BBB Accredited Business since

Artelye, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (301) 931-6616 Fax: (301) 931-6615 10116 Bacon Dr, Beltsville, MD 20705 http://www.artelye.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Our residential services include custom fabrication and installation of granite, marble and quartz counter top surfaces.  We also service the commercial construction market with custom stone and tile installations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Artelye, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Artelye, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Artelye, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 05, 2006 Business started: 09/06/1996 in MD Business started locally: 09/06/1996 Business incorporated 09/06/1996 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 87921.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 122628.

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705088696 A.

Department of Consumer & Regulatory Affairs (DCRA)-DC
1000 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024
http://www.dcra.dc.gov
Phone Number: 202-442-9828
Fax Number: 202-727-6546
The number is 420212000085.

Department of Commerce-WV
74B Building 6, Capitol Complex, Charleston WV 25305
http://www.wvlabor.org
Phone Number: 304-558-7890
Fax Number: 304-558-2415
Licensing@wv.gov
The number is WV036493.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Josh Yoltay, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Josh Yoltay, CEO
Business Category

Granite Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Tile Sales Tile & Marble Contractor - Commercial Countertops

Alternate Business Names
Artelye Marble & Granite

Additional Locations

  • 10116 Bacon Dr

    Beltsville, MD 20705 (301) 931-6616

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1040 Corporation Pkwy Ste 111

    Raleigh, NC 27610

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I chose a slab of Alaska White Marble from Artelye Marble & Granite.The Product was carefully inspected,bought,fully aware of natural character.After installation,I noticed a crack in both countertops.I advised Hien,the sales rep assisting me with my purchase.The cracks are visible/touchable on top and bottom,clear cut,along entire counter.A technician was sent out to inspect,He admitted the damage,acknowledging the crack,after speaking with Hien,advised of 2 options,he proceeds with a marble filling or I choose another slab.Phone call to management was great,I went out to choose a replacement.Once at the store,and management seeing me being African American,didnt attempt to speak to me personally as prev discussed.Via email, Hien consistently tried to convince us,that these are natural characters,not cracks,even though the technician acknowledged otherwise.If it was natural characters,why offer the marble repair?The replacement slab was of lesser beauty,but most importantly safer for my house.I worry,my kids leaning on the top may break it off and cause injuries.My husband inspected the replacement,there were well noticeable damages to the marble,actual scratches,it seemed the product was not carefully transported and a sharp/rough object consistently scrubbed/scratched the product.Unacceptable,an insult delivering a slab in such condition and undermining my competence to differentiate between natural characters vs actual scratches, damages and cracks.

Desired Settlement: This is not how to do business.I declined the damaged slab,the technician came out to do the marble repair,stabilizing the island and stove countertop.Again,if we are talking about natural vaines,why the repair.I am not satisfied with the end result.I agreed to pay $2863,expecting the product to be in mint condition,in fact it is cracked,has a filling,obviously doesnt look natural.I am kindly requesting a satisfying compensation,not insults,whether I understand the difference of natural cracks

Business Response: This letter is in response to the complaint filed and claims made against our company. Ms. *******’s 
complaint Indicates that we installed granite in a kitchen with a crack which made her concerned for the 
safety of her children. The *******’s then rejected a replacement kitchen that was made for them 
indicating the material was damaged and we did not cut the material they selected. Most troubling to us 
is that MS. ******* claimed company management would not speak with her because she was African 
American. Finally she indicated we were insulting and undermining her competence by our consistent 
attempts to explain the characteristics of the stone she selected. 

First and foremost, we are shocked by Ms. *******’s claims of discrimination. She not only spoke with 
management, The CEO spoke with her at length on the phone to address her concerns. He invited her to 
come in and select a new slab and have it laid out according to her specifications. The CEO does not 
personally walk customers through the warehouse while they select and lay out slabs. This has nothing to 
do with MS. *******’s ethnicity it is about the amount of available time a CEO has. As a company we are 
extremely diverse. 90% of our employees would statistically be labelled as minority, some of whom are in 
top management. We take exception to her remarks. 

