BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Moores Furniture

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 458-8001 View Additional Phone Numbers 90 Pottstowne Pike, Uwchland, PA 19480 http://www.mooresfurniture.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Moores Furniture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1962 in PA Business incorporated: 01/01/1967 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Moore, Owner Ms. Christine Svanda, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Moore, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Svanda, Office Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3291 W Ridge Pike

    Pottstown, PA 19464

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    90 Pottstowne Pike

    Uwchland, PA 19480

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 430Route 100

    Uwchland, PA 19480 (610) 458-8001

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 458-8002(Phone)
  • (610) 458-8003(Phone)
  • (610) 458-8005(Phone)
  • (610) 458-8006(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12-Jul-2013 we purchased a 3 piece "malibu' sectional with the fabric Romance Java from the ********* store location. On this date we paid a $655.00 deposit. On 07-Aug-2013 the furniture was scheduled for delivery to our house. At the time of delivery it was identified that the fabric on the RAF Corner sofa was lighter than the fabric on the LAF chaise lounge and armless sofa. This was identified to the delivery driver who subsequently contacted his superiors via telephone. Due the color imperfections we did not accept delivery on this product and it was returned to the store warehouse. The store's customer service department was contacted by us regarding this issue on 07-Aug-2013. On 08-Aug-2013, my husband, ***** ******, visited the warehouse to further clarify the coloring imperfections that we noted in the product. The product was viewed under several lighting conditions nad the difference in coloring remained obvious. During this meeting my husband was informed that the store did not think there was a problem with the furniture and that they would do nothing further to correct the issue. We maintain that there is a problem with the color of the RAF corner sofa (fabric appears lighter than the two other pieces) and require further resolution. A certified letter was sent to Moore's on 09-Aug-2013 further detailing our complaint. This letter was received by the company on 10-Aug-2013; however, no reponse to the letter has been received.

Desired Settlement: I would like the impefections with the product to be corrected so that all pieces contain fabric from the same dye lot and in the same direction so that the colors of the pieces match. If the store is not willing to do this, I would like our $655 deposit refunded.

Business Response:

Attached is a copy of the letter I sent on August 16, 2013 regarding this complaint.  It is my understanding it is resolved.  Since the 16th the customer took delivery of their other furniture in which the deposit from the section was used towards.

********* ******

August 16, 2013

Dear ******* *******

It is my understanding this issue is resolved with the customer as of August 14, 2013.  Even though it is the opinion of the owner of Moore’s Furniture and the representative of England Company that the pieces are correct, it has been decided that the company will take the pieces back.  ******’s sale will be canceled and their deposit will be applied to the dining room set they have on order. 

