BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maryam Seifi DDS PA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maryam Seifi DDS PA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maryam Seifi DDS PA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1990 in MD Business started locally: 03/06/1990 Business under new ownership as of: 03/06/1991 Business incorporated 03/06/1991 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Health And Mental Hygiene-MD
201 West Preston Street, Baltimore MD 21201
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/SitePages/Home.aspx
Phone Number: 410-767-6500
webadministrator@dhmh.state.md.us
The number is 10596.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Maryam Seifi, President Ms. Nina Kimmel, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Nina Kimmel, CFO
Principal: Dr. Maryam Seifi, President
Business Category

Dentists

Alternate Business Names
Starbrite Dental

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 3 years ago I needed a **** *****. I made a free consultation appointment at a dental office. After the consultation, they quoted me a price I couldn't afford and they told me I could pay for the **** ***** using **** ******. A few days later I called and cancelled the appointment. I told them I didn't want the job to be done and please cancel everything. They wanted me to come to the office to sign papers and talked to them about why I cancel the appointment, I refused. The day of the free consultation was the first and only time I went to that dental office. Months later I started receiving statements from **** ******. After calling them and explaining to them the situation, they closed the account. Since I didn't have anything done at the dental office, I thought everything was over. Until recently when I pulled up my credit and found out I owed **** ****** $1,160. This debt, which I don't owe has ruined my credit and it will stay on my credit until 2020. That can't happen. I tried resolving the issue with them. They told me it's been about 3 years and that I'm on my own. I also contacted **** ******, they haven't been helping either. I will use any and every legal resources I can to resolve this problem and if I have to hire a lawyer, so be it.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome would be for StarBrite Dental to honor the free consultation they gave me, refund **** ****** their $1,160, and repair my credit by removing the over due **** ****** bill.

Business Response:


Dear BBB - ** ******* also contacted our office recently and we sent him the below response. We had done everything in our power to resolve this issue for *** ******* and had refunded him for all services not rendered back in 2012. He also filed a complaint with **** ****** Dispute Department. Once **** ****** reviewed the documents we forwarded them, they too closed *** ******* case in our favor. 


************************************************************


EMAIL  TO *** ******* on 3-19-15


** *******,


Thank you for sending this via email.


I have reviewed your situation. You came to the office indeed on 12/21/2012. That day you signed the consent form for treatment. And we started your treatment with *** (CONTENT REMOVED DUE TO PRIVACY RIGHTS) and the needed *** (CONTENT REMOVED DUE TO PRIVACY RIGHTS) for the tooth needing *** (CONTENT REMOVED DUE TO PRIVACY RIGHTS).


You called back 6 days later on 12/27/2012 to let us know that you weren't going to make the next day's appointment. The person you spoke to at the time said she was going to call you back. She called you back 2 hours later but had to leave a message. She was trying to find out what you needed.


On 01/06/2013 you left a message on our voicemail on a Sunday to let us know that you wanted to cancel further treatment. This is 16 days later.


We then tried to get hold of you to go over the cancellation and how to proceed with it - as we do need your physical signature - but you have never answered any of our numerous calls.


Not being able to contact you for an appointment (for cancellation), we refunded you the rest of the treatment which was undelivered. What was charged was $829 for the services rendered. The additional amount is probably from **** ****** themselves charging fees as their monthly statements weren't being taken care of or responded to.


At this point it has been almost three years since this occurred, with **** ****** sending you monthly statements. Because treatment was started that day and as we weren't able to get your signature on the cancellation, there is nothing more I can do. The matter has been archived.


I do hope you can sort it out rapidly for yourself.


Regards,


Celine


Office Manager


Business Response:

Dear *** *******,

Consultation are complimentary when no treatment is started and where the records are archived. When treatment is started, then those records become part of the patients permanent chart and are used for further use during treatment. For example when a patient comes in for  a second opinion only, the doctor sees them and when they return to their original dentist or whatnot,  their records are archived as "Not Actual Patient" and are not entered into our active patient database, this is when it's complimentary. In your case, you started treatment, so your records and visit were entered into our active patient database and those costs would have been tied into what you paid for your **** *****, crown and buildup, but as you cancelled your treatment, we therefore only charged out for services you received and credited for services not received.

Hope this helps.

Warmly,

Celine Mirre

Office Manager

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response for the following reasons:

You tried multiple times to reach me. Now, in all those attempts, why didn't you or the people who were calling me, at least informed me that I would have been charged for that free consultation? It's amazing how many times you guys tried to reach me, but not once, have you mentioned or left me message saying that I would be charged. Would you clarify that for me? 

Now, you said you have every call, email, and text made to and from me. In one of my conversations with you guys, you insisted that I came in to sign papers and one thing I remembered asking you guys was to email those papers and I would sign them. But you guys made it clear that you wouldn't do it, just like I made it clear that I was not going back to the office. I think you guys were mad that I refused to go back to the office and decided to charge me for that. That's greedy. 

There must have been a plan of care for that **** *****. I would like for you to make it available too. 

Now, I didn't sign the papers when you guys asked me to, or anytime at all for that matter. How was the treatment finally cancelled without my signature, which was what I asked you guys to do from the very beginning? 

You guys decided to bill me on 3/26/2013. If you look at my ledger, I was already getting the job done somewhere else. Or was it because you guys found out and decided to charge then? 

This part that I'm underlying is very important: "We did not hear from the patient for almost 2.5 years at which point we received an email from him on  3/13/2015 and shortly thereafter the start of this BBB Complaint."

The reason you guys didn't hear from me is because I've been arguing and complaining to **** ****** for charging me, when I should have been contacting you. I have had countless contacts with **** ****** and opened two investigations against them trying to resolve this matter. But it never occurred to me to have called StarBrite because I never thought they would be greedy enough to have charged me for a FREE CONSULTATION, which they now called complimentary. I've been contacting **** ****** and they had nothing to do with my case. StarBrite started all this. 

StarBrite decided to charge me for a free consultation, when they shouldn't have, but did because of greed. 

If StarBrite didn't decide to charge me for a free consultation, I would have never owed **** ******. So you guys have to do whatever you have to do including, paying **** ****** that money because I'm not paying it, for I don't owe it. 

Like I said before, I would never accept that I owe you guys because I don't. And I would use any and every legal resources that I can to resolve this. 


Regards,

Joseph Antoine








7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday, May 19, 2013, I purchased during an emergency dental appointment with Dr. Maryam Seifi, who was not my regular dentist, a removable dental partial in the amount of $1,850.00. On May 23, 2013, the partial was ready for pick-up. After several unsuccessful attempts to properly adjust the partial, to be usable, it continued to be defective and dug into my gums. I was not able to wear the partial. It could not be used without extreme pain for eating, talking and breathing. Any moment inside my mouth caused the partial to move and dig deeply into my gums. As soon as the partial was removed, I was pain free. I contacted Dr. Seifi to request a refund, which she refused. Refunds on other services billed but not provided have already been worked out between Dr. Seifi's office and my credit card company. I have previously filed complaints regarding my **** and treatments provided by Dr. Seifi to the Maryland Board of Dentists, my credit card company for charges on services not performed and with ********** County Consumer Affairs. All of my issues I originally had complained about have been resolved, except for the refund for the defective, not-fit-for-purpose removable partial in the amount of $1850.00. Consumer Affairs reported to me that Dr. Seifi would not negotiate or mediate this issue with them. My regular dentist, Dr. ******* ********, had to make another removable partial for me at a cost of $1850, so I could eat and talk. Both partials have been paid in full by me. At this time, I am hoping your services will help facilitate a refund for the defective merchandise. Dr. Seifi had previously stated to another agency that my pain was caused by not following up with other dental procedures in her office. She is not my regular dentist, and my regular dentist takes **** of all of my dental needs. The pain I was experiencing was solely caused by a defective partial digging into my gum with sharp edges. Consumer Affair office indicated I am able to file suit in ********** County District Court, but via a phone call to their office, they indicated I might want to try filing a complaint with BBB first. Consumer Affairs indicated that if I filed suit, I would be unable to try to resolve this issue with your agency. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $1850 for the removable dental partial which could not be used for eating, talking, swallowing or any other slight movement of the mouth.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,
                       
Patient ***** **** has previously sent this same claim to the Maryland State Dental board, in which case I was asked and had provided the board with all the x-rays, notes and laboratory documents for their full professional review. After reviewing her case in full, the Dental Board of Maryland found no wrong doing and closed her case.
 
She also disputed her credit card charges with **** Credit, who again found no wrong doing and closed her case. She then filed a recent complaint with the Maryland Office of the Attorney General (Consumer Protection Division) and we sent them all the same information as to everything myself and my office has done to satisfy the patient.
 
I have adjusted her custom made removal partial denture and have offered to do more adjustments as needed. This custom fabricated appliance can not be returned as it is completely custom made and adjusted to the patient.
 
At this point a lot of time and effort both from me and different agencies has been put on this case. All agencies have closed the patient’s case in our favor and I’m sure if the patient chooses to file suit as she mentions in her letter to the BBB, the courts will also decide in the same fashion but in the event of a court case my office will be asking for all losses to be covered for the duration of this case.
 
