BBB Accredited Business since

Secco, Inc.

Phone: (717) 737-2142 Fax: (717) 737-5235 View Additional Phone Numbers 1111 Primrose Ave, Camp Hill, PA 17011 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Heating/AirConditioning & Plumbing

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Secco, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Secco, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 24, 1996 Business started: 06/01/1969 in PA Business incorporated 06/01/1969 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA005766.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Barry Kindt, President Mr. Craig Drabenstadt, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Kindt, President
Business Category

Electricians Geothermal Heating & Cooling Heat Pumps Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Contractors Plumbers Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Air Conditioning Repair Air Duct Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Carpenter Today Pronto Plumbing Quicktricity Electric SECCO Home Services
Industry Tips
Air Duct Cleaning

Additional Locations

  • 1111 Primrose Ave

    Camp Hill, PA 17011


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not have a choice on using this company because they are contracted through my water company and I pay a monthly protection plan. I have a big oak tree that causes problems with my sewer line due to the roots. Approximately 3 weeks ago, I called to have them come because I had noticed the toilet starting to not flush properly and I was having a graduation party for my daughter at the house in a couple days. ***** (plumber representing ****** Plumbing) showed up on weds (was supposed to call first and didn't) at 730. He was there until 1045 pm. At one point he came in my house without knocking and almost got bit by my dog. He said he would be back the next day to finish. He showed up again without calling on Thursday at 200. I came home from work at 430 and my daughter said he had been using my hose for hours. I walked around the house and he said, "be careful the ground is saturated back here." I was in flip flops and the water covered my feet. A bit later about 545 he said problem was fixed and he left. The next morning I texted my daughter and told her to go down and straighten up the basement because the weather forecast said rain. She texted back and said basement has water. I have not had water in my basement since it was water proofed 16+ years ago. There was no rain since he was there. I called them back and he came to the house. ***** specifically said he believes he caused it but isn't sure how. He said this in front of my father and my uncle. They both stated that he saturated the ground and the ground could not hold anymore water so it came up through my outside drain which is outside the basement door and went in under the door. He said he would bring his supervisor back on Monday but that he was on my side. After he left, I noticed that on the paperwork he had given me he said that the ground was not saturated. That was his first lie. On Monday, I received no phone call, nor did anyone come by. I called on Weds morning and they made arrangemnts to come on Thursday. Got a phone call on Thursday that they had an emergency and would not be able to come by until the following Monday. On Monday, ***** and his supervisor showed up. From the beginning, ***** changed his story, failed to mention that he was using my hose for hours and when I brought it up he said it was not a used for a long period. then he said the ground was not saturated and I stated that he had used those exact words when I walked over to see what he was doing that day. He also did not admit that he said that he believes he caused the water damage because he had been in the basement and there was not water on Weds and Thursday. there was no rain Thursday night or Friday morning, and when my daughter goes down Friday morning there is water in the basement. His supervisor basically said it is heresay and I said no, my father, my uncle and my daughter are all witnesses. He then said I have to prove they did it. He asked what resolution I am looking for and I said the floor cleaned, the padding replaced, and possibly the carpet replaced. I also wanted to see what damage was done to the furniture in the basement and I would like reimbursed because I had to find a new location for my daughters graduation party. He said, that's not happening. I will lay the carpet back down for you but that's it. I said that is unacceptable and they left. I called my homeowners insurance and they came to the house. the damage is not covered because it was due to the plumber causing outside water to come in due to ground saturation.

Desired Settlement: I would like ****** plumbing to repair the damage to my basement, replace carpet and padding that was ruined and clean or repair furniture that was damaged.

Business Response:

We have reviewed our notes, our technicians paperwork and all information available to us.  We were able to visit *** ***********'s home and review the situation on follow up visits and completely understand her frustration.  When things like this happen it can be terribly inconvenient.

Our technician was dispatched to the home on 5/27/15 at 7PM to troubleshoot a blocked / slow main drain that had a history of issues said to be caused by a large tree.  Our Technician accessed the main drain line through the Customer’s exterior main drain clean-out. He was on-site until 9:30 that evening using a drain cable to open the line and a sewer line camera to inspect it.  He found the line difficult to open and camera inspection showed many root penetrations.  The technician scheduled for a thorough cleaning and root removal for the next day.

On 5/28 our technician was dispatched to the home at 2:15 and arrived at 3:15.  He was on site that day running our sewer line jetting equipment.  His call there was completed at 5:15pm.  While on site he followed procedure by running a fresh-water hose and jetting machine in the main sewer lateral clean-out to flush the line and cut and remove the roots causing the blockage.  Some "splashing" occurs in the lawn area during this work and it is not something that we would want a customer to walk through given the nature of our work.  Our work was considered complete.

 On 5/29 we were called about water in the basement and a possibly blocked drain in the basement.  Our technician arrived and was directed to the "french" drain at the base of the exterior stairwell to the basement where the Customer reported the drain blockage.  There was moisture in a small area of carpeting near the door to the exterior stairwell, but no blocked drain or standing water.  Our technician poured water in the French drain to verify that it was accepting water and not blocked.  He then attempted to camera the line as a courtesy but it was not large enough to allow the camera into the line.  The french drain has not been found to be in anyway connected to the sewer lateral. We suspect the cause to be surface water backing up from this French drain.

Records indicate that this area received over an inch and 1/4 of rain fall on 5/27/15 (**** Airport Records) and it seems that our work, the rainfall and a potentially blocked french drain have all happened coincidentally in a very short time frame.  As surface water builds up from heavy rainfall, an improperly installed or aged French drain is known to be the least reliable drainage system. The Customer reported having previous problems with a wet basement and alerted her family to prepare for such heavy rains.

 Although we do not believe the water damage was caused by our work, we offered a recommendation for *** *********** to contact her home owners insurance provider for the fastest investigation, restoration and repairs.  So far as we are aware, our recommendation was not acceptable.

 We understand the frustration that a blocked drain line and surface water causes – it can be overwhelming.  The amount of water typically released to the surrounding ground is minimal and has never caused a properly installed and working French drain to clog. The drain in question is approximately 15 feet away from the clean-out.

We look to provide great service to all our customer and appreciate the opportunity to serve the *********** Family.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved];

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
after reading the response I am going to respond to all the lies that were told.  1) the "technician" was at my house until 10:30 on 5/27, but that's not a big deal....2) the "technician" was at my house from 2:30 - 5:40 on 5/28, the whole time he was running my garden hose, it was not splash off, the "technician" even used the words "the ground is saturated."  This was right beside my basement entrance and the water came up over my flip flops, my daughter witnessed this. 3) on 5/29, yes the "technician" was called, but I did not say the drain was blocked, I said from the beginning that the basement had water.  It was not a small area, and it took my dad, my uncle and I 5 shop-vacs full of water and running fans for a week.  The area was 12'x23' approximately.  That is hardly a small area.   The French drain was not blocked.  It was surface water caused by the "technician" saturating the ground any the water table rising in that area, so it came up through the French drain which is exactly what it should have done.  4) there was NO rain 3 days prior to them coming.  It did not rain until that Sunday and the technician stated that in his notes, which I still have a copy of.  The "technician" also told myself, my uncle, and my father, that he does think he caused it due to the fact that there was no water in the basement prior to him coming, there was no rain the days he was there and he suggested that we rent some machinery to clean the basement and he would check but his company would probably pay for it.  All of this info, I have witnesses that heard him say it.  5) I never "alerted" my family that heavy rains were coming and that I was worried about water, if you check the history Palmyra was flooded two years ago and I did NOT get water then.  The only time I mentioned that there was water in the basement was before my parents had it waterproofed approximately 15-20 years ago so that is a downright lie.  I alerted my daughter that it was possibly going to rain that Sunday 5/31 and we would possibly have to move her graduation party into the basement because it was scheduled to be outside.  I told my daughter to clean up the basement to get ready for company, that meant dust and vacuum, not to prepare for water, which my daughter could testify to.  6)yes, a supervisor came, and he kept saying I had to "PROVE" that they did it.  He also asked what I wanted and I said the carpet cleaned and the padding replaced.  He refused.  7)I did take their recommendation and called my homeowners insurance.  They determined that the damage was not covered because it was groundwater coming from the ground being saturated by the plumber, at no fault of mine but definite fault of the plumber.  I have a copy of the report.  8) I contacted a restoration company who also agreed with me.  I now have mold growing in my walls and am waiting for an estimate.  Let it be known, there has been ALOT of rain since the incident and I have not had water in the basement again.  I also looked on their facebook page and they have a one star rating and lots of complaints.  This is ridiculous and unacceptable.  When I told them I would contact an attorney, they got nasty and left. 


***** ***********

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Bryant Heat Pump on 6/2012 and a Solar Water Heater on 3/8/14. At that time we purchased a bundled service agreement to have both the Heat Pump and Water Heater Serviced 2 x's during the year as we have done in the past. On October 21st I received a phone call from Service Dispatch stating Dan would not be able to make our appointment due to the job he was working on spilling into our scheduled day; Rescheduled for October 30th. No one showed and no phone call. I called and spoke with Perry, Customer Service Rep., once again promised service for another date and time; Monday November 3rd, no one showed, I called Secco, spoke with Perry, he stated that there was a computer glitch and dispatch did not get the message to come here until 7:30 a.m., they were to arrive here at 8:00 a.m.; Service scheduled on November 6th, told Dan was coming who was knowledgable about both the Heat Pump and Solar Water Heater, Dan didn't come but Stanley did and he did not know how to service the Solar Water Heater; Got a call from Barry, General Manager, on Friday November 7th, promising that Dan would be here to recheck the furnace service and the Solar Water Heater, no one showed, I called and Barry said that he was in a meeting and didn't get around to calling me to tell me no one was coming. They are rescinding on a prepaid service agreement and they are rescinding on the warranty service on both the Heat Pump and the Solar Water Heater.

Desired Settlement: Not only do I want service to be completed for this year but I want two Complimentary Services to be afforded to us free of charge for the 2015 year. I have sat here wasting my time for 4 different visits, I deserve something for my time and frustration and most importantly so the warranty on both units stays valid.

Business Response:

Sorry - we did NOT see this complaint until Alyssa informed us that it existed. I certainly knew that **** **** was upset and promised to complain, so I am not surprised to see this.

Unfortunately, my last conversation with her was at a very emotional time for **** ****  - it was minutes after a trip to the vet to put her family pet to rest. She was extremely upset and didn't allow me to explain anything. I empathize with her situation.

Yes, we rescheduled and did a very poor job communicating. We certainly apologize for that & wish to make it right.

It is true that they purchased a Bryant Heat Pump in 2012. The Rupps also purchased a Solar Water Heating System from us in 2011 (I believe the 2014 was mistaken for 2011 stated in the complaint).

The Rupps also purchased a PM Agreement for their Heat Pump system. The first visit of 2 visits was performed by Dan on 4.21.14, at which time the Rupps had Dan check & clean their Solar System for $279.95 less $58.00 of coupons and gift cards for a net payment on their check 1118 of $221.95. (Invoice 168769)

We don't offer a PM program for Solar Water Heating, since they shouldn't need to be serviced multiple times a year.

Dan wrote up his findings on the page attached to the Invoice 168769, describing the performance and recommending the next W/H (water heater) PM to be in 2017. Dan's attachment clearly shows initials of "MLR 4/21/14" acknowledging his findings.

Unfortunately, when Stanley performed the 2nd visit of their Heat Pump PM, neither he or our Call Center realized the Solar Water Heater didn't need a PM - and it wasn't included with their Heat Pump PM.  

I got into this situation at the last minute - my staff didn't understand the Solar Water Heating system - and didn't communicate with **** **** that we wouldn't send a Technician on the roof during rain, or during conditions that were NOT appropriate to test the performance of a solar system. We need dry to work on a roof, and sun to work on solar. Otherwise, the Customer is wasting their money.

I was instructed by my staff (they may have known that **** **** had an appointment first thing that morning) to call after 10 AM to explain that Dan recommended service in 2017 - and to save their money, that a PM wasn't needed. I believe they should be checked in Spring - since snow & ice is typically the items that could cause damage. Unfortunately, **** **** was upset and didn't give me the opportunity to explain.

We do have a 6 year parts & labor warranty on the Solar Water Heating System - so that, in the event the system is NOT working, we would be responsible to make the repairs without cost to the Rupps.

Suggested Resolution - We will provide a FREE Planned Maintenance visit for their Solar Water Heating, suggest they use it in Spring of 2015, or we would refund the $221.95 they paid for the PM Dan performed on 4/21/14.

The Rupps have been good Customers and we have committed to servicing them. I believe our poor communications have caused this problem and certainly apologize for it.

Barry K****



Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******* ****

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 6/7/14 Service came to inspect HVAC not working properly. He indicated it could be repaired but would cost as much as a new unit. Given 4 options, I chose the least expensive unit, which I was told would be about the same as the old unit. After installation (that evening) when it came on, it was loud in my bedroom I had to turn it off. The next day (Sunday) I left a message with Secco and explained problem. I was called next morning at 7:30 a.m. Customer service informed me that serviceman was on his way to a job but would call me when he arrived at the job me to determine if someone needed to come out. No one called. That evening (6:30) serviceman arrived. When he heard noise, he said there was vibration and he thought it might be coming from wires/cords that had been pulled down from attic. He inspected attic and sprayed 2 cans insulation in wall. That did not fix problem. He told me he would call me and would come back with some type of insulated wrap to wrap the unit in to keep noise down. After I waited 4 days, I called again and was told the item needed to be ordered and it just came in and they would be out on Sat. (a week from installation). After wrapping the motor, it still was loud. He said he would have Factory Rep and/or Gen. Mgr. come out - they didn't come. I called today and was told by CS that she would email the serviceman. He had also indicated to me that I would have to go with another unit which I believe he said would be $1,000 more. I am still waiting. I have a buyer for my house and I am afraid this is going to impact on the sale.

Desired Settlement: Complete the installation (at no extra charge to me) of a unit that is not so loud. The old unit did not make this much noise, why must I settle for this?

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ***** ***** - SECCO <*******************>
Date: Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 2:23 PM
Subject: RE: *********** Res. *** ******* ****, HBG - siding/downspout color
To: ***** ***** <******************>

Thank You *****!


I really appreciate your speedy response!


We’ll get ****** taken care of promptly!




***** *****
Innovation & Expectation Chief
Tel:  ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####
**** ******** ******
**** ***** ** *****

From: ***** ***** [mailto:******************
Sent: Wednesday, June 25, 2014 1:25 PM
To: ***** ***** - SECCO
Subject: RE: *********** Res. *** ******* ****, HBG - siding/downspout color


Hi *****,

The info I have on the siding is ******** Sawmill in ******** and it says the color is Sierra.  Hopefully, all of that makes sense to you!  Thank you for taking the time to make sure it all gets done the right way.  If I can be of any further assistance please let me know. 

Thank you,



From: ***** ***** - SECCO [mailto:*******************
Sent: Wednesday, June 25, 2014 11:49 AM
To: ***** *****
Subject: *********** Res. *** ******* ****, HBG - siding/downspout color


Hi *****,


As you’ll see below, ***** approved me contacting you directly regarding the siding/downspout color at ****** ***********’s residence. I agreed to relocating the refrigerant lines to the outside of the wall, versus having the lines run down the inside of the wall, which in this case is creating annoying vibration and noise in ******’s bedroom. The new units operate at higher refrigerant pressures, which amplifies the noise and vibration – especially in a bedroom.


Our plan is to replace the siding the will have the refrigerant line set opening coming out of the wall. Obviously, we’d like to match the color as close as possible. We’ll also be surface-mounting the refrigerant lines in a material to match the color – either a downspout or a “ducting” material we typically use.


Once we have a standard established, other units could be apprised of the method – which could eliminate additional hassle and concern in the future.