Regarding the installation concerns, the material selected was Alaska White granite which is an exotic 
stone. Exotic granites have significant variations in material, finish, pitting, fissures etc. The *******’s 
personally selected the slab that was installed which included the fissure at hand. The *******’s signed a 
form indicating their acceptance of the slab we installed and acknowledging the presence of natural 
characteristics prior to us cutting it. The item at issue was a characteristic of the material when they 
picked it. Our service technician visited them when concerns were expressed. He acknowledged there 
was a long fissure and that he could apply a filling agent to it to make it smoother to the touch. We have 
attached pictures of the installation of their kitchen tops. 

Although we had a signed acceptance of the slab we cut for their kitchen and the complaint centered 
around the characteristics of the slab they selected, the CEO offered to remake their kitchen, and have 
them select another slab to use in the hopes it would make them happy. The *******’s came in and 
selected another slab, laid it out with the sales person, and signed another form confirming their 
acceptance of the characteristics of the slab they selected. The slab was fabricated and when we went to 
install the pieces, they rejected the material. We were told that the material was damaged, scratched, 
and was not cut from the slab they selected. We have attached pictures showing clearly the slab as laid 
out by the customer and the pieces after being fabricated. The pictures will confirm the slab they selected 
was used. Regarding the claim of scratches, this is characteristic of this stone. We have attached one of 
the pictures they sent as proof of damage. You will note that certain parts of the stone have the 
appearance of being scratched while the surrounding areas are not. If the stone was actually scratched it 
would affect the entire area, not specific colors within an area. You will note that the areas of concern are 
all the same dark color. That dark portions of the slab are a different mineral which has the appearance of 
being scratched. This is a natural characteristic of this material not a defect. 

After rejecting the second installation we received the request to have our service technician address the 
fissure on the slab that was already installed. In the complaint it was described as stabilizing the 
countertop. The service was cosmetic not structural. All that was done was topical filling applied to make 
the fissure smoother to the touch. We were surprised at this decision. We were told the concern was the 
safety of their children. Smoothing out a fissure is a cosmetic procedure and does not add strength. 

Finally Ms. ******* claimed it was an insult and we were undermining her competence in differentiating 
between the natural characteristics of stone and scratches. We tried our best to explain the material they 
selected to them. We do this with every customer. We have forms that explain this which the customer 
signs, to make sure our employees have discussed this with them. We do not expect our customers to be 
experts in stone. We did not mean to insult Ms. ******* in any way. This was not our intent. It is 
interesting to note however the complaint refers to the material as being marble. The material is actually 
granite. There are so many different stones and countertop materials we just try to do our best to help 
customers understand the materials. 

We strive to have satisfied customers. We install forty kitchens a day and it is rare to get complaints. 
Unfortunately it was not possible to make a satisfied customer out of the *******’s. We did not have an 
obligation to install a second kitchen for them at no cost but we fabricated the material at their direction 
and attempted to do that for them. They hand selected slabs for both installations, only to indicate the 
material was not acceptable in both instances. We have already spent more than the customer was 
charged trying to make them satisfied. Unfortunately we will not be able to entertain a refund of more 
than 50% of their purchase. 


Best Regards 

Bery E******** 

Business Response: Our initial response indicated we would not entertain a refund that was greater than 50% of the amount they paid for their kitchen which is what they were asking for.  We could have worded it differently, and we are sorry for anything that could have lent itself to misinterpretation.   The refund they were requesting was greater then 50% of the contract.   We indicated we would not entertain it.  We never offered to pay a refund of any kind.      


Best Regards

Bery E********
Artelye Inc,

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

Dear Mr ******,

I have well received your email and Artelye's response.

