BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Family Furniture

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 499-4300 7870 Central Ave, Landover, MD 20785 http://www.familyfurniture.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business has applied for accreditation with BBB, and our initial review has found it to meet the BBB Code of Business Practices. Accreditation is pending consideration by the BBB Board of Directors, as required by BBB policy.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 24

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 19, 1995 Business started: 01/19/1959 in MD
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael Fooksman, Controller Mr. Joseph Tedeschi, District Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Fooksman, Controller
Customer Contact: Mr. Joseph Tedeschi, District Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2390 Iverson St

    Hillcrest Hts, MD 20748 (301) 423-4600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7870 Central Ave

    Landover, MD 20785 (301) 499-4300

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered my furniture in September. I was scheduled for a delivery October 19th 2013. Without call or notification, my furniture was not delivered. When I contacted this company they rescheduled my delivery date to October 30th. Again, without calling or notifying me, they did not deliver my furniture. They contacted me late that evening to confirm for another date which was unacceptable due to my work hours. After expressing I no longer wanted the furniture due to constant lack of delivery where i or someone else has had to call out of work to wait for furniture that wasn't delivered, they denied me a refund. They are not offering a discount or refund only forcing delivery options that are no longer warranted due to lack of professionalism and bad service. I or anyone else can no longer wait for another delivery date seeing as though we have work and other obligations. This company has bad business etiquette and service. I am a very displeased customer that will never do business with them again. Nor will anyone that I know of who has ordered furniture from this company.

Desired Settlement: If they are unwilling to provide me with a refund, I believe that it is only fair that they discount the delivery charge from my purchase.

Business Response: *** ***** *****

We have reviewed the complaint from **. *******.

He purchase was made on 9/29, with a promise of delivery within the following 2 weeks. Her delivery was set for 10/18.

Shipping problems from our vendor delayed the shipment, and we contacted **. ******* to reschedule. Our anticipated reciept date for the merchandise was the end of the month. She was rescheduled according to our best estimates from the vendor.

Her delivery was satisfactorily made November 4.

We certainly apologize again for the unexpected delay.


Sincerely,
*** ********
District Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 17, 2012 I went to the Family Furniture in ******* ****, MD to purchase a dining table with 4 chairs that was advertised on their webpage. When I arrived to the store did not have a sample of the exact set but showed me something similar to the table purchased. I placed a downpayment of $150.00 on this set with hopes of paying off the balance when the item arrived to the store. I believe approximately 2 to 4 weeks later I never received a call from the store on the delivery of this set so I decided to call the store. I spoke with customer rep and was transferred to a manager that said they would expedient shipment. After several more weeks I eventually went to store after work and noticed that the store location was closed. I decided to contact someone again and was told could either wait or be issued a store credit for my payment of $150. After patiently waiting, I never received a call with an ETA on the furniture; so I decided to go visit the Corporate office in ******** MD around Fall/Winter 2012 to get a store credit since I no longer had a need for the dining table & chair. When I spoke to the salesperson she explained that my receipt from the previously order could be used as my store credit. Still to this day, I haven't ever received a call from the store about the ETA for the dining table & chairs.

Desired Settlement: I prefer to receive a refund in the amount of $150.00 and request the company change their business practice. Customers should not have to pay down on furniture and never receive a call from the company on the expected time of arrival or to find out that the location has been closed.

Business Response:
**. ****** put a deposit on the dinette May 17, 2012. At the time, our distributer was out of stock on the set, and the customer agreed to wait for the set ot come in.

She returned in 2-4 weeks, and found that it was still out of stock. **. ****** then said that when she returned a few weeks later, the store was closed. However, we closed that location in December of 2012. We had no further communication with her until the following year until September of 2013, and a refund was sent to her in Oct. of this year.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Family Furniture claimed that the store was closed in December 2012 but I went back to the store in the summer of 2012 and their was signed posted that the ******* **** MD location was closed and when I looked through the glass window of the location the showroom was completely empty.  Also note I was never told that I could even request a refund; I was merely told that I could use my down payment as a store credit and that was it.  I requested the refund in Sept 4, 2013 after visiting the ******** MD store several times to find something to compensate for my downpayment but was unable too and didn't receive a check until around October 25, 2013.  This store charged me a 10% cancellation fee and I don't agree that I should have been charged anything since the store was unable to fulfill my initial order of dinette set.  My perceptive is that this establishment does not have good business practices.


Regards,

****** ******


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/14/2013 I purchased a complete bunkbed set. The Salesman ******* ********** informed me that my furniture would be available within three weeks at max. Back in May I called the store to inquire about the delivery of my furniture when I was informed bt the customer service rep that it will be another two to three additional weeks before my furniture would even arrive to the store. When I asked the rep why wasnt I given a call the uodate me she would not give me an answer. So I then asked the rep to speak with a manager and the rep asked me if I wanted my money back. I again asked to speak to a manager. Once the manager was on the phone I asked again about them calling me to update me on the changes. The manager could not give me an answer and told me I can come in and get a refund. I felt that, that was not a solution to my problem so I explained to her that all I wanted was the furniture that I had purchased. The additional time frame (the week of june 2nd or 9th) that I was given has now passed. I reached out once again and spoke with ********* he said that he will work on it and have the manager ******** get back with me the next day as of yet no one has called me to resolve the issue. My children have been sleeping on the floor since I have purchased the furniture, thiniking that the time frames that were given where going to hold true.

Desired Settlement: When I spoke with *** *******, I informed him that I will still would like the furniture due to my children sleeping on the floor. But in addition to that I would like to be compensated in cash for the inconveinence.**. ******* agreed, but that was when I first spoke with him who knows if he will remember now. If not I would like a full refund as soon as possible so that i can begin the process again of finding my children new beds.

Business Response: We had a serious problem wiith this vendor, and, as the customer indicated,we were unable to get her the bunkbed as promised, We refunded the sale, and credited ** ****'s credit card on 6/19/13.

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe

12/3/2013 Delivery Issues
6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sofa, chair and dinette set from Family Furniture around March 23,2013 for the amount of $1023.96. I was told by a salesperson by the name of ****** it would be available for delivery in the following week or two. So I gave away my old furniture and waited. ****** said she would call me, but she never did. So I went to the store and was told my furniture was not there yet, but I will receive a call when it arrived-still no call. Around April 28th a MONTH LATER I went to the store again; and talked to a manager *** ******** who advised me to take a living room set off of the showroom floor. I agreed because I had no furiniture in my house, but changed my mind the next day, because not only did it cost more than the furniture I originally purchased, but people have been sitting on it. April 29th I requested a refund and was told that I had to wait until the 15th of the following month (May) when they "cut checks", because they could not put the money back on my debit card. The manager told me I could pick up my check on the 16th of May. I called the store to let them know I was on my way but I was told the accounting person **** ******* was not there and he is the only one who can sgn out checks. The next day I called and spoke to **** ******* he told me I could come the next day after 4pm, I arrived and was told by **** ******* that the person who signs the checks was not there come back on monday. I called monday and was told that I still can not have my check because it is not signed. I would like my money from these people. I feel like they are trying to keep my money for furniture I never received. My request for a refund was made in April it is now close to June and still no furniture and no refund. This is no way to handle business. I am a Department of Defense civilian who is about to be furloughed for eleven days. I NEED MY MONEY NOW. Please help me BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money returned to me as soon as possible.

Business Response: Customer of given a check in the amount of $908.96 on 5/21/2013.

The refund less a 10% cancellation charge of $115.00.

Customer picked up the check at our central ave store on 5/21/2013.


**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a queen mattress and box spring and a full mattress and box spring on a Sat. Feb 23, 2013 I was told that my full size bedding was not going to be ready until Friday, March 2,2013 so I asked for it to be delivered Monday, March 4, 2013. I got a phone call stating that my full sized mattress wasn't ready yet and won't be until that Wenesday, March 6, 2013. I stated that I work but ok, so I took off for the furniture. I got another phone call telling me that my appointment has to be rescheduled for Friday, March 8th or Sat. March 9,2013 both days I was unavailable. I scheduled the appointment for Monday, March 11, 2013, took off of work for this delivery. Matresses came and the drivers left fast, I did not know that they were suppose to put my beds up! I looked at the frame to my queen sized bed and it is bent with scratches (looks brown and silver), queen bed has black mark(s), it also has a metal piece through the mattress. My full bed has black spots on it. I called and I told them (*** *** *****) about my situation and waas told that the driver will be back the next day (Tuesday, March 12,2013) with a new frame and he would look at the spots. I was told that he would call in when he got to my home, if need be. He did not but I did and was left on hold and then told I would be called back by ***! The driver looked at my frame and says no frame just put bed up! I said my frame is messed up my bed cannot be put up! He says let me look at see frame, I showed him frame. He says yea frame messed up need new one! I said yea...I know can you tell them that. He left and I called *** back and I am still laying on my floor when I paid $892.52 for bedding that i was suppose to have on March 4, 2013. I paid for delivery and set up..did not get that. Delay of that should I say, which is not what is promised to the customer.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement and money back because this I have no bed to sleep on as the contract that was signed with them said I would.

Business Response: See Attachment

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not satisfied with the level of service. I had a bedroom set on layaway, but they mistakenly sold it, offered me another set and promised to have it delivered by a specific date. The product never showed and the delivery date changed on several occassions. After trying to work with them, they have failed to honor their committment. I requested a full refund. That took weeks to get, when I did they provided a check and not cash, which CASH was my method of payment. I deposited the check into my bank account to clear, unfortunately, it was returned because of a frozen account. Now, my money is still tied up with the company and I have yet to receive my refund of 475.94 plus 25.00 bank fee assessed for a returned deposit. I need some intervention in order for my money to be refunded in CASH and not a check.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of 475.94 + 25.00 Bank assessed fee for a their returned check. Total amount of refund I am requesting is $500.94. This must be made in cash and not a check considering the circumstances of their finances.

Business Response: See Attachment

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2012 Delivery Issues
9/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2012 Delivery Issues
12/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2011 Delivery Issues
8/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1