are so many cutouts for appliances and sinks in the material it would be inherently weak given any outside influences. The cutouts included one for a large grill, a set of side burners, a sink, and a Komado Grill, which is a heavy ceramic grill similar to a Big Green Egg. All of this was installed after we left the first install. The Komado Grill was installed after we left the second installation as well.

The installation of the top was fine and the material was not defective. If the installation was the cause the top would have cracked during installation. The crack surfaced after the installation and could have been caused by installation of appliances, changing weather, settling or uneven foundation, or even heat thrown off by the grills or side burners. The brick and steel both have different expansion and contraction characteristics. Even assuming a perfectly level and forgiving base, changes in temperature and other weather can cause slabs of stone to crack. For is very reason, the warranty the customer indicated we choose not to stand behind, specifically excludes an installation that is outdoors. It also does not cover settling or structural movement. We have pictures taken at the conclusion of both installations and no cracks are present.

If we made any mistake in this job it was in not enforcing the fact that our warranty specifically excludes outdoor installations in the first place. Instead we replaced his outdoor kitchen at no cost to him on June 12, 2013. This remake used 73 square feet of expensive granite creating a substantial loss on the job. We did it in the hopes it would create a satisfied customer. The second top also cracked, again, after we left the site. Please let me reiterate, if the installer or weak material caused the crack it would be present before the installer leaves the site. I know it seems that granite and other natural stone tops are very strong but many are actually very fragile. We have builders for whom we have to replace countertops (at their cost), after installations have been made because after a month or two, cabinet installations have settled.

Finally regarding us not installing his fireplace surround, we decided to not do additional business with **. ******. He indicated he was going to file a lawsuit against us. From a business standpoint it did not make sense to enter into an additional arrangement with this customer. We tried to provide satisfactory service to this customer, and provided $5,898 worth of free granite even though our warranty does not compel us to do so. Unfortunately **. ****** could not be satisfied. Please contact me with any questions you have regarding this matter.

Best Regards

9/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company contacted us after we schedule granite cleaning service to tell us after 8 months of completing prior service for installation of the granite that they found an outstanding bill that we owed them for $1300.00. This came at a complete surprise to us as we thought we had settled any past due bills with them. They also were suppose to come complete their service of coming to clean our granite, they changed the service hour between 9-11 am to 2-3 pm without telling us. Then, we get a call saying the truck broke down and that they could not come. This is after staying home waiting for them to come. There COO ( as he was introduced) was contacted and we spoke to him, he could not explain the discovery of any past due amount, and if it we so why weren't we contacted before, questioning their record keeping. I believe that we settled at the time of work completion. The supervising person was ambivalent about their customer service. He was unprofessional and argumentative. Nor did he take responsibility and apologize for any misunderstanding or lack of proper record keeping on their part.

Desired Settlement: We will check our records against theirs and resolve this dispute.

Business Response: Hi *****, Thank you for forwarding the complaint.  We have resolve this matter with the customer.  Please confirm with **** ****** to be sure everything is satisfactory. Let me know if you have any other questions or concerns. Best Regards, **** **** & The Artelye TeamSales Consultant Artelye Marble & GraniteOffice: ###-###-#### 
Fax: ###-###-####
E-mail: ****************