I am rejecting this response because:

I am in awe on how a company of that capacity is conducting their business and treating their clients. It shows, that consistently I am literally being forced to believe that the damaged granite piece in my kitchen is in fact not damaged and I am complaining about fissures, pitting etc. Again, I will say that Artelye is completely denying the fact that the Tec who came out to investigate the granite, actually admitted that my counter top piece is in fact damaged and he can apply a treatment to fix it - he has not said that this will be a filling for a natural characteristic, fissure or pitting. He acknowledged the damage!

It is with regret for me to say, that I have chosen and trusted Artelye to work on my dream kitchen, I am amazed on how conducting such business and tolerating such behavior is at all possible in the United States. It is just too easy and convenient to blame any complaints on natural characteristics and making me feel as if I am not capable of differentiate between either. And as I stated before, I have acknowledged the attempt and efforts of Artelye's to replace the broken piece and make me a satisfied costumer, and again will I say, that the attempts and efforts were not met to my satisfaction – as the second good was delivered damaged.

It is outrages to me, that not only is my competence consistently undermined, now a clearly written statement on Artelye’s legal paper, “Unfortunately we will not be able to entertain a refund of more than 50% of their purchase”, is being excused as “we could have worded it differently, and we are sorry for anything that could have lent itself to misinterpretation. … We never offered to pay a refund of any kind. ”.                                                                                        This “sorry” is completely unacceptable and insulting!                                                                        Artelye keeps implying that I have asked for a 100% refund from the get go, which I would like to strongly underline, I never have – I have and still do request a satisfying compensation and accepted Artelye’s 50% refund offer off my original purchase. Even in today’s response, Artelye is contradicting themselves to confuse the customer.

I am very disappointed of this consistent turning in circles, and see that Artelye’s response keeps reverting to natural characteristics. After rereading all corresponds, it seems, Artelye’s responses are trailing away from the truth and the facts, and as I have stated before, I would like for my complaint to be known, in order to avoid other customer’s disappointment similar to mine.


Regards,

****** *******









 

11/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: parked on paver sidewalk, poor sink install with granite. Cut granite inside my home with 2 very young children present. Workers took no steps to maintain dust to 1 area. Its inside my entire home. 2 kids and 2 adults were subject to breathing harmful dust. debris were inside cabinets, duct system, fish tank...2 dead fish, and much more. We were told that this is normal and not Arteleye problem. They also used a subcontractor to do this job and would not give me his license information. This being a standard practice should not be ok. Osha has told me that they should be following proper procedures. I will be filing a complaint with them next. Kurt has told me that they do this all the time. They dont care about anything.

Desired Settlement: clean house, duct system. Also that there is no more harmful dust still in my home. I will be hiriing another granite company to fix poor sink supports and expect reimbursment. I would like to hope Arteley would change the company standards to protect customers and the workers...who didnt even wear masks.

Business Response:

09/23/14

Thank you for forwarding the information to me. I am not sure why the original message was sent to my spam folder. I apologize for that. We have reviewed the assertions put forth to your agency by *** ****. This is the most information we have received to date. We were aware he was making claims that we introduced dust into his house and as a result he had to hire professional cleaners to clean his house and his ductwork. *** **** also requested the MHIC license number of the installer. The new assertions made in his complaint to you were that his children were in danger, and that two fish died as a result of the granite installation.

The installer is an employee of ours and operates under our MHIC number. He probably also does installations on the side. If he told *** **** he was a subcontractor he was likely trying to get work on the side. As a company we do not condone this, but in this industry it is hard to prevent. *** **** claimed to us to be in the business and he may have indicated the same thing to the installer. We employ a wide range of ethnicities with respect to employees of our Company, it is not always easy to have clear communication or common understanding with them. The individual who installed the kitchen is not native to the United States. It also quite possible there was a misunderstanding as a result of any conversation *** **** had with the installer. Our presumption is that if he did claim to be independent, he did so in order to get additional work from *** ****.

It is common to have to make cuts to granite inside a home during an install. Faucet holes are also drilled on site. Although the presumption is that the stone is very strong, it can be quite fragile. Typically fit adjustments and frequently whole cooktop cutouts have to be made inside the home due to the risk of breakage that is inherent in moving the stone. The stone installed in *** ****’s house was an exotic which tend to be more fragile than common stones. We try to contain dust by covering entry ways and by using vacuum’s while cutting. *** ****’s kitchen however was open on two sides to the rest of the house and was not conducive to sealing as a doorway would have been and as a result we could not seal it off. It is impossible to eliminate dust entirely even if you are able to block doorways. I would like to put this into perspective though. When we do a cutout for a cooktop it is generally a cut line that exceeds one hundred inches. *** ****’s granite was a fit adjustment cut that was approximately six inches long, not a very big cut. The cut was certainly not one the size of which would kill fish and require duct cleaning. We would also like to point out that entire kitchen was renovated. There were new cabinets installed and drywall work that appeared to ongoing. How much of the claimed issue would have been created by these activities. We are not sure.

We should have responded with an update to his request for our MHIC number. We have unfortunately grown weary from having made so many requests for information without result that we did not follow up with him on that one piece of information. In the email exchange where *** **** requested the MHIC number, we again requested documentation regarding the damages and bills for the claimed clean up. He indicated he would send it to us, and to date has not provided us the requested information. This job was performed for **** *****. We have to work through them in large part, on any dispute resolution. We contacted them six times and visited the store twice in an attempt to address this complaint. We requested documentation from them on each occasion that would substantiate or clarify *** ****’s claim. According to **** ***** they do not have any pictures of damage or invoices related to any clean up either. **** ***** turns claims over to their Claim/Insurance Company who contacted us. I asked them what the amount of the claimed damages were, they indicated they did not know. We asked them if they had any pictures or invoices showing any damages and they indicated they did not have any.

We are quite honestly not sure what to make of *** ****’s claims. In our many years in this business we have never had an instance where a claim for damages was not spearheaded by some monetary request with support to back it up. It has been impossible for us to get specific support for the claims being made. At this point we are still not sure what he is asking for. As a business we need to evaluate claims made against our company. We do not have any information to evaluate. We are certain cutting granite creates some dust. We question however the validity of the assertion that a 6” cut was killing fish and requiring professional cleaning of house and duct work. I will reiterate however the kitchen was renovated with new cabinets and there appeared to have been drywall work ongoing. I will forward pictures of the installation area immediately after the installation to help shed some light on the conditions of the house when we departed. Please let me know if there is any other information that would be helpful to you in your review of this matter.

Best Regards
Bery E

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 Several reasons. There has been no drywall work done inside my home other that what the installers cut out to install granite. We have supplied the **** ***** insurance agent with pictures. I am currently working with **** ***** directly to resolve these issues. But to clear a few things up .....Never not one time did myself or the installer discuss other work or sub contracting. During conversations with Kurt and Ryan with artyle did I confirm that they are subcontractors and they have no set standards or how to protect customers and there house hold items from coming into contact with granite dust. I have several pictures and videos of this mess. I also have since confirmed through other sources that the workers are indeed subs. I filed the complaint with BBB to make other customers aware of the lack of respect this company has for there customers. Im not asking BBB to get any certain response from Artlye. They not one time apologized or offered to come even see what took place. Also the cuts made to the granite were about a total of 12 lf. The sub told me that they cut the granite wrong at the shop. We were very concerned for our 2 very young children that were exposed to the granite dust and have since talked to our doctors. They do believe that they should be ok cause the bedroom door was shut. As far as the fish being dead. We did have dead fish...may have not been caused by the dust but the tank was about 4 ft away and the top was covered wit dust after the job was done. Your pictures show a wiped down and cleaned top. Should have taken pictures inside all our cabinets...and the furniture and items located in the same room.  I dont want 3 dollars for a dead fish, Just have respect for peoples ****.
Regards,

*** ****








Business Response:

