BBB Accredited Business since

Sam Van Horn Electrical

Phone: (215) 771-2446 View Additional Phone Numbers 2 Claremont Cir, Horsham, PA 19044 http://www.svhelectric.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sam Van Horn Electrical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sam Van Horn Electrical include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sam Van Horn Electrical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 2005 Business started: 09/29/1979 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA000462.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Samuel Van Horn, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Samuel Van Horn, Owner
Business Category

Electricians


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sam Van Horn Electrical charged $10,780.00 to install a 20KW generator at my residence on July 23, 2014. He informed me at the time of installation, **** would need to come out to our residence and increase the gas load for the generator to work properly at no extra charge to me. On 9/2/2014, I called Sam and told him **** never showed up at my house. He told me he would refax the paperwork. Weeks and months passed, and still no ****. I spoke to Sam numerous times and each time he told me he would refax the request. My most recent calls to Sam were 3/12/2015 and 4/2/2015. Again, he told me he would refax the request to ****. On 4/6/15, I called ****. **** informed me they spoke to Sam on 7/30/2014 and told him it would cost approximately $4,000 to increase the gas load to our house. On 4/6/15, I asked my husband, *****, to call Sam. Sam claimed **** never told him there would be a cost to increase the gas load. ***** asked Sam to call **** and straighten this out and to call him back. Sam never called ***** back. Sam installed a generator that doesn't work properly. We paid him to do a job and we want him to follow through. I believe the $4000 cost is included in the $10,780 that we paid him.

Desired Settlement: I want Sam Van Horn Electrical LLC to pay **** the cost to increase the natural gas load to our house. The $4000 cost is included in the $10,780 he charged us to install the generator.

Business Response: Attached are page 1 and 2 of contract. At no time was it stated that **** charges were included. **** will not enter into a contract with anyone but the consumer that has the account. They will not deal with the contractor for this service. The contracted generator job was completed and is completed as per contract, Township and permits. This is the first and only time that I have had a problem with any job or with ****. Someone dropped the ball or a mailed contract from **** was not received by home owner. Any questions or concerns please contact me. Thank You. Sam

Consumer Response: Sam Van Horm told me there would be no charge for **** to come to my house and upgrade our gas. He has been giving me the run around for months.  He is dishonest.  **** has it documented they spoke to Sam on 7/30 and told him there would be a cost.  Sam never called or initiated one call after he received payment. I have since spoken to another electrician to get their expertise and the bottom line is, Sam didn't do what he was contracted to do.  He has never had any complaints because people give up.  What Sam did was unethical and wrong!  I hope after our incident, he won't scam anyone else. 

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

***** ********









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sam Van Horn Electrical
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)