BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Boscov's Department Store, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (610) 779-2000 Fax: (610) 370-3840 4500 Perkiomen Ave, Reading, PA 19606 http://www.boscovs.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a department store.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boscov's Department Store, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boscov's Department Store, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 75 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

75 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 11
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 48
Total Closed Complaints 75

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1911 in PA Business started locally: 01/22/1919 Business under new ownership as of: 12/01/2008 Business incorporated: 12/17/2008 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Albert R Boscov, Chairman/CEP Mr. James S Boscov, Vice Chairman Ms. Cheryl M. Boyce, Legal Adminstration Mgr. Ms. Pat Evans, VP of Customer Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Albert R Boscov, Chairman/CEP
Principal: Mr. James S Boscov, Vice Chairman
Customer Contact: Ms. Pat Evans, VP of Customer Relations
Business Category

Department Stores Travel Agencies & Bureaus Online Retailer Appliances - Major - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 102 Laurel Mall

    Hazle Townshp, PA 18202

  • 121 Palmer Park Mall

    Easton, PA 18045

  • 126 Exton Square, Routes 30& 100

    Exton, PA 19341

  • 15 S Main St

    Wilkes Barre, PA 18701

  • 170 S 32nd St

    Camp Hill, PA 17011

  • 200 Neshaminy Mall

    Bensalem, PA 19020

  • 2899 Whiteford Rd  York Galleria Mall

    York, PA 17402

  • 400 Lackawanna Avenue  The Mall at Steamtown

    Scranton, PA 18503

  • 4365 Perkiomen Ave

    Reading, PA 19606

  • 4500 Perkiomen Ave

    Reading, PA 19606 (610) 779-2000

  • 4500 Perkiomen Ave

    Reading, PA 19606

  • 7290 Fairlane Village Mall

    Pottsville, PA 17901

  • 800 Park City Ctr

    Lancaster, PA 17601

  • Colonial Park Mall  Route 22 & Colonial Road

    Harrisburg, PA 17109

  • Coventry Mall  Route 724 & 100

    Pottstown, PA 19464

  • Fairlane Village Mall

    Pottsville, PA 17901

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10300 Run Circle

    Owings Mills, MD 21117

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2310 N Salisbury Blvd

    Salisbury, MD 21801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    400 N Center St

    Westminster, MD 21157

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7900 Ritchie HwyMarley Station

    Glen Burnie, MD 21061

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Frederick Towne Mall1301 W Patrick St

    Frederick, MD 21702

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 17642

    Baltimore, MD 21297

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 17642

    Baltimore, MD 21297

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Clifton Country Mall422 Clifton Country Rd

    Clifton Park, NY 12065

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Colonie CenterCentral Avenue & Wolf Road

    Albany, NY 12205

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Colonie MallCentral Avenue

    Albany, NY 12205

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Cumberland Mall

    Vineland, NJ 08360

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1201 Hooper ave

    TomsRiver, NJ 08753

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1750 Deptford Center Road

    Deptford, NJ 08096

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6001 Echelon Mall

    Voorhees, NJ 08043

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6725 Blackhorse Pike

    Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Black Horse Pike & Tilton

    Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Deptford Mall

    Blackwood, NJ 08012

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Eatontown Circle & Rt 35

    Eatontown, NJ 07724

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Route 38 & Lenola Road

    Moorestown, NJ 08057

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10803 Old Lakeland Hwy

    Dade City, FL 33525

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1775 Universal Ave

    Kansas City, MO 64120

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/6/2014 Delivery Issues
7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an advertised Top Grain Leather Sofa set with additional recliner February 15 2012 for $2691.00 which included a purchase of a warranty for $199.00. This set was advertised as Top Grain Leather which I was told by an upholsterer later when asking about repair that it was not. Within a year we noticed leather deteriorating. We called *** ****** Township furniture dept. spoke with the manager ***** ********** who advised me to call corporate and state I was a Boscov's cardholder and explain the issue. I did call and they advised me my issue wasn't covered by warranty. Within the following year the mechanical features such as reclining mechanism, the ar** detaching from the sofa and cushions sagging started to occur. I again called corporate who told me there was nothing they could do but give me information about where I could buy parts to repair myself at my own cost. I then called back again to inform them I may be filing a claim in small clai** court in which they stated again there was nothing they could do. I decided to try the BBB first.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for this purchase.

Business Response: Customer ID # ********

********* *****
**. *****,
In reference to the complaint filed by ********* *****, we have had numerous conversations in the past with the customer regarding the purchase of her leather furniture. Please be advised that because of the date of purchase, the furniture is no longer covered by the manufacturer warranty. However, in order to be fair to **. *****, we have authorized an inspection by one of our leather technicians. Through this process, we will then be able to get a full understanding of the problems described in **. *****'s complaint. 
On Wednesday, June 4, **. ***** was contacted by our company and agreed to said inspection. We will update you as soon as we are provided with the inspection results.
Sincerely,
******* *****
Vice President of Boscov's Customer Relations

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Their focus is on the leather which is not the only issue. I did call originally before the year warranty was up to discuss the problems with the leather appearance. It appeared to be disintegrating and Boscov's told me that wasn't covered under the warranty. I also called several times after to discuss the poor construction of the furniture as the recliners don't recline when the handle is pulled and that is all 5 reclining areas. The arms are wobbly and coming loose and the cushions are sagging prematurely. I also spoke with an upholsterer who has been in the business 18+ years specializing in various types of fabric who stated the set was not all leather just the parts that touch the body. I was told when I purchased it that the set was 100% top grain leather. 
Boscov's did call and state someone who specializes in leather would be here to inspect furniture. I am not sure they will have the expertise to inspect furniture for poor construction or manufacturer defects in this furniture. I feel that a customer can reasonably expect her leather furniture to last at least 5 or more years before having these issues regardless of warranty time frames and it is my legal right to have furniture replaced or my money back.
 

Regards,

********* *****








Business Response: Christina *****

ID. ********

**. *****,

In reference to **. *****'s latest response, we are sorry to hear that she has rejected our offer of compensation regarding her furniture. Unfortunately, **. *****'s furniture is outside of the warranty. Therefore, Boscov's nor the manufacturer are liable. We have gone outside of our normal policy and provided an inspection of **. *****'s furniture at our expense. We have also made a generous offer to settle this matter. However, it was rejected. In the interest of being fair and providing good customer service, we are willing to propose one final solution to this ongoing problem. **. ***** originally paid $2,249.97 for her furniture. We are willing to send her a check in the amount of $1,124.99, which represents 50% of her original purchase. In addition, since the furniture in question cannot be resold and is a total loss to Boscov's based on the warranty, we will let her keep the furniture in question.

Lastly, this is the final offer that we can provide to settle this complaint. Please let us know if this resolution is acceptable to **. *****.

Best regards,

******* *****
Vice President, Boscov's Customer Relations     

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I would ask Boscovs to consider returning my cost for purchasing the warranty fee of $199.99 (since the warranty covered nothing for the issues I had with these couches within the first year of purchase when the warranty was still withing time frame.)  If not I will have to accept their offer of just 50% ($1104.00). Will they mail a check to my home? 

Regards,

********* *****

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PURCHASED A PACKAGE OF *******, SIZE MEDIUM, UNDERSHIRTS AND THE PACKAGE STATED THAT THERE WAS THREE CREW NECK UNDERSHIRTS PLUS ONE FREE V NECK UNDERSHIRT. I DO NOT WEAR V NECK SHIRTS, BUT SINCE IT WAS FREE WITH THE PURCHASE OF THE OTHER SHIRTS, I BOUGHT THE PACKAGE ANYWAY. WELL, TO MY DISMAY ALL OF THE FOUR SHIRTS IN THE PACKAGE WERE V NECK.

Desired Settlement: TO RECIEVE A REFUND FOR THESE SHIRTS.

Business Response: Complaint *******


**. *********,

We spoke with **. ***** on Wednesday, February 26th, regarding the T- Shirts that he purchased at our store in Ohio. We advised him to come back to the store and we would happlily refund his money even though 2 of the shirts have been worn. **. ***** is currently in Florida and plans to visit the store at the end of next week for his credit.

Best regards,

******* *****

Vice President, Boscov's Customer Relations

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Wife **** and I purchased a twin bunk bed set from Boscov's on August 10, 2013. When I tried to put it together one of the screws to the guardrail came out completely leaving it unstable. I didn't pay it any mind because I knew that i would be placing the beds side by side sooner than later. Fast forward to 12/14/2013 my son ran ran and jumped on his bed and the middle support beam broke. I contacted Boscov's to set up a warranty claim and I was told that the bed would have to be replaced but they no longer carried the style of bed. I was instructed to go to the store and pick out a different bed. I asked the representative what would happen if a replacement be cost more and I was told that "we'll cross the bridge when we get to it." I took that as saying that they would be able to help me if the product was slightly more. I went back to the store and I found nothing. I asked the store representative if he's able to check their warehouse for something similar and he said no. At that point I contacted headquarters again and explained the situation. I was told that I could go to another store and find a bed and they would be able to swap it out that way. I then asked if I would pay more if the bed I exchanged for was more expensive and I was told that I would have to pay the difference. I then let the representative know what I was told earlier and she still insisted that I have to pay the difference. She said that if I didn't want to pay the difference that I can just get a refund. I explained that would be probably be my best bet and that I would discuss it with my wife first. I asked if I would received a refund of $249.99 which is the cost of the bed and $49.99 for delivery and I was told no. At which point I tried to reason with the representative that I would have to pay more at this point for bunk beds and that it wasn't my fault that the bed broke. I told her that my son is less than 50 pounds so it shouldn't have broken so easy especially when he wasn't jumping up and down. I was told that i would have to eat the charge for delivery.

Desired Settlement: I think the business should refund the entire amount of my purchase. I would've been more than happy to keep the beds if they had them in stock and I wasn't treated so poorly by their customer service. I was told 2 different things about the exchange process as well. Not to mention that I have to go find beds for my children during the holiday season and I'm more than likely going to have to pay another company to have them delivered. I would like my entire refund back and I wish to part ways with this company.

Business Response:

Re:  ID *******

**. *********,

This complaint from ******* ******** has been forwarded to me for review and response.

Let me assure you that Boscov’s attempts to resolve all customer service issues in the most professional and courteous manner to preserve goodwill and maintain good business practices. 

We have reviewed the details surrounding **. ********’s complaint. While, we don’t totally agree with all the points he raises in his complaint, we do recognize that he and his wife are unhappy customers.

Our records indicated that the actual purchase price for the bunk beds purchased on August 10, 2013 was $199.99. Therefore, as a customer service gesture, we will refund $199.99 for the bunk beds and the $49.99 delivery fee.  

If I may be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me Monday through Friday at ###-###-#### or by email at ******************

 Sincerely,

 ******* *****

Vice President of Boscov’s Customer Relations

cc:   ******** **********

       ***** ****

       ******** ********, RM

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********

Consumer Response: I contacted the BBB on 12/16/2013 about a bunk bed that I purchased from Boscov's earlier this year. You helped me get a refund from Boscov's for the amount of the bed as well as the delivery fee. However, we have not received the refund yet. My wife called and she was told by Boscov's that they would have to come out and pick up the beds and then send a refund that will take 7-10 days. I didn't agree with the length of time that it would take but I had my wife call and set an appointment for the pick up. She called on Monday 12/30 and was told that the next delivery time was Friday 1/3. Once again I didn't agree with the pick up schedule but I decided to go along. Today we had a snowstorm that made travel impossible. I can understand that and I would not want anyone to try to travel in this weather. I contacted Boscov's and explained that my son has been without a bed since about the second week of December. I asked them if it was possible for them to mail the refund since we rescheduled a pick up time and I was told no. I'm using the money from the refund to purchase another bed for my son and daughter and I didn't want them to go without beds much longer.
Since they are unable to send the refund out without picking the beds up I would like to receive the check faster than 7-10 days. I am using that money and adding to it so that I can get my kids a sturdier bunk bed. I'm not trying to be a pain but this whole ordeal is starting to approach a month since I first contacted Boscov's. 

Business Response: January 6, 2014

BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania

Case # *******, ******* *********

**. *********,

I have reviewed **. *********’s latest response and I assure you that Boscov’s has every intention of living up to our commitment.  Our delivery company was scheduled to pick up the bunk beds on Friday, January, 3, 2014, however due to inclement weather the
pick-up never took place. On Friday, January 3rd, **. ********* contacted our customer service department and expressed his displeasure with not receiving his refund check.  Our CSR attempted to explain our policy however; **. ********* threatened to contact
the BBB and ended the call. Since a new pick up date was never discussed in the conversation our CSR contacted **. ********* again and set up a new pick up date for Tuesday, January 7, 2014. **. ********* informed our CSR that he did not what any further calls made to his residence.

In summary, as you know Boscov’s always stands behind their customers and we will do anything that we can to satisfy their needs. I approved the original refund for the bunk beds in the best interest of **. ********* even though I had reservations. However, it is not our policy to issue a refund check until the merchandise in question is in our hands. Therefore, as soon as we our informed that the merchandise has been picked up by our delivery company, we will be more than happy to issue the total refund offered in our first response.
 
Best regards

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I never told the CSR that I no longer wanted them to contact me. I did in fact let them know that the first scheduled pick up was extremely late considering that we had to wait for them to pick up the beds in order to purchase our children another set. I explained that the first available pick up date was over one week after they agreed to the refund. I let them know that I did understand that there was inclement weather and asked if they would be willing to release the funds since we waited for so long for the first scheduled pick up. When I was told that they could not do that I asked if they could release the check faster than the 7-10 business days that they said prior. I explained that we would be using those funds to purchase new beds for our children and that they would have to sleep on the floor. I was told that it was out of Boscov's hands. I was extremely angry with that because I felt like they dragged their feet until I got the Better Business Bureau involved. I feel that without your support my wife and I would have been left without the proper customer service. None of the representatives sympathized with the fact that one of my children had to sleep with a mattress on the floor until the beds were picked up. Then both of my children would have to wait 7-10 business day to get a refund for them to get new beds all the while sleeping on the floor. I do not want to be known as an unruly customer but no one took that into consideration. I'm sure they wouldn't want their children sleeping on mattresses on the floor either.

To date Boscov's has refunded me the check but I want to go on record stating that this has been a horrible customer service experience for my wife and I. I'm glad that the BBB was able to get involved because I'm sure that I would not have received my total refund at all if you had not have stepped in.


Regards,

******* ********

1/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a complaint about Boscov's sales and warranty.I purchased a ******* queen size pillow top set in 2010. The pillow top has divots about an inch deep. I spoke to the sales rep at the store who advised me that this set has many complaints and is often returned and I needed to call customer service. He said they would replace the set if there were divots and possibly have rep inspect the mattress and that the warranty was for 15 years. I called Boscov's customer service and was asked the following questions:Is the mattress stained?Do you rotate the mattress?Do you have a frame with a center slat?The mattress is not stained, I rotate the mattress, and the frame does not have a center slat.At that point I was told the warranty was voided because the the frame does not have a center slat.The salesman NEVER disclose this fact to me. How am I to know this? I trusted that I was buying the complete package that the warranty covered. The customer service rep told me it was my fault for not asking questions. I felt I did ask the questions required and the the salesmen was selling me a product that the warranty covered. I am not the bed expert. Boscov's owes its customers full disclosure of what is needed to validate the warranty. Boscov's did not fully disclose the facts of the warranty misleading me. Had I known the bed set needed a frame with a slat I would have purchased it. I was replacing a 25 year old bed. I spent about $2500.00. The frame should not be a option but part of the set as in the warranty. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the full amount of the entire purchase. I was advised by the salesman that most people replace the ******* pillow top set with a different kind of bed set. Very few replace it with the same one which is why I would prefer a full refund of the entire purchase.

Business Response:

 
This complaint from ****** ******* was forwarded to me for review and responce. 
 
Please be advised that Boscov's prides itself in offering outstanding customer service. We are sorry to hear that **. ******* is having problems, with his mattress purchase. As stated by our Customer Service department improper mattress support voids the manufacture warranty of the product. However, as we do in all cases such as this, we will be happy to have our third party bedding inspector inspect the mattress in question. Per the outcome of the inspection, we will work with **. ******* to come up with a suitable agreement that is in his and Boscov's best interest.
 
Best regards,
 
******* *****
Vice President of Customer Relations 

1/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my son, ***** ******, to the eye doctor for a checkup on 8/10/2013. I went to Boscov's Optical because after speaking with **** or ****, the receptionist, I felt certain that they accepted my son's health insurance, as ****/**** indicated that they did. ****/****, was quiet rude & snippy with me on the telephone, and criticized the way that I spoke. I felt extremely belittled when speaking with ****/****. Despite my better judgment, I kept my son's appointment with Boscov's Optical.At my visit, ****/****, was not in the office, another receptionist was on duty. This receptionist was quite nice. She told me she would have to ring me up, because she was unable to find my son's provider on her provider list. But, she would give me all receipts for the transactions, which were over $200, so that I could submit the information to my son's insurance company.After speaking with my son's insurance company, I was told that I was not able to submit the claim. The claim had to be submitted by Boscov's Optical. I followed up with a phone call to Boscov's Optical. ****/**** answered the telephone. I tell ****/****, of my discussion with the insurance company and how the claim would need to be submitted by their office. ****/****'s reaction was, "Sorry, we don't do that." Meaning that their office did not submit clai** and I was out of luck, ****/**** refused to help me.I find it hard to believe that a medical office does not submit clai**, and I told ****/**** this. At this, ****/**** said that he would look into it. It's nearly 4 months later now and I have not heard a word from Boscov's Optical. The customer service was so awful here that I would never go back again. I feel that ****/**** (Boscov's Optical) has stolen $208.95 from me. ****/**** behaved like he was annoyed that he had answer phone calls from customers. I am horrified by my experience.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I would like a full refund from Boscov's Optical. I would love to never have to deal with them again.

Business Response:

******** *******
**** ******* ******
****** ************ *****
UNITED STATES

Complaint ID : *******

I aplogize for the lateness of my responce in reference to **. ******* complaint . The optical areas in the Boscov's store are leased by ** Vision. However, I did reasearch **. *******'s complaint, and as she mentions, her son did see the optometrist on 8/10/2013. Pleased be advised that at no time was **. ******* advised that ** Visison accepted ***** Vision, **. *******'s eye care insurance for payment. In addition it is true that ** Vision does not complete or submit insurance forms for customers. It is  the responsibilty of the customer to follow up with their insurance company. In this case however, **** contacted ***** Vision of behalf of **. ******* and provided her with a contact ***** to follow up with. Since, ***** Vision insurance is not accepted as a form of payment by ** Vision, they cannont grant **. ******* a full refund as she requested.
 
Best regards,
 
******* *****
Vice President of Boscovs Customer Relations. 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

My complaint of horrible customer service was not addressed.  When speaking with **** I was interrupted and told to, "Eh, eh, eh!  Pronunciate!"  That was extremely insulting and very bad practice in the customer service field.  I stand by all things that said in my original complaint.  Many of my points were ignored in the response that I received.

 

I did contact my insurance provider, ***** Vision, about submitting my claim.  ***** Vision instructed me that they do not provide reimbursements directly to their customers.  Boscov's Optical would have to submit a claim in order for the reimbursement to be processed.  I did investigate this and that is the policy of ***** Vision.  I did provide Boscov's optical with all necessary information to provide to ***** Vision to make it as easy as possible.  Once Boscov's Optical receives the reimbursement, they can then send me a check.