From: Bery E********<bery@artelye.com>
Date: Mon, Oct 27, 2014 at 3:34 PM
Subject: FW: Claim - *********** - *** **** - Date of Loss: 08/18/2014 - GL
To: ***** ****** <*****************>


*** ******, *** ****’s response to you, highlights the challenges we have had in evaluating his assertions.  We are still not clear what he wants.  *** **** indicates our installation of granite created so much dust in his house that his house and ductwork system had to be professionally cleaned.  Because he told us the house had been cleaned professionally, we requested pictures and invoices related to the cleaning, that is why we did not schedule a visit to view his house.  Looking at a house that was just professionally cleaned would not add value to the consideration of a claim of leaving a house dusty.  Four different individuals within our company including myself have requested documentation and support related to the situation, none has been sent to us. 

 

*** **** indicated to you that he forwarded to **** *****’s insurance claim processing company, ********* Claims, the pictures.  I contacted ********* onSeptember 8, and again on October 22 to obtain the photos and invoices.  Both times I received a response from the individual assigned his claim, indicating they have not received any such pictures or information.  *** **** went on to indicate that no drywall work was done.  It is possible he did not do any such work, we were basing that conclusion on our pictures which show areas on the wall that appear to have been spackled for an upcoming new tile backsplash. Finally, *** **** indicated that the installer cut twelve linear feet of granite.  The entire length of the wall where the granite trimming was done was only ten feet long and we did not trim the whole length of granite. The granite was trimmed in a specific part of the kitchen wall where it protruded out and was not straight.   

 

We apologize for any dust left from our installation.  It is unfortunately impossible to eliminate all dust.  The vast majority of houses require either trimming or a cooktop cut out during an installation.  This is the first time we have had a customer claim their house and ductwork had to be professionally cleaned as a result of our work. We have been in business almost twenty years.  Construction is a messy undertaking and *** **** did renovate his entire kitchen. We requested information and support so we could evaluate if something should or could be done and unfortunately we have not been successful in obtaining that.  Absent an actual request for us to do something and support for any claimed damages there is no course of action we can take.       

Best Regards,

Bery E********

Artelye Marble & Granite

From: Bery E********<bery@artelye.com>
Date: Mon, Oct 27, 2014 at 3:34 PM
Subject: FW: Claim - *********** - *** **** - Date of Loss: 08/18/2014 - GL
To: ***** ****** <*****************>


*****, This is a forward of my requests for information from **** *****’s Claims Company.  I know it is difficult for you to hear what in this case is two stories that are quite divergent. I thought this email might help support  information in my responses to you.

Best Regards,

Bery E********

Artelye Marble & Granite

Office: ###-###-####

 

From: ****** ********* *. [mailto:*******************************
Sent: Wednesday, October 22, 2014 4:05 PM
To: Bery E********
Subject: RE: Claim - *********** - *** **** - Date of Loss: 08/18/2014 - GL

 

No I have not.

********* ** ***** |  Claims Representative-Liab 
******** Claims Management Services, Inc.
Direct ###-###-####, EXT. ***** | Fax ###-###-####
Email *******************************
 www.********.com | The leader in innovative claims and productivity management solutions

From: Bery E******** [mailto:bery@artelye.com
Sent: Wednesday, October 22, 2014 9:36 AM
To: ****** ********* *.
Subject: RE: Claim - *********** - *** **** - Date of Loss: 08/18/2014 - GL

 

Have you received any monetary demands, pictures or supporting evidence for this clam.  Thank you for your help. 

Best Regards,

Bery E********

Artelye Marble & Granite

Avalon Sinks

Office: ###-###-####

Fax :    ###-###-####  
Cell:    ###-###-####

From: ****** ********* *. [mailto:***************@***********.com
Sent: Monday, September 08, 2014 12:42 PM
To: Bery E********
Cc: **** ******
Subject: RE: Claim - *********** - *** **** - Date of Loss: 08/18/2014 - GL

 

Thank you. I have noted the file of such.

