BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

United Furniture Style, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 622-9991 Fax: (610) 622-9994 View Additional Phone Numbers 5300 W. Baltimore Pike, Clifton Heights, PA 19018 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.unitedfurniturestyle.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that United Furniture Style, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Complaint Information

One complaint has processed by the Bureau in its three year reporting period. This complaint has been resolved.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 11, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated: 01/01/2008 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Abe Eid Mr. Ahmad Eid, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Abe Eid
Principal: Mr. Ahmad Eid, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 1106 Chester Pike

    Sharon Hill, PA 19079

  • 5300 W. Baltimore Pike

    Clifton Heights, PA 19018

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 522-5100(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two Bistro sets consisting of one table and two chairs each on November 9,2013 . The reason for purchasing two was that I wanted three chairs which I was told you would have to purchase an entire set, that they do not sell chairs separately. I asked if I could confirm that with the owner I was told he was on vacation. We assembled them the following evening. My husband is a carpenter by trade, Within 48 hours 1 chair became unusable the metal legs began to bend. We thought no big deal we didn't need that chair anyway. Within the next 2.5 weeks proble** developed with two other chairs same thing the legs started bending on top of that the tables started wobbling if you place a cup of coffee or any liquid and someone puts their hands or elbows on the table the liquid spills. We went back to the store on December 1st( within 30 days) with pictures that were taken of the chairs. we asked for a refund was told the only thing they would do is give us "parts" I explained I have 2 defective sets why would I want parts???? I asked to talk to the owner was told he was on vacation. Only myself who is 64 and my husband who is older than that live in the house and we both work full time.

Business Response: December, 23rd. 2013

Sir/Madam,
In reference of your letter dated December 20th, 2013. We are here to inform you that, on November the 9, **. ****** ******* visited our furniture store and purchasing 2 set of table ( High counter table with matching high counter chairs)at the cost of $400.68 as shown on the attached receipt, the merchandise was available in stock in our warehouse therefore she decided that she will personally pick them and assemble them on her own instead of the store handling the merchandise. Few weeks later, she came back to the store and told us some parts of her chairs are falling apart that she wanted her full refund of her money . At that moment, I told her that I am going to order the damage part for her and fix the chair for her, at this moment in my store I have the parts even available. **. ******* did not want listen to me and all what she wanted is to get her money back. We had no problem doing that, but we explain to her for the second time verbally that according to our store policy any merchandise bought and ordered by customer cannot be returned else the customer will loose 35% of the total cost the merchandise because that merchandise cannot no longer be sold as new to another customer only option for the store is to sell the same merchandise on the floor as it is with 35% or even 50% when damage for less of the original price.

She will not agree and insisted to have her full money refunded.

**. ******, was informed by the time of her transaction which even printed on the left comer of her receipt that terms of sale is : ALL SALES TRANSACTION ARE FINAL. NO REFUND,OR CHARGE CARD CREDIT WILL BE MADE ON PARTIAL PAYEMENT OR FULL PAYEMENT ETC...

Sincerely.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/29/13, my fianc and I visited United Furniture Style. We were approached by a sales woman (***) as we were looking at a white table w/ an oak top. She asked if we were interested in the table. We told her we liked the style but not the color. We were either looking for all white or white and grey. She told us that they had one in the catalog they was in the right color style . She showed it to us and it appeared to be a grey marbled top table with white legs , four white chairs with grey seats and a white bench with grey seat. It appeared to be exactly what we wanted. She told us that price was $899. We asked her if they could go any lower on the price. She came back with $825 with shipping, delivery and taxes. Today (10/5/13), the table was delivered. When the delivery men showed up, my fianc asked them if he could see the table color before they brought the furniture in. They said they couldnt open the table until they brought it into the house. Once they got it in and started to set it up, my fianc immediately notice that the seats and table top were brown, not grey. He asked them to take it back, it was not what we ordered. They ignored him, mumbled curse words and continued to set up the table set. Once they were done, my fianc was able to retrieve me to look over the table to ensure that he wasnt overreacting and that this was indeed the wrong color. I immediately noticed that it was the wrong color. One delivery man called the store and had the manager (either ***** or *****) on the phone to talk to us. Before we could even get a complete sentence out to him, he was yelling that he does not take back furniture. We tried talking to him but he would not listen. He just kept repeating there are no returns. I asked *** and she said that she agreed that the furniture looks grey in the catalog. The manager quickly got back on the phone and started to again yell that there are No Returns. I told him that we are not accepting the order and would not sign for the delivery. He asked me to put the delivery men on the phone. Before I did I asked him if he was going to instruct them to leave the furniture and refuse to take it back and his answer was, Yes I am! Once they phone was hung up, my fianc and I tried to reason with the delivery men. They said that there was nothing that they could do and that they would be fired if they took it back. We said, but we are refusing the delivery so, please take it with you. They refused and started to leave. The one who was mumbling and cursing decided to start cursing out loud as he left all while my fianc was asking them to remove the furniture and that we were not accepting the delivery. The delivery man then threatened my fiance, stating that he was about to lose his cool. To avoid any other conflict, we asked them to leave our property. The one delivery man started to walk towards us, yelling and scaring our 6 year old son. And I dont mind telling you that I am also shaken by this experience. They finally left after I bagged them to go. I walked them to their truck, begging them to stop screaming at my fianc. Finally, they left and I was able to calm my son down a bit. We are all still a bit on edge. And we have never signed for or accepted this delivery of this product!

