BBB Accredited Business since

Eynon Furniture Outlet

Additional Locations

Phone: (570) 961-5424 View Additional Phone Numbers 101 Monahan Ave, Dunmore, PA 18512 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.efofurniture.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail home furnishings and bedding..mattresses, rugs, lamps and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eynon Furniture Outlet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eynon Furniture Outlet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eynon Furniture Outlet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 1996 Business started: 08/24/1981 in PA Business started locally: 08/24/1981 Business incorporated 08/24/1981 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Rinkunas, President Ms. Gail Budziak, Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Gail Budziak, Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Joseph Rinkunas, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Bedding

Alternate Business Names
EFO Furniture & Mattress EFO Furniture Galleries

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ORDERED A ******** Queen size Bedroom set,That included a dresser, mirror, chest of drawer's,and nightstand. I Also ordered a Five ******** Queen mattress, and a Five Queen foundation box spring . When the 2 delivery men showed up to deliver the furniture , The one Delivery man ,whom was ******** ,claimed .The furniture was heavy and he has back problem's and doesn't have medical insurance if he hurt's his back. The other Delivery person who was black was on his cell phone the whole time , He was he're and said he couldn't carry the furniture himself. I am a women and a single person , my son ordered the bedroom set because he needed a bigger bed , Because he broke his left ankle. So he couldn't carry it in ! I asked the delivery men to just bring it in and I would set it up and they still wouldn't bring it in! So I called MR. R***** and explained the situation and he spoke to the Delivery men and they still wouldnot carry it in . So I cancelled it and without ********** ****** consent , tookout $250.00 out of his TRUST FUND ACCOUNT. So I called MR. R***** and he said he just took it for DELIVERY AND Restocking . NOW I DON'T HAVE A BEDROOM SUITE AND MONEY WAS TAKEN OUT OF MY ACCOUNT! MyAccountant reported it to the credit card FRAUD Department and EYNON FURNITURE OUTLET WILL BE CHARGED WITH Fraud . THE MONEY NEED'S TO BE RETURNED!!!

Desired Settlement: tHE MONEY HAS TO BE RETURNED HAS SOON HAS POSSIBLE TO THE Accountant !!!

Business Response: ..

** ******* ****** is the Guardian of ******* ******.  The bedroom was selected by her and her son Brandon, but *** of Northeastern Pa submitted payment for the furniture.

Upon arriving at their home, our delivery men discovered the path upstairs to the bedroom had ,many personal items on the stairs and the designated room still had pieces of another bedroom set there.  As per our invoice terms, we must have reasonable, accessible pathway to deliver furniture.

 Our delivery team contacted the store and the warehouse to get direction what to do.  We do not normally move the customer’s furniture into other rooms unless requested in advance. with applicable fees applied.

Upon learning further details, the Manager of the Warehouse authorized them to remove whatever pieces from the room as needed and clear the stairway to complete the delivery. 

By this time ** ****** wanted to cancel the sale and be refunded, even when they offered to move everything but she was already very upset. 

Joe, the President of EFO spoke to her without any resolution so he contacted

** ****** *****, the *** caseworker.

** ***** tried to reconcile the situation but ** ****** hung up on him.  We informed him of our cancellation policy which is printed on the front and back of our invoices.  It stated that all sales are final.  No refunds or exchanges. 

However we did refund the money minus a 10% restocking fee plus the cost of the delivery.  ** ****** was informed of this as well during one of the calls she made to us. 

 ** ****** stated  that our men would not deliver the products and that’s why she cancelled.  The gentleman with the “back problem” has worked for us many years.  He has insurance and delivers furniture daily.  No other incidence was reported  that day of difficulty with delivering.  The other gentleman she states was on the phone the whole time was speaking to people from our company trying to report the situation and get direction..

I certainly understand that she was extremely unhappy and handled it accordingly.

In closing, we returned the money to the account minus our fees.  Our business thrives because we sell and deliver furniture to our customers.  What good is it to load all the furniture into the truck, send 2 men to a customer’s home, and then tell the customer we can’t give it to them?  We want to complete the delivery and go on to the next. 

We certainly don’t want to bring it back and put it all away in the warehouse racks again.  And we also don’t want our customers so angry that they threaten and demean every person who answers the phone throughout that day.

Our delivery men acted appropriately by contacting someone .  They couldn't safely and properly deliver it without breaking company rules.

We feel that the delivery situation was unexpected and the employees being called were unaware it was for an *** residence.  (only a name and address appears on paperwork and in the computer unless they read payment information).  Once the situation was understood, we offered further assistance. 

We certainly apologize to ** ******* ****** that he did not get his furniture. 

 

Although ** ****** may still want the full amount returned to the account, we feel that we should be compensated for our intent to fulfill the contract.

If you should request further information, please contact me or ** ****** ***** at *** who handles his case.

Thank you,

Gail * B******

EFO Furniture Outlet

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because Eynon Furniture outlet NEVER EXPLAINED their would be a fee for bedroom suite returned and for delivery fee. Also the ******** man doe's have back problem's .I purchased a living room suite and he wanted it left on the sidewalk , Because he had to carry it up step's. SO I had to have my landlord bring it in and set it up. *** HAS CONTACTED THE CREDIT CARD TO STOP PAYMENT SINCE FURNITURE WAS not delivered! NO ONE AT E.F.O. HAD MY PERMISSION. MY SON'S OR *** *****'S permission to take any money out of my son's trust fund account. THE MONEY NEED'S TO BE RETURNED , IT HAS ALREADY BEEN REPORTED TO THE CREDIT CARD COMPANY AND STOP PAYMENT HAS BEEN ORDERED BY ***! The other problem is MARK AT E.F.O. did know where the payment was coming from and he spoke to MR. C**** ABOUT THE PAYMENT . IT IS NOT MY JOB TO LET THE DELIVERY MEN KNOW . That the furniture is being paid by ***. But I am requesting that the money be refunded and I'M FILING A COMPLAINT WITH THE ATTORNEY GENERAL. I WILL BE EXPECTING THE AMOUNT BE REFUNDED PROMPTILY!! Thank You **** ******.

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i am filing this complaint because i feel i am getting no where trying to resolve this through the company. i had purchased a sectional from EFO Furniture and discount king Feburary 7th of 2014 i paid 1,588.94 for the sectional. I picked it up from the warehouse the same day. When i had got the sectional home and put together i had noticed that none of the sectionals coushions fit the sectional properly. there is huge gaps in between and they dont go all the way back. I had contacted the companys manger at this point and was refered back to the ware house, so i called the warehouse and spoke to someone there threw emails and also sent pictures, After i was given a hard time for weeks they finally told me that they can order me a replacement but i would have to pay 90$ just for them to bring it too my home and pick up the old one. which i felt that i shouldnt have to pay this fee because this is a product issue. So after fighting with the store manger as well as the women at the warehouse i agreed to pay the 90$ when the new sofa had been delivered. So today 4/5/14 the new sectional arrives and after putting the NEW coushions on and setting it all up i am having the same issue none of the cushions fit properly. So i call the store manger and she tells me that i am still going to have to pay this 90$ even if i want the sofa looked at. so after months of frustration i asked for a full refund and offered to bring the sectional back to the warehouse and was refused. I am sick and tired of dealing with this company after months. All i want at this point is a full refund of 1588.94

Desired Settlement: After months of frustration i would like a full refund of my purchase price and i will take my buisness elsewhere

Business Response:

Allow me to apologize for the frustration experienced at our company.

Due to the personal use of furniture, it is important for us to get authorization

from a manufacturer or an inspection before taking back furniture.


To start, I need to explain our policy regarding ** *******'s situation.

** ******* has a copy of her invoice and it was explained to her about

our No Refunds Policy.  She also signed below this statement on the front of the invoice.

Next.. When she purchased her furniture, she had the option of picking up

the furniture or paying $85.00 plus tax which equals $90.10 for delivery.

If she paid for delivery, the fee covers 1 year of in-home repair service.

As a pick up, the item still has it’s warranty but items have to be brought

back for repairs or for replacements by the consumer. 

Or the consumer can pay travel fees for the technician to come to the home to inspect and

service or replace as needed..    I state all this to help ** ******* understand our process.

    In this situation, we authorized an exchange without going to the home as OK'd by ******* Furniture.

** ******* preferred to have the new one delivered so we charged $90.10,

payable to the driver.

     The exchange was never completed because she said the new set had the same

Issues and she did not pay the COD fee. 

Our service technician has now gone to the home, took pictures and reported the issues.

 

Although we are willing to let her select something different, I first need to address the

Conditions for exchange and her options:

 

1).

    A new seat cushion ordered from the manufacturer can replace the one that is too long.

This would return her set to the standards acceptable to the manufacturer.


2).

    I inspected this style on the showroom floor in ******* and

the gaps (spaces) she reported between the back pillows is the same on *******’s set.

The gaps were also on the new set they were delivering to her home and the reason for her complaint.

That is the way it’s produced at the factory.  Unfortunately, we can’t correct what meets factory standards for the design. 

But I am welcoming her to go back to the ****** ***** store and look at

the one she originally saw.   If it is more acceptable to her, we can give her that one.

 

3).

   She can select something different.  However if she chooses to reselect, we must be notified through her correspondence

with the BBB in order to close this case or contact our service department ###-###-####.  

Instruction would then be sent to the ****** ***** store.

Pick up of her original set needs to be done within 60 days of that date.

 

4).

   In order for us to take back her set, it must be clean and free of animal hair.

I understand that pets and children can make things dirty but in order for us to

ship it back to the manufacturer, it needs to be clean

The manufacturer does not expect it to appear perfect, but it has to be relatively clean, including

Under the seats when they are removed.

 

4).

   ** *******’s last option is to keep the set currently in her home.  If she likes the style,

and is willing to accept a new seat ordered by our service department for the

cushion discussed in #1), we can order it and no exchange is needed.  Our service

department would contact her to pick up the new cushion when it arrives. 

There is no charge for warranty issues unless a service technician needs to come to her

home.  (unless she pays a flat travel fee that covers until her 1 year warranty expires.)

 

5).

   If she decides to exchange or reselect, we can pick up the original set the same day she schedules

it’s delivery, or if she chooses to pick it up, we will schedule a date for our delivery truck to bring her

set back PRIOR to taking her new set so it can be inspected and approved.

Again, a Pick- Up of the new set is free, a Delivery fee is charged if she wants us to deliver it.

Note.. ** ******* never paid the $90.10 she referred to in her letter. 

     In conclusion, if ** ******* has any questions how to proceed, she can contact the store with questions or our

Service Department.  They will explain anything that is unclear.

Sincerely,

**** * *******

EFO Furniture Outlet

 

 

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9/9/13-I purchased a special order love seat/chaise combo and in stock recliner from EFO. (Approx 8 weeks later) 11/3/13-I contacted EFO regarding the status of the order, the salesperson stated the furniture had arrived and delivery was scheduled (approx 2 weeks later) for 11/15/13 between 2-5pm. When inquiring when furniture arrived and why the lengthy delivery wait, the sales person replied "I don't know when it arrived, but it's here now and the truck is full" 11/15/13 5:00pm, I phoned EFO regarding status of delivery. **** stated that she would return my call as the delivery men were not answering their phone. Later phone call from **** stating that delivery was late and I was the last delivery. At approx 5:30 pm the delivery arrived. At this time I noticed the end love seat cushion was approx 5 inches too short and would not reach the back of the love seat. I immediately called EFO and spoke with ****, she stated that the service department had left for the day and to call and leave a message and they would return the call in the order it was received. I inquired what to do with the love seat in the meantime and she stated "Enjoy it!" I left a message for the service dept immediately upon hanging up. 11/16/13 Upon inspecting the furniture and reviewing the receipt, I contacted EFO again to verify if the order was correct as the recliner had no identifying tags on it and the tag on the love seat did not match the name on the work order. **** stated that the tag on love seat was the same company even though the names didn't match and verified the recliner by the serial number under the recliner base. 11/18/13-Return phone call was received from EFO and a service worker from EFO came to my home and took measurements and pictures of the love seat cushion and stated he would reorder/replace the seat cushion in the correct size, with an approximate return of 1-2 weeks. 12/13/13-Phone call to EFO regarding the status of the love seat cushion and I was told by ****, that the cushion has arrived however she was unsure where it was located and that the service department workers were not in the office due to a death in the family and to call back on Monday. 12/23/13-Phone call to EFO regarding cushion. Sales person redirected me to service dept to leave a message and I explained that **** told me to call back on Monday which was actually a week ago and that cushion was in the store. He directed me to **** who stated " no, sorry you need to contact the service department, I thought I told you to calll the service dept and gave you that number." I then asked to speak with a manager, to which she stated she was, I then asked to speak with someone else, to which she said was the owner, she gave me his name and that he would be at the store in the morning. I then called the service dept and left a message. ( I never received a return call from *** ********) 12/30/13 Message from EFO service dept-the cushion was on back order as the fabric was out of stock 1/8/13 Phone call from EFO regarding the measurements of the cushion. My husband explained to the worker that a service person was out to our home and measured the cushion in November (11/18/13) He also stated that we have not received a phone call from the store owner, to which worker replied "he tells us to tell customers that he is busy and take a message." The worker said they would look into the matter and call back. 1/9/14-Phone message from EFO service dept-that the fabric is on back order. 1/20/14-Phone message from EFO service dept-requesting the measurements of the cushion and what side the ear was on. 1/27/14-Phone message from EFO that the cushion had arrived at EFO 1/30/14-My husband picked up the cushion at the store and spoke with ***, the owner, regarding our dissatisfaction with the customer service we received and the length of time it took to receive the cushion, noting the same cushion was on the couch on the showroom floor. *** became defensive stating " how was I supposed to know that...all you had to do was stick a throw pillow behind the short cushion and it would have been fine...what do you want a hundred bucks?" My husband stated he wanted *** to come up with a fair resolution and to call us back today. *** agreed. (We received no response from *** *. that day) 1/31/14-My husband returned to the store and spoke with *** regarding his decision. He stated that he was very angry about the previous day's conversation and instead of calling he wrote a letter and was going to send it with a $50 check. He retrieved a copy of the letter and then proceeded to introduce my husband to **** "stating I believe this is the person you said was rude to your wife" to which **** stated "yeah she called stating she thought she got the wrong recliner too" *** then said "I changed my mind about the $50, I know your kind of people, all you're after is money, now get out of my store, I'm not giving you anything!"

Desired Settlement: A refund of 25% of the price of the love seat as the cushion was completely unusable from 11/15/13-1/30/14 or a full refund for the return of all of the furniture purchased as the customer service was so terrible especially from the owner who never as much apologized for the inconvenience as well as insulted and degraded my husband in his store. in front of other customers

Business Response:

** and *** ********* purchased the Jackson loveseat-chairs combination.  This series has several configurations to choose as a special order.  We carry one version as our stock.

Our customer selected a configuration which we do not carry.

We needed to order a new seat cushion to replace one that was cut incorrectly.

The manufacturer could not ship it until January because the bonded leather was Out of stock completely.  Once it arrived, the seat cushion had to be cut and sewn and Shipped to us. 

We understand that the time was unusually long and we apologize for the delay.

** ********** came in to pick up the new seat cushion and the issue is now resolved.

** ******** wrote up a letter which held an apology and offering $50.00 for their  dissatisfaction.

** ********* felt it was an unacceptable amount.

In *** *********’s letter to you, she requested 25% of the loveseat be given for this situation. 

Although we believe a 25% discount is excessive for a delay beyond our control on a seat cushion that was eventually corrected, we are willing to split the difference between our offer and ***. *********'s demand. Her demand would equal $104.00  (loveseat price $416 x 25%); our final offer would be $77.00 refund

($104 – 50.00 (originally offered) = $54 divided by 2 (splitting the difference)  = $27 plus the initial $50 offer). We hope this would be an equitable settlement."

I would hope this will be accepted and we will mail the check to them as soon as they respond through the BBB to do so. 

 

Sincerely,

**** * *******, VP

EFO Furniture Outlet

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I believe the offer from EFO is incorrect in that my request was for 25% of the loveseat/chaise purchase price of $839 or full refund for the return of all merchandise.  I am uncertain as to EFO's $416 price quote calculation, as I am referring to my receipt of $839. EFO is also mistaken in their reply, as the cushion was not made of bonded leather and the in stock loveseat/chaise configuration on the EFO showroom had the exact fabric, reversible (replacement) cushion available the day my husband picked up the corrected cushion. When **. ******** took my husband to the floor model and discovered this he became very angered and defensive, stating  "How was I supposed to know?"  Also at no time did my husband refuse a $50 check from **. ********.  **. ******** gave my husband a copy of the letter **. ******** was going to mail us and then asked him to leave his store stating "I know what kind of people you are, I changed my mind I'm not giving you anything." This said in front of store customers. I understand EFO may feel that 25% of the purchase price is excessive for a loveseat cushion that we eventually received, however that includes the lengthy, unorganized, unprofessional manner in which business was handled, toward me on several occasions over the telephone, by EFO employees to the unfair treatment my husband received from **. ********, the owner of EFO, while in his store. I feel this is quite a small price to pay. May I add that I am saddened by the fact that to date, EFO has not addressed nor apologized for the actions of their employees and/or owner.

Regards,

******* *********

Business Response: First, I will send a copy of the letter ** ******** gave ** *********.  He had intended to mail it but ** ********* came back the next day to personally hear what resolution was going to be made.
Second, Please note that neither I nor *** ********* were present during her husband's visits to the store.
But through conversations with store employees who were present and a third party witness not affiliated with EFO, ** ******** did apologize for the situation.
He also tried to explain to ** ********* why our service department did not know the seats on our showroom set were the same size as his set.
Upon reading the attached letter to the *********s', our apology was again stated. Plus, in my initial response to this complaint, we again wished to apologize for the inconvenience.  So it is our understanding that monetary compensation is the main reason for this complaint to go on.

** ******** would have been happy to write a check immediately for the $50.00 offered if ** ********* accepted it.  ** ********* said it was not acceptable and that is why no check was written that day. 
Once the offer was rejected, ** ********* stayed in the store with no apparent reason.
** ******** eventually asked ** ********* to leave the premises after he followed ** ******** into his private office which was clearly marked NO ADMITTANCE and after following him into his office, ** *********  attempted to audio/video record ** ******* without his permission.
At that point, ** ******** asked him to leave before there was any further escalation.

We believe our offer made in our previous response is fair and reasonable.  The situation has been rectified.  The complaint due to the length of time was understood and was offered compensation.  Apologies were often stated and our service department staff did the best they could given the knowledge they had.
We had ordered exactly what was needed and could not get the seat any faster.
We would appreciate their acceptance of $77.00 to settle this issue.  

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

First, I have a copy of the attached letter that **. ******** gave to my husband after a requested phone call from **. ******** was not received the previous day, as agreed upon.  
Second,  I do not dispute that the letter and **. *******'s initial response to this complaint apologized for the "inconvenience" of the wrong sized cushion.  
It is also correct that **. ******* nor I were present for the conversations that took place between my husband and **.********. However, if what my husband stated to me was any sort of apology from **. ******** himself, it was a very sad attempt, as **. ******** was unconcerned, defensive and just downright rude on both occasions.  
As I explained in my initial complaint and previous response, **. ******* nor **. ******** have ever even addressed, let alone apologized for, the unprofessionalism and rudeness experienced by myself as well as my husband, by EFO's employees mainly manager, **** and the owner himself, **. ********.  
Let me also clear up the fact that my husband was given a copy of the above referenced letter by **. ******** in **. ********' office and it was not until my husband asked him to sign the letter stating we did not receive the $50check, as stated in the letter, that he told him to leave the office, where he then led my husband to the showroom floor to an employee stating "Is the person you said was rude to your wife on the phone?" humiliated him, and then told him to get out of his store stating he wasn't giving him anything.  
Might I add that he said to my husband upon leaving EFO, "don't even bother getting a lawyer it will cost you more than it is worth and I have an A+ rating with the BBB."  This is the reason I feel the complaint should go on!  
Returning a defective product and receiving a new one doesn't fully reflect what the customer paid for. Eventually fixing what the retailer failed to do the first time and mistreating the customer does not honor the customer.  $77 is insulting.
Truthfully, I am having hard time enjoying this couch. 
My request stands at 25% of $839 or return of merchandise for full refund.
 
Regards,

******* *********








1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sofa from EFO back in 2011 along with the platinum protection plan. Within 2 years of the purchase the sofa springs failed. I contacted EFO for warranty information and was given a phone number for the third party company who takes care of the problems. I was informed by ******* Warranty company that I need a protection number which was never provided to me by EFO. When the number was finally obtained ******* denied the claim telling me the springs were not covered because they weren't broken. When the warranty was purchased I was told it was a total protection and everything was covered. The sale rep *** missed informed me about the coverage for the warrenty getting confused with the information for the past warranty company EFO used, and failed to provide contract information. After dealing with the sales manager **** back in the begening of September, EFO decided to get the Manufacturer involved. The manufacturer and EFO decided to let me select a new sofa which I did on September 20th. I was informed it would be 6-8 weeks before I would receive the new sofa. That time passed and contacted the sales person *** and was told when it gets here it gets here and hung up on me. I then decided to call the ******* Company on 25th to enquire on how long it took to get a sofa out of the factory, and informed the rep of ******* where I puchased the sofa from. I was informed the sofa was shipped out of the VA location on the 18th of November to EFO. With no call for EFO again I called today and spoke a sales rep and he informed me that my sofa was indeed in. I asked to set up delvery for next week on the wendsday being that is the only day someone would be here. I was informed at that point the that they only deliver to my area which is only 15 miles from the store 2 days a month. This will not work due to work scheduals. If I was informed of the delivery practices I would have fought for a refund of this broken sofa bach on Sept 20th when I selected the other sofa. I feel I have been lied to from the start with the protection plan, and have been patient enough waiting 9 week for the new sofa now only to have more problems with EFO with delivery. This sofa sat approx. in there warehouse for a week without a call.

Desired Settlement: I feel that all I have been through with EFO a full refund for the total amount of the sofa and warranty should be refunded to me.

Business Response: In response to ** *******'s complaint. 
I checked her account and looked up the item she purchased.  It was a ********************.
I tracked it in the computer and it showed that we ordered it Sept 20, 2013.  It arrived in our warehouse on Nov.27, 2013.  According to the letter from ** ******* to the BBB, the sofa sat in our warehouse for a week without anyone calling.
    I need to state that a truck leaving from Virginia on the 18th carries a full load.  That truck usually has many stops along the way to deliver.  And most are not on a direct route to our location. 
These trucks pick up loads from different manufacturers and drop off their products all along their route.  It is not uncommon once the product leaves the manufacturer that we wait a week to 12 days to receive it.
    We actually received her sofa earlier the same morning that ** ******* called the store.  It then showed it was in our warehouse so we were able to set a date a delivery date.
The ********, according to the address we have listed lives in *******, Pa. 
EFO tries to set days we travel to certain areas according to it's distance from our warehouse in ******** Township, Pa and the amount of deliveries going to that town per month.  This schedule is given to us by the warehouse and we need to schedule deliveries accordingly.
To *******, we deliver the first and third Fridays of the month.  So when ** ******* called on Nov. 27th, we offered to deliver it on Friday Dec. 6th. 
** ******* said that was "unacceptable" and needed it sooner.  Since the 28th of Nov was Thanksgiving, no deliveries went out.  The span of wait was about 8 days.  But since ** ******* was adamant about having it sooner, ****, who was speaking to him asked the Warehouse to make a special trip sooner than Dec 6th.  Our warehouse ok'd  to deliver the day after Thanksgiving, Nov. 29th.   **** was informed that a deadline for accepting the spot was a few hours later.  **** immediately tried contacting ** ******* to tell him we can do it in 2 days.
He got a message machine and left a message for someone to call him right away.  As the window of opportunity closed, **** again called only to get the message machine.  But shortly after, ** ******* returned the call.  He told **** that Friday Nov 29th was "unacceptable" as well.
    The merchandise is still here and we don't want to call people 2 and 3 times trying to schedule once they know it is ready.  Because some people complain we are "pushing" them to take delivery. 

To finalize my statement, note that the product did NOT arrive until the day ** ******* called.  We tried 2 different dates to deliver it.  I do not see how we lied when we worked diligently in the customer's favor to get the manufacturer to take back a product that was used by the customer for 18 months!
Standard warranty for defects is 12 months from date of delivery.   However, he did buy at that time, the coverage for rips, tears, burns.. etc.  It works like an insurance company.  When you make a claim, it's either covered or it's not.  It depends on what they cover.
 When the *******'s had a spring issue, that company said it doesn't cover wear and tear but only if the spring actually broke.  His springs sagged.   That is not covered.
***
     In addition I am stating for the record in this document that the original sofa purchased by the ******* residence was received
March 29, 2011.  That is when they paid for the product.  The normal warranty on the original item is 1 year. 
We honored and extended that warranty by allowing them to reselect a different sofa in 2013 with no usage fees or other pro-rated fees.
They had full credit to select something else.
This new sofa carries only a 60 day warranty since it is honoring the warranty from 2011.  And that warranty was over March, 2012.

I do not want there to be any misunderstanding of the warranty on the ********************.  You as the Better Business Bureau are witness to this statement being made. 
Please have the ******** contact the store and set up a delivery.  If they have any specifics we need to know in order to set a date, they should inform us when they call.  Then we will do our best to acomodate them, but if special arrangements are needed, we cannot be held to a quick delivery date. 

**** * *******, V. Pres
EFO Furniture Outlet
###-###-####

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I don't agree with the warranty on the new sofa for the following reasons.  First EFO stated that the orginal sofa had a standard 1 year warranty.  I contacted ********* and spoke with *** and was informed that the sofa I currently have has a lifetime warrenty on the frame and springs, 3 year on the cores, and 1 year on the fabric.  This doesn't sound like the 12 month standard warranty EFO claims I currently have.  Second, when dealing with the Manager **** of the ******* location, and my sales person ***, both indicated I will have FULL manufactures warranty on the new sofa.  I even pointed out that the new ******* sofa has a 5 year warranty on the cores to the point *** printed out the information and took it into the office to bring it to managments attention.  I did speak with **** on the phone to try to resolve the issue and she stated that EFO will not stand behind the Full manufactures warrenty, because EFO will not spend any more of there money on a re-select sofa.  With that I called ******* company and spoke with ****** and was informend that it cost the store nothing because they send the invoice and ******* reimburses the cost of the repair  (labor and parts for the first year, and parts only after that).  **** also made the comment that her manager and sales person must not know the procedure for a re-select.  I find this hard to believe and feel she is making excusess.   I also spoke to **** about the delivery of the new sofa and told her that **** gave me 10 mins to make a decision not hours.  I also indicated that there is a special condition on delivery, because it has to go through the neighbors apartment ***, ****, and **** knew about this, but failed to inform ****.  I also to this day December 27 have not received the warrenty information purchased back with the orginial sofa.  In conclusion I am willing to accept to the sofa as long as the FULL manufacture warrenty is given, and delivery can be made within  a reasonable amount of time.  If EFO will not stand behind the information **** and *** offered me with the FULL warranty and an acceptable delivery time, then I will expect a FULL refund of the original sofa with extended warranty in the amount of $867.08.


Regards,

******* *******








Business Response:     The reason their sofa is not yet delivered is because they have not tried to set a date with us again.  *** *******"s husband spoke to me on the phone but we never set a date.   
Perhaps if setting a delivery date with the customer is very difficult, maybe they should consider just picking it up.  This way, it is more at their convenience.  Our trucks cannot always work around people's needs so we offer pick ups at the stores.  But we have to schedule a date for that as well, in order to bring it to the store. 
The money applied to the delivery would just go back onto their account as unused credit.
     In response to the ******* warranty paperwork, we reprinted the paperwork but my warehouse was planning to send it along with the new sofa.  It is dated from March 2011 and whatever amount of time left on it will carry to the new piece.  I will have them mail it to you right away.
   
    As for the warranty on the new ******* piece. yes they get a full warranty on the new piece as given by Jackson. 
******* covers one year on labor if repairs are needed.  However, they do not reimburse us for our travel.  If the customer requests a service man to come to their home within the first year, we will charge for travel time.  A $30.00 charge for every time he is required to go to the home.  This is for the first year.  After 1 year, labor is no longer covered so labor and travel fees apply. 

12/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 09/06/2013 I purchased a bedroom suite and mattress set. I am a returning customer. Previously, I purchased a living room set, I was financed through ***** *****, and I had 18 months interest free financing. This time, I was LIED to by the sale associate, ****** *****, I filled out a credit application after telling her about my prevous experience with 18 months interest free financing and how wonderful it worked out, I was able to pay it off before the 18 months passed and was charged no interest. The sales associate came back with a big smile on her face and told me what my credit limit was and when I asked about the financing she told me it was 24 months, I though great, even better than last time. Well, I received a bill in the mail for $111 and when I inquired about it was told that it was only 6 months interest free. I have made SO MANY CONTACTS via email, phone calls, & visting the store in person and only ******** ********* contacted me and was NO HELP at all. She didn't even pretend to be concerned or care about my problem. All she did was tell me that what the sale associate said was verbal and that I had to go by what the credit application said. She mailed it out to me. I received it this weekend and the interest free period is NOT on there. She was not willing to help, it has been weeks, and no one has helped me. I feel like I have been ROBBED. ****** is a thief. She had horns on her head and dollar signs in her eyes. She is enjoying her commission pay while I am now late on my payment because I can not afford it. THIS IS FRAUDULENT!!! I asked to return the furniture since the financing was incorrect and I still hadn't received the 2 drawer replacements --- (Yeah, the furniture was also delivered defective - 2 drawers will not close) BUT ******** told me no all sales are final. I feel taken advantage of big time. This is just WRONG. A business should not be able to get away with this.

Desired Settlement: I want to return this furniture purchase or I want a partial refund! I can not afford this!

Business Response:   In response to *** ******'s complaint, I have enclosed attachments to this letter.

First, allow me to say as vice Pres. of EFO, I have spoken and received written explanations from both ****** ***** and ******** ********* the managers in our ************ store.
Although *** ****** has financed with ***** ***** in the past, our company rarely uses them anymore.  Since her last purchase, we have continued to revise our business and reduce expenses so that we can offer the lowest price on furniture that we can.  One of those revisions was not using ***** ***** unless someone has an open account already with them.  
In this situation, *****, who was assisting *** ****** with her purchase, was informed by *** ****** about her ***** ***** account.  When ***** checked the open account for ***** *****, *** ******s account has been closed due to inactivity.  So, no account was available at ***** ***** for her.
 
***** proceeded to offer the company we do most of our financing through.  That company is ******* financial company.
The longest period of financing we offer with them is a 12 month zero interest but with monthly payments.   
***** had *** ****** **** out the ******* form and she was approved for the 12 months with payments.  
The first attachment that I sent should have a number at the top right corner saying 186093.
On the same invoice, a third of the way down that page, on the right,  shows a box hand written.   0% interest.
*** ****** should have a copy of this invoice as we give a copy to every customer.  Also please note at the bottom left of that invoice is her signature.
On this invoice she purchased a bedroom and a mattress set.  Her total with tax and delivery was  $3,289. 00. 
The second attachment is simply the back of that invoice stating the terms and conditions of the sale along with her signature.  The key factor on this invoice regards manufacturers warranties which she stated she had damage on drawers.  We have already received new drawers for her and she has been contacted by voicemail on several occasions to pick up the drawer replacements.  
 
The third attachment should be a copy of a signed statement by *** ****** about the terms of the financing. At the top of this paper it is titled SAME AS CASH ADDENDUM.   It states if you pay off the balance due within 12 months of the date, we (*******)  will not assess finance charges.  This had *** ******s signature at the bottom.  
Allow me to state for the record that our company does not hire commissioned sales people anymore.  And *****, her salesperson is not a commissioned sales person as **** ****** alluded in her letter to you when she said that ***** was only interested in the money.  
Our company does not see a value in lying to someone just to get the sale.  EFO does not see a value in an upset customer... so deceiving a  valued customer is not acceptable.  As I review the paperwork that I have submitted to you, and as I know what we as a company encourage from our managers and our stores, I do not feel *** ****** was deceived.  
 
I do believe *** ****** "thought" she understood the format because she financed in the past.  The option she had years ago is not offered By EFO anymore. In the plans we offer, ******* requires a percentage paid each month depending on the amount financed.  It is a minimum.. just like any credit card requires a minimum paid monthly.  
Perhaps, in the past, *** ****** enjoyed the luxury of a no interest, no payment plan which allows you to pay very small amounts per month and like  many people,  hoped their income tax checks would pay it off so there would be no penalty.  We offer nothing like this anymore.  These plans are very costly for the company and it causes our prices to go up.  Given our goal to have Outlet prices, we cannot entertain these plans.
However, my ************ location is in communication with the local ******* office they financed through. They are trying to see if we can offer *** ****** an extended finance plan without added penalties or charges to EFO or to her. 
Our interest is to help the situation but our policy states on our invoices as well as posted in our stores that all sales are final.  We make this clear and she did sign all the paperwork so we do not feel a need to take the products back. 
 I may have an answer for an alternate finance program to offer her by tomorrow but I did not want to hold off on my reply to you.  
Once I find out, I can enter another response.  In addition *** ****** may respond to this letter as well.  I am hoping that she will accept whatever we can offer at this point and that she accepts that we had no intention to deceive or harm her financially.
 
Sincerely
**** ** *******
EFO furniture Outlet
 
 
 

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a $500 kitchen set from efo and within two weeks of very little use noticed many scratches on table top and a crack on the brace under one of the chairs. Called efo and they took a week to send someone out to look at it and photograph damage. It took another week of me calling them to speak with a man who said he was a middle man and was told by management to tell me to use old english scratch cover on table and purchase a table pad. This is not a resolution for their inferior product. They are not addressing the issue and wont work with me.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return this set for refund

Business Response:

** ***** purchased a kitchen set from us and received it on August 28, 2013. 

Our Service Department received a call from ** ***** on October 15, 2013.

Upon contacting us, she reported scratches on the table and a broken chair.  On

October 23, our service tech went to her home.  He photographed the table top.

It has fine scratches on it from use.  This is normal wear and tear, if the top is

not protected with placemats or other means to avoid scratching.

Upon delivery on Aug. 28th, the product was delivered in good condition.  The scratches

Were reported 7 weeks later.  

Manufacturers do not warrant items from scratching. 

EFO only helps our customers resolve issues according to the manufacturer’s warranty.

We cannot repair it or replace it under the manufacturer’s warranty.

There are no companies making wood products that will cover scratching.  It is not a defect. 

As for scratches, any wood product that has a smooth surface can easily attain surface scratches. However, professional  removal of scratches requires sanding down the entire surface and refinishing it.  This is a costly process.  It is not covered by the manufacturer’s warranty.  Our best solution is using a good furniture polish (for example, Bees Wax Furniture Polish or other good furniture polishes) or Old English if the scratches have removed some of the surface color.

An online do it yourself suggestion is   If you have a minor surface scratch on the finish but not in the wood, you can try rubbing a solution of lemon juice and cooking oil over the scratch with a clean lint cloth. Rub firmly in the direction of the scratch until it disappears.

http://thesecretyumiverse.wonderhowto.com/how-to/10-diy-ways-repair-nicks-and-scratches-wooden-furniture-0145318/

Then protecting the table with a table cloth, place mats or table pads for example for continued protection.

Regarding the broken chair..

The chair is being exchanged.  Our Service Department will let her know when one is available.  Or she may call them directly at ###-###-####  Mon-Fri till 3:00PM

 

I hope this helps ** ***** and helps resolve this issue. 

 

Sincerely,

**** * ********

EFO Furniture Outlet

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

:  I am rejecting this because I did have placemats on this table which the service person saw and removed to photograph. This table top is not wood it is some type of laminated material which would not be compatible with old english or wax. They should know this. I told them I just moved into my home and the table was in use 2 weeks. This is not normal wear and tear for two older adults. It was hardly used. Also they have made no attempt to contact me about replacing the cracked chair and it has been 2 weeks since I spoke with them. How long is reasonable? I really feel the $500 I paid for this dinette should be refunded.


Regards,

**** *****








Business Response: I am very pleased to know that ** ***** is so knowledgeable on wood products. And I'm sorry that she thinks we don't know
quite as much as she does. 
But allow me to correct her.
The table is NOT a laminate.  It is a veneer, which, if she knows what is wood and what is not, she would know this.  a Veneer surface
is wood.
  Most fine dining room tables have a veneer surface as well, so it is not an inferior product. 
IN ADDITION.. the products I mentioned in my first response, furniture polish and Old English are absolutely
appropriate on her table top, although she insists they are not.
Nonetheless I am aware that ** ***** will not be happy with her table now that it is scratched.  And the table was not scratched upon delivery, which means it was scratched perhaps when someone moved it.. she said she moved per her comments to the BBB.
So I have spoken to another senior manager and we will offer to take the table back and replace it plus replace the one chair that is broken.
 OR allow her to reselect something different.
Whichever option she chooses, she has to contact you at the BBB stating she is in agreement so the case is closed favorably.
And once I am informed of the decision, I will have my service department set it up.
If she chooses to reselect, she will have credit of $499.00 plus tax.  PLUS there would be a $35.00 redelivery/ pick up fee 
The authorization to reselect is good for 30 days.  If nothing is selected in 30 days, the authorization is voided.
If she is concerned with scratches on future merchandise, we can recommend she purchase the Montage extended warranty. 
That warranty is for select damages that can occur like scratches and burn marks, etc.. This is from a separate company than EFO Furniture
and is handled by them.  She would get a registration number upon delivery of the new items, if she purchases it.

9/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 3 unit bedroom set (Bed, Chest of Drawers & Nightstand). Picked up boxed items from EFO on Sat. Aug. 17, 2013. Asked the man who loaded our vehicle if I should check for damage first. Was simply told, "No. If there's damage when you get home, just give us a call." No instruction from him or anyone else as to their policy, but mis-informed in this matter & their policy was mis-represented. Upon inspection of furniture, once it was in our home & taken out of the boxes, there were 2 out of 3 items damaged. The nightstand had a crack running half way across the front on the bottom drawer. The chest of drawers had a large crack & dents on one corner of the top, & 2 gaps between the frame & two drawers. Called company & spoke with their service manager (name unknown but it was a woman). She said they would not replace the chest of drawers, but would "repair" it. I told her we paid for a "new" dresser, not a damaged & repaired one with a compromised frame. I said this was not acceptable & I wanted a new dresser ordered & they can put this one through to claims as "damaged". They will not do that, even though they took our money & gave us a damaged chest & nightstand. Was told I would also have to go without a dresser while they "fix it" & would have to pay $80.00 for them to come get it or drive 1 hour away to drop it off. After arguing with the service manager & stating that this is not ethical, she said, "You should have read the fine print on the back of the paper"(the paper that the man at the loading dock gave me)....but the man at the loading dock told me all I had to do was take the furniture home & call if there was damage after I had inquired about it. The service manager then accused us of dropping the furniture when we were out of their presence. When I got upset over this, she said, "When you want to talk, call me back" & then hung up on me. Later that day I called & left a voice message for the owner of the company who has not returned my phone call & we have been lied to!

Desired Settlement: "New" chest of drawers & new nightstand drawer or our money back for all damaged pieces without having to pay their large re-stocking fee.

Business Response: Dear *******,

In addition to sending this complaint to the Better Business Bureau, *** ******** also sent a similar message to the products’ manufacturer, ****** *******.  
I have been corresponding with representatives from ****** ******* as well.
According to ***** ******, our ****** ******* assistant, this has been successfully resolved.  I am sending copies of the emails regarding it.  
However, ** ******** did point out that our Pick Up policies are not stated clearly enough.  
Although they are on the back of every sales invoice, we hope to improve this by posting it larger and more visibly in our stores and Pick Up areas.
       For this, I apologize to *** ********.  We want our customers to be well informed of procedures that may affect them. 
 
 Below are 2 emails from ** ****** to me in response to *** ******** email to the manufacturer:
From: ****** <*******************>
Date: Fri, Aug 23, 2013 at 11:44 AM
Subject: Customer ********
To: *******************
Cc: *** ****** <*****************>, **** <********************>

**** and ***
Problem has been resolved. The customer will have a new drawer for the N/S and a new top for the chest sent directly to her from the factory. She will then repair it herself
Thank you for your e-mails to me and  I thank my person at the factory that I have been working with.
***** ******


***** ******
    
3:29 PM (1 hour ago)
        
***, ****
I sent all the info to our customer service people and they worked things out, that is all I know.
*****
Sent from my Verizon Wireless Droid


***  If this needs to be addressed further, please contact me.  I will give you all the details and policies.

Sincerely,
**** *******

11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2012 Delivery Issues