********* ******

5/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/3/13, I order just under $6,000 worth of furniture from a salesperson named ***** ********. The process began great, but slowly deteriorated. The computer system used at this company is very dated, so ***** had to manually add the prices of each piece of furniture. Her addition was wrong and I, a customer, had to double check her work. I asked for the furniture to be delivered on 4/13/13. So she wrote on my receipt (invoice *****) "need Saturday 4/13/13". Delivering on a Saturday was not a problem, **** informed me. And the next day, 3/4/13, she called to tell me that I would be getting free delivery. Fast forward to Friday 4/12/13. I am moving into my new house - I am a first time home buyer. I got rid of all my old furniture as it was pieces that belonged to my father when he was a bachelor some 30 years ago. New house, new furniture from Moore's. I am expecting to receive a phone call on Friday from Moore's telling me what time my furniture would be arriving the next day. I am waiting and waiting for this call. The store closes at 9PM on Friday, so I wait until around 6PM to call them and find out when the furniture would be coming. 1) The ******** location, where I bought the furniture from, told me to call the ************* location as they handle delivers. 2) I do so. And the woman I spoke to had no idea what I was talking about. My name was not on the delivery list and refers me back to the ******** location to settle this. 3) I do so. And I am told by my salesperson ***** that one piece of furniture was not available yet, it could take another 2 to 5 weeks (as it was 6 weeks since I ordered and they expect all furniture to be ready in 8 to 11 weeks). ***** then informs me that they do not keep track of requested shipping dates, that I can not cancel my order, and they do not place phone calls to customers until all pieces of furniture are ready to ship. I had no idea whatsoever that I would not be receiving my furniture on 4/13/13 like I requested and believed was no issue at all. Not once during the sales process did ***** inform me that I might not be getting my furniture on 4/13/13. If she told me this during the process, I would have shopped elsewhere or requested a guarantee on delivery. As a result, I have to sit on a beach chair in my living room because I have no furniture in my first house. On 4/14/13, I call the ******** store to talk to a manager to cancel my order and get a refund on my 10% deposit. I am told that the manager, ******, was coming in at 1PM. I leave a message for her to call me. No response. I call her again around 3PM. She is not available - she is with a customer (I too am a customer). It is now getting close to the 6PM time when the store closes, so I decide to visit ****** in person. When I arrive around 5:30, she is standing in the front of the store, no customers around, watching *** news on a TV. She said she was going to call me tomorrow (Monday 4/15). When I asked her to cancel my order and issue me a refund, I was met with much hostility. She pretty much kicked me out of the store after giving me **** *****'s phone number to call - which was simply the phone number to the ************* location. I learned from the ************* store that only my salesperson, ***** ********, could cancel my order. When I asked to speak with *****, ****** would not let me find her (as she was with a customer ... again, I too am a customer). ****** then threatened to call the police if I did not leave when all I wanted to do was cancel my order and get a refund on my 10% deposit. Both ****** and ***** are extremely rude and unprofessional. Moore's altogether simply does not care about their customers. What is the point of asking when I want something to be delivered if, according to *****, the store does not keep track of that information? I have since gone to another furniture store and bought $6,000 worth of furniture. All I want is my ordered canceled and my deposit replaced since Moore's did not live up to their side of the deal. I bought furniture, asked for it on 4/13/13. This is documented on my receipt (invoiced *****). This was positioned to me as not a problem and they even gave me free shipping. However, I was never informed that this delivery date would not be met. It's very unprofessional that the customer has to call to store to find out why the furniture isn't coming when expected. And even more unprofessional that when I try to cancel my order and get a refund, I am met with hostility and 'red tape'. I have since called the owner (**** *****) at 1PM on Monday 4/15/13 and have yet to get a response to a message I left for him.

Desired Settlement: Moore's has a responsibility to cancel my order and refund my 10% deposit as they did not meet their end of the contract we agreed to - $5,700 worth of furniture delivered on 4/13/13. Because the receipt says 'Need Sat 4/13/13', they should either honor that agreement or at least have the courtesy to contact me ahead of that date to let me know it will not be fulfilled. Because neither of these outcomes resulted, Moore's has a responsibility to issue me a credit for my deposit and cancel my order.

Business Response:

Customer ******* *** ****** ****** came in and purchased a bedroom and living room furniture on March 3, 2013.  A few of the items were not in stock and needed to be ordered.  According to the salesperson ***** ******** when the customer requested delivery on Saturday 4/13/13 she said she couldn't promise it but should be ok.  As it states on the invoice ***** that the customer signed agreeing to the listed conditions under #2 we cannot be held responsible for factory or shipping delays beyond our control.  All shipping dates given are approximations based on deliveries from factories.  The pieces were not in yet therefore the delivery was not confirmed for that date.  After the customer called the ******** store on 4/14/13 and the store manager wasn't in yet ******* from our office in ***** called the customer around 1:00 offering delivery for first thing Tuesday morning.  This was unacceptable to the customer.  The owner did call the customer on Tuesday to discuss the situation and policy.  He told the customer as it states on the signed invoice under #6 deposits are not refundable and in the event a customer refuses to consummate a sale, deposits will be retained by Moore's for liquidation.

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

When I placed my order with ***** ******** on 3/3/13, I was led to believe that I would receive my order on 4/13/13.  ***** never told me I should have come in earlier than a month and 10 days before the needed delivery date.  She even wrote on the hand written receipt Moore's utilizes that I 'need Sat 4/13/13'.  If this delivery date was not going to be met, Moore's should have contacted me prior to 4/13/13 explaining the situation.  Instead, I, the customer, had to contact Moore's and find out if / when my delivery would be coming.  When I spoke to Kathy on 4/12/13, she informed me that Moore's does not keep track of delivery dates.  Instead, when all the furniture is in stock, that is when the customer is contacted.  Why does Moore's even ask the customer for a desired delivery date if they do not keep track of it?  Kathy informed me on that 4/12/13 phone call that it usually takes 8 to 11 weeks after the order is placed for it to arrive and be ready for shipping.  If I had known this piece of information on 3/3/13, I would not have ordered my furniture from Moore's as that 8 to 11 week window was unacceptable because it did not meet my desired 4/13/13 delivery date.  But I did not know this on 3/3/13.  Again, I was led to believe that it would be no problem to have my delivery on 4/13/13.  Kathy informed me that it has been 6 weeks since my order and, therefore, it could be another 2 to 5 weeks until I receive my furniture.  I could not wait 2 to 5 weeks to receive $6,000 worth of bedroom and living room furniture.  Why?  I moved into my first house on 4/12/13 and got rid of all my old bedroom and living room furniture during the move - passed it off to my brother-in-law - because I was under the impression Moore's would be delivering me brand new furniture the next day.  New house, new furniture.  However, since ***** ******** misled me in the spirit of making a sale, I was forced to sit on beach chairs in my living room and purchase my furniture from a competitor who promised delivery on Tuesday 4/16/13.  And the competitor followed through on their promise.  Buying furniture from another store with delivery on 4/16/13 or wait up to another 5 weeks for Moore's to follow through on their promise was a no brainer to me.  Not once when I spoke to ***** ******** on the evening of 4/12/13 did she say that my furniture could be delivered 'first thing Tuesday morning'.  Instead, she told me it could be another 2 to 5 weeks.  I do not appreciate Moore's referring to their 'not refundable' deposit policy when their sales people make false promises.  These same sales people also immediately forget customer service the minute the customer walks out of the store and they have a deposit in hand.  A simple phone call prior to 4/13/13 or 4/12/13 explaining the situation, explaining how the furniture is not in yet, could have avoided this whole situation.  Instead, as ***** ******** informed me, the store does not keep track of requested delivery dates.  They take requests and even write them on receipts.  But they do not track them, let alone give customers updates on any changes.  I should have known shopping at Moore's was a mistake when ***** ******** needed to use a calculator to manually add the prices of the  items I bought to create the receipt.  Her initial calculations were incorrect and she needed to use white-out to cover her mistakes.  Then I had to double check her math.  Clearly, Moore's is an antiquated business with not only it's receipts, but also it's customer service and policies.  Promise a delivery date, take a 10% deposit, then forget about said delivery date, and when it is received late, keep the deposit and say "look at bullet point #6 on the receipt".  Bullet point #6 gives Moore's a license to steal and is unfair to customers who place their trust in them.  How on 4/12, I am informed I will receive my furniture in 2 to 5 weeks and then on 4/14, I am informed I can get my furniture delivered two days later blows my mind.  Clearly, not all employees at Moore's are on the same page here.  And the customer service has much to be desired.  For example, I called ******, a manager, at the ******** store two times on Sunday 4/14 and left her messages both times.  She never responded to my calls, so I was forced to drive to the speak to her in person.  When I walked in, she was standing in the empty show room watching *** on a television.  It is clear that Moore's does not care about their customers, makes promises that they cannot keep, and falls back on their 'not refundable' deposit policy when issues caused by their own employees arise.  All they care about is making a sale, and this is not fair to their customers.  Therefore, for these reasons, I reject Moore's response and request my deposit to be returned.  This issue was caused by ***** ********'s promised delivery date not being met and her lack of telling me I can receive my delivery on Tuesday 4/16 (three days after my requested date).  Instead, she misled me by saying it can be another 2 to 5 weeks.  This lie forced me to purchase my furniture elsewhere and allowed Moore's to refer to their 'not refundable' deposit policy.  If ***** ******** did not lie throughout this process, then I would be enjoying my Moore's furniture tonight.  Her lies and broken promises entitle me to a refund of my deposit.  Thank you.

Regards,

******* ******







8/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service