BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maryam Seifi DDS PA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maryam Seifi DDS PA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 19, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1990 in MD Business started locally: 03/06/1990 Business under new ownership as of: 03/06/1991 Business incorporated: 03/06/1991 in MD
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Health And Mental Hygiene-MD
201 West Preston Street, Baltimore MD 21201
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/SitePages/Home.aspx
Phone Number: 410-767-6500
webadministrator@dhmh.state.md.us
The license number is 10596.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Maryam Seifi, President Ms. Nina Kimmel, Office Manager/Partner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Nina Kimmel, Office Manager/Partner
Principal: Dr. Maryam Seifi, President
Business Category

Dentists

Alternate Business Names
Starbrite Dental

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********* has billed me for services which I did not receive and I do not want. They have already been paid fraudulently for services not rendered. Despite several emails, they refuse to return the funds to the finance company and have been unethical, unprofessional and disrespectful to me.

Desired Settlement: Removal of charges for services not rendered.

Business Response: Emails were received from patient on October 12, 2013 and attempts were made to amend the issue and have the patient come in to see the doctor to resolve any issues.  By October 18, 2013 this had not been resolved and patient refused to see the doctor.  So at that point ** ********** was contacted by our office for them to refund the patient for all services not rendered.  We received confirmation from ** ********** ****** on October 23, 2013 that the funds were in fact already refunded.  So at this point, the funds have already been refunded, the patient has already been inactivated and the patient has a $0 credit account with us.  Attached is the confirmation from ** ********** ****** that the monies have already been refunded.


******* ******
Office Manager
StarBrite Dental

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
From: ****** ******* <*********************>
Date: Fri, Nov 1, 2013 at 3:22 PM
Subject: Re: Complaint# *******
To: info@mybbb.org


********* rejected my requests to refund the money!!! It was not until BBB intervened that they returned PART of the funds......they have NOT returned $2,465 as they should have!!! By their own admission, the amount in question was $2,465....nothing more... nothing less!!! This proves far beyond a reasonable doubt that IT'S ALL ABOUT THE MONEY!!! They couldn't care less about the patient!!! Check the reviews at ****** Seifi- Reviews......most are negative.....Their harassive, coercive tactics are illegal.....their main concern is the dollar. No! this is not over!!! They must do the ethical thing and return all the money!!!!

Regards,

****** *******








Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern: Patient ****** H *******, has only been charged for three specific visits that he has had in our office.  We went back and forth with ** ******* via email to try and address his issues to no avail.  His last email to us was dated on October 18, 2013 at which point we initiated the full refund of any service started, but not delivered.  We received the email from the BBB on October 31, 2013 -- 13 days after we had refunded the patient.  I feel I have done everything that needed to be done to resolve this, and every time ** ******* has come up with a new accusation.  I have given him the benefit of doubt as we have serviced him and his wife and at one point he even wrote a great public review on me and my office:
 
"*******, **********, MD 
 The best experience I have had with a dentist.  Everyone was professional, helpful and cooperative. I would recommend ********* to my family and friends. Kudos to Starbrite.
- Aug 28, 2013"
 
At this point I have turned all of the documents of this case to my attorney, ***** * ***** Esq,  as I am no longer sure of ** *******'s intention as in his emails he has also made unfounded accusations which as this point is bordering libel and slander.:
***** * *****, Esq
 
**** **** *** ** ********* ****** ********** ** *****
 
I do appreciate BBB's effort to resolve this.
 
Sincerely,
Dr ****** Seifi

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

From: ****** ******* <*********************>
Date: Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 10:31 AM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #*******.
To: info@mybbb.org


Have you seen the recent reviews on ****** Seifi? They are mostly negative!!! Besides, the FACT is they did not return all the money....plain and simple!!1 Come on Starbrite...do the right and ethical thing!!!

Regards,

****** *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1