  If the BBB requires more information please feel free to contact me.
 
           
Regards,
 
 
 
Maryam Seifi, DDS

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  It doesn't offer refund for the defective partial.  Dr. Seifi herself had told me no further adjustments could be made to it.  I had gone back on 3 different occasions to try to work with her.    It dug into my gums and was 100% unsuable.  I could not eat with it, talk with it, etc.  I had to walk around toothless because of the pain the partial caused me.    I have since had a properly made removable partial made by my regular dentist and it works as it should.  I can eat and talk with comfort. 

The credit card company did not find in favor of Dr. Seifi, as she stated to you.  Instead, they found in my favor on all parts of my complaint to them, except for the removable bridge, in which the credit card company stated I would have to pursue that with a different agency.  They only give a few reasons for refunds on the credit card and defective merchandise was not one of the options.

Thank you for you help in this matter.


Regards,

***** ****








Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

Please find my reply to each of ***** ****’s concerns below.

POINT 1. She states: “It doesn't offer refund for the defective partial.  Dr. Seifi herself had told me no further adjustments could be made to it.  I had gone back on 3 different occasions to try to work with her.    It dug into my gums and was 100% unsuable.  I could not eat with it, talk with it, etc.  I had to walk around toothless because of the pain the partial caused me.    I have since had a properly made removable partial made by my regular dentist and it works as it should.  I can eat and talk with comfort.”

REPLY: As noted in my original response: I have adjusted her custom made removal partial denture and have offered to do more adjustments as needed. This custom fabricated appliance can not be returned as it is completely custom made and adjusted to the patient.

Additionally: The partial is not and was not defective as verified by the dental board in their full review and examination.

 

POINT 2. She stated: “The credit card company did not find in favor of Dr. Seifi, as she stated to you.  Instead, they found in my favor on all parts of my complaint to them, except for the removable bridge, in which the credit card company stated I would have to pursue that with a different agency.  They only give a few reasons for refunds on the credit card and defective merchandise was not one of the options.”

 

REPLY: Once the patient confirmed that she was not returning to my practice, my office refunded to care credit those services not rendered. So therefore there was no “findings” in the patients favor as she states. On the contrary, when the patient attempted a refund for the partial denture, the credit agency closed the matter in our favor.

 

Regards,

Dr. Maryam Seifi

 

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:   The dental partial is not fit-for-purpose, as has always been my complaint since it was made.  When I spent $1850.00, I spent this good money on a product that I was told I would be able to eat, talk, drink, swallow, etc.  This product does not allow me to do any of these things.  I went back to Dr. Seifi's office on three occasions to have adjustments made and after my third visit, I was told no further adjustments could be made or the partial would not be able to properly anchor to any teeth and could fall out.  The partial is flexible and on the replacement teeth, if anything touches the replacement teeth, it pushes the partial deeply into my gums with the sharp edges of the partial. digging in  The pain was unbearable in matters of minutes of the partial in my mouth and I had to walk around toothless.    I had to go to my regular dentist and pay an additional $1850 to have a properly made partial for me.  I could not continue to walk around toothless and I didn't want my remaining teeth to start shifting.    With my replacement partial, I am able to eat, drink, swallow and talk as I should. 

   The custom fabricated applicance might be completely custom made, but it is also completely not fit-for-purpose.  The dental board never saw my partial and I would have great difficulty if by the word of this dentist to the dental board that they could find it fit-for-purpose.  My own dentist indicated it would continue to dig in my mouth because of how it was designed to anchor on the teeth did not support the implanted teeth from sinking downward into my gums.

CREDIT CARD:  Yes, for services not rendered I did received a credit.  But when I first approached the dentist for a refund of services not rendered, she refused and told me they wouldn't issue me any refunds.  After I filed the complaint with the credit card company, she did credit the services not rendered back to my account.  Also, the credit card company made other adjustments on their own for a few other services that were rendered  The only fee they were not able to help me with was for the partial.

The credit card company did not find in favor of Dr. Seifi for the credit of $1850 for the partial.  Instead, the credit card company indicated that a quality of product was not a reason for them to give a refund and that I would need to pursue another avenue for restitution.  The credit card company ONLY gives refunds for the following reasons:  1) Your card was charged for products or services that you did not receive (I was able to get the refund for the charges in this category);  2) Your healthcare provider promised you a refund for charges on your credit card that is not reflect on your account (this didn't apply to me for the partial); 3) You did not authorize the application for your card, or you did not authorize the specific charges that you dispute (this did not apply to me); and finally 4) You were not adequately informed about and did not understand that you would owe interest on your account if not paid in full within your promotional period (also does not apply to me).  As you can see, the credit card company was unable to help with the $1850.00 credit.

 

===============================================

POINT 1. She states: “It doesn't offer refund for the defective partial. Dr. Seifi herself had told me no further adjustments could be made to it. I had gone back on 3 different occasions to try to work with her. It dug into my gums and was 100% unsuable. I could not eat with it, talk with it, etc. I had to walk around toothless because of the pain the partial caused me. I have since had a properly made removable partial made by my regular dentist and it works as it should. I can eat and talk with comfort.”

REPLY: As noted in my original response: I have adjusted her custom made removal partial denture and have offered to do more adjustments as needed. This custom fabricated appliance can not be returned as it is completely custom made and adjusted to the patient.

Additionally: The partial is not and was not defective as verified by the dental board in their full review and examination.

POINT 2. She stated: “The credit card company did not find in favor of Dr. Seifi, as she stated to you. Instead, they found in my favor on all parts of my complaint to them, except for the removable bridge, in which the credit card company stated I would have to pursue that with a different agency. They only give a few reasons for refunds on the credit card and defective merchandise was not one of the options.”

REPLY: Once the patient confirmed that she was not returning to my practice, my office refunded to **** credit those services not rendered. So therefore there was no “findings” in the patients favor as she states. On the contrary, when the patient attempted a refund for the partial denture, the credit agency closed the matter in our favor.v


Regards,

***** ****








11/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********* has billed me for services which I did not receive and I do not want. They have already been paid fraudulently for services not rendered. Despite several emails, they refuse to return the funds to the finance company and have been unethical, unprofessional and disrespectful to me.

Desired Settlement: Removal of charges for services not rendered.

Business Response: Emails were received from patient on October 12, 2013 and attempts were made to amend the issue and have the patient come in to see the doctor to resolve any issues.  By October 18, 2013 this had not been resolved and patient refused to see the doctor.  So at that point ** ********** was contacted by our office for them to refund the patient for all services not rendered.  We received confirmation from ** ********** ****** on October 23, 2013 that the funds were in fact already refunded.  So at this point, the funds have already been refunded, the patient has already been inactivated and the patient has a $0 credit account with us.  Attached is the confirmation from ** ********** ****** that the monies have already been refunded.


******* ******
Office Manager
StarBrite Dental

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
From: ****** ******* <*********************>
Date: Fri, Nov 1, 2013 at 3:22 PM
Subject: Re: Complaint# *******
To: info@mybbb.org


********* rejected my requests to refund the money!!! It was not until BBB intervened that they returned PART of the funds......they have NOT returned $2,465 as they should have!!! By their own admission, the amount in question was $2,465....nothing more... nothing less!!! This proves far beyond a reasonable doubt that IT'S ALL ABOUT THE MONEY!!! They couldn't care less about the patient!!! Check the reviews at ****** Seifi- Reviews......most are negative.....Their harassive, coercive tactics are illegal.....their main concern is the dollar. No! this is not over!!! They must do the ethical thing and return all the money!!!!

Regards,

****** *******








Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern: Patient ****** H *******, has only been charged for three specific visits that he has had in our office.  We went back and forth with ** ******* via email to try and address his issues to no avail.  His last email to us was dated on October 18, 2013 at which point we initiated the full refund of any service started, but not delivered.  We received the email from the BBB on October 31, 2013 -- 13 days after we had refunded the patient.  I feel I have done everything that needed to be done to resolve this, and every time ** ******* has come up with a new accusation.  I have given him the benefit of doubt as we have serviced him and his wife and at one point he even wrote a great public review on me and my office:
 
"*******, **********, MD 
 The best experience I have had with a dentist.  Everyone was professional, helpful and cooperative. I would recommend ********* to my family and friends. Kudos to Starbrite.
- Aug 28, 2013"
 
At this point I have turned all of the documents of this case to my attorney, ***** * ***** Esq,  as I am no longer sure of ** *******'s intention as in his emails he has also made unfounded accusations which as this point is bordering libel and slander.:
***** * *****, Esq
 
**** **** *** ** ********* ****** ********** ** *****
 
I do appreciate BBB's effort to resolve this.
 
Sincerely,
Dr ****** Seifi

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

From: ****** ******* <*********************>
Date: Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 10:31 AM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #*******.
To: info@mybbb.org


Have you seen the recent reviews on ****** Seifi? They are mostly negative!!! Besides, the FACT is they did not return all the money....plain and simple!!1 Come on Starbrite...do the right and ethical thing!!!

Regards,

****** *******









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Maryam Seifi DDS PA
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)