In speaking with ***** Vision, I discovered that they would provide a partial reimbursement for my services to Boscov's Optical, which Boscov's Optical could then pass on to me.  I'm not sure what to do about this horrible treatment.  BBB what do you suggest?  Do I alert the media of this injustice?  Do I alert the police?  Thank you for your time.


Regards,

******** *******








1/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had service on my dryer. The appliance was under warranty at the time so I called for an appointment for a “Technician” to come to the house. He came and checked the dryer, but needed to order parts/wires and that he would have to come back. At this point I was still under warranty, but since he didn’t have the parts to replace it at this time, his next visit in about a week would still be considered under the warranty even though at that point my warranty would have been expired. A few nights before his return my Haier Washer, that I bought as a set with the dryer, stopped spinning out water. These are only 3 year old appliances! The “tech” came back in about week or so to replace warranted parts (shorted out electrical wires) for my dryer. I told the rep I had a problem with the washer as well. He told me it’s probably the water pump. I asked him what would something like that run? He said “probably about $20 for the parts but about $60 for labor”. I said “Well in that case I’ll fix it myself." Since he had his tablet with him I said " would you know the part number for that model?". With his tablet in hand, and in about a minute, he found the part number and told it to me. I said Thank You!! When I received my bill with a charge for “Parts and Labor”, I called to clarify that my dryer was still “under warranty” at the time. I was told it was a charge for the washer! The “tech” charged me for giving me the part number! And their customer service agreed! If the “tech” would have said “that information is going to cost you $30” – I would have looked it up myself!

Desired Settlement: $32.39

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: September 22, 2012 I purchased a ***** mattress from the Boscov's bedding department in *****, PA (a memory foam bed),which I spent $1,800. I was willing to make the investment because they the salesperson told me how great the mattress was and how great the warranty was on the product and how the company stood behind the product. About one week ago, I noticed that the left side of the mattress sunk down a noticeable amount when I sat down on it, which it did not do on the right side. And, if you sit on various spots on the left side, it does not sink either. So, I called up to see how the warranty was on the product for such an issue. After gathering some information, they asked me if there were any stains on the mattress. I checked, and said that there was a small spot up by the top of the mattress. She said that negated the warranty, and the best they could do was give me 20% off the purchase of a new mattress. I was floored. I told them I'm still paying this off. The mattress is only one year old, in good shape (other than the small stain - which is no where near the issue - and of course the "sinking" spot), and I spent $1,800 on it. She said that there was nothing they could do because the mattress was soiled. I said that did not make sense because one has nothing to do with the other. And, it's only one year old. When we bought the mattress they said it had like a 30 year warranty - I had no idea that a stain, which in no way could cause the current problem, could stand in the way of them standing by the warranty that was one of the selling points of the bed. I cannot afford to buy another mattress - especially since I'm still paying this current one off.

Desired Settlement: I feel that they should replace the mattress. I do not think the mattress should have developed this issue in one year, and I do not think a stain - especially one that is no where near the issue - should effect them standing behind the warranty.

Business Response:

December 20, 2013

Better Business Bureau

Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania
50 W. North Street
Bethlehem, PA 18018-2907
Re:  ID # *******

**. *********,

This complaint filed by ***** *******  has been forwarded to me for review and response.

Let me assure you that Boscov’s attempts to resolve all customer service issues in the most professional and courteous manner to preserve goodwill and maintain good business practices.

In reference to the complaint filed by ***** *******, we sincerely apologize for any undue stress that **. ******* has experienced regarding her bedding purchase. Please be advised that spots or stains of any kind on a mattress void the manufacture warranty to due health and sanitary concerns. This is true with all bedding manufactures not just *****.  Therefore a price adjustment or refund for **. *******’s bedding would result in a total loss to Boscov’s. 

However to be fair with **. *******, we will arrange for our third party bedding inspector to inspect the mattress and report their findings. Based on the results of the inspection we will review what we can to address **. *******’s bedding issue.

If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me Monday through Friday during normal business hours at ###-###-#### and we will process her refund. 

Sincerely,

******* *****

Vice President of Boscov’s Customer Relations



Cc:        ******** **********

       ******** ********, RM

               ***** ****, Executive Assistant  

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  

 
One, Boscov's does not list how they will address my issue.  As such, there is no way I could accept their response.
 
Two, I am confused over how a warranty is voided due to spots or stains of any kind due to health and sanitary concerns.  If a defective bed is replaced - whether it has stains or not - how does the the disposal differ?  If they replaced a used mattress without any stains how is that different?  It is not as if they would be reselling or using parts of it in either case.  
 
Three, the bed is just not old enough to be experiencing these issues - an issue completely unrelated to a stain.  What will the mattress will feel like 2-3 years from now?  
 
Finally, I decided to make the pricey purchase because I thought I was buying a "better quality" mattress.  It was an investment, and It was a substantial amount of money for the mattress.  I believe that the mattress is defective, and I do not believe I should be the one to suffer because of that.  

Regards,

***** *******








Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

50 W. North Street

Bethlehem, PA 18018-2907

Re:  ID # *******

**. *********,

I spoke with **. ******* on Monday, December 23, 2013 regarding her mattress. We agreed that the mattress would need to be inspected prior to offering any compensation. Once I have a copy of the inspection report, we will resolve this matter in the best interest of **. *******. I will provide you with an update once this matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *****

Vice President of Boscov’s Customer Relations



Cc:        ******** **********

       ******** ********, RM

               ***** ****, Executive Assistant  

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon purchasing items online and checking out.; they authorized the total amount of $69.97. After items have shipped they also have charged per order that has shipped. They have taken out over additional $70.00 (pre authorized) but the money is being held 5-7 days. There is nothing on their website that states they will pre Authorize each separate transaction

Desired Settlement: This needs to be known that every package that ships will be charged. Along with a pre authorization of the total amount. If anyone places a large order and they will be double billed without ever knowing

Business Response: **. *********,

 
Boscov's fills its on line orders from multiple store locations and not a central location. We don not process charges until the merchandise ships. The pre - authorization will typically be removed and replaced by the charges for the shipped items. If the bank does not do this, it may take 1-5 business days for the orginal hold to be released from the account, depending on the banks policy. This process is outlined on page 4 of our FAQ section on our site. Please see below.
 
Why was I charged even though my order was cancelled? 
Your account is not charged until the order is shipped with the exception of Special Order and Sauder Merchandise. 
Therefore, you would not be charged for a cancelled order. If you see a charge on your account, it is a hold placed by 
your Bank for the amount that would be charged to your account when your order is shipped. This amount has not 
been deducted from your account. This hold will take 5 to 7 business days to be released from your account, 
depending on your bank's policy.
 
If I can be of any further assitance, please feel free to contact me Monday through Friday, during normal business hours.
 
