BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Lana Furniture, LLC

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 5465 Randolph Rd., Suite G, Rockville, MD 20852 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lanafurniture.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Furniture, accessories, lighting, bedding, artwork, free shipping and white glove delivery service on most orders

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lana Furniture, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Lana Furniture, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Lana Furniture, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 21, 2012 Business started: 07/19/2011 in DC Business started locally: 07/19/2011 Business incorporated: 07/19/2012 in DC
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Lana Nguyen, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lana Nguyen, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Products & Services

Lana Furniture, LLC sells the following brand(s): AICO, AICO, Ambella, Ambella, American Drew, American Drew, Ashley Signature Design, Ashley Signature Design, Avenue B, Avenue B, Currey & Co, Currey & Co, Hammary, Hammary, John Richard, John Richard, Jonathan Charles, Jonathan Charles, Labarge, Labarge, Laurel House, Laurel House, Lea, Lea, Legacy Classic, Legacy Classic, Legacy Classic Kids, Legacy Classic Kids, Maitland-Smith, Maitland-Smith, Philippe Langdon, Philippe Langdon, Pulaski, Pulaski, Rare Collections, Rare Collections, Schnadig, Schnadig, Steinword, Steinword, Tapestries Ltd, Tapestries Ltd, Tradewinds Furniture, Tradewinds Furniture, Uttermost Furniture, Uttermost Furniture, Uttermost Lighting, Uttermost Lighting, Wynwood , Wynwood

Lana Furniture, LLC offers the following product(s): Accent Furniture, Accent Furniture, Accessories, Accessories, Artwork, Artwork, Bedding, Bedding, Bedroom Furniture, Bedroom Furniture, Dinng Room Furniture, Dinng Room Furniture, High End Furniture, High End Furniture, Lighting, Lighting, Living Room Furniture, Living Room Furniture, Mirrors, Mirrors, Tapestries, Tapestries

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MC, Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
Please review our terms and conditions
Alternate Business Names
Lana Furniture.Com

Additional Locations

  • 3620 Warren St NW

    Washington, DC 20008

  • 5465 Randolph Rd., Suite G

    Rockville, MD 20852

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (240) 669-3041(Phone)
  • (240) 669-3041(Phone)
  • (240) 669-3006 (Fax)
  • (240) 669-3006 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10-7-13 I made an internet and a telephone order for a 7 piece Aico oppulente dining set. rectangular table and 6 chairs. The company is lanafurniture.com, located at **** ******** *** ********** MD *****. It was a wedding gift to my daughter, Per her request, I emailed and spoke on the phone with the owner of the company on 10-11-13 in the morning to cancel the order. Lana sent me an email on 10-11-13 that she will charge me 2,792 dollars for cancelling the order. their ad on the internet indicates no hassle return and free delivery. She claimed that the shipping company has picked the furniture from the manufacturer on 10-10-13. She said she will charge me for delivery, restocking and storage. On 10-11-13 I sent an email and indicated to her that I will file a complaint with the BBB Since they refuse you refund the total credit card charge on my **** card, totaling 3,892 dollars. This morning, 10-14-13, she sent another email indicating she will charge me 700 dollars, but threatened if I file a complaint with BBB that she will charge me the whole amount of 2,792 dollars. Look, I am a disabled senior citizen with cancer and depression. Her unfair treatment of me worsened my condition. Buying a wedding gift for my daughter turned to into a horrible experience for me. Please help me out.

Desired Settlement: refund the total amount she charged on my **** card. also please alert Lana Furniture that they use false advertising by claiming no hassle return, which is false. She claimed that once the set was picked up by the delivery company, the manufacturer will not accept it back. Their ad indicates it takes 4 to 6 weeks for delivery, yet in just 3 days she wants to penalize me 2,792 dollars just for cancelling an order that has not been shipped. Thank you for your help and consideration. ***** *. ******. telephone # ###-###-####. address: **** ********* ***** ******* ** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint Update

I would like to make 2 corrections to my filed complaint with you today. Complaint ID number *******. It was against lanafurniture.com. located at **** ******** **** ********** MD *****. their telephone number is ###-###-####. First the correct spelling of the owner is Lana ******. Also the correct purchase price is 3,879 dollars. They want to charge me 2,792 dollars for cancelling an order made on 10-7-13 in the afternoon and cancelled on 10-11-13 in the morning. In their ad on the internet they indicate no hassle return, which is not true per my experience with them.

Desired Settlement

receive a confirmation from Lanafurniture .com that the ordered dining set will be shipped to my daughter without damage or cancel the transaction and refund the total purchase price charged to my **** credit card.

Desired Settlement: Refund-Credit Card Credit

Business Response:

On October 7, 2013,  ***. ****** placed an order for a 7 piece AICO Oppulente dining set as a wedding gift to her daughter.  On the very same date, we sent her an acknowledgement of her order and reminded her that the order has been processed in accordance to the terms and conditions of Lana Furniture.  We, once again, asked that she reviews our terms and conditions in details.

On October 11, 2013 we received an email from ***. ****** stating that her daughter does not like the dining set and would like to cancel the order.  We immediately called the manufacturer to cancel the order.  Unfortunately the order was already released and picked up by the delivery company the day before on October 10, 2013.  I call ***. ****** to inform her that her order was already picked up by the delivery company therefore the manufacturer would not let us cancel the order.  Since we have a return policy, this order will be processed under our return policy which includes inbound/outbound freight, 40% restocking fee, storage fee and processing fee.  Since the delivery company already picked up the furniture, we have to pay them the pick up fee and delivery fee of $700 to our storage facility, the storage fee is $540 for a minimum of 3 months and the 40% restocking of $1,552 totaling $2,792 for the cancellation of this order.  However, I offered to waive the storage fee and the restocking fee.  She would only have to pay $700 for the pick up fee from the manufacturer and delivery fee to our storage facility.  The cancellation/return fee is common industry practice.  Our shipping/return/cancellation policy is displayed on our web site under our terms and conditions and also under our shipping/return policy.  There is a freight involved once the furniture has been picked up, there is a storage fee involved when we store the furniture.  We also have to take a drastic reduction on the cancellation or return to cut down on the storage fee and there is an expense we have to incur in processing all the paperwork.  Our margin is minimal on the internet for that reason we cannot absorb all the additional costs when customers cancel or return an order.   This is true with all business whether it is online or at a brick and mortar store. 

***. ****** did not believe that the furniture was already picked up by the delivery company in such a short  time when we had informed her that it would take 4-6 weeks for delivery.   I had provided ***. ****** the name and phone number of the delivery company for her to call to verify the pick up date of her order.  It is much easier and less time consuming for us to cancel the order and we would have gladly done so if the furniture was not picked up by the delivery company.   She said that if the furniture was picked up within three days then why would we tell her it would take 4-6 weeks for delivery.  

If I may explain the furniture delivering  process across the country.  The manufacturer takes anywhere from 24 hours to 5 days to have the furniture ready for the delivery company to pick up.   Once the furniture has been  picked up and delivered to the delivery company warehouse, they process the order and transfer it to their destination warehouses across the country.  In this case the manufacturer is in California, the customer’s address is in Texas, so they have to transfer the furniture from their California warehouse to their Texas warehouse.  This  procedure could take up to two weeks because the truck has to be full before they would leave for the Texas warehouse.   ***. ****** delivery is one of the many deliveries coming from all over the country to the Texas warehouse for all deliveries in Texas and their surrounding areas.  Once the furniture gets to Texas, they will once again unload the truck, re- route it to the customer’s address within the local area, open and inspect the furniture before delivery can be scheduled which could take another week to two weeks.  For this reason, we tell all our customers that it would take 4-6 weeks for delivery.  Furniture has to be handled by a minimum of two people, it has to be picked up and delivered from the manufacturer to the local delivery warehouse, transfer from the local warehouse to the destination warehouse, reload, reroute for local delivery which all takes a lot of time. 

We value our customers and work very hard to keep everyone happy.  However, like all business, we have expenses that we cannot absorb when the customers change their mind about their orders or do not like what they order.  No business can stay in business having the furniture picked up, delivered across the country for customer to touch,  feel and return, or cancel without paying for the expenses involved.   In this case, we offer to absorb the restocking fee, the storage fee and only asked for the freight cost in picking up the furniture and deliver to our storage facility which is more than fair.

As of October 24, 2013  ***. ****** has chosen to have her furniture delivered to her instead of paying for the pick up and delivery fee from the manufacturer in California to our storage warehouse.   Up until October 24, 2013, her delivery was put on hold waiting for her final decision therefore there is over two weeks delay on this delivery.   I have asked the delivery company to expedite this delivery to her.

Regards,

Lana ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved