BBB Accredited Business since

Getz Fire Protection, Inc.

Phone: (717) 859-2060 Fax: (717) 859-5816 3170 Rothsville Rd, Ephrata, PA 17522 http://www.getzfirepro.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Fire Protection Services, Suppression Systems and Emergency Light Systems

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Getz Fire Protection, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Getz Fire Protection, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Getz Fire Protection, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 19, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1962 in PA Business incorporated: 04/03/1992 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA-089880.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randy Snodderly, President Ms. Cindy Snodderly, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cindy Snodderly, Secretary/Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Randy Snodderly, President
Business Category

Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems Fire Extinguishers Fire Protection Equipment & Supplies Lighting Equipment - Emergency Sprinklers - Automatic - Fire


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ******* of Getz Fire protection visited my workplace/home and started work on my existing security system at a rate of $85 p/hour. He was on site for approximately 8 hours of which two were spent on the phone on a technical support line after he stated he "can't understand this". Finally after not getting the system to work he demanded payment of $710 for "work done" and "time spent'. I tended him a payment of $500 and he made promises to return after giving me an extensive list of supplies for me to purchase for him. These supplies cost me approximately $500 additional. A few days later ***** called me and said that he could not come back to complete the job because I owed him $210. When I reminded him of his agreement to return for the balance he stated that "I won't come back because you owe me". I have been told by other Serviceman that they are not willing to work on the system because ******s work is unfinished and undocumented. So I now have no alarm protection, no fire protection and am out $1000 for having dealt with this firm. After several months of attempting to get the technician to return I decided to make this complaint.

Desired Settlement: To complete their job or give me a refund for the useless work that they have performed. $500

Business Response:

Here are the facts of this case as we see it.

When we entered into this job, there already existed an incomplete security system on the premises.  The customer had no documentation on the job to date, so we stepped into a job unfinished by another alarm contractor and agreed to try to help this customer out of the predicament he was in.  ***** ******* and this customer had a verbal agreement to bill for time and materials as incurred.  The customer had a wholesale account with our supplier ADI, and he wanted to buy the materials himself to save money.  We normally do not conduct a job this way – it is better for us to buy all the materials so that we are sure we have what we need to complete the job properly – but ***** agreed to do so at the customer’s insistence. 

On June 26, 2012, ***** worked on the job site for 8.5 hours and at the end of the day billed the customer at $85.00 per hour as agreed upon previously.  These hours included time spent with technical support to figure out the existing system.  Work also done during that time included labor for the following:

  • Installed Ademco VISTA-128FB security system
  • Metered out wires and labeled
  • Relocated alarm panel
  • Installed 2 door contacts
  • Installed keypad

When time came at the end of the day for the customer to make payment of $722.50, he refused to pay in full, stating that he would only pay $522.00 to make sure ***** returned to complete the job.

When ***** called to schedule the completion of the job, they talked briefly during which time the customer changed the original order.  The customer said he would get back to him but there was no return call.  In August ***** finally had a conversation with customer going over the equipment needed to complete the job which the customer was going to buy from ADI.  Since there was a change in the order, ***** asked the customer to create a “Scope of Work” list so it is clear what else is expected from us.  ***** tried on two more occasions to schedule his return to complete the job, but the customer would not return his calls. 

Due to the difficulty in working with this customer and non-payment of the outstanding balance, we addressed a letter to the customer on September 11, 2012 (attached) and made the following statement:  “If you want to schedule the finalization of this job, please contact me as soon as possible.”  The customer never called.  Also in this letter we stated:  “Enclosed is an invoice showing your balance of $200.50 which is due immediately.  If this balance is not paid within 10 days, the account will be turned over to an outside agency for collection of this debt.”  We waited an additional length of time, but still did not hear from the customer.  The outstanding balance was turned over to the Credit Bureau of ********* ****** on October 25, 2012, for collection. 

On November 5, 2012, I received a message from the Credit Bureau stating that they spoke to the customer, and he will not pay the balance until the job is completed.  I sent them an explanation (attached) and stated: “Due to this customer’s refusal to communicate with us, we will not be returning to his location, as his time to work with us has passed.”  The Credit Bureau continued collection procedures, and I did not hear from them again.

On February 22, 2013, ***** ******* received an email from the customer apologizing for the delay in getting back to him.  Also included with this email was a very complicated diagram (attached) with additional work added.  This apparently was in response to ******s request back in August for a Scope of Work list, but was not what was asked for.  At this point we have already closed this account and are not interested in doing any more work for this customer due to his refusal to communicate with us and how difficult it has been to work with him.  ***** replied by email to the customer by saying that his account has already been turned over the collection agency and that he will need to find another alarm company. 

The mistake we made on this job was to only have a verbal agreement.  Due to the dealings we have had with this customer, a new company policy has been in place since September 2012 that ALL proposals for work must be written proposals and must be signed/accepted by the customer before any work will be completed - no exceptions.  Not only did this customer refuse to pay for the full 8.5 hours put into the job, but he changed what was desired on the job every time he spoke to *****, adding additional panels, cameras, etc.  

While we respect whatever decision the Better Business Bureau makes in this case, please respect our decision to refuse to work with this customer again.  The fact that another alarm company left the job incomplete should have been a warning to us, but we wanted to try to help him out.  Our company policy of have a written proposal which clearly outlines the job should avoid situations like this in the future.

Respectfully submitted,

***** ** ********** ***** ********* *******

Getz Fire Protection, Inc. D/B/A Harkins Security Systems

Business Response:

----- Original Message -----
Sent: Monday, March 04, 2013 3:30 PM
Subject: RE: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania complaint ********.

I submitted my reply to complaint# *******.  After I submitted it I found a slight error.  In the second to last paragraph, I state that the customer requested “…additional panels, cameras, etc.”  This should read:  “…additional panels, motion sensors, etc.”  Cameras were never part of the request – my error.

 

***** ** *********

***** ********* *******

 

Getz Fire Protection, Inc.

and Harkins Security Systems

**** ********** **** ******** ** *****

 

************ ***** ************ **** **** ************ ***