BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Hamilton's Sofa Gallery

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 766-8000 View Additional Phone Numbers 4060 Walney Rd, Chantilly, VA 20151 http://hamiltonsofagallery.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hamilton's Sofa Gallery meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hamilton's Sofa Gallery include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 19, 1990 Business started: 01/19/1987 Business incorporated: 09/01/1987 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alexander Filipour, VP Mr. Amir J Filipour, President Ms. Elizabeth Hudenburg, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alexander Filipour, VP
Principal: Mr. Amir J Filipour, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Elizabeth Hudenburg, Office Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Mattress World USA, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 117111 B Park Lawn Dr SE #115

    Rockville, MD 20852 (301) 881-3900

  • 1602 Villiage Market Blvd

    Leesburg, VA 20175

  • 4060 Walney Rd

    Chantilly, VA 20151

  • 5857 Leesburg Pike

    Falls Church, VA 22041 (703) 766-8000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 319-8000(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the sofa was delivered by Hamilton's designated delivery company to take it to the top floor, due to our narrow stairway, we asked the delivery company to stop taking it to the top floor. They would not listen and kept saying they could do it and by the time the sofa was squeezed to the top floor, the fabric was damaged. I did not sign the invoice for the remaining half of the purchase price. The delivery company wrote on the invoice that they would repair the damage, which meant that I would not pay the full amount until the damage was fixed. Hamilton called us to say that their delivery company presented them with a 'Waive of Liability' form with my signature, as a result, while Hamilton would agree to provide repair, I was asked to pay half of the repair cost which we did not agree as I did not sign any form on the delivery day. We requested numeral times to show us the original 'Waive of Liability' form with my signature, which Hamilton could not provide. I do not know how they did it, they managed to get the remaining half purchase price from my credit card company, even though I never signed the invoice to agree paying the balance. I asked Hamilton to show us the original 'Waive of Liability' form with my wet signature. Hamilton told me that the document had been discarded. I think the business purchase documentation has the minimum retention period of three years. If Hamilton or its delivery company could not produce the original Waive form with my wet signature within a year after the purchase, it is because there has never been one, or someone forged such a form.. There have been many, many calls between Hamilton and myself but the issue has not been resolved. Hamilton never came to get the damaged fabric repaired, yet they went away with the full price. I do not know the legal implication of forging a false form and drawing the remaining balance of the purchase price from my credit company without my consent. I hope the BBB Bureau with its fair and just business standards and policies will come forward to defend us to get my sofa properly repaired. We also request a refund since the sofa we got stuck with was damaged, which is no longer worthy of its original purchase price. Please help us.

Desired Settlement: I do not know if we are talking about desired outcome, as I think Hamilton legally and ethically owes the full repair service with a refund to adjust the original purchase price.

Business Response: Dear **. *****,

I personally spoke with and attempted to help **. ** (She used the name ****** *** on when she purchased from us) with her issues. ***. **/*** bought a queen sleeper sofa from our establishment nearly a year ago on 8/25/12. Upon delivery of the sofa ***. *** asked our delivery team to take the sofa up to the top level of her house. Our delivery team repeatedly told her that the item was too large to go up the stairs and that we offer a “breakdown” service, at a charge, to disassemble the piece in order to make it fit into tight spaces. ***. *** did not want to pay the $160.00 for that service and insisted the team try to take the sofa upstairs. Since the delivery men knew this would create an issue they asked ***. *** to sign a waiver of liability form excusing them and us from any liability. ***. *** signed the waiver which I will provide you with a copy of. When the men attempted to take the sofa to the upper level the fabric was snagged and the wall was slightly scratched. As a result ***. *** refused to pay her balance. Many conversations took place between me and ***. *** after that. Even though Hamilton’s was in no way liable for the damage to her piece, and even though ***. *** was warned repeatedly about the risks Hamilton’s attempted to help her. Hamilton’s offered to pay half of the price to repair her damaged sofa as a courtesy. Obviously we are not required to do that and most furniture companies would not offer her any help since she signed a waiver.

