BBB Accredited Business since

Mahogany and More, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 666-6500 View Additional Phone Numbers 1620 E Circle Drive, Oaks, PA 19456 http://www.mahoganyandmore.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mahogany and More, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mahogany and More, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mahogany and More, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 25, 2007 Business started: 04/16/2003 in PA Business incorporated 01/01/2006 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs (BPOA)-PA
PO Box 2649, Harrisburg PA 17105
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/account
Phone Number: 717-783-1404
Fax Number: 717-705-5540
ST-ACCOUNTANCY@pa.gov
The number is Retail Lic#83698720.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lam Tran, President Mr. Timothy Flood, Sales Manager/ Webmaster
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lam Tran, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Furniture - Outdoor


Additional Locations

  • 1620 E Circle Drive

    Oaks, PA 19456

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5600 Concord Pike

    Wilmington, DE 19803

  • PO Box 1163

    Oaks, PA 19456

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 72 ******* Writing Desk with drawers on 9/22/14. After many calls and after being told it would take 2-5 weeks for delivery, the desk was finally delivered at my residence instead of business address listed on invoice several weeks after the guarantee time frame. When the desk finally arrived, the finish on the right hand drawer is chipping and pealing, and continues to this day. My assistants have made over 6 telephone calls and emails since 11/5/14. We have received 2 return phone calls from Mahagony and More with promises that the manufacturer was called and a new drawer would be shipped directly from the manufacturer. To date, we have not received a new drawer and telephone calls to Mahagony and More have not been returned.

Desired Settlement: We would request the requested drawer/desk be replaced/repaired in a timely fashion; and a billing adjustment

Business Response:

The parts involved are covered under the manufacturer's warranty. The replacement parts were ordered on behalf of the customer in early December but were not immediately available from the supplier. On December 19th the supplier notified us that the part would not be available until March. Follow- up on March 5th did not provide a definitive ETA. Follow-ups were made several times since but as of today the manufacturer has still not provided an exact date for the replacement part. We hope to hear back from the supplier within a day or two.

 

Related emails:


********** ********* ******* ********** ***** ***** ****** ************************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ***** ***** *** *********************** ***********************


**





Best Regards,


Diana R*****


Customer Service


Commercial Office Division


Phone: ###-###-####/###-###-####


Fax: ###-###-####


************************



***** ********************* ****************************** ***** ******* ***** *** **** ***** ** *** ***** ****** ******** *** ***** *****



** ******


Yes that's right. To be shipped to **** ******* in NY.


Please ship ASAP.


Thank you,


Bill



On Mon, Mar 9, 2015 at 12:20 PM, Diana R***** ************************** wrote:


From DECEMBER?? FOR THE ****





Best Regards,


Diana R*****


Customer Service


Commercial Office Division


Phone: ###-###-####/###-###-####


Fax: ###-###-####


************************



***** ********************* ****************************** ***** ********* ***** *** **** **** ** *** ***** ****** ******** *** ***** *****



Hi Diana,


Have the drawers arrived. We need ours as soon as they arrive.


Thank you,


****


Mahogany and More



On Fri, Dec 19, 2014 at 9:56 AM, Diana R***** ************************** wrote:


Hello,


I have some not so good news. I just got a call from the plant and we do not have any of those RSF drawers. We have switched factories and won’t be getting anymore in until MARCH. Would you like me to keep the order in until they come in stock?





Best Regards,


Diana R*****


Customer Service


Commercial Office Division


Phone: ###-###-####/###-###-####


Fax: ###-###-####


************************ ***** ********************* ****************************** ***** ******* ******** *** **** ***** ** *** ***** ****** ******** *** ***** *****


The right side drawer is needed.


Thank you,


****



On Mon, Dec 15, 2014 at 11:11 AM, Diana R***** ************************** wrote:


Do you need an RSF or the center keyboard drawer?





Best Regards,


Diana R*****


Customer Service


Commercial Office Division


Phone: ###-###-####/###-###-####


Fax: ###-###-####


************************



***** ********************* ****************************** ***** ******* ******** *** **** ***** ** *** ***** ****** ******** ***** *****



Hello Diana,


Please send a RSF drawer for the ******* ******* Writing Desk referenced on Invoice #****** to our customer:


**** *******


**** ******* **** **** ******** ** ***** *** ************ ****** *** ** **** ** *** **** *** ********** ***** **** **** ******

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

After calling this company again on Wednesday, March 18th, I was getting the run around with excuses as to why this wasn't handled in a more timely fashion. 
The Representative from Mahongany and More stated he would call me back Thursday, March 19th to give me an update on the situation and he never called.
I would like for the Mahongany and More to pick up the desk and refund my money.  I have waited longer then necessary for this to be resolved.



Regards,

**** ******** **** 







1/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a dining set and small occassional table from this company. The dining set (a table , 8 chairs , buffet and china cabinet) was delivered to my home on November 2, 2014. The china cabinet was sent back to the seller that day because the wrong item had been shipped. The occasional table did not come with the delivery which was overlooked that day due to the confusion about the china cabinet. So, only the dining table, 8 chairs and buffet where actually received in the end. On November 3, 2014 ( the following day) I contacted the seller by email and informed them that 1) the occassional table didn't arrive and 2) that we weren't happy with the color of the dining table and chairs and that, according to their return and exchange policy published on their website, that we wanted to choose another set to exchange it with another. We clearly stated we were willing to pay for the return shipping for the unwanted items as stated in their policy. We chose another set and informed the seller on November 7th by email. Seller replied he'd check the stock. The seller then told us that he ordered the sideboard and chairs, but that we had to wait for the table which he told us wouldn't be available from the manufacturer until December 10th. So we decided to wait for the table. Since then, it has been nearly impossible to contact the seller. I have tried numerous times since December 10th by phone, email and the website's live chat to get an update. I got no replies to any of my messages, except for one chat message on Sunday, December 14th when the seller told me he had been away and that he would check and call me on Monday the 15th to give me an update. He never called Monday nor any other day. It is now December 18th and we've heard nothing and still no answers to messages and calls. The seller has invoiced us and charged the amount of $8,772,20 to our credit card dated October 15th, 2014. For that I have an unwanted table, 8 chairs and a sideboard in my dining room waiting to be picked up for either exchange or refund making the room unusuable for more than a month as we don't want to damage them. The seller also still has the occassional table which was billed on the same invoice which hasn't been shipped to us. In short, the seller has our payment and we are stuck with a product we don't want and missing the occassional table even though we asked for an exchange according to their policy. Now I want a refund and don't want to waste any more time.

Desired Settlement: I want the seller to issue a refund for the unwanted 8 chairs, dining table, buffet and china cabinet (that was sent back the truck the day of delivery) back to our credit card and send their truck to pick up the merchandise as soon as possible. I am still willing to pay the return shipping according to their policy. I just want it out of our house and our money back. We do want them to ship us the occassional table they owe us.

Business Response: We are working with the customer to provide a replacement set and return the original. This week ********* proposed a slightly different list of items for exchange and we have agreed to order and deliver them, providing the replacement dining table later when it becomes available, on a separate delivery trip.

11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a couch on October 25, 2014. When I called on November 5, 2014, I was told it won't ship for another week. I have requested to cancel the order but have not gotten a response. I would like to cancel the order and receive a refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $624.34

Business Response:

This customer was refunded promptly within one days of the request to cancel.

The buyer left a voice message late in the day of November 5th asking to cancel. she also sent an email requesting to cancel in the late evening of November 5th after business hours

She filed this complaint early in the morning of November 6th (630 AM??) before our stores opened, suggesting that we did not respond.

We do not respond during the non business hours.

This buyer lives 5 states away from our store and  purchased a sofa on our website, which advertises long distance delivery times of 3 to 5 weeks. She canceled the order because she was expecting it within 10 days.

We offered to deliver it way ahead of schedule but she simply wanted to cancel and we accomodated her promptly even though it was in conflict with our terms. This should not have resulted in a BBB complaint.

We expect some basic screening of the merits of a  complaint before seeing something like this.

Sincerely,

Timothy F****

Manager

9/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 13, 2014 I ordered furniture from this organization. I have used their chat, phone and email week after week for delivery dates with promises to provide, but to no avail. I ordered 4 pieces of furniture. Only after threats did I finally get a delivery date for a desk and a chair, and it finally arrived 3 months late. I still have two items outstanding their item number ******* Buffer Server Credenza and ************** upholstered chair. I can not get any information out of them on these items. Finally not being able to reach them, I sent a email on July 10 to cancel these two items and reimburse my ******** ******* Card. I have heard nothing. Trying to reach them this morning, I can not reach them. I either want the items delivered immediately or I want a credit back to my credit card with the full amount they charged for the products and shipping. This is a shabby organization. I've never seen such poor service.

Desired Settlement: delivery of items ordered in perfect condition IMMEDIATELY or an immediate credit to my ******** ******* card.

Business Response:

As the customer requested, she received a full refund for all the parts not yet delivered on August 8th.

 

 

5/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan. 27th, 2014 I placed an online order for a sofa table with the company. I received several confirming emails and was given order #********. One of email confirmations stated that delivery would occur in 2 to 5 weeks. As of this coming Monday, I have been waiting 8 weeks, with absolutely no status update whatsoever. I still haven't received delivery and, despite leaving numerous voice massages and emails, cannot get the company to tell me the status of my order. Normally, when I call or try to chat, no one picks up. On two occasions, I spoke to a gentleman named ***** and a gentleman named *** who promised to get back to me the next day and never did. The online chat service and the phone lines always say no one is available to assist.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the table delivered ASAP in excellent condition. I would also like to have Mahogany and More respond to my inquiries as to the status of my table'd delivery date.

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Mahogany & More <sales@mahoganyandmore.com>
Date: Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 6:39 PM
Subject: RE: ********* ******* *******
To: ******* ******* <******************>
Cc: info@mahoganyandmore.com


*******,
 
** ******** table was delivered earlier today and she has been satisfied.
 
***


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Mahogany & More <sales@mahoganyandmore.com>
Date: Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 6:39 PM
Subject: RE: ********* ******* *******
To: ******* ******* <******************>
Cc: info@mahoganyandmore.com


*******,

 

** ******** table was delivered earlier today and she has been satisfied.

 

***

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am do not fully accept the response made by the business.  They promised delivery in 2 to 5 weeks and instead it took almost 3 MONTHS for delivery.  Their customer service was very poor--no answers to emails and voice mails; promised follow-up calls never made.  Getting to the point of the table being delivered to my home was a nightmare.

Regards,

********* *******








Business Response:

We infomed ********* early on that the item was delayed by the manufacturer and on back order. On at least 2 occasions I personally intervened to offer **** ***** a full refund since, the console table was in a prolonged back order.  ********* did not want to canel the order for a refund and asked us to keep it open. We provided her with the information received from ******, wich was to  push back to expected arrival date at least 3 times. As the item continued to be delayed, we offered her, and she accepted a 10 percent discount off the purchase price for the inconvenience of the delay. When the table finally arrived, it was delivered to her that same week without delay on our part. I am not aware of any difficulties in the delivery as the item was brought to her promptly after its arrival to us.

If there is something we did wrong in the delivery process, she can call me and we will offer a refund of delivery charges.

***

sales manager

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Mahogany and More did not tell me "early" in the process that there would be a delay, nor did they initiate the conversation about the delay as their letter infers.  I began calling them after the promised delivery date had already passed.  I made numerous phone calls which no one answered; numerous phone calls where the promised follow-up and return calls were never made; left multiple voice mails which were never answered; and sent emails which were also unanswered.
It was not until very late in the timeline that *** informed me that the manufacturer had sent Mahogany and More the table but that Mahogany and More hadn't received it.  I asked that he have the manufacturer deliver another table, which he agreed to do and was done.  I received the table approximately 3 months after the order was placed, rather than the promised 1 to 5 weeks.
While *** is correct that he --finally--managed to have the table delivered 3 months later and did give me a small discount, this did not eliminate the fact that their customer service department is a disaster, as noted above.  Mahogany and More cannot provide a positive buying experience unless and until they get their customer service people to answer all phone calls and emails and then respond/follow-up in an effective, timely manner.

Regards,

********* *******

4/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/2/2014 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mahogany and More, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)