BBB Accredited Business since

Robert J. Kelly, DDS & Associates, P.A.

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 519-3232 View Additional Phone Numbers 220 Main St, Gaithersburg, MD 20878 http://www.kellydds.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Robert J. Kelly, DDS & Associates, P.A. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Robert J. Kelly, DDS & Associates, P.A. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Robert J. Kelly, DDS & Associates, P.A.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1970 in MD Business incorporated 01/10/2001 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Health And Mental Hygiene-MD
Spring Grove Hospital Center - Benjamin Rush Building, 55 Wade Ave, Catonsville MD 21228
http://www.dhmh.state.md.us/dental
Phone Number: 410-402-8501
dhmh.mddentalboard@maryland.gov
The number is 4483.

Department of Health And Mental Hygiene-MD
Spring Grove Hospital Center - Benjamin Rush Building, 55 Wade Ave, Catonsville MD 21228
http://www.dhmh.state.md.us/dental
Phone Number: 410-402-8501
dhmh.mddentalboard@maryland.gov
The number is 13280.

Department of Health And Mental Hygiene-MD
Spring Grove Hospital Center - Benjamin Rush Building, 55 Wade Ave, Catonsville MD 21228
http://www.dhmh.state.md.us/dental
Phone Number: 410-402-8501
dhmh.mddentalboard@maryland.gov
The number is 8899.

Department of Health And Mental Hygiene-MD
Spring Grove Hospital Center - Benjamin Rush Building, 55 Wade Ave, Catonsville MD 21228
http://www.dhmh.state.md.us/dental
Phone Number: 410-402-8501
dhmh.mddentalboard@maryland.gov
The number is 12866.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Lev Tomashevsky, President Ms. Lisa Bishop, Operations Manager Mr. Anto Tatarian, Business Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Bishop, Operations Manager
Principal: Dr. Lev Tomashevsky, President
Business Category

Dentist - Orthodontist Dentist - Dental Implants Dentistry - Cosmetic

Alternate Business Names
Lev Tomashevsky DDS LLC

Additional Locations

  • 10339 Kensington Pkwy

    Kensington, MD 20895 (301) 949-2280

  • 220 Main St

    Gaithersburg, MD 20878 (301) 519-3232

  • 832 Quince Orchard Blvd

    Gaithersburg, MD 20878 (301) 948-0058

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: November of 2013 Dr. Lev of Robert J Kelly DDS & Associates performed many procedures on my tooth. Of which he performed a root canal for my back right tooth. He also replaced a cap on front tooth. This cap I had since was 19 without incident. He stated the cap was fading and wanted to replaced. In March while eating rice my entire root canal/tooth came out in my hand. When this happened I called the office letting them know what has happened. Please keep in mind I decided to stop going to Robert J Kelly DDS & Associates service. I still have a pending bill and was paying until I lost my job, which of course the office does not know. When I called the office to let me know I was looking for Dr. Lev to to fix my root canal they demanded I pay them a minimum of $100. For the sake of getting this done I paid. Please keep in mind I'm unemployed. A few days ago while eating a mango my front cap came out. This was Friday night. I called Saturday to schedule an appointment. The receptionist scheduled an appointment without incident. I called this morning, Monday May 5th, this time while on the phone with the receptionist I was transferred to the billing department.- due to my pending bill. I spoke with the billing representative. She stated I wouldn't need to pay anything to get my tooth fixed. She transferred me to Lisa B*****. Lisa B***** stated I would need to pay, more than $50 dollars which is what I offered, in order to get service rendered to me. Lisa became belligerent with me and hung up the phone. I called back to confirm if I had an appointment. By the conversation I was confused with all of ranting. Lisa answered the phone. I asked for confirmation around our conversation. She created a back and forth by her language and tone with me. Lisa then hung up on me a 2nd time. I called back, clearly upset now, with the intent to speak to a supervisor/manager and was transferred to Dr. Robert Kelley himself. At first I was relieved as I thought there would be some resolve to this. I quickly realized based on his language and aggression with me he was not going to add anything but more frustration. Robert Kelley told me "I don't have time- I'm a busy man. Either pay me and get serviced or don't and don't get serviced" Robert Kelley then proceeded to hang up the phone on my. I wanted to report this. I understand the seriousness around payments and bills. However, I also understand the line between being a successfully functioning practice with utmost customer service and being insensitive and money hungry. This experience was by far the worst experience I've had and proves how money hungry Robert J Kelly DDS & Associates are. Any attention to this would be greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement: More than anything I would like a phone call from someone at BBB letting me know they are looking into my claim and will follow through. I no longer want service from Robert J Kelly DDS & Associates.

Business Response:

Re: Complaint ID ********.

 

This patient had a root canal procedure done in our office, on tooth #31 (lower right molar), on February 9th, 2013.  A crown was placed on #31 on March 5th, 2013.  She also had a scaling and root planning procedure in February 2013.  On March 5th of 2013, a small filling was done on #8 (upper front tooth), not a cap as the patient states.  The patient was given a payment plan for the work that was done, which she agreed to.  The payments of $135.55 are due monthly, her balance at the time was $770.80.  The patient made two payments – one on June 6th, 2013 and one on August 2, 2013.  On August 6th, 2013, the patient came in pain from tooth #32 (lower right wisdom tooth).  Even though she was not making her regular payments, we still provided service by extracting #32, because it was an emergency. 

 

In our office we stand by our work and we guarantee the result.  If the filling that we did came out, we would replace it for free, we have a 2 year guarantee for fillings.  Crowns are guaranteed for 5 years.  All we ask of the patient is to pay her balance.  The practice is always ready to honor our side of the contract.  The patient on the other hand is not willing to honor hers.  Unfortunately when the patient doesn’t pay for the services after we send them multiple letters and provide them with all possible options, we are forced to dismiss the patient from our practice.  Also, we cannot provide the patient any additional services.  As in any business, in order for the product to be guaranteed, it has to be paid for.  As of today, August 29,2014, the patient still has a $500.46 balance.

 

 

Thank you,

Lev T**********, DDS

 

 

 

Lisa B*****

Operations Manager

Lev T********** DDS LLC

DBA Robert J. Kelly DDS & Associates

Direct: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

Email:  ******************

www.Kellydds.com