This business is not BBB accredited.

Legacy Capital Planners, LLC

Phone: (240) 395-1060 Fax: (301) 576-8597 7361 Calhoun Pl Ste 210, Rockville, MD 20855 http://www.legacycapitalplanners.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Legacy Capital Planners, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Legacy Capital Planners, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 21, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated 08/02/2007 in MD
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Ausherman, ChFC, CLU Jr., Founder Mr. Richard T. Baker, Founder
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Ausherman, ChFC, CLU Jr., Founder
Principal: Mr. Richard T. Baker, Founder
Business Category

Financial Planning Consultants Insurance Services

Industry Tips
Financial Planners

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7361 Calhoun Pl Ste 210

    Rockville, MD 20855

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An advertisement for "An Educational Course for Retirees - Now being conducted at... The Universities at ***** ***** . . . Part of the University System of ******** implies that the course is given by, sponsored by, approved by, or endorsed by the Universities at ***** *****. In fact, the course is sponsored by Legacy Capital Planners and/or Todd B**** and/or ********** ******* **********, LLC.

Desired Settlement: Legacy Capital Planners and/or Todd B**** and/or ********** ******* ********** should provide good disclosure to all registrants and all recipients of the advertising flyer of the true sponsors and providers of the course; and offer a full refund to all registrants.

Business Response:

Hello,

*** ****'s complaint is very trivial.  Perhaps *** **** thought he would receive credits for attending the class, but as you can see from the attached pamphlet, the campus is clearly indicated as being the location only.
The invitation is reviewed by FINRA (see attached FINRA review letter), as well as our compliance department at ********** ******* **********.

Should you have additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

Warm regards,

Richard B****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: it is hardly a trivial matter that the program sponsor went to great lengths to hide the identity of the program sponsor. Nowhere does the flyer indicate, in essence, "This program is sponsored by X."  Neither does the flyer explicitly state "This program is not sponsored by The Universities at ***** *****." The only sponsorship information is "Your instructor is Todd B****. Investment Advisory Services provided by ********** ******* **********, LLC (BCM), a Registered Investment Advisor. Legacy Capital Planner and BCM are not affiliated with each other." It sure is curious that Mr. B**** did not go on to disclose that "Todd B**** is a registered securities (whatever his licenses are), a principal of Legacy Capital Planners, and is appointed by BCM. Mr. B**** is not affiliated with The Universities at ***** *****."

It is abundantly clear that Mr. B**** wants to create the impression that the "Course" (an interesting choice or word compared with the more accurate 1-day seminar) is sponsored or given under the auspices of  The Universities.

I have no interest in registering or attending. I am simply offended by this flyer as a consumer and as a retired insurance regulatory attorney. I surely wouldn't want an investment advisor who engages in such misleading advertising practices. Mr. B**** owes it to his students to disclose there is no sponsorship of his "Course" by the Universities.


Regards,

****** ***** *** ***








Business Response:

We appreciate your concern and value your opinion.  It is unfortunate that our material has offended you.  We run our firm in the utmost ethical manner, and every bit of marketing material we use has been reviewed and approved by the appropriate parties.

When these classes are sponsored by and are a part of the school’s continuing education program, and there are actually several hundred across the country, that is clearly stated on the invitation.  We also have the consumers pay the school directly. 

When we are renting a facility, as we are in this case, we simply indicate to the consumers that the program is being held or conducted there.  This language is also exactly what we use if we were renting a room in a country club, restaurant or hotel. 

When we are renting space, as we are in this case, the fee is made payable directly to the instructor in an effort to be even more transparent.  Furthermore, we use an educational facility because these facilities are more conducive to learning and more appropriate for this 2 day course.  Unlike many financial presentations held in country clubs, restaurants, etc. we are not allowed to sell or promote any financial product, or provide personal financial advice during the 2 day course per the legal contract we have with the publishers of the course material.

In addition, our disclosure clearly states we are financial service professionals and investment advisors.  Nowhere on the invitation do we indicate we are affiliated with the school we are renting from, or that we are on the continuing education curriculum. 

We have never had any other individuals complain about this, so there seems to be no confusion on the part of the consumers who receive this invitation.  

We wish you nothing but the best in the future.

Sincerely,

Todd B****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I do, however, recommend that you enlarge the paragraph disclaiming affiliations to include a disclaimer of affiliation with the institution where the event is being held.

Regards,

****** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Legacy Capital Planners, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)