***. *** refused this help and insisted that the problem was our fault alone. She demanded that if we did not fix her piece we should take it back at no charge to her. After repeatedly going back and forth and explaining that she had been warned and that she had signed a waiver of liability form we were not able to come to a mutually agreeable solution. At that point I called the credit card company, explained the situation, and asked if it was within my rights to charge ***. ***’s credit card for the balance due. Since the piece was in her home and she had signed for it they instructed me to charge her card which I did. Soon after ***. *** called back and complained that we charged her card and threatened action against us. I again offered to absorb half of the cost for repairing her piece but she still didn’t agree, Hamilton’s is in no way responsible for what happened, we have all the documentation signed by ***. *** and have offered her services we are in no may required to offer her. We have gone above and beyond to help her and spent a lot of valuable time. Unfortunately she does not seem to take any responsibility for her actions and even went so far as to accuse us of forging her signature over a $1215.00 sofa. Hamilton’s has been serving customers for over 25 years and we do not take advantage of or provide poor service to any customer. We have been more then fair with ***. *** yet she repeatedly wasted her and our time by not accepting the offers we have extended her. What happened is unfortunate and we will still pay for half of ***. ***’s repairs if she wishes to have them done but in doing so we are doing her a favor. I hope that we can resolve this issue once and for all and both move forward with our busy lives.
Thanks,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
From: ******* ** <*******************>
Date: Sun, Aug 4, 2013 at 4:42 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #*******.
To: "info@mybbb.org" <info@mybbb.org>


Thank you very much for the prompt follow-up regarding my complaint. Hamilton's response did not state the truth.Number 1: On the delivery date, it was me who asked quite a few times the delivery company to stop moving up the sofa due to our narrow stairway. The moving gentlemen kept saying that they could do it and insisted on moving it.Number 2: There was no 'Waive of Liability' form which was presented on the delivery date for me to sign and I did not sign any such form. Please look at the date 10/19/2012' on the copy of the so-called 'Waive of Liability' form. 10/19/2012 was the originally planned delivery date. Due to our conflict schedule, I called to reschedule the delivery date to a week later of 10/26/2012. Therefore, the sofa was delivered on the 26th of October 2012. How could a 'Waive' form be signed a week before the actual delivery date? I pointed out the discrepancy in my earlier letter to my credit company----please see the attached. More than once have I requested to see the evidence of that original form with my wet signature, but Hamilton has not been able to provide it. They kept telling me that the form had been discarded. How can any business lose a legally binding documentation in less than a year of the transaction, especially in this case when the sofa fabric was damaged during the moving? Anyone would think that the delivery company as well as Hamilton would hang on to such an original form to prove that I agreed to the liabilities of damage. If no such form with my wet signature can be provided, and with the delivery date discrepancy, it is not hard for anyone to agree that there was not such a genuinely signed waive form.So, please ask Hamilton to work with their delivery counterparts to produce the original waive form showing my wet signature. Otherwise, Hamilton is liable for the damage caused by their delivery counterpart and also the forged waive form fabricated by the same delivery counterpart. I hope both Hamilton and its delivery company understand the legal implication of fabricating a false 'Waive of Liability' form.Thanks again.Regards,******             08/04/13

Regards,

****** **








Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

From: ******* ** <*******************>
Date: Sun, Aug 11, 2013 at 12:06 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #*******.
To: "info@mybbb.org" <info@mybbb.org>


We have not changed anything from the very beginning of the delivery. Unless the delivery company deleted their record, its phone log and delivery schedule record should show that I called to request and was confirmed a delivery reschedule date from 10/19/2012 to 10/26/2012.Anyway, since **** claimed that he does have the 'Waive of Liability Form' with my wet signature, (I hope he knows the difference between a genuine, wet signature and a copied one), please ask him to show us that form. I want to see that form in person. And if that turns to be my genuinely signed form, I will withdraw my complaint.Regards,          ****** ***  
Regards,

****** **








Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Hi *****:We went to Hamilton and met with **** to see the so-called original Waive form with my signature:As said earlier, the date on the form was 10/19/2012, a full week before the actual rescheduled delivery date. It is not hard for anyone to question the pre-delivery date presented a week later for the customer to sign to wonder the form's validity.The so-called original form is still a copy. The '1/3' on the upper right corner, which indicated the total number of fax from ***** the .delivery company to Hamilton, should be handwritten when ***** prepared the fax, But after we pointed that out, **** verification to see that '1/3' was a copy. The other contents on the form were handwritten.Please look at the signature of my name on the waive form. We got a copy of that signed form from **** and I am attaching three copies here, which we will also send to **** at Hamilton:the copy of the waive form with a signature of my name;Two copies of Hamilton's invoices with my genuine signature at the time of the purchase.The differences between the signatures on the waive form and Hamilton's invoices are not difficult to see. While my genuine signatures show more rounded and feminine strokes, the signature on the waive form shows more rigid and hard-lined strokes. Please look at the '*' of ******---I have a kind of curve starting the *, while the signature on the waive started with a straight stroke. Even the ending 'n' of ****** shows subtle difference. Now look at the '*' of my last name ***---again, my vertical stroke reveals more feminine characteristics with a more rounded semi circle, while the signature on the waive form shows a very strong rigid vertical stroke with a much narrow quarter circle, and again, the ending 'n' of my last name also has subtle different ending touches.Again, as said before, the delivery company did not present such a waive form for me to sign on 10/26/2012, and I never signed any form. I can only say that the signature on that form was fabricated. I hope the delivery company should be aware any legal implications with such fabrication. As we told **** that day, this has nothing to do with him since he was not there when we purchased the sofa. We are fully aware and fair to say that the fabrication came from the delivery company. Since we do not have any contract with *****--- the delivery company---we could only hold Hamilton to get this issue resolved. We have nothing against Hamilton. We only want justice to have the damage mended without having to share with the repair cost, and we think we deserve a discount due to a damaged merchandise plus almost a year of wrong accusations blaming us for being liable for the damage.Thanks again *****,
             


Regards,

****** **









Hi *****:
 
We went to Hamilton and met with **** to see the so-called original Waive form with my signature:
 
  1. As said earlier, the date on the form was 10/19/2012, a full week before the actual rescheduled delivery date. It is not hard for anyone to question the pre-delivery date presented a week later for the customer to sign to wonder the form's validity.
  2. The so-called original form is still a copy. The '1/3' on the upper right corner, which indicated the total number of fax from ***** the .delivery company to Hamilton, should be handwritten when ***** prepared the fax, But after we pointed that out, **** verification to see that '1/3' was a copy. The other contents on the form were handwritten.
  3. Please look at the signature of my name on the waive form. We got a copy of that signed form from **** and I am attaching three copies here, which we will also send to **** at Hamilton:
    • the copy of the waive form with a signature of my name;
    • Two copies of Hamilton's invoices with my genuine signature at the time of the purchase.
  4. The differences between the signatures on the waive form and Hamilton's invoices are not difficult to see. While my genuine signatures show more rounded and feminine strokes, the signature on the waive form shows more rigid and hard-lined strokes. Please look at the 'V' of ******---I have a kind of curve starting the V, while the signature on the waive started with a straight stroke. Even the ending 'n' of ****** shows subtle difference. Now look at the 'R' of my last name ***---again, my vertical stroke reveals more feminine characteristics with a more rounded semi circle, while the signature on the waive form shows a very strong rigid vertical stroke with a much narrow quarter circle, and again, the ending 'n' of my last name also has subtle different ending touches.
  5. Again, as said before, the delivery company did not present such a waive form for me to sign on 10/26/2012, and I never signed any form. I can only say that the signature on that form was fabricated. I hope the delivery company should be aware any legal implications with such fabrication. As we told **** that day, this has nothing to do with him since he was not there when we purchased the sofa. We are fully aware and fair to say that the fabrication came from the delivery company. Since we do not have any contract with *****--- the delivery company---we could only hold Hamilton to get this issue resolved. We have nothing against Hamilton. We only want justice to have the damage mended without having to share with the repair cost, and we think we deserve a discount due to a damaged merchandise plus almost a year of wrong accusations blaming us for being liable for the damage.
Thanks again *****,
 
 
 
             ******
 
 
Hi *****:
 
We went to Hamilton and met with **** to see the so-called original Waive form with my signature:
 
  1. As said earlier, the date on the form was 10/19/2012, a full week before the actual rescheduled delivery date. It is not hard for anyone to question the pre-delivery date presented a week later for the customer to sign to wonder the form's validity.
  2. The so-called original form is still a copy. The '1/3' on the upper right corner, which indicated the total number of fax from ***** the .delivery company to Hamilton, should be handwritten when ***** prepared the fax, But after we pointed that out, **** verification to see that '1/3' was a copy. The other contents on the form were handwritten.
  3. Please look at the signature of my name on the waive form. We got a copy of that signed form from **** and I am attaching three copies here, which we will also send to **** at Hamilton:
    • the copy of the waive form with a signature of my name;
    • Two copies of Hamilton's invoices with my genuine signature at the time of the purchase.
  4. The differences between the signatures on the waive form and Hamilton's invoices are not difficult to see. While my genuine signatures show more rounded and feminine strokes, the signature on the waive form shows more rigid and hard-lined strokes. Please look at the 'V' of ******---I have a kind of curve starting the V, while the signature on the waive started with a straight stroke. Even the ending 'n' of ****** shows subtle difference. Now look at the 'R' of my last name ***---again, my vertical stroke reveals more feminine characteristics with a more rounded semi circle, while the signature on the waive form shows a very strong rigid vertical stroke with a much narrow quarter circle, and again, the ending 'n' of my last name also has subtle different ending touches.
  5. Again, as said before, the delivery company did not present such a waive form for me to sign on 10/26/2012, and I never signed any form. I can only say that the signature on that form was fabricated. I hope the delivery company should be aware any legal implications with such fabrication. As we told **** that day, this has nothing to do with him since he was not there when we purchased the sofa. We are fully aware and fair to say that the fabrication came from the delivery company. Since we do not have any contract with *****--- the delivery company---we could only hold Hamilton to get this issue resolved. We have nothing against Hamilton. We only want justice to have the damage mended without having to share with the repair cost, and we think we deserve a discount due to a damaged merchandise plus almost a year of wrong accusations blaming us for being liable for the damage.
Thanks again *****,
 
 
 
             ******
 
 
Hi *****:
 
We went to Hamilton and met with **** to see the so-called original Waive form with my signature:
 
  1. As said earlier, the date on the form was 10/19/2012, a full week before the actual rescheduled delivery date. It is not hard for anyone to question the pre-delivery date presented a week later for the customer to sign to wonder the form's validity.
  2. The so-called original form is still a copy. The '1/3' on the upper right corner, which indicated the total number of fax from ***** the .delivery company to Hamilton, should be handwritten when ***** prepared the fax, But after we pointed that out, **** verification to see that '1/3' was a copy. The other contents on the form were handwritten.
  3. Please look at the signature of my name on the waive form. We got a copy of that signed form from **** and I am attaching three copies here, which we will also send to **** at Hamilton:
    • the copy of the waive form with a signature of my name;
    • Two copies of Hamilton's invoices with my genuine signature at the time of the purchase.
  4. The differences between the signatures on the waive form and Hamilton's invoices are not difficult to see. While my genuine signatures show more rounded and feminine strokes, the signature on the waive form shows more rigid and hard-lined strokes. Please look at the 'V' of ******---I have a kind of curve starting the V, while the signature on the waive started with a straight stroke. Even the ending 'n' of ****** shows subtle difference. Now look at the 'R' of my last name ***---again, my vertical stroke reveals more feminine characteristics with a more rounded semi circle, while the signature on the waive form shows a very strong rigid vertical stroke with a much narrow quarter circle, and again, the ending 'n' of my last name also has subtle different ending touches.
  5. Again, as said before, the delivery company did not present such a waive form for me to sign on 10/26/2012, and I never signed any form. I can only say that the signature on that form was fabricated. I hope the delivery company should be aware any legal implications with such fabrication. As we told **** that day, this has nothing to do with him since he was not there when we purchased the sofa. We are fully aware and fair to say that the fabrication came from the delivery company. Since we do not have any contract with *****--- the delivery company---we could only hold Hamilton to get this issue resolved. We have nothing against Hamilton. We only want justice to have the damage mended without having to share with the repair cost, and we think we deserve a discount due to a damaged merchandise plus almost a year of wrong accusations blaming us for being liable for the damage.
Thanks again *****,
 
 
 
             ******
 
 

Business Response: See Attachment

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Hi *****:The reason that it took almost a year for my filing a complaint is that I was just informed of the BBB being an organization for such complaints. I also had to find someone who is capable and willing to do the correspondence for me, as my English is not good enough to do so.On the day when we met with ****, I did not have copies of my genuinely signed invoices with me to compare with the signature on the Waive Form. The signature on the form looked like mine but I was very confused as I knew and was certain that there was never such a form and I never signed on anything like that. So was my husband who was present on the delivery date as a witness that there was never such a form provide to us. That was why we asked **** for a copy of the Waive form he showed us that day. After comparing the signature on the form against my genuine signatures on the invoices, we saw the differences.We did tell **** that we were not against Hamilton per se. The issue is rather with ***** the delivery company. But again, because we did not have any direct contract with *****, we could only file our complaint via Hamilton with which we have a legal contract of purchase with delivery. Trying to shun liability is the motive behind fabricating a signature on a waive form. **** said that it is beyond Hamilton to pay for the repair, but again, should not Hamilton turn the repair cost to *****, Hamilton's contracted delivery company which caused the damage?I agree that it has taken too long to get someone like you to really listen to my complaint. From the very beginning, I had numerous phone calls as complaints with Hamilton and **** as well. I simply cannot, neither should I, accept the blame that I signed a so-called waive form,which did not exist on the delivery day, to be liable for the delivery damage. It is not for my pride as **** put it, I am just seeking justice.Thanks again *****!    ******

Regards,

****** **








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/10/2013 Delivery Issues
3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2011 Delivery Issues
1