********* ** ***** |  Claims Representative-Liab 
******** Claims Management Services, Inc.
Direct ###-###-####, EXT. ***** | Fax ###-###-####
Email ***************@***********.com
 www.********.com | The leader in innovative claims and productivity management solutions

From: Bery E******** [mailto:bery@artelye.com
Sent: Monday, September 08, 2014 11:41 AM
To: ****** ********* *.
Cc: **** ******
Subject: RE: Claim - *********** - *** **** - Date of Loss: 08/18/2014 - GL

 

We have tried to obtain information, I just thought that if a claim was filed with your agency there may be some detail as to what the customer was asking for.  I have never seen a situation where a customer did not lead off with pictures and or invoices for damages repaired.  We have been unsuccessful in getting any information out of the customer or HD.  We have been unable to obtain invoices, claimed damage cost, or pictures.  It is very peculiar. 

Best Regards,

Bery E********

Artelye Marble & Granite

Avalon Sinks

Office: ###-###-####

Fax :    ###-###-####  
Cell:    ###-###-####

From: ****** ********* *. [mailto:***************@***********.com
Sent: Monday, September 08, 2014 8:28 AM
To: Bery E********
Subject: Claim - *********** - *** **** - Date of Loss: 08/18/2014 - GL

 

Good Morning Bery,

Per my voicemail this morning I was returning your call. In answer to your question, I am not aware of what kind of dollar amount the customer is looking for on the claim. Artelye would need to reach out to the customer in order to obtain this information.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

 

Thanks,

 

********* ***** 
Claims Representative-Liab 
******** Claims Management Services, Inc. 
Phone:###-###-#### Ext.***** 
Fax: ###-###-#### 
E-mail: ***************@***********.com 
www.********.com

10/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a brand new home with ********* kitchen counters three years ago. There was a problem with one of the seams which was way to wide and it keeps opening up. I had them come to repair it several times while under warranty. It never got repaired where it stayed filled in. I sent emails with pictures of how bad it looks, my husband and I both called to complain. After several phone calls,& emails in which the customer representative ignored us and set up bogus repair appointments ,where we took off to be home for no shows. We called her back to tell her about it and she called us a liar !! Who does business like that ?? I'm so tired of cooking in my kitchen with a big open seam, that I have to cover with a towel. Also while having another contractor for something else come in, he notice that under the sink bolts were missing and they put a piece of wood and a screw to hold up our sink He also said the counter was cut too short, and that's why the seam is so big. He suggested taking them to court for such hideous workmanship. This has been a ongoing battle with no resolve from day one.

Desired Settlement: Artelye has the responsibility to do the install properly the first time, not have repair guys come back several times to do patch work that last a couple of weeks. They should have professional customer service representatives who are polite and professional " not Rude and Nasty " !! My husband and I have tried to reach someone from that company other than the representative to help us , all we got was the run around and rudeness !! When told I would take them to court , the rude representative said "go ahead " That's the kind of people we've been dealing with for three years !!! So the best thing they could do for us is a refund and a apology for the disgusting work and their unprofessional representative ,and unskilled workers.

Business Response:

10/6/14

I have reviewed the information surrounding this claim. The kitchen was installed in January 2011. The homeowner claims to have taken occupancy in March 2011. We received calls to perform seam repairs which were performed in October 2012 and May 2013. Based on this complaint it appears the seam has separated again.

I can certainly understand that an individual would assume that seam separation was due to improper countertop installation. It is however not uncommon for seams to “pop” or separate in new homes for other reasons. Settling of homes and cabinets is the primary causal factor in seam separation. Typically this happens within the first year of the home being used. The second most common cause of separation is excessive weight being placed on the counter from someone standing or sitting on a counter. The integrity of the seam is completely dependent on the foundation it has. Small issues with the level of cabinets under a countertop surface can cause this problem.

Because of the natural settling of houses, builders generally require a one year warranty from date of occupancy for the counter installation. This period of time has been shown in most cases to allow for a home and cabinets to settle. Many homes do not have any issues at all, while others do settle in the area where the cabinets are installed and this arises. I apologize if any of the communications *** ******* had were less than professional. We discipline individuals who are found to behave unprofessionally. Our commitment to customer service as a company however is borne out by the fact that we visited *** *******’s house to assist her twice after she was out of any warranty period at no cost. As I had indicated to you in a prior communication, the builder had some settling issues in the development in which *** ** ***** lives due to lumber supplied to them. I am told that several of the houses settled more than usual and for longer periods of time. This is not the builders fault or our fault, it is also not typical.

We will be contacting the customer this week to set an appointment with them to inspect the situation. We will bring a laser leveling devise to measure the cabinets to determine if there has been settling of them. Only after doing this will we know what corrective actions will help them enjoy their kitchen without the seams moving.

Best Regards
Bery E

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

******* ** *****


*** ******
         There is a 2nd seam just 8 inches from the one question which is sealed tight and barely noticeable, if settling was an issue I'm sure it would have affected that seam as well.   I keep a clutter free area on my counters and we do not stand/sit on them.   Also, the comment about the lumber that was supplied to build these units is news to us.  Mr.E******** mentioned bringing a laser level here to measure the cabinets, well that was already done by one of his techs when they visited.  He also mentioned coming here twice after the warranty but he neglected to mention the 3 or 4 other times this was looked at while still under warranty, and after every visit it wasn't long before it reopened.  At the time the tech told us that he didn't understand why this was happening.   I did receive a call from them, after we were forced to contact the BBB, stating that they wanted to put some steel rods in there to help close the seam, that doesn't seem like an honest attempt at fixing this problem.   An independent contractor looked at their work and said the counter was not measured correctly and the seam was to big, and that the sink was hanging on by a set of clamps on one side and a piece of wood on the other. I sent them pictures of it all.    How many more times are they going to have to come here for this?  How can we trust their work after this?   This is why we came to you so that we can be refunded the cost and have another contractor complete the work safely and correctly  So yes *** ****** I am rejecting their response.

Respectfully,
******* ** *****







Business Response:

*** ** *****, we understand you are frustrated with your kitchen, and we apologize if the service representative was anything but professional with you or did not respond to your requests in a timely manner.  When we perform service visits they are scheduled on our calendar.  We only have record of three visits to you regarding this issue.  It is possible that if we were in the neighborhood already someone could have been asked to stop by and look at an issue for you, we however do not have any documentation related to that so we cannot comment on the other three to four visits you are referring to.

 

Regarding coming out to run a laser level on your cabinets, it was a procedure to help us understand if the cabinets have settled and to determine how best to better support the counter top.  The seam that is separating would not separate unless an outside force was causing movement in the top.  This would include the degradation of the support for the top.  It is not separating because it is too wide.  We realize there is a seam near this location that has not separated but please consider that seam is located on another wall and a different run of cabinets.  If there is any bounce in the floor near the seam that is separating and the cabinets are moving, even slightly, it could cause the separation to occur. It does not take a lot of movement to degrade the support provided the counter tops.  This may or may not be present in your kitchen but it is a possibility. 

 

To help you with the situation we offer to replace the L shaped tops that cover the sink and cooktop area.  We will also replace the two end splashes. We confirmed with the manufacturer the material is available.  If you would like this done we will set up a time to confirm the measurements on that section of the kitchen.  We will also review the access and kitchen to see If it is possible to eliminate the seam that is continuing to cause problems.  There is a chance that if we use a jumbo sized slab it could be eliminated. Please let us know if you would like to proceed. 

Best Regards,

Bery E********

Artelye Marble & Granite

Avalon Sinks

Office: ###-###-####

Fax :    ###-###-####  
Cell:    ###-###-####

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Artelye, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)