BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

IKEA US East LLC

Phone: (703) 492-1222 View Additional Phone Numbers 2901 Potomac Mills Circle, Woodbridge, VA 22192 http://www.ikea.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that IKEA US East LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for IKEA US East LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 17, 1997 Business started: 09/01/1999 Business incorporated: 09/01/1999 in VA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cindy Archer, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cindy Archer, Customer Service Manager
Customer Contact: Diane Katrinak
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
IKEA Virginia LLC

Additional Locations

  • 2901 Potomac Mills Circle

    Woodbridge, VA 22192

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 494-6424 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased IKEA product 501.784.11 ( a childrens table and chairs set) and set was missing pieces. Called IKEA and spoke with ***** at the ********** location who stated he would speak to a supervisor to get authorization to resend missing pieces. (side rails for both chairs). Was on the phone for 35 minutes (12 minutes on hold) when the phone disconnected. Called back and spoke with ***. who assured me she would get a manager on the line to assist me. I was again on hold for 6 minutes when she disconnected on me as well. My 2 year old daughter has been waiting for this table and chair set for 3 months. It was a gift and is now useless. IKEA is not taking our calls and is disconnecting us when we try to get assistence. We were sold a useless product with no assistance to get the pieces for the product to complete assembly. This is false advertising as the product was paid for and pieces in question are guaranteed to be included in the box.

Desired Settlement: We would like to receive the pieces needed to complete assembly of the item in question.

Business Response:

**. *****,

 

  We have shipped out the pieces that you need for the completion of your products.  We sent this via UPS and it arrived to your place on October 9, 2013.  If we can assit you any further please send a email to *******************

 

Thank you,

 

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 08/18/2013, I filed a complaint against IKEA customer service/********** location. IKEA case number ******** from 07/29/2013. BBB assigned ID *******. IKEA's response to BBB was things were being looked into and an IKEA rep would reach out to me by the end of the week (no later than 08/30/2013). It is five days PAST the deadline IKEA gave themselves and we are no closer to resolution. I am missing several thousand dollars worth of paid merchandise, my remodel has been thrown off schedule because I am missing items, and I have a double oven waiting for pick up by IKEA. [*** ordered an electric oven. We can NOT do electric and had emphasized that several times in several visits.] The deadline to do a credit card dispute is today. ******** with customer service (post kitchen sales) still has NEVER called me. AFTER I submitted my complaint, while still on the phone with ********, she ended the call with saying she didn't think it was worth the effort to look for the missing items.

Desired Settlement: 1. IKEA picks up the double oven. *** placed our order several days after we had left the store. She had forgotten we couldn't do electric - only gas. The range that was delivered appears to be gas. 2. IKEA refunds the purchase price of the oven immediately. 3. IKEA delivers the REST of my PAID order. The order was paid in full, in good faith, on 07/04/2013. 4. IKEA refunds the delivery cost paid ($231). The delay in not receiving my order has cost us hours on the phone with IKEA, two days off from work, and costly delays in our remodel.

Business Response:

Dear **. ********,

      We have tried to reach out to you via phone and email on September 23 and September 24 to dicuss what items you need delivered and picked up.  If you could please call us at ###-###-####/**** or emal us at ******************* at your earliest convience.

 

Thank you,

 

***** ********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 2, 2011 we puchased a memory foam mattress from IKEA and was given a receipt and a 25 year quality warranty. I read the information in the book and called the store on May 15, 13 at 12:35 PM due to the fact that the bed has become lumpy and is not a firm mattress that we purchased. I was told during that phone call to just bring the mattress in along with the Orginial Receipt and they would exchange it for a comprable product or give us a store credit. I told the lady all I wanted was the mattress replaced with the same mattress. My husband and I took the mattress to the store on May 18, 13 at approxamely 1 pm. I went to customer service and exchange like I had been told to do. At that time the young lady at the counter who I will say was VERY nice and understanding took my receipt and went to talk to a "Supervisor". She came back out after about 10 minutes and said there was nothing they could do because it is memory foam and it should form aroound the body. At that time we told her again we would that the paper work said they would replace the mattress if the mattress seemed to break down. She again went to the "Supervisor" and took another 20 minutes or so and again said they could not take the mattress back or exchange it and gave us back our paperwork. We then opened the book and pointed out there policy "Foam core in foam mattresses" is covered. She again went back to the "Supervisor". This time the "Supervisor" came out to talk to us and told us they would not honor the policy. At that point my husband asked her to write down her name and reason for the disqualification. ******* "the Supervisor" wrote this on the back of our paper work "I can't take mattress back because it is dirty and soiled. The mattress is a memory foam and should form around the customers body". Again we stated we have had it for two years and it has not been stored or installed incorrectly, used inapprpropriately, abused, misused, altered or cleaned with wrong cleaning methods or cleaning products. ******* basical said the bed was dirty and they could not take it back. Well after 2 solid years of use yes it will have stains and look dirty but that does not explain why the memory foam has broken down. After leaving the store I called Ikea customer service on the 800 line at 3:03 and again told the same store and was told to take the mattress back to the store and it would be replaced at that point I explained that we had already done that and told the customer service rep what we had been told at the store already. She then asked for my name, number and receipt number. I gave her all the information and was told a "store Manager" would call me back. Well it is not 7 pm and I still have not gotten a call back and am VERY disappointed in Ikea for not standing behind there warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like IKEA to replace my mattress. They will need to pick up the old mattress and deliver the new one to my home. If they can't do that I would like a full refund since this took us over 5 hours to be told they would not honor there own policy!

Business Response:

****** In response to the customer’s complaint about not accepting their mattress exchange. The product the customer purchased did come with Ikea’s SULTAN 25 year limitedwarranty which states:What is covered under this Limited Warranty?This Limited Warranty covers defects in material and workmanship in the following components of the SULTAN mattresses and/or bed bases described above from the date of purchase from IKEA. The original purchase receipt is required as proof of purchase. This Limited Warranty applies to domestic use only.• Springs in spring mattresses.• Foam core in foam mattresses.• Latex core in latex mattresses.• Wooden frame and slats in slatted bed bases.• Electric motor in electrically operated bed bases (5-year Limited Warranty). What will IKEA do to correct the problem?IKEA will examine the product and decide, at its sole discretion, if it is covered under this Limited Warranty. If considered covered, IKEA through its own service operations, will then, at its solediscretion, either repair the defective product or replace it with the same or a comparable product. If it is covered by this Limited Warranty, IKEA will pay the costs of repairs, spare parts, labor and travel for repair staff, that IKEA incur, provided that the product is accessible for repair without special expenditure. This does not apply to any repair work not authorized by IKEA. Replaced parts become the property of IKEA.If the item is no longer sold by IKEA, IKEA will provide an appropriate replacement. It is IKEA that determines, at its sole discretion, what constitutes an appropriate replacement. What is not covered under this Limited Warranty?This Limited Warranty does not apply to products that have been stored or installed incorrectly,used inappropriately, abused, misused, altered, or cleaned with wrong cleaning methods or cleaning products.This Limited Warranty does not cover normal wear and tear, cuts or scratches, or damage caused by impacts or accidents.This Limited Warranty does not apply if the product has been placed outdoors or in a humid environment.This Limited Warranty does not cover consequential or incidental damages.For customers in the US only: some states do not allow the limitation or exclusion of incidental or consequential damage, so this limitation or exclusion may not apply to you. Care and cleaningComplement the mattress with a mattress protector or a mattress pad. It makes it more hygienic, as it is easy to remove and clean. Some SULTAN mattresses and pads have a washable cover. Read the tag inside the cover for more information. Make sure that the zipper is closed when washing the mattress cover. Vacuuming the mattress helps to remove dust and mites. Use upholstery cleaner to remove stains.If your mattress is turnable you should turn it about every three months. Turning a mattress ensures more even wear and helps to prolong its comfort.Don’t fold the mattress. It can damage the springs and materials inside.Even the best mattresses become less comfortable with age, and all mattresses accumulate dust and mites over the years. So even if the SULTAN mattresses have a 25-year Limited Warranty, we still recommend that you change your mattress every 8–10 years. SAVE THE SALES RECEIPT!It is your proof of purchase and required for the Limited Warranty to apply. The information above was taken directly out of the Sultan 25 year limited warranty booklet.  This booklet is available to customers before and during their purchase. The customer arrived at the store and the mattress was inspected by 3 Ikea co-workers/managers.  The mattress was clearly used inappropriately, as there was numerous stains and soil marks encompassing the entire mattress.  Due to the inappropriate usage the mattress’s warranty was voided. Best Regards,  ***** ************ ** ***** *** * ******* ******* ***** ***************** ** **************************************** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I recently bought well over $1100 worth of furniture from Ikea in **********. This furniture is the kind that has to be put together by the purchaser which would be my wife and myself. We purchased a chair and an entertainment center for our family room. The 3 piece entertainment set was sent at a different time than the chair. When I opened the boxes containing the three piece entert. set one of the boxes contained a piece that had a split in the wood as well as a damaged area to the wood finish surrounding the crack in the wood. I called ikea and the woman I spoke to at first set up a day/time when they would either bring a whole new box containing the unassembled piece of furniture or they would bring the one side panel that was delivered damaged. Keep in mind that I have to take off work to be here for the delivery so I have already lost a day of work. When the day came that it was supposed to be replaced we received a call and recorded message from ikea corporate stating that either I would have to bring the piece back my self to ********** or that I would have to take pictures of the damaged piece and send them via email to ikea before they would even consider an exchange. Take into consideration that I paid a lot of money ($150) for delivery of these pieces of furniture and also my wife and I did not choose this furniture with the intent to make an exchange(another words we were not blowing smoke up ikeas **** on purpose with intent) we chose this furniture because I liked how it looked and the price was right for me. The problem here is that Ikea delivered something defective and should be responsible for replacing it no questions asked. It is an inconvenience to my wife and i because we have about 10-15 pieces of wood in our basement waiting to be put together because ikea promised me they would come and make the exchange and then the call from corporate saying I could either return the item myself or I should take pictures and send them an email as though this were a court of law and I had to present some burden of proof. I made a call to ikea corporate and left a very` unhappy message stating that I was not very happy with the message left for obvious reasons and asked them to call me back. I explained in the message that I was already told by ikea ********** that I was promised a redelivery of the product that was sent damaged. Ikea corporate has not even called back in response to my call to them. Ikea's customer service is absolutely horrid. If Ikea will not redeliver this product to us we will not only take the product back for a full refund but we will NEVER buy anything from them again and we know a lot of people and I assure you we will do our utmost to make sure they are not mistreated by IKEA as well.

Desired Settlement: I want Ikea to make good on their contractual agreement with us. We purchased a product from them and they promised to deliver (at our cost) the product safe and sound to our home. Ikea delivered a defective product to us and now they are putting all the responsibility on us to solve the problem. That is a sham. I simply want what we paid our hard earned money for--an undamaged piece of furniture. Ikea should deliver this product as a whole new piece(whole new box) or they should bring the replacement panel and exchange it for the one that is damaged which we still have in our possession(this would be the better of the two solutions). If we Ikea will not do this I assure you we will take the whole damaged piece along with the other parts of the furniture back to ikea, we will get our money back, and Ikea will never see us or any of our friends ever again. They can choose whatever response they feel is in the best interests of all parties involved

Business Response:

I have spoken with ****** ******** Friday, May 31, 2013.    We have agreed to set up a delivery of a new item to him on June  8, 2013. 

 

Thank you,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a gas range from Ikea on Sunday, April 21, which was delivered on Wednesday, April 23 along with 117 other boxes containing the rest of my order. On Saturday after finishing the rest of the installation of the products contained in the other boxes we plugged in the range to test the electrical components and found that two of the four pilot lights (of the stove's burners) did not spark. I called Ikea the next day and requested a new range to replace the one that failed to work and they informed me that I would have to put in a service call to Whirlpool and have them come out to fix the it. The only other option they gave me was to pay a second time to have a replacement delivered or I could load-up and drive the 1 1/2 hours back to the Ikea store where they would then replace the range.

Desired Settlement: This product was delivered broken. Delivery for this product has already been paid for once. Ikea needs to deliver a new range and remove the broken one at their expense. A service call to Whirlpool is not appropriate in this case as it is a BRAND NEW PRODUCT. The burden is on Ikea to replace the broken appliance with a functioning one and not force me to suffer the burden of replacing a broken product.

Business Response:

IKEA's intial response was per company policy.  IKEA contracts with Whirlpool specifically for thier appliances and acts as a third party vendor.  Standard retail practice at other stores require the vendor to  also be called if there is any issue with the product.  The customer has been contacted regarding this instance and she will be taken care of through IKEA customer service. 

 

Thank you,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1