BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that United Furniture Style, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Complaint Information

One complaint has processed by the Bureau in its three year reporting period. This complaint has been resolved.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 11, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated: 01/01/2008 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Abe Eid Mr. Ahmad Eid, President
Contact Information
Principal: Abe Eid
Principal: Mr. Ahmad Eid, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 1106 Chester Pike

    Sharon Hill, PA 19079

  • 5300 W. Baltimore Pike

    Clifton Heights, PA 19018

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 522-5100(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to go to pick up the set at the warehouse along with my brother in law. I was not shown the couches and they were not unwrapped to be able to assess any damage there could have been. I was told to sign on a page which had nothing but other signatures on it. I was not informed that the signature page was any kind of waiver or relinquishing of rights for the furniture. I was not given any official paperwork stating such policy and was not informed of it. The couches have several scratches on the leather and there is a nail sticking out of the back of one of them.

Desired Settlement: I would like the scratched leather in the couches fixed and if that cannot be done I would like a partial refund to be able to fix the damage somehow. I paid over $1400 for this Ashley set and I didn't expect there to be damage and get the run around by the employees of the company.

Business Response: BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania    8/10/13
50 West North Street Bethlehem, PA 18018-5789

Dear BBB:

We United Furniture Style, Received and understand the complaint that was assigned an ID of *******. The customer put the items on layaway for 5 months, before paying the balance. When the balance was paid, the customer decided to change the order to pick up instead of delivery due to change of moving address. We told the customer if they pick up they will be fully responsible for any damage. The customer agreed, and was shown the items before the pick-up 7/5/13 in good condition. The customer was then given a receipt which has a brief policy where he signed and dated regarding the terms of sale. We received a call five days later from the customer complaining about several scratches on the leather that we all were unaware of at the time of pick-up. We called the company regarding the issue and the company doesn’t cover the problem, to resolve the problem we will be sending a specialist to give an estimate of how much it will cost the customer to fix the item that was purchased 2/24/2013. Due to our policy, We cannot give a partial refund. Therefore to give my customer full satisfaction, I will be sending a specialist to resolve my other parties complaint.

Sincerely,

***** ***

United Furniture Style, Inc.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I was never told that signing paper work was accepting full responsibility for damage to the furniture in question. It was not explained that way and i never inspected furniture. The first time I looked at the couches was when I got them home. I pulled the cardboard and plastic wrap off the couch to find the flaws in the leather when they were at my house.  The outright lies coming from this company are out right frustrating because I paid 1400 dollars for ripped couches. The delivery that was supposed to happen and was changed to pick up because the store wanted to increase the delivery price by an additional 100 to deliver the items. 


Regards,

****** *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/31/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1