BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Offenbacher Pool 'n Patio Shops

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 794-8794 View Additional Phone Numbers 10001 Aerospace Road, Lanham, MD 20706 http://www.offenbachers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Offenbacher Pool 'n Patio Shops meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Offenbacher Pool 'n Patio Shops include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 19, 1996 Business started: 01/19/1963
Business Management
Mr. Karl Offenbacher, Owner Ms. Mary Lawrence, Office Manager Ms. Alpana Offenbacher, Co Owner Mr. Mark Ramos, GM
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Alpana Offenbacher, Co Owner
Principal: Mr. Karl Offenbacher, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Patio Equipment & Supplies Fireplaces

Alternate Business Names
Offenbacher Pool and Patio Offenbacher's

Additional Locations

  • 10001 Aerospace Road

    Lanham, MD 20706

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10265 York Road

    Hunt Valley, MD 21030

  • 11264 James Swart Circle

    Fairfax, VA 22030

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4175 Plank Road

    Fredericksburg, VA 22407

  • 46301 Potomac Run #150

    Sterling, VA 20164

  • 5500 Randolph Road

    Rockville, MD 20852

  • 6123 A Backlick Road

    Springfield, VA 22150

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6475 Dobbin Road

    Columbia, MD 21045

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 881-8565(Phone)
  • (410) 666-2270(Phone)
  • (443) 276-0331(Phone)
  • (540) 645-5073(Phone)
  • (703) 444-8882(Phone)
  • (703) 569-5700(Phone)
  • (703) 591-9840(Phone)
  • (301) 794-0457 (Fax)
  • (888) 231-9838 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: December 6, 2013
Sir or Madam:

I was disappointed to discover that a charge of $569.07 by Offenbacher’s Pool ‘n Patio appeared on my credit card statement this morning, eleven days after they agreed to cancel my order and return my deposit.

Offenbacher’s should resolve this situation immediately by sending me a check for $569.07 to return my deposit. If they do not do so, they are simply stealing money.

Please include this letter as an addendum to the BBB complaint that I initiated on November 26, 2013.

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response: Received this complaint via E- mail on Monday Dec 9th 2013 We sincerely apologize for the confusion and delay. **. ***** * ******** provided the measurements of his fireplace opening and the fireplace door order was placed. Based on the information provided our order department found that fireplace opening was raised 1/4" above the hearth. On 11-21-13 or there about **.******** was contacted and updated he should get a hearth flange or a riser bar to make sure the door stays securely in place after it is installed. If the opening is raised, the door could potentially slip down and fall off after it has been opened and closed because there is nothing under it to support the weight of the door. A 1/4" isn't a big gap, but it is "better safe than sorry". It was error that this piece of information was overlooked. A consumer will not know what warrants a flange or riser bar. That is why we have our service techs to do measurements and they can notate it on the measurement form if flanges are required. A customer wouldn't know to do that. There is a cost for the extra security and it is **. ******** choice to pay the up charge. However, at the moment we are willing to absorb the extra charge and move forward with the order if **.******** approves it. **. ******** also has the choice to cancel the order. If the order needs to be cancelled, we can cancel the order and refund **. ******** on his credit card. **. ******** will have to provide us with that card # we do not keep consumers card # on file. All refunds are made to the method of payment when the sale was made. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you ****** Offenabcher

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

See Attachment

Regards,

***** ********




Business Response: Good morning:
I am standing by my decision to process the refund via credit card.
It our policy.
**. ******** needs to call it in to the store.
Not interested in holding on to **. ********'s $596.07 or his credit card information.

**. ******** should refrain from accusing us of theft.

Thank you
****** Offenbacher.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Offenbacher’s offers no reason other than their self-imposed “policy” for refusing to refund my deposit of $596.07 unless I provide my confidential credit information.  This “policy” was never revealed either verbally or in the contract signed on November 25, 2013, and it in no way restricts my right to keep confidential credit information from those whom I deem untrustworthy.  To summarize:

 

1)         Offenbacher’s has repeatedly agreed to return my deposit.

2)         It was Offenbacher’s error in writing up the November 25, 2013 contract that caused this dispute.

3)         The $596.07 charge on my credit card for the deposit appeared eleven days after Offenbacher’s first agreed to return my deposit.

4)         Offenbacher’s has never offered any justification for insisting that I reveal my credit information other than their own self-imposed, opaque and previously unannounced “policy”.

5)         Offenbacher’s has never explained why they cannot refund my deposit using other routine and conventional means such as sending me a check. 

Regards,

***** ********








Business Response: Our agreement with our credit card processor prohibits us from issuing cash/ check refund.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS FOR MERCHANT AGREEMENT

9) Any credit transaction submitted to us represents a refund or adjustment to a Payment Transaction previously submitted to FDS.

3.3 Procedure for Refunds/ Adjustments.
 If you allow a price adjustment, return of merchandise, or cancellation of services in connection with a Payment Transaction, you will prepare and deliver to us Transaction Data reflecting such refund or adjustment within 3 days of receiving the Customer's
request for such refund/adjustment.
The amount of the refund/adjustment cannot exceed the amount shown as the total on the original Transaction Data
except by the exact amount required to reimburse the Customer for postage that the Customer paid to return merchandise.
You are not allowed to accept cash or any other payment or consideration from a Customer in return for preparing a refund to be deposited to the Customer's account;
nor may you give cash refunds to a Customer in connection with a Payment Transaction

Requesting **. ******** to go to the Rockville MD store and swipe his card at the store location rather than giving us the card number over the phone.

Thank you
****** Offenbacher.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought the ******** Tuscany Outdoor Patio set 3 years ago from Offenbacher's store in ********, VA. Both of the swivel chairs do not swivel freely anymore, and one is completely stuck. They are under a 10 years warranty. We submitted an online warranty claim (Only method available) with Offenbacher's and after a month without any response whatsoever from them, we stopped by the store to check on what was going on. The store manager looked it up in the system and determined the parts were just shipped to us by mail that same day. Two days later we did receive two plastic parts, no instructions of how to perform the repair were provided. Unable to repair them ourselves, we called ahead and took the chairs and parts to the store for someone there to make the necessary repair. The staff is not trained in repair work, so they just did their best with limited success: With the parts replaced, the chairs were still not swiveling properly, and one was actually made worst than before. Whereas the identical chairs on the showroom floor swivel very easily, ours move, but with much resistance. We were told the posts inside were dirty and needed replacing and the customer service would get the parts or replace the chairs. The store manager was upset that we left the chairs at the store while the new parts were on order. He didn't want the liability. We left them at the store as we were not going to drag them home and then back when the parts came in. The store staff also called Offenbacher's service department while we were waiting, and informed us that the service department would check with the manufacturer if they could just replace the chairs for us in light of the circumstances and get back to us with a response. Nobody called back to give us the decision. I called the customer service number again today (07/05/13) and were told new posts and bases would be shipped to our house instead of the store. I told them to change the shipping location as we cannot repair them ourselves. This is where we are in the process. As we mentioned above, the staff is not trained in repair work and they don't have any special tools to take the chairs apart, which is why I am skeptical of their ability to fix them properly not using unnecessary brute force that may further damage the chairs as they had to do in the first round. We are very dismayed with the service we have received so far with Offenbacher’s. We made a big investment by selecting an expensive line - ******** patio furniture - and we expect the service to be on par with the investment given the 10 years warranty that came with them. We have been extremely inconvenienced by the inattentive, slow, and dismissive response and the inability to correct our issue.

Desired Settlement: Our chairs are well under warranty (3 years into a 10 year warranty). We feel we received defective chairs from the beginning as this mechanism should not have failed so soon. The staff at the store by their own admission is not trained in repair work and the unprofessional repair attempts may have damaged them even further, which is why at this point we expect the two chairs to be fully replaced with no further delay with new, identical, and properly functioning chairs.

Business Response:

Friday, July 19, 2013                         

BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania                              

11411 K St. NW, 10th Floor                           

Washington DC 20005-3404                         

Case ID *******_******                            

                       

Dear **. ******:                               

Received ***. ***** ******’s complaint via E- mail on Friday 7-19-2013                                   

We sincerely apologize for the confusion and delay.                        

Two brand new chairs are being sent to the ******** location week of 7-22-2013.                          

**s. ****** will be called when they arrive at the store, for her to pick them up. Store hours are Mon-Sat 10-9 & Sun 11-6.

The store pick up charge of $25.00 has been waived.

All of this was communicated via a phone conversation with ***. ****** yesterday by our office manager.     

If ***. ****** would like these chairs to be delivered to her home, we will be happy to schedule a delivery date; however the delivery fee of $99.00 will apply.

At this moment I'd like to address ***. ******'s concerns about the store personnel and their in-ability to assist with repairs. Offenbacher showrooms have sales staff and no service or repair personnel.

Car Logic _if I have a flat tire or any other problem with my car I do not take my car to the showroom to be repaired. Service center does the repairs.                                                           

Again I apologize for the inconvenience, ***. ****** requested replacements and she will have them next week.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

 

****** Offenbacher.

                                                                       







BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the store to look at patio furniture. I spent approximately an hour or so looking around and my wife and I asked to get a quote on one of the models on display. We received the estimate and my wife and I took a little time to discuss it while we were still in the store. We were given a written price of $3759.30 for the project and they would waive the $99 delivery and installation, which would get the project down to $3660.30. We decided that we would go ahead and make the purchase. I went to make the purchase and they took all of my information and when we were discussing the scheduled delivery date I told them I wanted it as soon as possible. The sales person said we would be able to get everything there this Thursday except for the table because they were on back-order. The district manager offered to give me an additional 5% off the table, if i took the floor model. The table was $1642, which would have been an additional $81 off the order, bringing the project down to $3579.30. I went outside to discuss with my wife and she said she was fine with the floor model. It seemed to be in decent condition. I came back in to complete the purchase and after I had given all of my information and finalized the delivery, I was told the price was $3980. When I asked about the discrepancy I was told they had made a mistake and they could not honor the price we agreed upon and that the higher price was the correct price. They offered to give me $100/off, but the end price was still $300 higher than the estimate that was given. It was a bait and switch and the sales person made no effort to rectify it, nor did the district manager.

Desired Settlement: If the company agrees to honor the price quoted and provide the services discussed we would be willing to still do business with them.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates that the business has not responded to you directly.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Offenbacher Pool 'n Patio Shops regarding complaint ID *******.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: Company is working with customer to resolve dispute.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The company has not reached out to me.


Regards,

******* *****








BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1