BBB Accredited Business since

BARE Associates International, Inc

Phone: (703) 591-9870 View Additional Phone Numbers 3702 Pender Dr Ste 305, Fairfax, VA 22030 http://www.bareinternational.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company provides customer evaluation information to business clients.   It operates several international offices, as well as its main location in Fairfax, VA.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BARE Associates International, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BARE Associates International, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BARE Associates International, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2009 Business started: 06/15/1987 in VA Business started locally: 06/15/1987 Business incorporated 01/07/1988 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dale K Bare, CEO Mr. Michael L Bare, President Ms. Gail L. Maas, SPHR, Director of Global Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dale K Bare, CEO
Principal: Mr. Michael L Bare, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Gail L. Maas, SPHR, Director of Global Human Resources
Business Category

Employment Agencies

Alternate Business Names
Bare International
Additional Information

The company uses indepependent contractors to perform mystery shopper reports and audits, using on-site visits and interviews. According to company information in BBB files, there is no employer/employee relationship between the company and the independent contractors hired. Any federal, state, country and other applicable taxes will not be withheld from payments or reimbursements distributed by the company. Evaluators are responsible for all taxes, his/her own liability and workman's compensation and as applicable, automotive insurance and has to sign an agreement holding the company and it's affiliates harmless while working as an independent contractor. Assignments are scheduled by varying means on an as needed, rotating basis and evaluators may choose to accept or reject any proposed assignment.


Additional Locations

  • 3702 Pender Dr Ste 305

    Fairfax, VA 22030 (703) 591-9870

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company is not honest. They tell you they will do something and then blow off all communications for months. Ultimately, their word is not kept and their business practices are less than professional. All business should steer clear of this MSP and utilize industry professionals. See resolution below.

Desired Settlement: 1. Completely remove all of my specific personal account and personal information from your website including ability to login etc. for email addresses : *********************** & *********************** 2. Stop emailing me.

Business Response:

All of our communication with *** *****, a former mystery shop evaluator for our company, has been up front and honest.  

 

We perform routine data integrity audits in our evaluator database.   During this process evaluator accounts are flagged for further inspection if they contain unusual discrepancies or similarities between things such as street addresses, passwords, IP addresses, birth dates, Social Security numbers or any other items that, in our industry and experience, tend to indicate there might be some evaluator fraud occurring.   Flagged accounts are then temporarily deactivated until we can reach the evaluator and *** *****’s account fell into this category.  We have spoken with *** ***** several times about this problem but he has not provided satisfactory explanation to justify reactivating his account with us.  We spoke to him again on August 1 and let him know that we would no longer be requiring his services and we removed all his information as he requested.  He will no longer be receiving emails or other types of communication from our company. 

 

7/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bare International is a mystery shopping company. I performed work according to the agreement and they continue to make excuses for non- payment. I accepted an assignment to mail post office packages to an ******* Food Bank. I filled the boxes with food for the food bank and then proceeding to send them via priority mail as required. The company refuses to reimburse me for the postage for 2 assignments and also refuses to pay me for the 2 assignments. I have the receipts for the postage. Then I completed another assignment for them that involved visiting **** bank in **** *********. I met with a representative and followed all the rules as required. Now they are making excuses not to pay me for this job. Please advise. I do not think this company is legitimate.

Desired Settlement: I want to be paid for my services and reimbursed for the postage that I laid out and the cost of the food that I sent. Here is an itemized account. Total for 3 jobs: $130.47 Also, I would like other consumers to be aware of their shady business practices. Job #1 - USPS -RCE Service Evaluation ******* NY (**********) **** *** *** M-F 9AM-5:30PM SA 9AM-3PM SU Closed *******, NY Directions Shop Fee: 12.50 Spec Exp: Food $10, Postage: $26.90, Box: $3.57 Total Pay for Job: $52.97 Job #2 - *******: *** -*** - **** Bank **** ********* (*****) *** ********* **** **** *********, NY Shop Fee: 25.00 + Gas: $5.00 Total Pay for Job: $30.00 Job #3 - USPS -RCE Service Evaluation ********** NY (**********) *** ******* *** HOURS: M-F 9AM-5PM SA 9AM-1PM SU Closed **********, NY Directions Shop Fee: 12.50 Spec Exp: Food $10.00, Postage: $21.25, Box: 3.75 Total for Job: $47.50

Business Response:

Regarding the complaint by ***** ********, the project manager states:

 

“This shopper’s Scenario C shop performed in **********, NY on 5/5/14  (shop #*******) was excluded as several critical items in the guidelines were not followed, including:

 

1) She purchased her box at a USPS location. 
2) The box was not one of the 4 approved dim weight sizes. 
3) The package was overweight at 7 lb. 4.4 oz.

 

Her Scenario C shop performed in *******, NY on 5/5/14 (shop #*******) was excluded because her package was overweight at 10 lb. 9.2 oz.”  The shopper was advised of these scenario violations after the reports were reviewed.

 

For Scenario C evaluations, the shopper is required to purchase the box at a location other than one of the client’s locations (found on page 1 of the guidelines, checkmark 3).  The box must be one of several sizes—these sizes are listed both in the guidelines and in the shop report (found on page 1 of the guidelines, checkmark 3).  The box must weigh between 2.5 and 5 lbs. (page 1 of the guidelines, checkmark 5).  It is also indicated in the guidelines that the food that the shopper provides for this evaluation is a donation—it is not reimbursable (page 3, checkmark 4).  The guidelines for this scenario have been attached to this email for review by the BBB—they are provided to the shopper prior to their completing the evaluation. 

 

 

 

7/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an independent contractor with this company to perform "mystery shops" at various locations. On March 14, 2014 I successfully completed a mystery shop at a local ****** ****** ****** facility. I entered the requested information online, and attached a receipt of my transaction. Because the receipt was rather long, I had to bring the camera a little bit farther away to make sure I included the entire receipt. Before sending it, I checked to make sure the receipt could be enlarged with a two-finger swipe if need be. Ten days later I received an email from an employee of Bare International by the name of Erica S******, indicating my mystery shop had been "excluded" due to the receipt being ineligible. She went on to say they attempted to notify me, however, due to the fact I didn't respond, they excluded the shop. I immediately replied to Ms. S****** informing her that I NEVER received a call, voice mail or email advising me of the "problem" with the receipt. I also attached a picture of the same receipt, although this time i took three separate pictures that were closer. Either way, the receipt was fully able to be clearly read. I did not hear back from Ms. S****** until 4/2/14 when I sent her another email asking about the status of my mystery shop. She went on to tell me they are "not required" to notify anyone is there is a problem, but do it as a "courtesy". She quoted policy and procedures and ended with once again telling me I would not be paid. I feel this is a scam, and I was taken advantage of. I have read on the internet that there are companies that do this on a regular basis, and I feel I have been a victim of such a scam. Bare International is paid by their customers, they have all the information I provided, but still refuse to pay me.

Desired Settlement: I want Bare International to pay me the entire fee I am due.

Business Response:

For the ****** **** complaint, the project manager states, “The shopper had submitted an illegible receipt and did not submit a clear copy until after the deadline. The shopper was sent an email from one of the editors which I have included below.

 

3/16/14—Please resubmit your receipt—it is too blurry and we can't read it.  You may email it, or fax it to ###-###-####.  Please do so by 3pm.  Thank you!”

 

The shopper sent several emails after the report was excluded stating that she did not receive any email regarding the receipt not being readable.  The project manager responded to let her know that at the top of page 3, the Scenario B guidelines state, “Receipts are required and must be CLEAR or we cannot use your shop.” (The shop guidelines have been attached to this email for review by the BBB.  They are provided to the shopper prior to their completing their evaluations.)  It is the shopper’s responsibility to make sure that any provided documentation is clear.  They are also encouraged to check their Shopper Log daily to mitigate any circumstances under which they might not receive emails regarding shop issues. 

 

The project manager also to let her know that when reports are excluded we cannot use the information and cannot send the reports to the client, and therefore BARE is not paid for those evaluations.  When a report is excluded, we are required to find another shopper to complete the evaluation and report successfully.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The receipt was legible.  I checked, and double checked, the receipt before I sent it, and there was not a problem viewing it.  I understand their policies and procedures which I adhered to.  As I stated, the receipt was clear and legible and there was no valid reason for not being paid, other than this being a way to scam mystery shoppers by having the work completed, then making an excuse as to why they couldn't provide payment.  The only notification I received was that they were not paying me.  No other emails were sent to me. If they had, I would've responded. 

Regards,

****** ****








Business Response: We have spoken with the complainant and were able to come to a mutual agreement on how to handle this issue.  We are both satisfied and this complaint should be closed.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The person I spoke with was very professional and willing to resolve the issue.  

Regards,

****** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on BARE Associates International, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)