This business is not BBB accredited.

Family Furniture

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 7870 Central Ave, Landover, MD 20785 ! There is an alert on Family Furniture !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Family Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 1995 Business started: 01/19/1959 in MD
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael Fooksman, Controller Mr. Joseph Tedeschi, District Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Fooksman, Controller
Customer Contact: Mr. Joseph Tedeschi, District Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2390 Iverson St

    Hillcrest Hts, MD 20748

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7870 Central Ave

    Landover, MD 20785 (301) 499-4300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2016 Delivery Issues
3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint consist that the company went out of business without informing their customers I had a layaway with the company and I made a few payments and I went to make another payment and I was told that the company went out of business and that the new furniture company is just leasing the building from Family Furniture this is alittle strange to me and I ask if I could get my refund back and the gentlemen stated after making a copy of my receipt that he was going to contact Family Furniture to see how they would like to handle this. I was told to wait a week to call and get the status.

Desired Settlement: The desire statement of $200.00 would be nice.

1/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ***** ****** put an bedroom set on lay a way in 2013, I call to grt my balance so I can gt it out, someone at family furniture told me they close there business,my money they were collecting is gone I already paid $1400.00, so I want to sue family furniture for my money, a refund of 1400.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like 1400.00 back in cash.

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 19, 2014, I purchased a bedroom set, at the then location on ******* ******, and paid the price in full of $1036.88. I was told that it would take 4-6 weeks for me to receive my purchase. After 6 weeks, I remained in constant contact with Family Furniture associates. I was told that "shipments take a long time to come from China"; "the computers are still down". When I called one day, the message said that the number was no longer active and I drove to Family Furniture only to discover that they were no longer there. So, I went to the Hillcrests Heights address and found that they had move there. After a couple of weeks, I was told that there is no more Family Furniture. By now it is July and I was told, by the comptroller/accountant, that I could not get my money back, that I would have to pick another item or lose my money. So, I picked another bedroom set on July 23, 2014 and was told again that it would take 4-6 weeks. I have not received my furniture. An additional $500 is due to complete the purchase, but they said that because I paid over half, they could order the furniture. I told them great because I was not trusting them with anymore of my money and that I would pay the balance when it arrived. At the 6 week mark, I called to inquire about the furniture and was told that "we don't know when the funiture is coming in and no one should have told you it would take 4-6 weeks, because we don't know". I called on last Friday and spoke to the comptroller/accountant and he said he would follow up and have the manager call me back and stated if he doesn't get the manager, he would call me back himself. I have not received a callback yet and it is almost a week later. Thank you in advance for whatever you can do.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in all cash (because I used a store gift certificate of $750 and cash to pay the balance and do not wish to patronize the business ever again) or the merchandise within the next week up to two weeks max. My parents, ages 81 and 77, are coming to stay with me in October and I've been trying to get a bedroom set since April 2014.

8/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into the store on 5/8/2014 to set up delivery. They told me that they could make delivery on May 10, 2014. I waited and nothing was delivered. I went back into the store on May 19, 2014. The Manager JT promised that he could have the furniture delivered in 7 days, still nothing. I went back into the store again on May 28, 2014 and spoke with Martina who promised to make deliver on June 21, 2014 when I call to check my delivery; I was told that no deliveries were schedule that day. I then spoke with Jennifer who stated that she would check and call me back. No call back. I call Jennifer on June 23 and was told to call her back on June 24, 2014 after 2PM which I did. I spoke with Jennifer and she stated that she would call me back on Wednesday (June 25, 2014). It is now July 1, 2014 and I have not heard anything from anyone at that store. I have been waiting for two months on a furniture delivery that is not going to happen. I have made several calls each week with not success.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my money back so I can go and purchase a bedroom suite.

8/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My original purchase contract for livingroom furniture was made in the *******, MD location. The *******, MD location closed without notice. I called the ********, MD location and was directed to go to the location in **** ***** *******, MD. I went to the location on November 2, 2013 to discuss my purchase. I could not get the same items, but I was allowed to apply the previously paid funds to another living set. My salesperson was ****** ****** and I was very satisfied with his services. The funds from the previous contract were applied to the new contract. The total amount of the sales order was $1,424.64. The amount of $220.00 from the previous contract was applied and I paid $50 in cash leaving a balance of $1,1554.64. The salesperson stated once 50% of the balance was paid, the furniture would be ordered and I could pay the remaining balance and pick it up. On January 25, 2014, I paid $300 in cash. On March 21, 20114, I paid $454 with a debit card. The following week, I called to see if the furniture was ordered and to setup a time to pick it up. The furniture had not been ordered. In April, I learned that the furniture would not be getting delivered because a storm damaged the warehouse where the items were stored for shipping. I was told I would receive a refund of all of the money I paid. I had to wait on a call from the customer service person to set up a time to go there and receive the refund. I went there on Saturday, May 10, 2014 and was assisted by ******** ****. ******** completed the Check or Bankcard Request Form on May 2, 2014. I received $454 in a refund to my debit card. The remaining $570 was supposed to be mailed by check since those funds were paid in cash. ******** entered the information for **** ********, **** ******* ******, ********, MD *****. His phone number was ###-###-####. **. ******** is the person who would mail the refund check. I was told I should receive the refund check in two weeks. On June 2, 2014, I called **. ******** and left a message because I had not received my refund. After contacting **. ******** on five different occasions, and not receiving a response, I contacted the store in **** ***** *******, MD. I spoke with ******** who was not aware that I had not received my refund. She took my contact information and stated that she would make sure **. ******** got in touch with me. I never got to speak to **. ********. I tried calling the store in ********, MD and the phone was disconnected. My wife called the **** ***** ******* location and was informed the ******** location was closed. On June 16, 2014, my wife called the **** ***** ******* store and ******** put **. ******** on the phone. He immediately stated he would call one of us the next day to pick up our refund check. Both of us called back several times and were not successful in reaching **. ********. On June 23, 2014, my wife called the **** ***** ******* location and requested to speak to **. ********. ** ******** answered the phone and heard that it was ***. ******* and stated we have a bad connection and hung up. My wife called back and **. ******** answred the phone. She inquired about the refund check and stated he was transitioning stores and would call back that afternoon when he got to the **** ***** ******* location. She told him I called you at the **** ***** ******* location and reminded him that the other number was disconnected. Again, he promised that he would call and get the check out to us. To date, I have not heard from **. ******** and I do not think he is planning to refund our money. I even left a message requesting a call from his supervisor, **** ****** and have not received a call from him. I am afraid that we will not receive our money back because Family Furniture has over 35 open cases on Maryland Judiciary Case Search with upcoming court dates.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded as soon as possible we can purchase furniture for our livingroom.

7/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint: I purchased a dining room table set. Table /4 Chairs on Feburary 01,2014 . The Table was in and the sales person ****** told me the chairs half to be order and he wil put in the order. So a couple of weeks later i call the salesperson ****** he told me they wasn't in. So this went on for the remaining of March 2014. So then finally i kept calling back and the sales person ******* would not get on the phone with me or return my calls. Then finally they gave my call to a Manger and he told me at the end of March that the 4 Chairs was discontinued that i will get a Refund back for the 4 Chairs. Now here it is 4 month later and no Refund and i have been calling every week for about 2 months waiting for store manger to come and sign the check. I have been calling and leaving message and the manger will NOT return my calls !!!!

7/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put my kids bedroom sets on laway at this store. I picked out of the book they said hey will have in. it been 3years I have special need son who needs his will really all my kids need their sets. I been calling I went to the store many of times to see what can be done. I really really need my money back that they have .I hace all my papers. my kids need sets I need my money to get it

Desired Settlement: I need a refund m on a fixed income please

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/22/14, I purchased a black dresser, at this time I was informed that I would receive a call within 2 weeks when my merchandise arrived at the store. I called the store after almost 3 weeks and was advised your piece is in, so we can deliver as early as this weekend. Merchandise was delivered on 4/12/14, at which time I called the store to advised of damage merchandise when the store opened up at 10am. The damage furniture looked like black plastic on one side of the furniture. On, 4/12/14, a Family furniture representative advised that someone would call me within a couple of hours to advise when a service representative would be coming to my home to view damage merchandise. On 4/12/14, I called family furniture back later on around 4pm and advised that someone would call me later doing the week. I went to the family furniture on 4/14/14, at which time I spoke with the manager on duty by the name of *** to show him photos in which I took of the damage merchandise . *** *** advised that upon viewing the photos no service call was necessary and that he would arrange an exchange and at which time he apologized and appeared to be sincere. *** *** advised that he would order another dresser and that shipment should be coming within a week. ** *** could not apparently pull up my order for apparently their computer system was down so he suggested that I call and provide him with the original ticket order, I did as requested on the evening of 4/14/14. I have spoken with several representatives of family furniture , an older lady with an accent, a representative by the name of ** ***, a sales representative by the name of **** (which had no clue and stated, I don't know why they are trying to even transfer your call to me). On 4/18/14, I called to see if my replacement/new dresser was in and was advised, I have good news and bad news, the good news is we are going to replace your damage furniture per our manager ***, but it will not be this weekend for we don't have the merchandise in as of yet. I inquired when was shipping due and was advised we really can't say, I inquire as to what kind if business is that. On 4/19/14 , Saturday afternoon around 3:00 pm after speaking with **., *** on the phone, I was advised that the merchandise had stilled not arrived. I informed ** *** that I would be stopping by the furniture store to pick up a copy of the ticket requesting an exchange of the furniture. I received a ticket receipt advising of an exchange for my damage goods by way of his assistance for she stated that ** *** was busy, for he never once came to speak or greet me, he provided his assistance with the ticket advising of the exchange for the damaged furniture. I advised that I was being I convenient and his assistance stated, you can still use the dresser and I advised no for it would not benefit me to go through the process of putting my clothes I. A damage piece of furniture. I advised ** ***s assistance that was insulting to tell me, go ahead and used the damage goods, for hopefully by the first of next week I should have my furniture. On 4/21/14, I called to see if my replacement had arrived and was advised no shipment had came in so it may be later on doing the day. I called the furniture store again on 4/23/14 at which time I spoke with an assistant manager ** ******** (who informed me that I didn't need her last name; now that's professionalism) was advised that *** was not in the office and that no delivery of a new dresser had arrived and that she had tried to call ** *** but he was not answering his calls. ** ******** then provided me with owner of the store and advised that if I was to address a letter to ** ****** ****** that I send it to the location at which I'm having problems, really? This matter is totally ridiculous a month later with Family Furniture already having my funds and I have yet to receive any professionalism with a replacement or refund.

Desired Settlement: I desire refund for delivery charges of a defective merchandise along with the the full purchase price paid for the piece of furniture original bill receipt totaling $274.82 . I desire not to have any further dealings with Family Furniture so a credit for further purchasing of merchandise will not suffice. In addition family furniture needs to pick up their damage product, for I have no use for it.

5/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 13th 2013 I purchased a complete set of furniture for my entire home that I intended to have it delivered on December 20th 2013 which Family Furniture was fully aware of. I charged 4,400 dollars to my card that day, signed my paperwork and delivery agreement and departed the store. Upon the day of delivery I was informed that the master bedroom set (headboard, footboard, dresser, mirror, and nightstand set) wouldn't be ready until the first week of January 2014. I did not put up an argument I agreed to give them a call at then end of the first week of new years 2014. On December 20th 2013 I only received my two piece couch, master bedroom mattress, and my kids futon frame and mattresses. After numerous calls and visits to the furniture store I never received the rest of my furniture from them nor have I received a refund for the delivery fee, furniture, or tax that I was charged for merchandise and services never rendered. On or around January 13th 2014 I went to the furniture store again to find out what the hold up was on the furniture or a refund and I was told that they weren't sure about when the furniture would arrive because the manufacturer and the warehouse were behind so I requested a refund. The general manager wrote me a refund receipt for an amount that was incorrect. However, I have yet to receive that refund. I have called numerous times and as of today I have still been pushed off. On or about January 29th 2014 I called my bank **** ******* because I was beginning to become skeptical of the whole situation Because I couldn't understand why this refund would be so difficult. **** ******* issued me a provisional credit for the entire amount debited because they couldn't give me a piece of what I spent. My bank contacted family furniture and they denied the claim with the statement that the charge issued was legitimate and I owed them the full 4400 dollars which is false. Since then my account has been put $4400 dollars in the negative and I am still incurring fees due to this mix up with the furniture store. I have all of my receipts for everything hat I purchased as well as the refund promise. I have noticed that my recipes has cash written on it for the payment and it was a debit.i have called them as much as I can and prior to filing this complaint and I was told it's not her problem because she doesn't write the checks. It has been 3 months of this and I don't know what else to do. I now have a horrible negative balance with an outstanding credit union over something that should and could have been resolved in 5 to 7 business days. The customer service is horrible and they are all rude and nasty and giving me the run around up until now. Please help me.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to give me the full amount plus my bank fees which is approximately $5,000 dollars. I am willing to give them their couches and mattress back as well. I will never deal with them again. I have all recipes and correspondence with them to prove that I am owed a refund.

Business Response: *** ****:

We have received the complaint from *** *********, and have reviewed our records. The information we have is as follows:

1. the purchase was made 12/14 for $4387

2. The delivery was scheduled for 12/21. Prior to 12/21, our supplier for her King bedroom suite broke stock. We informed her, giving her the information that was relayed to us, that her set would be in the following week. On 12/21, we delivered the following: king set of bedding with free frame for the inconvenience of her bed being out of stock, her red leather living room suite, a futon bunkbed, along with a  twin mattress and full futon mattress. ** ********* also was delivered a warranty kit for the extended warranty she purchased.

3. We found out that the king bedroom (specifically the bed) would be out of stock longer than we were first told. After speaking with the customer , they requested a refund for the bedroom, as well as for a dinette she had in layaway. A refund request was processed for a check to be mailed to the customer on Jan 9. Check requests require 7-10 business days, which would have  been approx the 23rd. The check was made, however, on the 24th, the entire amount of the sale was credited from our account by our credit card processer. Evidently, *** ********* filed a dispute with her debit card carrier for the entire sale, and all $4387 was removed form our account.

4. We provided the charge card processor, as well as her bank, the signed delivery and refund documents we had. We were refunding her for the undelivered merchandise, totaling $1424.64  It is their policy to hold disputed funds for 90 days.

5.  We are unfortunately in the same position as ** *********. We can't do anything until the funds are released

4/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 26, 2013, my husband and I went shopping for new furniture. We stopped in the Family Furniture Discount Store in ********, Maryland and a sectional sofa caught our eye. We made a decision to order a custom made sofa. We decided to put the sofa on layaway and on that day (12/26/2013) and we put $100 down of our $686.62 total purchase. We were told once we made the full payment our sofa would be ready and delivered to us in a two week period. On January 17, 2014, we came back into Family Furniture Discount and paid the remaining $586.62. On January 29, 2014 we called to check on the status of our sofa. We spoke with **** (sales person) who stated that he would call is back. We informed him that we had an upcoming event and we planned for our furniture to be delivered; therefore we just wanted to make sure we had something to accommodate our event. **** told us that he could "loan" us a sofa until Family Furniture Discount Store could deliver our sofa. On February 1, 2014 a loaner sofa (not our custom made order) was delivered. During the week of February 3, 2014, I made several calls to the Family Furniture Discount Store to determine the status of our sofa. I spoke with ******* who stated she would return my call, but never did. On another day, I spoke with **** who stated that I "had his word" and he would call me before he got off at 9pm. However, he never call back. This back and forth went on for days. Finally, on February 15, 2014 we decided to go to Family Furniture Discount Store. We spoke with *** ******** who stated he was the store manager and that he would call us on February 17, 2014, between 2pm-4pm. However, as usual we did not receive a call about our order and we decided, yet again to call the store. When calling the store, ******* stated that there was nothing she could do and put me on hold. Finally, I spoke to ****** **** who stated he would "try" to get our sofa ordered and that, of course he would call me back.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have a full refund of our purchase because the customer service has been ludicrous in this store.

12/15/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered my furniture in September. I was scheduled for a delivery October 19th 2013. Without call or notification, my furniture was not delivered. When I contacted this company they rescheduled my delivery date to October 30th. Again, without calling or notifying me, they did not deliver my furniture. They contacted me late that evening to confirm for another date which was unacceptable due to my work hours. After expressing I no longer wanted the furniture due to constant lack of delivery where i or someone else has had to call out of work to wait for furniture that wasn't delivered, they denied me a refund. They are not offering a discount or refund only forcing delivery options that are no longer warranted due to lack of professionalism and bad service. I or anyone else can no longer wait for another delivery date seeing as though we have work and other obligations. This company has bad business etiquette and service. I am a very displeased customer that will never do business with them again. Nor will anyone that I know of who has ordered furniture from this company.

Desired Settlement: If they are unwilling to provide me with a refund, I believe that it is only fair that they discount the delivery charge from my purchase.

Business Response: *** ***** *****

We have reviewed the complaint from **. *******.

He purchase was made on 9/29, with a promise of delivery within the following 2 weeks. Her delivery was set for 10/18.

Shipping problems from our vendor delayed the shipment, and we contacted **. ******* to reschedule. Our anticipated reciept date for the merchandise was the end of the month. She was rescheduled according to our best estimates from the vendor.

Her delivery was satisfactorily made November 4.

We certainly apologize again for the unexpected delay.


Sincerely,
*** ********
District Manager

12/3/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Family Furniture
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)