Desired Settlement: We would like the furniture to be picked up and taken back to the warehouse and a full refund in the amount of $850. We would also like an apology for the behavior of the manager who was screaming at us on the phone and from the delivery men for scaring us and acting in a threatening manner. I am still shaking, my son is scared that the big men are going to come back and ***** is incredibly stressed and disappointed with the way we were treated and that we have a product that we did not order.

Business Response:  12-13-2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Following my telephone conversation with ********, we are here to inform you that on September 29th, 2013 ***** ******* visited our furniture store and purchased a dining table with 4 side chairs and a bench, from Ashley dining catalog for the cost of $825.00, at that moment we indicated-to him that any merchandise that a customer choose from a catalog means: SPECIAL ORDER which states on our official receipt that all special order from the catalog with the choice of the customer will not be cancelled, exchange or refunded or once are the order has been processed.

Also, we will like to indicate to you that at the time **. ******* made his decision for his order he came alone, he told us that he want it and he is fully responsible for his order and that he read the terms of sale. We processed and submitted his order after all paper work were signed by him.

When we received his order from the factory in our warehouse on October 1st, we called him to inform him about the reception of his merchandise and schedule for the merchandise to delivered his house, and told us to deliver the table on October 5th, 2013.

On October 5th, when the delivery men arrived at ******* house, they opened and set up his dining table with the chair and his bench, he was satisfied with everything and signed delivery split. Later that day he called our office and told us that his wife does not like that table I reminded him about the terms of sale and told him that I sending the delivery man with the original receipt he sign on which the term of sale he read and agreed before he signed. When my drivers arrived to his house to show him the receipt for him to compare with the merchandise received, he started screaming at them cursing to repack and take that table back to the store they tried to explain to explain to him to call the store and talk to the management he refused to admit he choice and just wanted the drivers to pack the merchandise back and bring it to the store meanwhile the delivery men called me that his angry cursing at the them until the neighbors witness the scene on the parking lot were my drivers were humiliated front of the neighborhood. I was on the phone could hear him haling at them to leave his premises simply because they did want to take the I would like to tell you that my drivers never curse or fight **. ******* rather he was trying to fight them for refusing to take the merchandise they delivered to his house, even when they called me from his house that **. ******* would not let them out until the table is taking

table back . I had no verbal complaint or written complaint reported to us about the merchandise from **. *******. As the matter of fact, the merchandise is still in used in **. ******* house since that date.

We are also attaching copies of all receipts made on the day of the transaction on which he signed and dated, which also clarifies the sale and terms and condition before his order was processed and sent to the factory and that of our policy on which it state all sales are final no cancellation or refund on special order, mentioned in the letter.

Hoping that these evidence will help in the resolution of this matter, we will highly appreciate your cooperation about this matter.

Your sincerely

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to go to pick up the set at the warehouse along with my brother in law. I was not shown the couches and they were not unwrapped to be able to assess any damage there could have been. I was told to sign on a page which had nothing but other signatures on it. I was not informed that the signature page was any kind of waiver or relinquishing of rights for the furniture. I was not given any official paperwork stating such policy and was not informed of it. The couches have several scratches on the leather and there is a nail sticking out of the back of one of them.

Desired Settlement: I would like the scratched leather in the couches fixed and if that cannot be done I would like a partial refund to be able to fix the damage somehow. I paid over $1400 for this Ashley set and I didn't expect there to be damage and get the run around by the employees of the company.

Business Response: BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania    8/10/13
50 West North Street Bethlehem, PA 18018-5789

Dear BBB:

We United Furniture Style, Received and understand the complaint that was assigned an ID of *******. The customer put the items on layaway for 5 months, before paying the balance. When the balance was paid, the customer decided to change the order to pick up instead of delivery due to change of moving address. We told the customer if they pick up they will be fully responsible for any damage. The customer agreed, and was shown the items before the pick-up 7/5/13 in good condition. The customer was then given a receipt which has a brief policy where he signed and dated regarding the terms of sale. We received a call five days later from the customer complaining about several scratches on the leather that we all were unaware of at the time of pick-up. We called the company regarding the issue and the company doesn’t cover the problem, to resolve the problem we will be sending a specialist to give an estimate of how much it will cost the customer to fix the item that was purchased 2/24/2013. Due to our policy, We cannot give a partial refund. Therefore to give my customer full satisfaction, I will be sending a specialist to resolve my other parties complaint.

Sincerely,

***** ***

United Furniture Style, Inc.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I was never told that signing paper work was accepting full responsibility for damage to the furniture in question. It was not explained that way and i never inspected furniture. The first time I looked at the couches was when I got them home. I pulled the cardboard and plastic wrap off the couch to find the flaws in the leather when they were at my house.  The outright lies coming from this company are out right frustrating because I paid 1400 dollars for ripped couches. The delivery that was supposed to happen and was changed to pick up because the store wanted to increase the delivery price by an additional 100 to deliver the items. 


Regards,

****** *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service