Best regards,
 
******* *****
 
Vice President of Boscov's Cutomer Relations

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: (listed below is there reasoning)---that has nothing to do with a current/past order that is charged to an account every time an item ships. You have the total amount taken out from your account that the bank holds onto. Then if you have three items and they all ship separately (ie: $24.99, $9.99, $36.00), all of those are also placed on hold to your bank account so you are essentially being billed twice by this company until "one falls off from you bank" 

Why was I charged even though my order was cancelled? 
Your account is not charged until the order is shipped with the exception of Special Order and Sauder Merchandise. 
Therefore, you would not be charged for a cancelled order. If you see a charge on your account, it is a hold placed by 
your Bank for the amount that would be charged to your account when your order is shipped. This amount has not 
been deducted from your account. This hold will take 5 to 7 business days to be released from your account, 
depending on your bank's policy.



Regards,

******* ****


Business Response:

December 19, 2013

 

Better Business Bureau

Of Metropolitan Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

50 W. North Street

Bethlehem, PA 18018-2907

 

Re:  ID *******

 

**. *********,

       

This response from ******* **** has been forwarded to me for review and response.

 

Let me assure you that Boscov’s attempts to resolve all customer service issues in the most professional and courteous manner to preserve goodwill and maintain good business practices.

 

Boscov’s fulfills internet orders from multiple store locations; we do not have a central fulfillment location.  Boscov’s Department stores does not settle against any pre-authorization or re-authorization approvals unless merchandise is being shipped.  At that time, the customer is only charged for the amount of merchandise being shipped and any applicable shipping and tax.

We will seek immediate credit authorization for your purchase, which will likely result in a temporary reduction of available credit in the case of a credit card or in available funds in the case of a debit card. We do not charge a card (except for Special Order merchandise) until we are prepared to deliver the item to the customer.

 

If I may be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me Monday through Friday at ###-###-#### or by email at ******************

 

 

Sincerely,

 

******* *****

Vice President of Boscov’s Customer Relations

 

 

 

cc:  ***** ****

       ******** ********* RM 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Boscov's is still not understanding that putting a charge for the FULL amount of the purchase, and then each additional charge is not acceptable. Whether the amount "goes away" as they say, they are still putting a hold onto your money twice. They process the full amount of your invoice, which your bank account puts a hold on. Then when an item ships, they put a hold on THAT amount of money. When another item ships, that amount comes out. They must assume everyone is rich and has extra $300.00 sitting in their accounts just to be held as pending.

Regards,

******* ****



11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased the Bristol Queen Sleeper Sofa on 1/8/12 for use at our condo in Ocean City, MD. We told the salesperson that we rented out the condo for the summer season, but she did not warn us that the manufacturer's warranty may be void. Instead, she sold us an additional 5-yr full fabric replacement warranty. During the 2012 rental season, the mechanical frame evidenced defective function and jamming. Boscov's referred us to the manufacturer (******* ********** in Mississippi) who helped us adjust the frame to mitigate the problem. However, during the 2013 season, the particle board frame supporting the mechanical frame was severely damaged, because the particle board frame was constructed using industrial staples rather than bolts or screws and could not handle the stress caused by the defective function of the mechanical frame. When we contacted Boscov's customer service, they told us that the warranty did not apply, because the product was used in a commercial application. We explained that the salesperson had not informed us of that issue, but instead had sold us an additional fabric warranty that would probably not be honored. We told the customer service rep that the fabric cover, which would be most likely to show wear in the case of abuse, was in excellent condition. I explained that the construction of the frame was inadequate and that we should be compensated for having been sold an inferior product at substantial price ($699.99 on sale). The customer service rep told us that there was nothing Boscov's would do for us. Therefore, we sent an email to Boscov's customer service and the manager of the Salisbury store with attachments including a letter of complaint, photos of the damaged sleeper sofa, and photos of the repairs we were obliged to make to restore functionality. We also copied the Salisbury Area Chamber of Commerce, and we would be happy to forward this material to you for your consideration.

Desired Settlement: We have requested compensation in the amount of no less than $200, including reimbursement of the $79.99 we paid for the fabric warranty, as well as reasonable compensation for the repairs we made to reconstruct and reinforce the wooden frame, which required most of 3 days of our own effort and minor costs for materials.

Business Response: **. *********,


In reference to this complaint filed by ****** * **********. Please be advised that we spoke with **. ********** by telephone on Tuesday, November 5, 2013. As a customer service gesture, we offered and  **. ********** accepted a refund in the amount of $175, which represents 25% of the cost of the sleeper sofa.

If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me Monday through Friday during normal business hours.

Sincerly,

******* *****
Vice President of Boscov's Customer Relations

Consumer Response: From: <**********************>
Date: Fri, Nov 22, 2013 at 6:48 PM
Subject: Complaint ID ******* relating to Bristol Queen Sleeper Sofa from Boscov's
Cc: ***************************** *********************** *************************


In response to the letter from ****** ********* dated 11/20/13, I acknowledge receipt of a $175 refund in settlement of my complaint relating to the subject purchase.  I accept the settlement as complete, provided that the 5-year fabric full replacement warranty we purchased from Boscov's will be honored in the event of a claim.  I was assured by Boscov's customer service during the telephone conversation on 11/5/13, as referenced in the letter, that the warranty remains valid. 
 
I appreciate the support of BBB for the settlement of this complaint.
 
Sincerely,
****** *. **********
**** ****** **** ***
******* ** *****

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have excellent credit. I recently opened an account with Boscov's. I received my first statement in July which was due on July 24, 2013. I mailed a check paying the balance of $809.48 in full on 7/16/2013. I received a subsequent statement in August with a $25.00 late charge. The payment of $809.48 was posted on 7/27/2013. On 8/6/2013, I called 1-800-755-7872 (the number on the statement) to discuss the matter. The representative with whom I spoke, ********, indicated that they could not control when payment was posted to the account. I paid the fee and closed the account. However, when I asked the representative why after seeing that this is a new account and I am a strong credit customer she did not offer to credit the charge, she said "you didn't ask me to." She also indicated that this account does not have a 15 day grace period albeit a moot point considering they should have received payment in ample time of the due date. Moreover, the representative was disrespectful. I requested to speak with a manager. I was then put on hold for such a long period of time I had no choice but to hang up. I subsequently called Boscov's headquarters. The representative there indicated that ******* *** handles their accounts and placed me on hold again for such a lengthy amount of time that again I had no choice but to hang up. There is nothing on my statement that indicates this is a ******* *** account. The first representative answered the phone as "Boscov's" representative. Whether *** *** or Boscov's, the policy of posting a customer's payment most likely significantly later than received and then charging a $25.00 late fee when the posting date is only three days after the due date seems an unfair business policy if not an illegal credit practice. To further couple it with the inability to speak with someone at a managerial level escalates the dissatisfaction. Thank you for your assistance.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund of the $25.00 late fee. It would also be beneficial to see the policy changed.

Business Response:

Re:  ID# *******

*** **********

 

This complaint filed by ******* ******* has been forwarded to me for review and response.

 

Let me assure you that Boscov’s attempts to resolve all customer service issues in the most professional and courteous manner to preserve goodwill and maintain good business practices.

 

Please be advised that ******* * owns and supports the Boscov’s credit portfolio. Therefore, we are subject to the terms and conditions of our agreement with ******* *.  It can take 7 to 10 business days by mail for a payment to be received and posted to an account. Obviously, in **** *******’s case it appears that it did take an unusual amount of time for her payment to post to her account. I can assure you that this delay was not done for the purpose to generate extra late fees.  Please be advised that I have spoken with ******* * and they are expressing a check for **** ******* in the amount of $ 25, which represents the late fee in question.

 

We sincerely apologize for any undue stress that this issue has caused ****. *****.

 

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me Monday through Friday during normal business hours at ************ or by email at *******************

 

Sincerely,

 ******* *****

Vice President, Boscov’s Customer Relations 

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We booked ***** ********* cruise line ******** of the ****, travel date was 07/05/2013, due to the ship caught on fired the company cancelled the trip, how ever, we were bought insurance through boscov's travel cost $110.00, they did not refund my money, talked to agent, she told us had to wait for head quater decied what to do and never heard anything from them again.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money

Business Response:

Response to BBB Complaint ID ******* - ***** *. ****

Concerning the complaint filed by ***** **** and the purchase of a travel

insured insurance policy, this refund is being processed.  According to the

Customer Service Manager of Travel Insured International, as ofMonday July

8 at 3:15pm, the policy in question is cancelled due to the cancelled *****

********* ****** onboard the ******** of the **** and a refund of the policy

in the amount of $110.00 will appear on the credit card statement within 5-7

business days.

Boscov's Travel and Travel Insured International apologies for the delay in

the processing of this refund and will be in touch with Tracy to verify

receipt of the refund.

Regards,

***** ****, Regional Manager

 

Business Response:   {Please see below.}

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 3/23/13 I bought at Bosov's curtains for $25.65. On 3/27 I returned same and the employee charged me 22.44 for the same item. On my bill I was billed for both these items i.e. $25.65 nd $22.44 and do not have the curtains. I tried resolving this at the store and on the phone but have been told that ******* *** who is the owner of Boscov's account needs to have from ME a detailed letter indicating the nature of the dispute. Customer service is a joke with ******* *** and Boscov's when the onus is on the consumer. I am aware that if they do this a number of times, the consumer will give up and ******* *** will get paid for double billing. Multiply this by a hundred or a thousand and you can see how much fraud income they will receive. I believe this are procedures are in place to bilk the consumer.

Desired Settlement: I want to be credited, i.e. have both these charges taken off my bill. I also am canceling my credit card with Boscov's and am checking any other cards. If they show that ******* *** is the holder I will cancel those.

Business Response:   {Please see attachment.}

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********

5/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 8th, 2013 I ordered for my wife two Gopher Pickup Tools, The handy helper that reaches so you dont have to. It's now March 27th, 2013, have not received anything but a runaround from these people. After several email exchanges expressing my complaint and receiving their promise to look into the problem, nothing has happened except they have quit responding to my emails. Have filed a formal request for refund with ********** which is pending.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY MONEY REFUNDED, PERIOD.....

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to report an ongoing problem with mattresses purchased at Boscov’s Department Store. My complaint involves the fifth (5) mattress purchased from Boscov’s that has again collapsed after only 3 years. The mattress, a Sterns and Foster, has a lifetime warranty. I proceeded to go through the steps of having the mattress inspected and writing them a letter about my concerns with their products. They claim that the mattress is defective but due to “a stain” they will not replace it. I have the letter stating they will not replace it. Due to issues with mattresses from their store in the past on the day the mattress was delivered we immediately encased it in a plastic mattress protector. We also put a waterproof egg crate foam covering on top of that than our bedding. There is no stain on the mattress. Yet to get out of replacing it they claim there is. The inspector that came had 18 other beds to check on that day. This is just more evidence that there are issues with Boscov’s mattresses. Each time they replaced the mattress with some jumping through hoops on my part. This time they are trying to escape replacing it or reimbursing us the $2000 so that we can replace it. At this point my goal is to be paid back $2000 and to go to a reputable store that doesn’t sell seconds. I have the letter from 2009 when we again had to have a mattress replaced and the letter from 2013 asking for this one to be replaced. Please review them for more information on this problem with Boscov’s and collapsing mattresses. I also have the postmarked envelope showing even though the letter is dated 2/25/2013 they only mailed it 3/13/2013. Their solution to the problem was to give us a 20% off coupon for a new (second quality) mattress that expires 3/25/2013. We are not interested in purchasing another defective mattress after five have failed each only lasting 2 or 3 years and each having Lifetime Warranties. We are only interested in a full refund so we may purchase decent bedding. I have included other similar complaints about them doing this to other customers. Complaints posted Online ****** ** *********** ** on Jan. 29, 2012 Satisfaction Rating2/5 I purchased a Sealy firm pillow top mattress in November 2006. I started having a lot of issues with it in 2010. I called Boscov's customer service, technician came and measured, took pictures, etc. Customer service states mattress falls within correct parameters of their specs with regard to the warranty. This back and forth measuring with Premier has been nothing short of a total joke. This company is contracted by Boscovs and of course they work for them, forgets about any goodwill gestures or even working with the consumer! This mattress costs over $1,000 and you cannot even sleep on it. That money was just like throwing it down a toilet! I was told by a salesman at the Colonial Park store that you have to really keep on customer service to do anything for you or if they (Boscovs) will not do anything for the consumer because they do not want to lose money! And he also stated that mattresses only last around 6 years, so to heck with the consumer. I was also told by a customer service rep. that I bought a plush soft mattress and this is how it is supposed to be! I know what I bought in 2006 and it was a firm pillow top! What a bunch of liars! They will do anything or say anything to get out of upholding any type of warranty a consumer has with any type of purchase! I will never shop or buy at this shoddy store ever again. They even sell seconds and thirds from what I have been told when I spoke with another store in the area. So buyers beware! Their reputation sucks and they won't do one darn thing for the customer nor will they believe you! Do not shop here is my best advice. I hope they go out of business with the way they treat their customers. Never shop at any Boscovs location! Horrible store to deal with! No customer service whatsoever and no goodwill, either. This has been very upsetting considering what I paid for this mattress in 2006. ******* ** ******* ** on Dec. 13, 2011 Satisfaction Rating1/5 I purchased a mattress back in June 18, 2011. It started sagging in the middle. I called Boscovs. They sent an inspector. He came, took the bed apart, took pictures, and confirmed there is an issue with the mattress. The mattress was under warranty. Now Boscovs said they would not replace and said my support under the springs wasn't enough. I have 3 extra support slates. I even went out and purchased 3 more. I had this bed for over 25 years and never had a problem with a mattress. I owned a Stearns and Fosters prior for 20 years. I only replaced it because of the age of the Stearns and Foster mattress. I have a friend who had a mattress she purchased from ****s for 2 years and had hers replaced with no questions asked. It was under "warranty" that's why. I am receiving back problems because of this new mattress sagging in the middle. I already paid $418.32 out of $905.29 paid. I owe a balance of $418.32. I've been an outstanding customer with them for years. How can they do this to consumers? My mother ******* and I will never shop there again. I cancelled my credit card with them. I am so upset. Please have this dispute waived and my balance cleared. This mattress is unusable. Thank you. ****** ** ********** ** on April 20, 2012 Satisfaction Rating2/5 The seam on the left foot, the left side has split; therefore I am unable to wear it in public. I spent $50.00 for the Sketcher's shoes I bought at Boscov's 3 months ago. I will furnish a picture or return it to the store for refund. ****** ** ******* ** on Jan. 29, 2012 Satisfaction Rating2/5 I also have an issue with Boscovs' customer service. In November, 2011, I placed an order through Boscovs' site for 9 identical items. I received an email response, confirming the order, with the explanation that there would be separate shipments at no additional shipping cost to me. So far, so good. My purchase arrived in separate packages from 4 different stores. Of the 9 identical items ordered, 2 still had the security tags attached, and 2 were the wrong brand. So for you math fans out there, Boscovs managed to screw up 44% of my order, signaling that their quality control is seriously lacking. They did remove the security tags, and mailed those items back to me. However, they couldn't replace the 2 items that were the wrong brand, and refused to give me a full refund, refunding the cost of only one item. I called Boscovs twice, and both times, they refused to budge. I told them that this was the first time I had bought from them, and that it would be the last, but clearly they didn't care. I contacted my credit card company, and they promptly agreed to refund the remaining amount. Thank you ***** ****, you are the best. I would recommend that Boscovs executives read **** ****** book, Delivering Happiness, on creating a customer-centric culture at ******. In the meantime, this customer will vote with her pocketbook, and take my repeat business elsewhere. **** ** ******* ** on April 30, 2011 We got about six months of complaint out of this poorly constructed Sealy mattress. We first contacted Sealy. They don't want to speak with consumers and tells you to go to where you purchased the mattress—that was at Boscov's. They in turn sent out an independent representative. Sadly, Boscov's was financially saved by ** and continues selling junk. Is it possible that these are recycled mattresses? We've had poor night's sleep and absolutely no support from the manufacturer or the retailer. We will buy another brand but never from Boscov's. mattress is unusable. Thank you. ******** ** ********* ** on Sept. 11, 2007 I bought a ****** *** Sienna Bouquet Mattress King size pillow top at Boscov's on 5/13/06. A year later the mattress is sinking and is very soft on one size. I called Boscovs to have a rep. come out from Spring air to see what could be done. Two weeks later and they tell me there is nothing they can do. I called ****** *** who then told me there is nothing they can do to call Boscovs. So noone wants to fix the problem since they told me the depression in the bed is normal. At this point I have a bed that I can't sleep in that I spent 1400 on and I now have hip and back problems from this bed. The mattress company need to be held reliable for this mattress when consumers are spending the money on these beds. ? I boxspring set from Boscov;s about 3 weeks ago. I have not had a decent nights sleep since then. I have had to go to a chiropractor for care of my painful back. All I can say is this....The salesman was very quick to jump in and say hey if you get a Boscov's charge you can take up to one year to pay with no interest...FUNNY HE FORGOT THE PART ABOUT MATTRESSES CANNOT BE RETURNED...WE HAVE 30 DAY "COMFORT" POLICY WHERE MATTRESSES CAN BE EXCHANGED...HE FORGOT THE PART THAT THE MATTRESS EXCHANGED MUST BE OF GREATER OR EQUAL VALUE... AND THERE WOULD BE A 10% RESTOCKING FEE AND A 70.00 DELIVERY CHARGE... really? Where is Judge Judy now. Insult was further added to injury when the same salesman told me I would have to call customer service as they were not permitted to get involved...ARE YOU KIDDING ME? You can sell me a mattress, not tell me about the return policy or rather the exchange policy...real nice Boscov's. You suck!!!!!!!!!!! All I wanted was a good night's sleep instead it is a nightmare every night. I will never shop in your store and would strongly suggest others not shop there as well. Now I have a 2500.00 mattress and boxspring that are unbearable to sleep on. You should be ashamed of yourself!!!!!! Anonymous 3/19/12 9:25PM We purchased ****** *** Infinity at Boscov's Jan 4th, 2008 for $1,600. Within the first week, we noticed that sinking feeling, like sleeping on a wet sponge. We wake up in the middle of the night to climb out of sinkhole. Rotating the mattress weekly did not help. Called Boscov's within 30 days of purchase, was told it was a "Comfort Issue" and not covered by warranty. They agreed to send mattress evaluator to see if mattress sags with nobody on it. The Evaluator and I agreed that his "String Test" for sagging is not relevant to the problem. Therefore, no need for him to visit. He would send report detailing my complaint. It is obvious that ****** *** and Boscov's are well aware of defective product, but cannot afford to make it right. Lesson learned: People don't return quality products. Buy a good mattress from a reputable store that backs their products with a genuine warranty. We purchased a mattress, and during the purchase we asked the lady if they will remove the old mattress. She stated yes. the delivery company's driver who was very rude, dropped off the new mattress and just went downstairs, when i asked him what about the removal, then he went and informed me that the mattress has a stain and they can't take it. So i have a mattress sitting in my house that was supposed to be removed. Boscov's has been very unprofessional in handling this issue, and expect me to remove the mattress, i am a senior citizen and already living on a tight budget. I did not sign on receipt of the mattress as the agreed deal was that they would remove the old mattress. Boscov's Corporate customer service will not return the bed, nor will they remove my old bed. Deliver Company very rude, unprofessional, ****** ***** ******** ******* ****** ***** ******** boscovs Complaint Reviewed by *******9 All boscovs Reviews ADVERTISEMENT bad mattress - spring air mattress I purchased a mattress in July,08 from you. You sent out an adjuster who clearly stated the mattress is defective but it had 2 small yellow stains on it. I can find no such stains, easily brushed them off-looked like chalk, and I want a second opinion. If the mattress is defective within 8 months, stains or not it needs to be replaced or I want my $1,035.00 credited to my account. This is just not good business practices towards a faithful, 20 year customer We bought the Sealy Posturepedic Spring-Free River Crest king size mattress a few months ago. It's worse than the old mattress we tossed out. It is so badly indented, it looks like an old mattress. With two people sleeping in it, it mounds in the middle. We wake up with backaches. We called Boscov's about it and they sent an independent contractor to see how bad the indentation was. He measured it and told my husband it was almost 2". Boscov's claimed it was less than 1-1/2", therefore they said Sealy's warranty would not apply. (This warranty arrived with the mattress, so we didn't know about this beforehand.) Needless to say we'll never buy another thing from Boscov's or Sealy, or recommend them. Nothing is perfect but thiis a piece of junk. It cost over $2500. Buyers beware.

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed $2000 or replacement value for another king mattress at a reputable store.

Business Response:   {Please see attachment.}

Consumer Response:   {Please see attachment.}








Business Response: Please see attachment.

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi I did an exchange on a sealy europillow top matress that was defective. I listened to the consultant, instead of picking out the matress of my choice, who was very kind... Needless, this top of the line matress is as hard as a board. I tried to call the customer service, which is what the store dept suggested, they weren't sympathetic, to my health needs, nor the fact I haven't been able to sleep for a month. I tried to break the bed in what the sales rep suggested--- needless, I haven't been able to sleep. I did go into the store on Friday, and questioned the matress upon delivery--

Desired Settlement: I'd like to exchange the matress for one of my choice... which would have been the a coil matress. the foam, doesn't even take shape like it's supposed to.-- I just want a good nights rest, and I don't want to be stuck with a matress, I can't even sleep on.

Business Response:   {Please see attachment.}

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Store did an excellent job with an exchange! Service is awesome!!!! in sales.. finally found a matress I could sleep on!

Regards,

******** ******

4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: {Please see attachment.}

Desired Settlement: {Please see attachment.}

Business Response:

Dear *** *********,

The complaint filed by ***** ***** has been investigated and I am pleased to report that we were able to resolve this matter.       

**** ***** verified that the new motor has been installed in her lift chair. This is the second time a new motor has been installed, and although there was no charge for the part **** ***** did pay $100.00 in installation fees, plus $15.00 in other expenses.

I spoke with **** ***** today and she agreed to accept a check in the amount of $150.00 as reimbursement for these expenses. In addition, I have given her my contact information should she have any further issues with the chair.

Please let me know if you require any additional information.

Sincerely,

******** ********

 

 

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Toshiba television from boscovs in ********** last march and have since have had a technician out to my house two times now. the repair service only works 9-5 which I find highly unusual for a customer service related issue. I have taken off from work both times to wait for the serviceman. The first time he came out he told me that he has no idea whats wrong and has never heard of a problem like mine before but he would order a mainboard and replace that. He never even looked at the inside of the tv or even waited long enough to hear the clicking noise I was complaining about. I work everyday and had a hard time getting time off for the second visit. The next time he came out he proceeded to tell me that the things he told me to try the first time he was out were wrong. He then asked me if I could setup a card table to lay the tv on so he didn’t have to put it on the stand it came with. When I told him I didn’t have one he then went out to his truck to get his and asked me to help him take the tv off the stand. Thank goodness I was not an elderly customer or im not sure how he would have handled the tv. As he was taking the screws out of the back of the tv he was sweating and it was dripping down into the inside of the tv. Does this have something to do with the tv now being worse? He put the new mainboard in and asked me if the neon pink color that now is in the picture was there before. I guess he didn’t really look at the picture when he was complaining about the changes I made per his suggestions. I told him no it wasn’t pink and he said I guess the mainboard is bad. I told him that it wasn’t acceptable to leave my tv in worse condition than when he came in and he told me there was nothing he could do about it, that things happen and I should call and scream at someone else. I suggested he put the original mainboard back in to at least alleviate the neon pink color and he told me he broke that taking it out so I would just have to wait and there was nothing else he could do. I find this to be the worst customer service I have ever had to deal with and then to call the next day since it was 5:15pm when ***** left my house and be told that the tv will not be replaced until every part is replaced is totally unacceptable. I purchased the extended warranty with the expectation of bosovs living up to their side of it but have not seen anything that remotely tells me the store is going to honor its warranty. I can be reached at ************.

Desired Settlement: The only thing I asked for was that Boscovs replace the tv. When I purchased the extended warranty I was told that if the tv could not be fixed than it would be replaced.

Business Response:

Dear *** *********

I contacted our Service Department in reference to this complaint. I was informed that the part needed to repair *** *****' TV was sent (overnight) to her home and an appointment was set up for after 4PM to accomodate *** ***** work scedule. A new technician (not the one originally involved) was sent to complete the repairs.

Service also informed me that *** ***** called the department to thank them for their help. I did attempt to call *** ***** to make sure that she is satisfied with the outcome. I left a voice message but have not heard back.

I trust that all parties will now consider the matter resolved.

Sincerely,

******** ******** / Claims Administrator

3/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: II purchased a sofa in November of 2012 that immediately started to show signs of wear. The threading on one of the foot rests started to unravel. We contacted **** and Boscov's. Boscov's finally contacted us and sent someone out (3 week wait) and he said he needed to order fabric (6 week wait). When he came back to replace the fabric it was the wrong one. He said he would need to order a whole new foot rest. It has been five weeks and when I contacted Boscov's customer service he told me that technically they did repair it but he would get me an install date and send a gift card for my "trouble" I told him I do not want a gift card, I want my sofa fixed correctly. He promised a call back Monday. It has now been 9 days and I have not heard back yet.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a repair in the next 7 days (by 3/25/2013) or a refund equal to one third the cost: $226.00 returned.

Business Response: {Please see attachment.}

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** ******

3/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document
***** **** ** *** *** **** ********************************************************************

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

*** **********

The complaint filed by ******** **** has been investigated.

I contacted our ********* ** store and spoke with *****, the Jewelry Dept. Manager. She advised that when *** **** initiallly took her ring in to be repaired there was some confusion over her Boscoverage warranty due to an error on the part of our associate. I am pleased to report that the ring has since been repaired at no charge to *** ****, and was picked up by her in February.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to *** ****. I have erqiested a $30.00 gift card which I will be sending to her as a customer relations gesture. 

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,

******** ********

Claims Administrator 

2/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/28/2012 Delivery Issues
8/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/31/2012 Delivery Issues
1/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues