BBB Accredited Business since

Kolb Electric Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (202) 726-4900 Fax: (202) 726-1178 View Additional Phone Numbers 5901 Blair Rd NW, Washington, DC 20011 http://www.kolbelectric.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kolb Electric Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kolb Electric Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Kolb Electric Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1997 Business started: 01/19/1925 Business incorporated 01/01/1925 in DC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2701013981 A.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 3178.

Department of Consumer & Regulatory Affairs (DCRA)-DC
1100 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024
http://www.pearsonvue.com/dc/industrial_trades/
Phone Number: (202) 442-4320
Fax Number: (202) 698-4329
Pamela.Hall@dc.gov
The number is ECC25.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Kolb, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Kolb, Co-Owner
Business Category

Electricians

Alternate Business Names
Kolb Electric

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/20/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please note: this complaint has nothing to do with the electrician that came out to do the work; Patrick did a fine job. The complaint is against the companys estimating/billing policy/procedure.I needed an electric meter base box replaced; the box outside the house that holds the electric meter. When I called Kolb Electric to get an estimate, the very first thing I was told was that it would require a permit to be pulled and that was at a cost of $325; so the total estimate was $700. In conversation with the electrician the day of the work, I learned that no permit was required and no inspections were required since the box was outside the house. BUT, when it came time for the bill, I gave them a 10% coupon and the total due was still $630 (the original $700 minus the 10%)! When I questioned the amount due to the fact that there was no permit required, the electrician called the office and they ultimately lowered the charge to $445.First, I feel that the $445 charged was still too much; it should have been the original estimate minus the $325 for the permit so a total of only $375. Second, I feel that the permit cost was used to intentionally inflate the estimate. Any electrician and/or estimator should know that the electrical meter base box is outside and does not require a permit!

Desired Settlement: I believe that a refund of $70 is appropriate (the $445 charged minus the original estimate of $375 - without any permit).

Business Response: We will be refunding *** ********** $70.00. We explained to *** ********** that ***** advised us that we needed to pull a permit for this job.

5/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted Kolb Electric to install wireless remote fan in my living room; didn't notice till a while later that they put the living room and the upstairs bedroom on the same frequency so now when I'm downstairs and turn on the light the bedroom light turns on/off. It's bad workmanship. I've tried contacting them to correct the issue but they either give the me the run around or ignore my voice messages.

Desired Settlement: Correct the install.

Business Response:

On Wednesday June 11, 2014 we had a service tech remove an existing chandelier and install at another location in home and install a customer supplied ceiling fan with remote control.

It is our policy when we install such customer supplied electronic or wireless devices or motion sensing devices, we will set up or program one time, at the time of installation. We take our customer service serious here at Kolb Electric.  I have reached out to the customer today 5/11/15 2:40pm and left messages.

It seems rather odd that a year later it is noticed 2 fans in the same house are operating on the same frequency. Our technician was not made aware of other units in the home being operated by remote.

 At this time Kolb Electric would send a technician back to the customers home to perform requested work at a discounted price of 10% off our normal rates. Our workmanship is not reflected by unknown conditions pre existing or after the fact.

 

We are willing and committed to a fair and reasonable resolution to this matter.    

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: had a heave up repair to my electrical system require by the electrical company. the companies repair team came and cause $400.00 damage to my dry wall, and $3000.00 dollars damage to my heating system. after reporting this to the company they stated in an email that they are not responsible for any damages to the house (which i have in email from the project manager). I stated to them that i will have they areas repaired by will deduct it from the balance. I received a bill for the full payment stating that the work was completed, yet they have yet to have the final exception done nor have they installed two carbon monoxide sensor that was required for passing the inspection.

Desired Settlement: that they completed the work ( final inspection and installation of the two carbon monoxide detectors) and since the damage are more then the balanced owed i not be required to pay that bill.

Business Response: Mr. ****** has refused to provide pictures or any estimates for the damage he claims we caused at his home.  We believe the estimate for the heater would prove our work had nothing to with any damages to other mechanical systems.  Our did not affect the units.  Mr. ****** has been required to install carbon monoxide detectors by the county he lives in.  This is not our responsibility and is holding us up from being able to get a final inspection from the county on our electrical work.  The cost of "any additional requests by that of any inspectors is specifically excluded from our contract.  Our contract states that we are not responsible for repair to walls or non working circuits, and we do not work on HVAC equipment.  We have been trying to set up final inspections for over two months. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: i provide all the picture of the damage to travis a*******..........i have the emails to prove it.......i did not see anything on their contract with me that that are not responsible for any of the damages. can they provide that contract where i sign it to prove that.  copy of email sent to the project manager


Travis 

attached are the photos of all the damage caused to my house after the work completed on the 30th of Dec 2014. 

let me be clear i am not against paying the balance due, but after you review the attached pictures and if this was your house would you?

i attribute the issues you will see in the pictures to unnecessary  press brought on by you.

happy new year

Regards,

**** ******








Business Response:

Good Morning,

 

I am not able to open pictures as attached.  Is it possible to email them to me directly at ***********************

3/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Power out in my whole entire house except in one room they came out on monday march09,2015 and march 13,2015 they went back out actually my problem was worst and they except me to paid $340.00 for one hour and 180.00 every half hour because she mean the dispatcher didn't have access to the receipt at hand but i told her i did and she told me i had to wait until monday.....i have a 87 yr old grandmother and twin boy thats nine and two girls that is 15 and 20 in the home ...would she want to wait.

Business Response: Received the call from customer Friday evening at 9:52pm.  The information provided to the night time dispatched was a recall request for work completed at * ******** *****, Randallstown under the name **** ********.  As the dispatched I attempted to pull up the previous work order based on the information provided.  Our system showed nothing.  Called the customer back who was immediately upset and wanted us to come out and complete the repairs at no additional charge to her.  It is company policy that we don't do recalls after hours and there would be our standard service fee of $343.00 to come out.  If we found that the problem would have been related to the earlier call she referred to once the office opened on Monday we would reimburse her the service call fee.  Ms. ******** became very upset and hung up on the dispatcher.   Monday morning we searched the list of completed jobs and found a job ran on Monday 3/9 for * ******** **** under the same of *******.  This information was never given to our dispatch to verify.  Monday 3/16 our Service Manager reached out to the customer to follow up and offered to have a technician return that morning 10am to make the necessary recall repairs.  Customer stated she had someone else fix the problem and did not want us to return.  

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the dispatcher is not telling the truth and yes the company did reach out to me on Monday march16,2015. I don't want them to ever return to my home ever again and yes i had someone else come out to my home Saturday morning  i feel it's ashame that Didn't at that point won't when i needed them stood by their work. Thank you in advance bbb org

For your service.
Regards,

**** ********








2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received bills and job not completed. I contact Kolb Electric in August 2013 for electric work to my home they got the permits and did some work in my home, the next step is call the country and/or ***** have them check their work and put the fuel box cover on and remove the old wire and connect the new wires and have put in meter. The agreement was when the work is completed then I would send the final payment. I have paid half on the job. Kolb is sending notices stating I'm over 90 days late with payment, but I'm not to pay until the job is completed, country check and ***** check, old wire gone, new wire connected and meter in, fuel box cover on.

Desired Settlement: I'm requested that Kolb Electric complete the job started and stop harassing me for payment. The reminder payment of $714.00 should be deleted.

Business Response: From: Brandy E****** <******@kolbelectric.com>
Date: Fri, Dec 19, 2014 at 2:42 PM 
Subject: complaint #********
To: "*******@mybbb.org" <*******@mybbb.org>

*** ******,
 
Here is Kolb Electric’s response to the complaint:
 
Kolb Electric was not the hold up on the project.  ***** was the hold up.  We contacted *****, got them to respond, met them on site and completed the work.  We believe that the project is completed at this time.
 
Sincerely,
 
 
Paul K***
Owner
 
 
Thank You,
    
    Brandy E******
        Office Manager
        ###-###-#### - Phone
        ###-###-#### - Direct Fax
 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** ******

From: <*********************>
Date: Tue, Feb 24, 2015 at 6:12 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #********.
To: info@mybbb.org


I did file a complaint, but the problem has bee resolved, they worked with me on a payment plan.  Please disregard the comlaint.

Thank you,

1/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kolb Electic provided an estimate to replace a ceiling fan, replace a light switch and install recessed can lights in our living room. The contract was for a total of $1,129.00 for all work. When the electrician arrived he informed me that he could not install recessed lights in a finished house with no access from above. I asked if this should have been obvious to the estimater, and he said yes. Upon calling the estimater, we agreed that the electrician would only install the ceiling fan and replace the light switch for a total cost of $191.00. This amout was to come out of the already paid deposit of $329.00 meaning that we were due a refund to us of $138.00. I received a past due statement dated 10-Dec-2014 and made the following calls: - 10-Dec-2014 to someone in their DC accounting office who said that they could not do anything until they received direction from the field. - 10-Dec-2014 I contacted the original estimater who sent an email to their Director in Accounting that the work had not been done and that we were due a refund to our credit card of $138.00. I have a copy of this email. - 16-Dec-2014 to their accounting office - no response back. - 16-Dec-2014 left message with owener, no response. - 17-Dec-2014 to their accounting office - no response back. - 17-Dec-2014 to the DC office and left messages with two people, neither called back. - 18-Dec-2014 to their accounting office - no response back. - 18-Dec-2014 called and was able to speak to someone, who said that she has nothing to do with billing and was told to speak with another person. -18-Dec-2014 called and left message with owner, no response. -18-Dec-2014, spoke to someone in accounting who said that it would be taken care of and that we should expect the credit to our credit card within the week, which we did. Since this time have received an additional past due invoice with additional interest being charged, dated, 14-Jan-2015 with the same balance due of $800.00 and a finance charge of $16.00. Our main concern is that this will wrongly go to a collection service and have a negative impact on our credit rating which right now is excellent.

Desired Settlement: Written confirmation from Kolb Electric Billing that there is a zero balance regarding invoice *******, reference # *******.

Business Response:

Customer left several messages for the owner who was in and out and was not able to return phone messages.  We refunded the customer, however, the accounting was delayed in crediting the original invoice and therefore a statement of account was inadvertently sent.  An adjustment has been made and the customer will no longer receive any past due notices and no collection action will be taken.  Kolb Electric apologizes in the delay of getting this issue handled and handled properly.

Sincerely,

Kolb Electric

10/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB, We have been double billed by Kolb Electric-DC Office. On September 3rd, 2014, we received a second bill/Invoice# ******* from Kolb for $572.55. We where shocked and got on the telephone right away to K***’s office. We where transferred numerous times each time getting someone who was less helpful than from where we were transferred from. The last transfer was to Mr. Paul K***’s voice mail. We left a message with our name and number regarding a billing issue. The next day we followed up with an email to the company and Mr. Paul K***. We know this is a billing error and are just trying to resolve this issue as soon as possible. On Saturday September 13th, we received an email reply from Mr. Paul K***’s email address simply saying “thank you for contacting me”, “been out of town”, “will contact you on Tuesday”. “Please be patient”. Well, we have been nothing but patient. We are still waiting for Kolb to correct an issue from the April visit; that issue is still not resolved; still without our 2 way hall lights. We've been very, very, patient... Yesterday was Tuesday and no one from Kolb Electric has contacted us. We are having no success with getting this resolved in a timely manner, so we are seeking the assistance of the BBB. We did not want to go this route but it seems like there is a bad case of amnesia within this family business and they seem to be avoiding communicating with us. We just really want to discuss this invoice that they sent us in error, ask them to update their records and send us a corrected invoice. They have been paid in full. We have a copy of the paid check. A copy of the letter that was emailed to Kolb Electric, and the owner, Mr. Paul K*** on September 5th, 2014, as well as, a copy of the invoice they sent to us are available on request, if we are unable to add attachments. Additional facts and details are in the email. Thank you for your assistance in this matter. **. and **** ***** ****** **** * ****** ** Washington, DC ***** ******************* September 17th, 2014 ************

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome we seek is: We would like Kolb Electric to update their records, and please send us a correct invoice showing a zero balance.

Business Response:

We are in agreement that the job is not completed and would like to complete the work.  We are not in agreement that the second bill was sent in error.  We responded to an emergency call and found wiring not up to current codes and multiple problems with the switching.  It was clear that the job was going to take a while to complete and we were on an emergency call at emergency rates.  We stopped the job at that time and returned during regular working hours and rates.  On the second trip the electrician repaired one of the problems but left additional work to be performed.  This was the trip that we billed for that the customer disputes.  The customer wrote a letter stating that she was not happy with the pace of the electrician and felt he was not getting the job done quickly.  I am happy to work with *** ****** to resolve this issue.  There is additional work, that will take additional time, to do and I will be happy to do that work at no charge if she will pay the outstanding invoice.  I do not think that just paying the first trips charge is fair because there were multiple issues that would take time to repair – I believe leaving and returning at non-emergency rates was the right thing to do to keep the overall cost of the project down.  To offer compensation for *** ******’s belief that the work has taken too many hours, the additional hours will be at no cost.  I offer the above in an effort to settle all claims in this matter.

 

 

Thank You,

    

    Brandy E******

        Office Manager

        ###-###-#### - Phone

        ###-###-#### - Direct Fax

Still the best value since 1925!!!!!

 

10/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kolb Electric provided me with a contract April 8, proposal 3124, to wire our basement. (We are finishing our basement.) The email accompanying the contract clearly stated "This proposal has been REVISED under the direction of the Serivce Manager to ensure that the prioce (sic) is inclusive to absorb all labor costs, inspection costs, inspection site visit costs, and to perform the entire scope of work to ensure completion and any unforseen scheduling mishaps." The contract itself included these two clauses: "Cost covers all labor involving the rough-in and final for work to be performed. Including permit time and inspection site time." "Permit fee and inspection rate included." Kolb completed most of the work, but did not connect the wire it ran to the electrical panel in my basement or install the switches or outlets. Now Kolb is demanding another $2,100 to complete the work because it took longer than they figured it would. I provided them with very detailed drawings of the job before they drew up the contract and I have done nothing to change the scope of work. I have already paid 100% of the contracted amount--more than $5,000--but since they hold the DCRA permit for the job, I cannot bring in another electrician to finish it. I have tried repeatedly to resolve this matter with Kolb, but they point to contradictory language in the contract citing a particular number of hours. I would never have signed the contract if they had stated clearly that in their view the dollar figure they provided was meaningless, and I would be held responsible for paying by the hour no matter how many hours it wound up taking. Any help the BBB can provide in bringing this matter to a successful resolution would be appreciated. I have not yet filed in small claims court, but will do so next week. In addition, I filed a complaint online yesterday with DC's Office of the Attorney General Consumer Protection bureau.

Desired Settlement: Finish all work promised, including connecting the wire to the panel (in accordance with DC Code) and the final inspection.

Business Response:

Kolb Electric provided the customer with a contract that stated, among other things, “Kolb to provide labor for 32 hours for one mechanic and 16 hours for one helper and any extra material as needed.”  We have fulfilled the allotted number of hours specified in our contract.  Our contract also states, “Costs covers all labor involving the rough-in and final for work to be performed.  Including permit time and inspection site time.”  This is intended to show that the number of hours specified in the contract may be for rough-in, final, or inspection related time.  We are genuinely sorry that there is a misunderstanding.  It has our hope all throughout this project to help the customer save as much money as possible.  We provided detailed material list to the customer so that he could buy it himself and tried to save as much as possible for the customer by putting in a small of a block of labor hours –  a larger block of hours might lead to a situation where the customer would not pay for too much labor if fewer hours were needed.  We are open to working out a settlement with the customer but to us, it seems clear that we were furnishing a fixed number of hours.  Additionally, we can not find an email with the language the customer quotes in the complaint.  If that can be forwarded to us that would be helpful in the resolution of this matter.  We look forward to resolving this as soon as possible.

 

Sincerely,

 

Paul K***

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The email containing the reference is attached below, with a time and date stamp. For the record, I made clear in communication with Joe T***** and Travis A******* that I wanted to resolve this and was willing to meet partway between us, but instead they dug in on their demand that I pay an additional amount more than $2,000, which I told them I would not do.

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Travis A******* <***********************>
Date: Tue, Apr 8, 2014 at 3:12 PM
Subject: Proposal-****
To: **** ****** *****" <*********************>
Cc: "t**********************" <***********************>


I am pleased to provide you with the attached quotation for the work you requested.  This price is valid for 15 days.
Please feel free to contact me with any questions you may have.
I can be reached via email, phone, or fax as listed on the quote.

This proposal has been REVISED under the direction of the Serivce Manager to ensure that the prioce is inclusive to absorb all labor costs, inspection costs, inspection site visit costs, and to perform the entire scope of work to ensure completion and any unforseen scheduling mishaps.

Sincerely,
****** ********
Kolb Electric, Inc.

Business Response:

*** ******,

 

I was sorry to see *** *****’s response.  We continue to want to work out a solution for *** ***** and Kolb Electric and are still willing to speak to *** ***** to attempt to settle any and all of the outstanding issues.

 

Thank you,

           Paul K***

            ####-###-#### Office

              ####-###-#### Fax

              ####-###-#### Cell

                

"Still the best value since 1925"

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1/13/2014: Called Kolb for service to re-balance electric in upstairs bathroom (i.e., move an outlet to a different circuit) at homeowner's property. Scheduled time to arrive around noon on 1/17/2014. 1/17/2014: Electrician arrived onsite and during initial interview with tenant, was rude and disrespectful. Tenant asked the electrician to leave and refused to sign the invoice. Electrician was in the house for less than 3 minutes. Affidavit of tenant available upon request. 3/7/2014: Received bill from Kolb for $98.00. Service description reads, "Furnished necessary labor and materials to check report of partial power at the following location: HomeownerPropertyAddress. Responded to call to check power at breaker. Tested Amperage and voltage of breaker. Advised customer that a new circuit is required due to wire size and amperage of equipment" Invoice indicates that the date of service is (incorrectly) 2/1/2014 3/8/2014: Received duplicate bill from Kolb for $98.00 with same description as original. 3/10 @ 10:30 AM: Called Kolb electric at ###-###-#### seeking explanation for why the invoice indicated work performed, when the electrician had not performed any work; left message for ******. 3/11 @ 2:00 PM: Called Kolb electric at ###-###-#### seeking explanation for why the invoice indicated work performed, when the electrician had not performed any work; left message for ******. 3/12 @ 3:30 PM: Called Kolb electric at ###-###-#### seeking explanation for why the invoice indicated work performed, when the electrician had not performed any work. Spoke with ******, who indicated that the technician wrote that work was performed and client refused payment and to sign invoice. Explained the issue to ****** related to the technician not being in the house for more than 3 minute and that no work was completed. ****** explained that she will review to kolb electric owner for review -and that she would give a return call. 3/13/2014: Received late payment and finance charge notice from kolb. 3/14/2014 @4:40 PM: Called and spoke with ******. indicated the speed with which all three bills arrived from Kolb, reiterated that no work was performed at residence and in fact, the bill is incorrectly indicating otherwise. Was told not to worry about the finance charge - she, "will take care of it". indicated that she has forwarded the information to the owner, however he is out of the office and will not return until late during the week of 3/17. 3/26/2014 @ 3:45 PM: Called and spoke with ******. was told that the situation will be resolved by the end of the month. Requested I call back on Friday, 3/28. 3/28/2014 @ 10:00 AM: Called and spoke with ******. Was told that the problem was cleared up and that I should receive a bill indicating the total amount due as $0.00. 4/14/2014: Received another invoice with another finance charge. 4/22/2014 @ 11:50 AM: Called and spoke with ******. Was told to disregard the invoice. Issue has been moved to the , "center of the owners desk". ****** indicated that he would be in the office on 4/23. 4/23/2014 @ 9:52 - ****** called and explained that the technician's notes indicate that work was completed. I reiterated the experience from the tenant's point of view. Was told that I would get a call-back. 4/23/2014 @ 10:38: James called and explained the technician's notes. I explained the situation, including the actual service request, the rudeness of the technician and the request for him to leave the premises. I indicated that i wanted a revised bill to show that no work was completed. James apologized for the situation--first time any apology was given -- and further explained that he would bring the situation to the owner. He would then give me a call back with the outcome. 4/27/2014: Received duplicate bill with no changes to language. 5/5/2014: Scheduled payment through bank bill-pay for delivery on 5/8 5/5/2014: Submitted complaint through BBB.

Desired Settlement: Originally I would have been satisfied with a wording change to the invoice, however now that this issue has dragged on into May, I am paying the invoice to avoid future charges. Additionally, although I was told that there would be a fee even if we chose not to have the work performed, I was not informed that the technician would be so rude to the tenant that she would ask him to leave. Furthermore, I was not told that the invoice and technician's notes would blatantly indicate something other than what happened. Finally, in response to my request to have the wording changed on the invoice to match the actual events, I was sent a copy of the exact same invoice. For these reasons, I would like a refund of the $98 and an updated invoice to indicate that no work was performed.

Business Response:

Our technician arrived onsite and advised the customer of overloaded circuit.  THe customer wanted a larger breaker installed on wiring that was not rated for a larger breaker per the National Electrical Code.  Our technician advised the customer we could run a new line and provide an additional circuit per The National Electrical Code to remedy the issue.  The customer refused and the electrician to leave and they would not sign his time ticket or pay the bill.  Our electrican was asked to perform work not correct by the National Electrical Code, when our electrician refused to do illegal work, this is when the tenant/resident felt he was being rude.  Under no circumstance will Kolb Electric Inc. perform work that is not safe and not according to the National Electrical Code.  The bill the homewoner received is for the service fee only.  The rates are explained upfront to the customer at the time the service call is placed.  Kolb Electric diadnosed the problem and offered a solution allowable under the National Electrical Code and laws of the District of Columbia.  We feel we should have been paid for our time.

 

Sincerely,

**** Kolb

1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved into our new **** on June 1st, 2013 and needed to install two big crystal chandeliers. We called Kolb Electric, Inc. and explained the nature of our fixtures being big crystal chandeliers (each valued around $15,000.00 each) so, they suggested that 2 electricians will come to install therefore we would be charged; $98 per ½ hour and the additional electrician/help will cost $60.00 per ½ hour. On June 4th, 2013; The initial electrician (******* ********) showed up with a young teenager (owner’s son) and while bringing their ladder in, they stabbed our hallway walls causing damaged to the walls which they never reported to their headquarters. At the time, I had 4 other vendors in doing installations like cable, phone and painters. While Kolb technician, ******* ******** was working on the foyer chandelier they dropped the chandelier and broke the crystal pieces and the young man (the helper) got a cut on his finger to which I attended. Technician informed me that he wasn’t able to install the foyer chandelier because the cup would not be a good fit and won’t be secure so, I had to run to **** ***** to buy the items needed for him to install our fixture. Apparently, we got charged for the idle time in excess. Then he installed the dining room chandelier which broke off the ceiling (see attached photos) and injured my husband who was unpacking boxes under it and landed on the floor and many pieced broke form it and one of the chandelier branches got bent with broken pieces. On June 5th, 2013; My husband called them and spoke to a person named ***** (the dispatcher) the next day and explained the incidence and damages to our property and chandeliers. ***** from Kolb Electric proposed to send a master electrician to inspect the initial work. The master electrician named; ***** (not sure of his name’s correct spelling) showed up on June 11th, 2013 and agreed with us that the dining room chandelier was not properly secured and replaced the broken hook and reinstalled the broken chandelier. He also apologized for the scare and damages to our property and said his company will not charge us because of the damages caused as a result of their incompetence and further physical damages to my husband’s shoulder. The same evening my husband noticed that the second electrician ***** too had left the upper link (connected chandelier to the ceiling) and the lower link (connecting the chain to the chandelier) open which could have resulted in another fall. My husband instructed me not to call Kolb anymore since their incompetence had caused great damage to our property already. We consulted another individual (***** Vaughn who also is a witness) who came and secured the compromised links. Kolb Electric, Inc. not only charged us against what they promised but they also have charged us erroneously for 3 chandeliers and 1 bathroom light (as stated on the attached invoice). On 7/29/2013 Kolb Electric was contacted and I asked him why they charged our credit card when they said there will be no charge. ***** completely denied the fact that there were damages to our chandeliers and said no one told him when my spouse had informed him (on June 5th when he called him) and insinuated that I was being untruthful and their second technician did not leave the links open and compromised the second time. My husband ******* ****** called them on 7/29/2013 to confront ***** about why he denied the fact that the damages were reported to him. At this point, we are asking to have the charges removed from our card. I am also in the process of gathering supportive letters (on letterhead of the company) from witnesses to what happened such as; ** ***** construction project manager (for damages they caused on our wall by hitting our walls with their ladder), the painter, *** ****** ***** who is a witness as well as **** (******* technician) who witnessed ******* ******** and the teenage helper when they broke the chandelier on June 4th, 2013.

Desired Settlement: Do what they promised which was No Charge because of their failure to appropriately perform the job, damaging our chandeliers and my husband's shoulder. In summary, they need to refund the unauthorized charges made to our **** credit card.

Business Response:

This complaint was filed before in Greater Baltimore.  We responded at that time as well.  Attached is the response that was previously filed.  Please let me know if you need any additional information.

***** *****

Kolb Electric

###-###-####

**********************
This service call was ordered on 5/31.  Work described was to install 3 chandeliers and a bathroom light.  One of the chandeliers was to be hung at a “tall ceiling height,” and 2 men were quoted to the customer to satisfy OSHA regulations (a-frame ladders over 12’ require 2 men for safety.)  The labor rate for COD calls is $98 for the first ½ hour and $49 for each additional ½ hour on-site,
plus any material/parts used.  Rates for a helper runs $62 for first ½ hour and $31 per additional ½ hour.

 We dispatched our tech ******* and helper ******* on 6/4.  We completed the work in ~7 hours.  With the above quoted labor rates, 7 hours with a tech and helper totals $1200.00, with .30 in screws being used. The customer was charged $1200.30 for all work performed 6/4.  I was not made aware of any damage by our workers, nor was any mention made by the customer, who initialed our time ticket and supplied us a credit card number for payment for the day.

  **. ****** called 6/10 (Monday) and spoke with me.  He said that a lower chandelier fell over the weekend (I think I remember him saying Sunday,) and that the chandeliers we installed were originally hung in a house they moved out of and were in place for many years.  He said it looked like a link in the chain was open, and asked that we come and have another person take a look who was
NOT *******, and we scheduled a return visit for first call on 6/11.  Our policy for possible recalls, as cited to the customer, is as follows:  for a period of 6 months we warrant labor and material directly related to the work we did.  If an issue DOES come up
directly related to what we did, we’ll correct it without additional charge.  For example, if we run a circuit and a connection is loose, upon returning we would tighten that connection and there would be no charge for the return visit. 

We would NOT refund the cost of the original job because a connection ended up being loose.  We had our tech ***** and our helper ******* go back and look at the work; ***** is one of our most diverse techs, but none of our techs are a licensed master
electrician.  I would not have proposed to dispatch a master electrician because I know we do not have any.  They evaluated the work, went and picked up a part, resecured 2 chandeliers and left. 

**. ******** *****-****** initialed our time ticket, and we left without collecting any additional charge.

 I received a call from **. ******** *****-****** at the end of July (possibly the 29th but I don’t remember for sure.)  At first
she said she was just looking at her credit statement for June and complained that we charged her for the first visit and second visit.  I explained that we did not charge for the second visit, and she questioned the $1200.30 total.  I explained the labor rates again (as detailed above.)  After explaining  the total she thought was for both visits was actually for the first visit, she started telling me that I told her we would do the entire job for free if it was a recall. 

I restated our recall policy (since someone else took the fixtures down at the old place, I don’t even know if they’d left a link open, etc., but when we came back for our 6/11 visit we erred on the side of caution and resecured the fixture at no charge anyway,) and **. *****-****** began arguing that I was calling her a liar.  After several minutes she mentioned wall/chandelier damage from a dropped chandelier, and made mention of witnesses.  I told her that I was not aware of either occurrence (I didn’t deny damage, I said that nobody had made me aware of damage in the last month and a half)  until she brought it to my attention during this call, and she began arguing yet again that I was calling her a liar.  Had damage been reported, we would have taken information to submit to insurance.  I was trying to explain that if she had any paperwork relating to repair costs/estimates that it could be forwarded to us, and she said I didn’t understand her and she was tired of talking to me and abruptly hung up and ended the call.

 The next day (I think,) ******* ****** called our shop and left a voicemail for me asking to call back regarding this situation.  I
returned his call, and left a message stating that I was returning his call and asked for a return call.  I never heard back from either of them.

Consumer Response:

Please see the attached letter from the builder's project manager who was a witness.

Thanks,
** ************

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

******** *****-******

This letter is provided at the request of the homeowners; ******** and ******* ****** residing at **** ******* ***** ***** ***** ******** Maryland. On June 4th, 2013,I was at their home and witnessed the electricians installing the crystal chandelier (in the foyer of the home owner) drop the chandelier on the balcony of the 2nd floor which resulted in damages to the chandelier. They also damaged the homeowners foyer walls with the ladder for which, I sent workers (as a courtesy) to repair the damages at a later date.

Please do not hesitate if you have any further questions.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Kolb and told them exactly what work we needed done based on our **** inspection report. We scheduled an appointment and an electrician came out to our home. The electrician was here for about 45 minutes. He looked at the problem area and all he did was tell us the exact same things we already knew. He didn't have the part needed to do the work, he said he would have to order it. This all wouldn't have been that big of a deal deal except they charged us $120 just to have their guy come to our house. They never told us about this fee ahead of time, and they came to our **** unprepared to do any work. The electrician said he needed the model number from the dysfunctional part, but we could have easily told them this information over the phone. Also, when we called to complain the rep we spoke to said that the part they needed would cost a couple hundred dollars and it would be risky to keep such an expensive part on their trucks. My husband did a quick Google search and it turns out they are only $35 at **** ***** (a few miles away). I have no doubt they would have charged us for that huge markup. My husband called to dispute the fee they charged us. No work was done on our **** and they never told us about the fee. They refused to cancel the credit card charge but we just want our money back.

Desired Settlement: They refused to cancel the credit card charge but we just want our money back.

Business Response:

There is no way for us to know exactly what is needed from a telephone call and the custoemr's description.  We went to the customer's **** twice and prior ro the customer filing this complaint and posting the negative comments on ****, we explained to them that we had not charged their credit card.  The transaction that the technician did was an authorization only and, as you can see from the attached invoices there were no charges. 

We assume that the complaint is satisfied at this point.

If there are any questions, or if you need any additional information, please contact me at ************

Thank you!

***** *****

AR Supervisor

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Kolb Electric Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart