BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Kolb Electric Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (202) 726-4900 View Additional Phone Numbers 5901 Blair Road, NW, Washington, DC 20011 http://www.kolbelectric.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kolb Electric Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kolb Electric Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1997 Business started: 01/19/1925 Business incorporated: 01/01/1925 in DC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The license number is 2701013981A.

DLLR's Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing-MD
500 N Calvert St Rm 301, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.state.md.us
Phone Number: 410-230-6309
The license number is 2929.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Kolb, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Kolb, Co-Owner
Business Category

Electricians

Alternate Business Names
Kolb Electric

Additional Locations

  • 14670 Southlawn Lane

    Derwood, MD 20855

  • 1862 Clay Lane

    Reston, VA 20190

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3000-C Ventrie Court

    Myersville, MD 21773

  • 5706-K General Washington Dr.

    Alexandria, VA 22312

  • 5901 Blair Road, NW

    Washington, DC 20011

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6774 Dorsey Road

    Elkridge, MD 21075

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 279-2133(Phone)
  • (301) 365-1224(Phone)
  • (301) 779-5726(Phone)
  • (703) 273-6363(Phone)
  • (703) 438-8700(Phone)
  • (703) 777-8558(Phone)
  • (703) 941-4600(Phone)
  • (800) 777-5652(Phone)
  • (202) 726-1178 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved into our new **** on June 1st, 2013 and needed to install two big crystal chandeliers. We called Kolb Electric, Inc. and explained the nature of our fixtures being big crystal chandeliers (each valued around $15,000.00 each) so, they suggested that 2 electricians will come to install therefore we would be charged; $98 per ½ hour and the additional electrician/help will cost $60.00 per ½ hour. On June 4th, 2013; The initial electrician (******* ********) showed up with a young teenager (owner’s son) and while bringing their ladder in, they stabbed our hallway walls causing damaged to the walls which they never reported to their headquarters. At the time, I had 4 other vendors in doing installations like cable, phone and painters. While Kolb technician, ******* ******** was working on the foyer chandelier they dropped the chandelier and broke the crystal pieces and the young man (the helper) got a cut on his finger to which I attended. Technician informed me that he wasn’t able to install the foyer chandelier because the cup would not be a good fit and won’t be secure so, I had to run to **** ***** to buy the items needed for him to install our fixture. Apparently, we got charged for the idle time in excess. Then he installed the dining room chandelier which broke off the ceiling (see attached photos) and injured my husband who was unpacking boxes under it and landed on the floor and many pieced broke form it and one of the chandelier branches got bent with broken pieces. On June 5th, 2013; My husband called them and spoke to a person named ***** (the dispatcher) the next day and explained the incidence and damages to our property and chandeliers. ***** from Kolb Electric proposed to send a master electrician to inspect the initial work. The master electrician named; ***** (not sure of his name’s correct spelling) showed up on June 11th, 2013 and agreed with us that the dining room chandelier was not properly secured and replaced the broken hook and reinstalled the broken chandelier. He also apologized for the scare and damages to our property and said his company will not charge us because of the damages caused as a result of their incompetence and further physical damages to my husband’s shoulder. The same evening my husband noticed that the second electrician ***** too had left the upper link (connected chandelier to the ceiling) and the lower link (connecting the chain to the chandelier) open which could have resulted in another fall. My husband instructed me not to call Kolb anymore since their incompetence had caused great damage to our property already. We consulted another individual (***** Vaughn who also is a witness) who came and secured the compromised links. Kolb Electric, Inc. not only charged us against what they promised but they also have charged us erroneously for 3 chandeliers and 1 bathroom light (as stated on the attached invoice). On 7/29/2013 Kolb Electric was contacted and I asked him why they charged our credit card when they said there will be no charge. ***** completely denied the fact that there were damages to our chandeliers and said no one told him when my spouse had informed him (on June 5th when he called him) and insinuated that I was being untruthful and their second technician did not leave the links open and compromised the second time. My husband ******* ****** called them on 7/29/2013 to confront ***** about why he denied the fact that the damages were reported to him. At this point, we are asking to have the charges removed from our card. I am also in the process of gathering supportive letters (on letterhead of the company) from witnesses to what happened such as; ** ***** construction project manager (for damages they caused on our wall by hitting our walls with their ladder), the painter, *** ****** ***** who is a witness as well as **** (******* technician) who witnessed ******* ******** and the teenage helper when they broke the chandelier on June 4th, 2013.

Desired Settlement: Do what they promised which was No Charge because of their failure to appropriately perform the job, damaging our chandeliers and my husband's shoulder. In summary, they need to refund the unauthorized charges made to our **** credit card.

Business Response:

This complaint was filed before in Greater Baltimore.  We responded at that time as well.  Attached is the response that was previously filed.  Please let me know if you need any additional information.

***** *****

Kolb Electric

###-###-####

**********************
This service call was ordered on 5/31.  Work described was to install 3 chandeliers and a bathroom light.  One of the chandeliers was to be hung at a “tall ceiling height,” and 2 men were quoted to the customer to satisfy OSHA regulations (a-frame ladders over 12’ require 2 men for safety.)  The labor rate for COD calls is $98 for the first ½ hour and $49 for each additional ½ hour on-site,
plus any material/parts used.  Rates for a helper runs $62 for first ½ hour and $31 per additional ½ hour.

 We dispatched our tech ******* and helper ******* on 6/4.  We completed the work in ~7 hours.  With the above quoted labor rates, 7 hours with a tech and helper totals $1200.00, with .30 in screws being used. The customer was charged $1200.30 for all work performed 6/4.  I was not made aware of any damage by our workers, nor was any mention made by the customer, who initialed our time ticket and supplied us a credit card number for payment for the day.

  **. ****** called 6/10 (Monday) and spoke with me.  He said that a lower chandelier fell over the weekend (I think I remember him saying Sunday,) and that the chandeliers we installed were originally hung in a house they moved out of and were in place for many years.  He said it looked like a link in the chain was open, and asked that we come and have another person take a look who was
NOT *******, and we scheduled a return visit for first call on 6/11.  Our policy for possible recalls, as cited to the customer, is as follows:  for a period of 6 months we warrant labor and material directly related to the work we did.  If an issue DOES come up
directly related to what we did, we’ll correct it without additional charge.  For example, if we run a circuit and a connection is loose, upon returning we would tighten that connection and there would be no charge for the return visit. 

We would NOT refund the cost of the original job because a connection ended up being loose.  We had our tech ***** and our helper ******* go back and look at the work; ***** is one of our most diverse techs, but none of our techs are a licensed master
electrician.  I would not have proposed to dispatch a master electrician because I know we do not have any.  They evaluated the work, went and picked up a part, resecured 2 chandeliers and left. 

**. ******** *****-****** initialed our time ticket, and we left without collecting any additional charge.

 I received a call from **. ******** *****-****** at the end of July (possibly the 29th but I don’t remember for sure.)  At first
she said she was just looking at her credit statement for June and complained that we charged her for the first visit and second visit.  I explained that we did not charge for the second visit, and she questioned the $1200.30 total.  I explained the labor rates again (as detailed above.)  After explaining  the total she thought was for both visits was actually for the first visit, she started telling me that I told her we would do the entire job for free if it was a recall. 

I restated our recall policy (since someone else took the fixtures down at the old place, I don’t even know if they’d left a link open, etc., but when we came back for our 6/11 visit we erred on the side of caution and resecured the fixture at no charge anyway,) and **. *****-****** began arguing that I was calling her a liar.  After several minutes she mentioned wall/chandelier damage from a dropped chandelier, and made mention of witnesses.  I told her that I was not aware of either occurrence (I didn’t deny damage, I said that nobody had made me aware of damage in the last month and a half)  until she brought it to my attention during this call, and she began arguing yet again that I was calling her a liar.  Had damage been reported, we would have taken information to submit to insurance.  I was trying to explain that if she had any paperwork relating to repair costs/estimates that it could be forwarded to us, and she said I didn’t understand her and she was tired of talking to me and abruptly hung up and ended the call.

 The next day (I think,) ******* ****** called our shop and left a voicemail for me asking to call back regarding this situation.  I
returned his call, and left a message stating that I was returning his call and asked for a return call.  I never heard back from either of them.

Consumer Response:

Please see the attached letter from the builder's project manager who was a witness.

Thanks,
** ************

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

******** *****-******

This letter is provided at the request of the homeowners; ******** and ******* ****** residing at **** ******* ***** ***** ***** ******** Maryland. On June 4th, 2013,I was at their home and witnessed the electricians installing the crystal chandelier (in the foyer of the home owner) drop the chandelier on the balcony of the 2nd floor which resulted in damages to the chandelier. They also damaged the homeowners foyer walls with the ladder for which, I sent workers (as a courtesy) to repair the damages at a later date.

Please do not hesitate if you have any further questions.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Kolb and told them exactly what work we needed done based on our **** inspection report. We scheduled an appointment and an electrician came out to our home. The electrician was here for about 45 minutes. He looked at the problem area and all he did was tell us the exact same things we already knew. He didn't have the part needed to do the work, he said he would have to order it. This all wouldn't have been that big of a deal deal except they charged us $120 just to have their guy come to our house. They never told us about this fee ahead of time, and they came to our **** unprepared to do any work. The electrician said he needed the model number from the dysfunctional part, but we could have easily told them this information over the phone. Also, when we called to complain the rep we spoke to said that the part they needed would cost a couple hundred dollars and it would be risky to keep such an expensive part on their trucks. My husband did a quick Google search and it turns out they are only $35 at **** ***** (a few miles away). I have no doubt they would have charged us for that huge markup. My husband called to dispute the fee they charged us. No work was done on our **** and they never told us about the fee. They refused to cancel the credit card charge but we just want our money back.

Desired Settlement: They refused to cancel the credit card charge but we just want our money back.

Business Response:

There is no way for us to know exactly what is needed from a telephone call and the custoemr's description.  We went to the customer's **** twice and prior ro the customer filing this complaint and posting the negative comments on ****, we explained to them that we had not charged their credit card.  The transaction that the technician did was an authorization only and, as you can see from the attached invoices there were no charges. 

We assume that the complaint is satisfied at this point.

If there are any questions, or if you need any additional information, please contact me at ************

Thank you!

***** *****

AR Supervisor

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues