BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

4 Less Furniture and Rugs LLC

Phone: (610) 650-4000 Fax: (610) 650-4002 122 Mill Rd P O Box 393, Oaks, PA 19456 View Additional Email Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 4 Less Furniture and Rugs LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 4 Less Furniture and Rugs LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 03, 2009 Business started: 11/01/2008 in PA Business started locally: 11/01/2008 Business incorporated: 10/22/2008 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tom Kashi, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Kashi, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Carpet & Rug Dealers - Used


Additional Locations

  • 122 Mill Rd P O Box 393

    Oaks, PA 19456

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before purchasing 8 couches from this furniture store for my business, my business partner and I asked if they had commercial insurance. 4less furniture assured us they did. We proceeded to tell them that we had already bought couches from ******'s furniture, but the salesman called us and told us he lied about the insurance being commercial and felt like he had to call and let us know. After confirming from the owner *** and his employee ***** that they had commercial insurance to cover couches for our business, I called and cancelled the ******'s furniture order in 4less furniture and bought 8 couches for my business, and what I was assured was Commerical insurance. When I called the insurance about 8 months later to report a claim for the couches' springs, the insurance company told me they do not cover commercial purchases. I called 4less furniture and they refunded my insurance money when I asked, and said they would send a repair company to assess the damage and try to get it covered under the manufacturer's warranty, which was 1 year. After the repair company gave them a quote I asked for it to be faxed to me and 4less furniture said the repair company never emailed it to them, but I talked to the repair company who assured me they did email them with the quote and damages. I even have a voicemail from *****'s repair company stating what damages the technician found and that they forwarded all of this information to 4less furniture. I brought my couch to 4less furniture who said they would send it to manufacturer, but when I went to pick it up 4less furniture insisted the manufacturer said nothing was wrong with it even though you sink very far down and the springs are busted when you sit on the couch. I have a voicemail from 4less furniture from ****** stating the manufacturers Said the "cushions just need to be fluffed" and that they fluffed the ones on the couch I sent and that it is perfectly fine now. However the couch still has springs protruding and you still sink down into it. I asked for the repair company's quote and estimate on damages and they did not give it to me. Now I am stuck with couches that need to be repaired out of my own pocket that I bought under the impression that I had commercial insurance for 5 years, which I would never have bought without commercial insurance .

Desired Settlement: For 4less furniture to either pay for repairs to the couches so they don't sink in and the springs don't protrude and so that the springs are fixed, OR for them to replace the couches, or refund some of the cost of the couches since they sold me the couches under false pretenses.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

4LessFurniture has not taken responsibility for telling my business we were purchasing commercial insurance, when in fact we were not. I do not want anyone else to purchase furniture here under false pretenses, and be stuck paying for repairs out of pocket instead of through commercial insurance as promised. All of the damages to our furniture would have been covered under commercial insurance, which we were told we purchased. 4LessFurniture refunded me money for insurance that I could not use, but did not solve my problem of repairing or replacing furniture for which commercial insurance would have covered. No actions from 4LessFurniture resulted from my complaint so I reject their response. Also a pickup time was never scheduled with my business to pick up the couches, 4lessFurniture showed up without an appointment outside of our regular business hours so we were closed. If I knew when they were coming I would have been there to let them in and take the couches so I wouldn't have to take them there myself.
Regards, 

***** *****

Business Response: 0ctober 31, 2013

To Whom It May Concern,

In regards to Complaint ID Number *******, the series of events are as follows:

The client came into our store on September 8,2012 and purchased eight bonded leather sofas along with a warranty plan for the sofas totaling $4,727.60 for their Hookah lounge. We delivered the order on December 16,2012. About six months later, the customer contacted us stating that there are issues with half of the sets she purchased. The sets had burn holes in the seats and the backs of the sofas were slouched down as if people were sitting on top of them. This was caused by normal wear and tear and ultimately abuse to the sets. She contacted the warranty company and they only cover the structure and the frame of the sets; however, they do not cover commercial use, only residential, which we were not aware of otherwise we wouldn't have offered it to her. Since that was our mistake, we were happy to refund the customer the $300 cost for the warranty plan.

We scheduled to pick up one of the sofas from the client free of charge so that we may send it back to the manufacturer to see if they will replace it since it was still under the manufacturer's warranty. Upon pick up, the customer was not there and the business was closed, **. ***** later dropped off the sofa herself. The manufacturer said there is no structural defect (which is what their warranty covers) and that it was considered “abuse” to the product. We advised the customer that the best thing they can do is to refill and fluff the cushions.

We’ve done everything we could to help resolve this issue but the client is not cooperating with us. Should you need any additional information, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The issue I needed to be resolved is that I have structurally broken couches that cause my customers to sink down into the seats, secondary to detached springs.  The repairs to my couches were not covered under insurance that I was assured by 4LessFurniture was commercial insurance, and would cover any structural damages that occured over 5 years, which I feel was negligent on the behalf of 4LessFurniture when selling this furniture. As my couches are still broken and must now be repaired as an out of pocket expense, the issue is not resolved. As previously stated I would not have bought the couches at all without commercial insurance, and the cost of the couches or repair to the couches  is way more than the amount of the refunded insurance money.  Therefore I do not feel 4LessFurniture made their best effort to resolve this issue, as they sold me insurance I could not use. They did the least they could do by refunding the insurance money. 


Regards,

***** *****

11/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a bunk-bed for my kids and when we were buying the product I ask the sales rep if everything was included in the price of the bunkbed including storage under neath the bed. she said yes and when the product arrived it did not have it. Sales rep said it was her mistake and she admitted to her manager. I called the store and also went there. to resolve the problem they offered me 2 options first to sell me the product for 149$ which is originally 199$ or second option refund all the money for bunk-bed They kept saying they will not lose any money over this. Neither of these options worked for me, I asked if they can discount the cost of this storage to a another purchase but they offered me regular 10% off as they do with every customer and tried to charge me extra for delivery then normal. they kept saying they will help me with this much as possible as long as they don't lose any money. I trusted the sales rep and she should've been more knowledged about the product she was selling.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the storage underneath the bunk bed or a refund of the cost of the storage soo I can go out and buy one for my self.

Business Response: October 15,2013
Better Business Bureau
1880 JFK Boulevard, Suite 1330 Philadelphia, PA 19103
###-###-#### ###-###-#### (FAX)

Re: ********* ***** Complaint (*******)
To Whom It May Concern,

In regards to Complaint ID Number *******, the series of events arc as follows:

The client came into our store on August 18,2013 and was interested in a “Twin over Twin Storage in Stairway Bunk Bed” that was priced at $999. The client wanted a better deal for the bunk bed, and in the end we gave it to her, with a significant discount, for $810. We ordered her a brand new set and scheduled the delivery for August 27,2013. After the delivery was completed, the customer signed and dated that she received what she ordered and in good condition (please see attached copy of invoice). The next day the client callcd and said she did not receive the “underbed storage,” however, that was not part of her original purchase. The set is also available with two underbed storage units for an additional cost of $199; this was not included in her package price, otherwise it would have been noted on the invoice as a separate SKU number.

We told the client that we would work with her to resolve the misunderstanding, and discount the storage units for $ 129 instead of the 1 isted $ 199 price; conversely, the client refused and insisted that we give it to her at no additional cost. We have already lost money on the sale due to the 19% discount we gave her and on our tag it clearly states that the “Underbed Storage’' units are separate and at an additional price. The client mentioned to her sales person that she was interested in other pieces of furniture and we told her that when she comes back we will definitely accommodate her on her future purchases. We’ve done everything we could to help resolve this issue but the client is not cooperating with us. Everything is clearly stated on the price tag (sec attached), yet we still tried to work with the customer and come to an acceptable solution.

Should you need any additional information, please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Its all lies. The sale price of the bunk bed was $899 and they offered me $149 for the under bed  storage, also i complaint when the bunkbed was delivered. I called the store they said i needed to speak to my salesperson and she would call me. I saved the message she left on my phone. When it was delivered the delivery guys wrote down on the delivery receipt that the storage was missing and they called their supervisor. When i was at the store they had the copy of the receipt saying storage was missing.

I still want the under bed storage.


Regards,

******** *****








11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sofa/loveseat in October 2012. In January 2013, some staples on both the sofa and loveseat became detached. I called the store and was told to email a picture. I was told a company representative would come to my house and fix the sofa. After weeks passed, I was eventually told on April 28, 2013 that the sofa style was out of stock and the store offered a different style, which I declined. That same day, after I declined a different style, a customer representative and I mutually agreed that a refund would be issued. A few days later the same representative indicated that no refund was agreed to and that she had ordered replacement sofas for me. I purchased a 7 piece dinette set with table pads on December 23, 2013. I told the store to wait to deliver the table until the pads were ready, in early January 2013. In mid January 2013, I called the store to inquire about the status of the delivery and was told a table came in to the store but was damaged and needed to be replaced. A table was delivered on 1/31/13. The table leaf was damaged and needed to be replaced. In addition, 4 of the 6 chairs ordered were not the correct model and needed to be exchanged. I had a table with no leaf and two chairs. A replacement table and leaf and 3 additional chairs was delivered on 2/23/13. The table was scratched and I called the store and was told to send an email. I noted that if the table could not be fixed I wanted a refund. After not hearing from the store for several weeks, I wrote a frustrated letter on March 23. A manager left me a voicemail in response to the letter indicating that the remaining chair would be delivered and someone would come to my house to polish/fix the table. I did not receive any information from the store for several more weeks. When I was told that the sofa would be refunded, I wanted the table to be exchanged as well, given the time that lapsed between delivery and the store addressing the issue. I filed a dispute with *****/**** on May 7, 2013. ***** was very responsive and issued a credit to my account that week. I called the store to arrange pickup of my damaged/incomplete furniture delivery and a manager indicated May 13 would work for both parties. The same customer service representative that indicated a refund would be given for the sofa called me on May 10, indicating she spoke with the owner and no refund would be given and the owner would not pick up the furniture.

Desired Settlement: Due to difficulties encountered with the store and the amount of time given to the business to correct the issue, I simply want a refund. Because ***** has issued a credit, I just want the store to pick up the furniture so both parties can move on. Thank you.

Business Response:  June 14.2013
Better Business Bureau 1880 JFK Boulevard. Suite 1330 Philadelphia, PA 19103 ###-###-#### ###-###-#### (FAX)

Re: ****** ******** Complaint
To Whom It May Concern,

In regards to ****** ******** Complaint, the series of events arc as follows:

The client purchased a complete custom table pad protection package on December 23,2012. They picked out the finish, felt and color that they liked and custom ordered it to match the cxact dimensions of their dining table. It was delivered in perfcct condition with no issues whatsoever.

The customer was aware of our policy and signed the '‘Conditions of Sale" at the time of purchase which states "All sales are Final - No Refunds” and being that this is a custom order, it cannot be returned.

Should you need additional information, please feel free to contact me.
Sincerely,

June 14,2013
Better Business Bureau

1880 JFK Boulevard, Suite 1330 Philadelphia, PA 19103 ###-###-#### ************ (FAX)

Rc: ****** ******** Complaint
To Whom It May Concern,

In regards to ****** ******** Complaint, the series of events are as follows:

The client purchased a Sofa and Loveseat set on October 20,2012. At the time of purchased we scheduled their delivery for October 27,2012, Everything was delivered in perfect condition, as you can see from the customer's signature and date on the invoice attached. Three months later, on January 18,2013, we received an email from the customer with pictures that displayed some issues that they are having with the set. We contacted the manufacturer and they said the customer’s set is still covered by the Manufacturer's Warranty and it is the obligation of the manufacturer to replace it with a brand new set.

As soon as we notified the customer that we got the approval from the manufacturer to get the replacement new set shipped to us, the customer said they want to return everything. We cannot take back merchandise that has been used and mistreated for the past six months. We delivered everything to the customer’s satisfaction with their signatures proving the set was in good condition upon delivery. What the customer does after that to wreck the merchandise is not our fault: however, we arc more than happy to get it fully replaced for them sincc it is still under the manufacturer's warranty. The customer was aware of our policy and signed the "Conditions of Sale" at the time of purchase which states “All sales are Final - No Refunds."

Should you need additional information, please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

See attached letter. Thank you so much for handling this case. The store has been incredibly frustating to deal with. Please contact me with any questions.


Regards,

****** ********

Regarding the sofa/loveseat: the order was received with no problem. When staples became detached from the sofa, I immediately called the store and sent an email about the problem on January 18, 2013. I was told at the time the sofas were under warranty and would be fixed. I did not receive any further information from the company regarding the sofas until April 28, when a customer service representative indicated the sofa style was no longer in stock. The representative sent me an email of a different set as a replacement option (which I have should you need it for support). The set was a different size and color, which I declined. At that point I indicated that since the set was out of stock I would like a refund and the representative responded “yeah, that’s what we’ll have to do.” My girlfriend was home at the time and the conversation was on speakerphone and she heard the comment as well. I never indicated that I would accept a replacement because I was told the style was out of stock, and it was alarming the store offered a different style if mine was still available. The staples came apart on two separate products, in areas that are not impacted by a person sitting down. It is disconcerting that the owner would accuse me of attempting to “wreck” furniture that I paid for- I keep items I pay for in excellent condition.

Regarding the dinette set: four of the six chairs that were delivered on January 31 were not the correct chairs, they were a different style than those that I purchased. They were only returned because the store sent the wrong merchandise. I was told a replacement table would be sent- the store did not offer to fix the original table. The owner’s claim that I refused the table is wrong. The deliverymen took the damaged product back and told me a new one would be ordered.

When a replacement table, leaf and additional chairs were sent on February 23, there were only 3 chairs instead of 4. I did not refuse a chair; the store did not send the correct number. There were also scratches on the new table. I immediately contacted the store, but did not hear from the store for another month when I wrote a letter expressing my frustration. A manager from the store left a voicemail on my phone, which I still have, on March 28. He indicated that 6 news chairs would be ordered and that an individual would come to my house to refinish the table on any Monday of my choosing. I said that would be fine and the manager indicated the store would follow up concerning the chairs and a schedule for someone to come to my home to fix the table. I indicated it was acceptable to send 6 new chairs in a new style since the chairs I had were an older model. I paid for 6 chairs, and I only had 5. After this conversation in late March, I did not hear back from the store until late April when I began making follow up calls. The owner’s comment that, “Once their shipment came in, we called the customer to schedule their delivery” is factually incorrect. I initiated phone conversations with the store in late April and was told the dinette set was previously ordered- I did not ask for a replacement table because it was previously agreed upon that someone would come to my house to refinish the table.

I realize the store does not manufacture the furniture; however they made no effort to resolve the issue for me in a timely manner. Every time I contacted the store about a problem, several weeks would pass and I would have to follow up again. The store was unresponsive, unhelpful and not truthful. I simply want a refund and for the store to pick up the furniture so both parties can move on. I am not asking for any compensation from the store for the frustration and aggravation. The owner is pointing to the new refund policy, but after waiting months for him to fix the problem after failing numerous times, I don’t trust him or his product.

The very first table that was ordered in January was damaged before delivery, so any table the store sent would be the fourth table, as every table has been damaged. The fact that the store waited until the third week in June to respond when the original complaint was sent the second week in May shows how frustrating the owner is and how irresponsive the store is.








Consumer Response: I previously filed a complaint against this company that was unable to be resolved. The original complaint related to the purchase of a sofa/loveseat that became defective. I contacted the store in an attempt to receive a new set as the owner indicated the sofa is under warranty. I filed a dispute with the credit card company and the store won the dispute under the terms of the warranty agreement. I contacted the store in an attempt to get a new set but the owner has ignored my letter. I have been charged for this purchase however the store has not provided the new product.

I provided the owner 2 options after I was billed $819 for merchandise I do not have: I offered to pay $150, equal to 25% of the cost of the merchandise, in order to receive a refund or for the store to provide a new sofa/loveseat as they indicated they would under the original purchase's warranty. I have received no information from the owner as he ignores any attempt at contact and will most likely ignore your letter as well. I should not be charged $819 while receiving nothing in return.
Desired Settlement: Refund-Credit Card Credit

7/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a desk and kitchen table from 4 Less, and they've attempted several deliveries where one or both of the products were wrong color or missing parts. First delivery - imcomplete desk, and wrong color kitchen table and chairs. We were expecting a bench for the table that didn't show. Second delivery - Wrong color desk, and all the chairs were wobbly Third delivery - they delivered a floor model desk with scractch on top with a bad paint job to hide it...and broken desk drawers. They were supposed to repair wobbly chairs, but didn't bring their own tools. They used husbands power drill, and advised that the chairs would always be wobbly. We were told that they can deliver a new desk, but not the color we had asked for. We ordered the same color for the desk and table/chairs...but now the colors will not match because we were told that factory doesn't use that color anymore. After each occurance we would always call the company, and they would put us on hold and tell us someone would call us back. When we don't hear back from them in several days, we call them to have them say "oh, nobody called you back yet." We were told by a manager that the owner would call us, but we never heard from the owner. We contacted the credit card company, and asked them to reverse charges and work out with 4 Less Furniture & Rugs. Still awaiting resolution

Desired Settlement: We would just like for the company to refund our money, and come pick up their products.

Business Response:   {Please see attachment.}