****** tells me that her unit is sold and settlement is scheduled for Aug 11, 2014 – and we must get this done before that date. Our intention is to get it done MUCH sooner to keep her anxiety at a minimum.


Please let me know as soon as you have the information. I plan to be in ******’s neighborhood on Friday – and will also take some samples along to see what I can match.


Thank You *****,



***** *****
Innovation & Expectation Chief
SECCO Home Services
Tel:  ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####
**** ******** ******
**** ***** ** *****

From: ***** [mailto:******************
Sent: Saturday, June 21, 2014 3:11 PM
To: ***** ***** - SECCO
Subject: Re: *** ******* **** - photo of an installation we did around the corner


You are quite welcome.  I am certain I will have this approved by Monday.  I will try to get the siding and downspout information from PMI.  If you don't hear from me, you have my permission to call PMI and ask for ***** ***** for the information you need.  I am leaving on 10 days vacation on Wed.



***** ** *****
  ********** *******Homeowners Association

From: "***** ***** - SECCO" <*******************>
To: ******************
Sent: Saturday, June 21, 2014 1:44:41 PM
Subject: FW: *** ******* **** - photo of an installation we did around the corner

Good Afternoon -

First, thank you for meeting me this morning without advance notice.

I tried to flag you down as you drove by me at *** ******* ****, our Customer, ****** ******, who has their unit sitting in front of their home - with the "line hide" materials installed on the surface of the wall and into the soffit. 

I asked permission to photograph their installation and you'll see how un-noticeable the material is. They are very pleased with the quietness of the unit. (Their unit is a higher-end unit, and not near a bedroom like ******'s is.)

I will provide a couple samples of the materials, if you'd like? Since ******'s unit is the same age as many of the other units, it might be helpful for the association to establish "criteria" for other owners who have units replaced. Having a refrigerant line "buried" in a bedroom wall, especially with the new refrigerants and higher operating pressures is simply a bad construction practice.

Please let me know if you'd like samples - we'll have them dropped off Monday in time for your meeting.

Thank You,


***** *****
Innovation & Expectation Chief

Tel:  ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####
**** ******** ******
**** ***** ** *****
Connect with me!

-----Original Message-----
From: ***** ***** - SECCO 
Sent: Saturday, June 21, 2014 1:11 PM
To: ***** ***** - SECCO
Subject: 107 - 1


***** ***** | Property Management, Inc. | Property Manager
###-###-#### | Fax ###-###-#### | ***************

Disclaimer - This email and any files transmitted with it may be privileged and confidential and protected from disclosure. You must not present this message to another party without first gaining permission from the sender. If you are not the intended recipient you must not copy, distribute or use this email or the information contained in it for any purpose other than to notify us. If you have received this message in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete this email from your system. We do not guarantee that this material is free from viruses or any other defects although due care has been taken to minimize the risk. Any views stated in this communication are those of the actual sender and not necessarily those of Property Management, Inc.

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ***** ***** - SECCO <*******************>
Date: Thu, Jun 26, 2014 at 12:05 PM
Subject: RE: Regarding my complaint #********
To: ******* <********************>, "" <>
Cc: "******************" <******************>

****** –
I heard back from ***** @ *** – and have color samples.
As I stated, I will be in your neighborhood Friday – probably afternoon – and see if the samples match close enough to satisfy the association.
Thank You for touching base with the BBB. It is very important to us to keep a stellar reputation.
***** *****
Innovation & Expectation Chief
Tel:  ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####
**** ******** ******
**** ***** ** *****

Consumer Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ******2 <********************>
Date: Thu, Jun 26, 2014 at 11:51 AM
Subject: Regarding my complaint #********
Cc: *******************

I am responding to the email I received today from you.  It asks me to respond within 10 days.  I wasn’t sure if I was to respond to you or to Secco, so I have copied Secco as well.  I am very pleased with your timely response to my concern and appreciate it very much.  I am also happy with the response I have received from ***** ***** at Secco, and feel assured that this problem will be handled to everyone’s satisfaction and also in a timely manner.
Thank you very much.
****** ***********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Secco, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart