BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Intersections, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 488-6100 View Additional Phone Numbers 3901 Stonecroft Blvd, Chantilly, VA 20151 http://www.identityguard.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Intersections, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Intersections, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 80 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

80 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 34
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 36
Total Closed Complaints 80

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 19, 1996 Business started: 05/19/1995
Business Management
Mr. Michael Stanfield, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Stanfield, CEO
Business Category

Credit Reporting Agencies Credit Services Financial Services Credit Cards - Protection Service

Alternate Business Names
Asset Recovery Bureau Auto Savings Network Card Protection Services Citi Credit Monitoring Inc. Credit Notify Credit Notify Service CreditComm Services Creditinform Creditinform - Powered by Equifax Identity Advisor Identity Guard Identity Track Intersections Inc. ITAC - Identity Theft Assistance Center My Complete Profile Personal Registry Privacy Advantage Profile Protect
Additional Information

Intersections Inc. is the provider of credit monitoring for a number of the major financial organizations in the United States, including Business CreditAware for American Express card members. Some consumer customers report that offerings for credit reports and credit monitoring services are unclear. Consumers should always take the time to review details of services when they enroll.


Additional Locations

  • 3901 Stonecroft Blvd

    Chantilly, VA 20151

  • P.O. Box 220570

    Chantilly, VA 20153

  • PO Box 222455

    Chantilly, VA 20153

  • Previous Address  14930 Bogle Dr

    Chantilly, VA 20151

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 488-6114(Phone)
  • (703) 488-6141(Phone)
  • (703) 814-7122(Phone)
  • (703) 814-7124(Phone)
  • (703) 814-7126(Phone)
  • (703) 814-7134(Phone)
  • (703) 814-7166(Phone)
  • (800) 214-4791(Phone)
  • (800) 214-7491(Phone)
  • (800) 214-7607(Phone)
  • (800) 726-1468(Phone)
  • (800) 830-3073(Phone)
  • (866) 226-3745(Phone)
  • (866) 311-6742(Phone)
  • (877) 648-5724(Phone)
  • (888) 234-2344(Phone)
  • (888) 886-5797(Phone)
  • (703) 488-3828 (Fax)
  • (703) 961-6679 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/7/2014 Delivery Issues
5/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/25/2014 Delivery Issues
4/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2014 Delivery Issues
1/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been a customer of Identity Guard since 11/17/2003. I hadn't received any email updates recently and attempted to log on to my account- only to find my account had been cancelled. I called and was told by customer service that a marketing agreement had been cancelled and therefore my account didn't exist anymore. Both of the ladies in customer service, **** and ***** stated I should have received a letter indicating this back in July. I received no such letter, nor was any email communication generated by Identity Guard to alert me of the situation. In inquiring about my options I was informed I could keep the same program, but now at literally twice the cost. **** simply suggested I do a Google search to find a service from any provider that may serve my needs. When I outlined my complaint of being a faithful customer for ten years and simply being "dropped" for not providing the same profit margin of newer customers, both ladies agreed I was not being treated fairly- but offered no solution or resolution to the issue- outside of recommending I look elsewhere for a vendor This is simply an illustration of corporate greed and not caring for the little guy. That said, I'm a business owner as well and have been successful in looking out for the "little guy". I'd rather have some of the pie, then none at all, which is exactly what Identity Guard has chosen to do. Thanks so much for re-affirming the "business at all costs" mantra. Issues are: 1. NO communication from company regarding "marketing agreement" change. Please cease the "a letter was sent" BS, I recall when I had a payable account change, Identity Guard had no issue contacting me successfully via the email in my profile. US mail is not that bad, if you sent a letter, I would have received it. 2. Greedy Corporate Culture. 3. Suggestion it was the fault of a "marketing agreement change"- Spare the drama please. You can dodge all you want, but my contract was with Identity Guard, I logged on to Identity Guard for my Identity Guard account and my payments went to Identity Guard. To claim this was the result of a marketing agreement change is ludicrous. If you're going to make a crass decision, at least have the integrity to call it what it is. 4. Please stop with the lies and deceit- it reminds me of DC

Desired Settlement: I would like to be recognized as a 10 year customer and be able to continue on the Identity Guard plan I was on. I would also desire communication with the Director or VP of marketing to confirm this is actually the path they have intended for Identity Guard. If that's the case don't bother as I refuse to do business with any company that chooses to send loyal, paying customers packing as I am confident I am not alone. All in all I'm disgusted with a vendor that I relied on and that I paid for services as agreed.

Business Response: November 27, 2013

Dear **. ******:

Thank you for your correspondence. We are taking this opportunity to respond to the inquiry made by ***** ****** regarding the Identity Guard® Credit Protect X3 service,

Our records indicate the following regarding ***** ******’s membership;

•    On November 17S 2003, **. ****** successfully completed the registration and activation of his membership in the identity Guard00 Credit Protect X3 service offered through our partner. ******* */***********. An email was delivered to the member confirming the activation of his service.

•    Due to the termination of the partnership between Intersections and ******* *, a cancellation notification letter was mailed to all active customers advising them of the discontinuation of their product and cancellation as of September 1. 2013. Active members were not offered an alternate service in accordance with our affiliate agreement, We show **. ******'s cancellation notice was mailed on July 30,2013 to the address we had on file as of that date.

•    On August 5, 2013, **. ****** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone requesting to update the account information including address, phone number, and billing credit card for his membership. Our representative updated the information on file for **. ****** and advised the payment would be processed on **. ******’s next scheduled billing date.

•    On September 1, 2013, **. ******’s account was cancelled due to product termination.

•    On November 12, 2013. **. ****** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone with questions concerning his membership, Our Customer Service Representative explained that **. ******'s account was cancelled as of September 1, 2013. Our Customer Service Representative presented **. ****** with the options to enroll in other Identity Guard products at our current price points. **. ****** requested to be transferred to a Customer Service Supervisor to voice his concern with the cancelled membership as well as the cost of enrolling into a current plan. **, ****** elected not to enroll stating he did not want to pay more than the $9.99 monthly fee he paid for the Identity Guard® Credit Protect X3 service offered through ******* */***********.
Our records do not indicate **. ****** contacting us any further after November 12.2013.

•    We have also tried to reach out to customer regarding a resolution. The two were made November 21st and 22nd 2013 with no response back from customer.

As we strive to provide the highest level of service to all of our customers, we would like to offer **. ****** a membership in our Identity Guard® Total Protection® plan at the reduced price of $9.99 per month. This plan is normally priced at $19.99 per month. If **. ****** finds this proposal acceptable, we will gladly contact him to move forward with the new membership.

We apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused **. ******. **. ****** may also call Identity Guard Total Protection at (***) ******** Our hours of operation are Monday - Friday 8 a,m. to 11 p.m. and Saturday 9 a,m, to 6 p.m. Eastern Time,
Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have reached out to the BBB on 10/30/2013, wherein I made the complaint that Identity Guard has been paid for one year of service ( by me) when I try to enter the site to obtain my credit scores I am denined because they want another CC on file. There is no reason I should have to file my CC with them as I have paid for my service (one year in advance), this is the situation with my partner ****** ********* of the same address as myself. We have been customers of Identity Guard for some years and only last year did they start this procedure, which seems to me to be a theft of service. When they did call me it was to deliver a weak excuse that their computers are programed not to open the site to us, as they don't have a current CC. PLease note that our service fee's have been paid since 5/13 and are not due untill 5/14. How can they denie me a service I have paid for.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have credit to my account, from 11/1/13 thru 5/30/14, simply for denial of service.

Business Response: November 19, 2013

Dear **. ******;

Thank you for your correspondence. We are taking this opportunity to respond to the inquiry made by ****** ******* ****** regarding the Identity Guard00 Extra Caution service.

Our records indicate the following regarding ****** ******* ******'s membership:

•    On August 30,2005, **, ****** successfully completed the registration and activation of his membership. An email was delivered to the member confirming the activation of his service.

•    **. ****** is billed a yearly membership fee of $119.95. His last bill date was scheduled for April 4,2013; however this billing was declined. **. ****** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone on May 6,2013 to update his credit card information. Wc successful billed **, ****** for the service on May 8,2013.

•    On September 27, 2013, **, ****** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone in regards to not being able to access his credit report online. Our representative transferred **. ****** to a Web Support Specialist to assist him further with his issue.

•    When speaking with the Web Support agent. **. ****** acknowledged that he was unable to access his credit file online because of a message alerting him that the billing information on file was due expire; therefore, the information needed to be updated.

•    A supervisor from our Web Support department attempted to contact **. ****** via phone the same day to advise him that the message he received was the result of the expiration date for the primary card used to establish the Internet Surveillance benefit being out dated; thus, causing the system to prompt him to update his credit information. However, the customer was unavailable and a voicemail was left for him to return our call.

The Internet Surveillance (IS) benefit helps reduce a consumer’s risk of identity fraud by continuously searching Internet chat rooms, news groups and other non-secure Web sites for data suggesting that personal information is being sold or traded online. Customer may register up to 20 major cards for online surveillance.  Intersections will auto-register the customer’s billing card, provided it is a major credit card. In order to monitor for this type of activity, we must have accurate information. The message that **. ****** sees when he logs into his account is to alert him that an expiration date on one of his credit cards has expired.
While this message will continue to appear each time **, ****** logs into his account, it is in no way disrupting his service. By simply checking on home on the left hand side behind this message, it will disappear and **, ****** can navigate through the site as normal. It will, however, continue to appear each and every time **. ****** accesses his web account until the updated expiration date is provided.

•    On October 8, 2013, a supervisor from our Web Support department attempted to contact **. ****** via phone to verify if he was still having issues with his online account and if the message was still appearing. As we were unsuccessful in reaching **. ******. we left a voice message asking him to return our call.

•    On October 28, 2013, **. ****** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone regarding the voicemail message and requested to speak with a supervisor. A representative from our escalation team advised **. ****** he would need to update the expiration date on his credit card in order to have the message disappear. **. ****** responded he would be contacting legal authorities about current situation* Our records do not show **. ****** calling back after October 28, 2013,

•    On November 4. 2013, a supervisor attempted to contact **. ****** via phone to discuss the issue of not being able to access his credit file online due to a message appearing blocking his access and to provide alternate solutions that could resolve the issue. As we were unsuccessful in reaching **, ******, we left a voice message asking him to retum our call.

«    On November 11, 2013, a supervisor from our Web Support department attempted to contact **. ****** again to discuss the outcome of his situation and provide additional solution Support. A voice message was left for the member asking him to return our call since he was unavailable.

•    On November 12, 2013, a Web Support supervisor contacted **. ****** via phone to attempt to update the credit card in file. The supervisor explained to **. ****** that the prompt was the result of the expired credit card and this would need to be updated for proper internet surveillance monitoring. However, **. ****** declined to update the card on file and proceeded to advise that he would be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau regarding the issue on behalf of his partner as well. The supervisor also advised that a credit of in the amount of $119.95 to cover **. ******’s yearly fee would be issued back as a courtesy before the called ended.

This information was reported to the Better Business Bureau in response to **, ******’s original complaint of 10/30/2013 under Case *******.

With regard to *** ******’s complaint filed on 11/10/2013 under Case 9797829, we have already agreed to **. ******’s desired settlement. A refund in the amount of $119.95 was processed on 11/11/2013. Please allow  1-2 billing cycles for the refund to post to his account. **. ******’s next billing date is scheduled on 4/4/2014. Unless **. ****** updates his credit card information prior to April 2014, he will receive a billing decline notification.

Furthermore, we acknowledge that *** ****** states his partner is having the same type of issues with online account access.  Due to our security policy and for the protection of our members* we are unable to address **. ******’s concerns with any membership other than his own. We would ask **. ****** to advise his partner to contact our Customer Service Department at his earliest convenience. We will be more than happy to investigate any concerns reported by **. ******’s partner.

We can be reached at ***** ********. Our hours of operation are Monday - Friday 8 a.m. to 11 p,m, and Saturday 9 a,m, to 6 p.m. Eastern Time.

Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a custome of Identity Guard for some years. I give them a CC to use in May of each year, they charge me for the year and have now taken to blocking my enterance to my Credit Score as I will not give them yet another CC. I feel I have paid for the year and any interuption in supplying that information to my is like "thieft of service. In short I cannot access the information I pay them to supply until I give them another CC. This can only serve one purpose and that is to charge me for next year in May, however I don't have to give them a CC untill that time comes.

Desired Settlement: This situation has presented itself with my partner (****** ********* at same address) and he wishes to take the same action

Business Response: November 11, 2013

Dear **. ******:

Thank you for your correspondence. We are taking this opportunity to respond to the inquiry made by ****** ******* ****** regarding the Identity Guard® Extra Caution service.

Our records indicate the following regarding ****** ******* ******‘s membership:

»    On August 30, 2005> **, ****** successfully completed the registration and activation of his membership. An email was delivered to the member confirming the activation of his service.

*    On May 6, 2013, **. ****** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone requesting to update the billing information for his membership. Our representative updated the credit card information on file for **. ****** and advised the payment would be processed immediately due to a previous billing decline.

•    On September 27, 2013, **. ****** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone in regards to not being able to access his credit report online. Our representative transferred **. ****** to a Web support specialist to assist him further with his issue,   

•  When speaking with the Web Support agent, **, ****** acknowledged that he was unable to access his credit file online because of a message alerting him that the billing information on file was due to expire; therefore, the information needed to be updated. As a result, die Web Support representative transferred **. ****** to a Web Support Supervisor so a work order could be placed in order tp have the issue resolved. Work Order number ****** was submitted by Web Support supervisor.

•    A supervisor from our Web Support Department attempted to contact **, ****** via phone the Same day to advise him that the message he received was the result of the expiration date for the primary card used to establish the internet surveillance being out dated; thus, causing the system to prompt him to update his credit information. However, the customer was unavailable and a voicemail was left for him to return our call.

•    On October 8, 2013, a supervisor from our Web Support Department attempted to contact **. ****** via phone, to verify if he was still having issues with his online account and if the message was still appearing. As we were unsuccessful in reaching **. ******, we left a voice message asking him to return our call,

•    On October 28, 2013, **. ****** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone regarding the voicemail message and requested to speak with a supervisor. A representative from our escalation team advised **, ****** he would need to update the expiration date on his credit card in order to have the message disappear. **, ****** responded he would be contacting legal authorities about currcnt situation. Our records do not show **. ****** calling back after October 28, 2013.

*    On November 4, 2013, a supervisor attempted to contact **. ****** via phone to discuss the issue of not being able to access his credit file online due to a message appearing blocking his access and to provide alternate solutions that could resolve the issue. As we were unsuccessful in reaching **. ******, we left a voice message asking him to return our call.

*    On November 11, 2013, a supervisor from our Web Support Department attempted to contact **. ****** again to discuss the outcome of his situation and provide additional solution support. A voice message was left for    the member asking him to return our call since he was unavailable.

•    On November 12,2013, a Web Support Supervisor contacted **. ****** via phone to attempt to update the credit card in file. The supervisor explained to **. ****** that the prompt was the result of the expired credit card and this would need to be updated for proper internet surveillance monitoring. However, **. ****** declined to update the card on file and proceeded to advise that he would be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau regarding the issue on behalf of his partner as well.

As we strive to provide the highest level of service to all of our customers, we have issued **. ****** a courtesy credit in the amount SI 19.95 for the annual fee. **. ****** was made aware of this credit during our call with him November 12th. The credit will be posted to **. *******s account in 1-2 billing
cycles.
We apologize for any inconvcnicncc this issue may have caused **. ******. **, ****** may also call Identity Guard Extra Caution at ###-###-####. Our hours of operation are Monday — Friday 8 a.m. to 11 p.m, and Saturday 9 a,m. to 6 p.m. Eastern Time.
Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called because when my subscription renewed for this I thought I would be able to receive a new credit report as well. I found out that for only $4 more, I could upgrade my suscription and receive my report monthly instead of quarterly. Originally I paid $14.99, which I told would be refunded, and they also charged me $19.99 for the new service when I called in. The refund was never processed and I called in and talked to a customer service representative, who told me she was giving me a discount off my current month's service and for the delay, but that they couldn't do anything about the $14.99 refund because it had already been entered into the system and should process the following month. I told her I didn't understand why it would take an entire month for a refund to process and she said it was "just how the system worked." Needless to say, this all happened in September, I've waited and checked for the entire month of October and it's now November and the refund STILL hasn't been processed as promised. Very disappointed!

Desired Settlement: Please refund the $14.99 charge immediately!

Business Response: November 11, 2013

Dear *** ******:

Thank you for your correspondence. We are caking this opportunity to respond to the inquiry made by ***** ** ***** regarding the IDENTITY GUARD® PLATINUM M service.

The requested refund of $14.99 was forwarded to the underwriter of *** *****’ **** Card on November 11, 2013. On November 13, 2013. we received notification that the transaction was approved.

Our company policy is to give a quoted 1-2 billing cycle time frame for members to see refunds reflected on their monthly statements, If **, ***** has not yet seen the refund, **. ***** has the option to contact his financial institution to discuss their policies on placing funds back into an account.

Wc apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused *** *****. Should **. ***** need further assistance, he may call Identity Guard Total Protection at ###-###-####. Our hours of operation are Monday - Friday 8 a,m. to 11 p.m. and Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern Time.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
I already waited 1-2 billing cycles for the previous refund.  When the $4 refund was made it reflected within the same week.  Your company is capable of refunding an item quickly just like every other company and taking 1-2 business cycles or whatever you want to call it is not excusable.  Please refund immediately and advise when it has been processed.


Regards,

***** *****








Business Response: November 14, 2013

Dear *** ******:

Thank you for your correspondence, We arc taking this opportunity to respond to the inquiry made by ***** *. ***** regarding the Identity Guard® Platinum*service.

Our records indicate the following regarding ***** ** *****’ membership:

•    On July 26, 2013, **. ***** successfully completed the registration and activation of his membership. An email was delivered to the member confirming the activation of his service.

•    On September 11, 2013, **. ***** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone on behalf of her husband, **. *****, to request an updated credit report. After completion of verification with **. ***** he confirmed **. ***** had his permission to make any changes to his membership she deemed necessary. Our representative then advised **. ***** that the current membership did not allow for monthly credit file updates but could be upgraded for $19.00 per month making it possible to receive credit reports and scores monthly.

•    **. ***** made the decision to upgrade the current membership to IDENTITY GUARD Platinum® for $19.00 per month and our representative assisted with price plan change. The representative further advised a $14.99 credit would be issued for the last billing as a courtesy since there was confusion about what the prior plan offered.

•    On September 20, 2013, **. ***** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone, on behalf of **, ***** to confirm the issuance of a credit to their account.

•    Our representative completed the verification process for speaking with third parties with **, ***** before advising **. ***** that the credit had been submitted could take one to two billing cycles to reflect on the account. The representative also completed a price adjustment to $15.00 to the membership, as a courtesy per the statements of **. *****. Our representative issued $4.00 refund for the previous month difference,

•    On October 2, 2013, **. ***** contacted our Customer Service    Department via phone requesting to cancel the membership. Our representative completed the cancellation request and attempted to provide a cancellation confirmation number of **********.

Our representative responded via email advising that the best possible solution due to our security policy would be to call and speak with a representative regarding his membership concern.

Our records indicate this membership was cancelled on October 02, 2013 and a refund of $4,00 was issued on September 24,2013. **. ***** should see this credit on his statement within one to two billing cycles. However, due to a system error, the refund for $14.99 was not issued back to the customer.

We are in the process of issuing a credit in the amount of $14.99 to **. *****’ account to since the original request did not process properly. Please allow 1-2 billing cycles for this refund to post to **. ***** account.

We apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused **. *****. Should **. ***** need further assistance, he may call Identity Guard Total Protection at ***** ********. Our hours of operation are Monday - Friday 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. and Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern Time.

Sincerely.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The refund finally posted as it should have a long time ago. 

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about August 10, 2013, I signed up for credit monitoring services. The company advertised 30 free trial and would auto bill $14.99 per month after the trial period expired. I called to cancel services on or about September 9, 2013. After review of my finances, I determined I did not have the ability to incur the monthly expense and proceeded to cancel services. The representative I spoke with over the phone confirmed cancellation verbally. On October 15. 2013 (2) two charges in the amount of $14.99 each were debited from my checking account. I called Identity Guard to discuss the erroneous charges. The representative stated the services were not cancelled as requested. The representative stated there would be a refund (which has not yet occurred). In addition to the (2) $14.99 charges, I have incurred (2) $35.00 overdraft charges from my financial institution, ***** *****. On October 15, 2013 and October 16, 2013 I requested a letter stating the (2) charges were placed in error so it could be submitted to my bank for removal. Identity Guard refused to provide a letter. I presented an alternative solution which was for me to remit an active and current banking statement which reflects the (2) $14.99 service charges and (2) corresponding $35.00 overdraft charges. In turn, Identity Guard to credit a total of $99.98 to the bank account they erroneously withdrew from. After speaking with the Escalation Team, I have had no reconciliation toward the erroneous fees incurred by the company's error. In addition the company has refused fair and reasonable correction to their error.

Desired Settlement: 1. A refund for services not rendered & erroneously charged for (2) 14.99 service fees. Totaling $28.98. 2. A credit for the (2) $35.00 overdraft fees incurred as a direct result the company's error. Totaling $70.00. 3. A letter stating the (2) charges in the amount of $14.99 from October 15, 2013 were made in error

Business Response: October 29, 2013

Dear **. ******:

Thank you for your correspondence. We are taking this opportunity to respond to the inquiry made by ******** *. ****** regarding the Identity Guard Total Protection® service.

Our records indicate the following regarding ******** *. ******’s membership:

•    On August 10, 2013, **. ****** successfully completed the registration and activation of her membership. An email was delivered to the member confirming the activation of her service.

•    On September 9, 2013, **. ****** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone requesting to cancel her membership. Our representative provided a cancellation confirmation number of ********** but failed to complete the cancellation request.

•    On October 15, 2013, **. ****** contacted Our Customer Service Department via phone to confirm the cancellation of her membership.

•    Our representative completed the cancellation request, advising **, ****** the membership was not previously cancelled; therefore, a refund of $29.98 would be issued.

•    **. ****** asked to speak with a supervisor where she requested a letter be mailed to her stating that our company had failed tq cancel her membership on September 2013 in order to have overdraft fees issued by her banking institution reversed. A representative from our escalation team advised **. ****** that the issue would be examined further and someone would call her back with the outcome as soon as possible.

•    On October 16, 2013, a representative from our Escalation team attempted to contact **. ****** via phone to address the outcome with us sending her a letter, however, the customer was unavailable and a voicemail was left, **. ****** contacted our Customer Service Department via phone the same day regarding the voice mail message. A representative from our escalation team advised **. ****** that we are unable to provide her with such letter addressing the issue regarding cancellation of her membership. When **. ****** advised she would be going to the BBB to file a complaint, our representative attempted to cscalate the call further. **. ****** stated she did not want to be placed on hold and advised she would just file a complaint. **. ****** asked if someone could give her a call back with a better result to which our representative advised he would speak to his manager concerning this matter. **, ****** then advised she would just call back the next day. Our records do not show **. ****** calling back after October 16, 2013

*    On October 29, 2013, our representative called **, ****** in an attempt to obtain a copy of her bank statement confirming the overdraft fees charged to her account. As we were unsuccessful in reaching **. ******, we left a voice message asking her to return our call, As of today, we have not received a return call.
Our records indicate this membership was cancelled on October 15, 2013 and a refund of $29.98 was issued on October 17, 2013. **. ****** should $ee this credit on her statement within one to two billing cycles.

As we strive to provide the highest level of service to all of our customers, we arc jn the process of issuing a check in the amount $70.00 directly to **. ****** to cover the overdraft fees referenced in her communications with us. **. ****** should receive this check within the next 2 to 4 weeks.

We apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused **. ******. We will continue to reach out to **. ****** to convey the above stated information. **. ****** may also call Identity Guard Total Protection at ###-###-####. Our hours of operation are Monday - Friday S a.m. to 11 p.m. and Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern Time,

Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Joined Identity Gaurd ending up not liking it and cancelled within 30 days but didn't receive refund, sent multiply emails asking about it and never got a response

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: See Attachment

Business Response: See Attachment

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for ITAC Sentinel which is supposed to provide quarterly updates according to their online advertising. My last update was December 10, 2012 and today is March 14, 2013. I checked on March 11th and it still showed the old data. I gave them a couple more days and it still shows the December data on March 14, 2013. I called customer service and spoke to ******. She asked for a lot of verification information after I had already given my phone number and membership number. We then discussed that the quarterly update wasn't showing. She suggested I keep checking back. I asked for something more definite like when it would be done. She asked if she could put me on hold. I agreed and a minute later, there were a couple clicks and the line went dead. I waited several minutes for her to call back, no call back. I called again and after some computer authentication, I spoke to ******, I asked her to transfer me to ******., She said she couldn't do that. She wanted to start over with all the authentication information again including my phone number, address, etc. It would seem if they had caller-id they wouldn't need me to tell them my phone number. We talked about talking to a supervisor, I said that might be a better use of my time. She put me on hold and came back a couple minutes later to tell me she was still looking for one and would I stay on hold. I told her know and would proceed to file a complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: 1. Do what you say you are going to do. If you say quarterly updates and the last update was on December 10th, then you should have an update on the 10th of the 3rd month following. At worst case, if it falls on a weekend, if manual intervention is required which I doubt there is, then it should be no more than a day or two late. 2. When a customer calls in give them a better answer than keep checking back. 3. When you put a customer on hold and the line gets disconnected, call them back so they don't have to waste their time getting authenticated again and starting over in explaining the problem. 4. Extend my three year membership to three years from when you start doing what you advertise you will do. 5. Call me at my convenience to explain what you are doing to fix this. Don't put all the follow-up on the customer when you all are not doing what you advertise you will do.

Business Response: See Attachment

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I have two memberships with ITAC Sentinel, through different third parties they sell them through.  Rather than treat them separately and pull the reports 90 days from the time I signed up for each, ITAC Sentinel ended up delaying one and then providing the same report for both memberships.  Since I have two memberships, and I believe they are paid for two distinct memberships, I believe they should provide a distinct report for each membership rather than trying to sell two memberships and only doing the work of one by changing the quarterly report date so that they are the same.


Regards,

******* *******








Business Response: See Attachment

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, assuming they successfully execute on the plan they provided.  As communicated it sounded like a plan vs. a commitment and there didn't seem to be much accountability on the part of the person answering the complaint such as providing their direct contact information.  I called the CEO's office after my call with them on the 11th and left a voice message.  So far no response.

I view there response as acceptable as long as they execute and deliver.

I continue to question the lack of accountability and customer service on the part of the people @ ITAC sentinel

Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with identity guard not knowing that you needed a phone to cancel let alone activate, it simply doesn't state it so where does this leave people who don't own phones? Stuck in a endless billing process. I emailed support and they told me I can't cancel my subscription via online, that I had to use a phone...first off not everyone has phones, second off I was never told I needed a phone until the activation process in which case I never ended up activating my account Today I am filing a complaint after asking several times for a refund & Cancellation and being denied. Identity guard says because of security issues they cannot process my cancellation which is ******** as my account isn't even accessible. I will not be satisfied with a simple refund I would like A Explanation on how a unactivated account can present a security risk to someone's credit information if closed via online there's alot of people online complaining about this trapping being done and surely a BBB Accredited company can explain, what only looks like a idiotic excuse to trap people and force them to continue paying for a service they do not want. I'm not a business professional but I do know that a thieve cannot access a unactivated account and steal ones credit information they would have to call identity guard [which I am unable to do] to get the account activated first, I simply asked for my subscription to be cancelled but I will love to hear Identity Guard's explanation.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $16.99 A Explanation how a unactivated account can present a security risk to someone's credit information if closed via online.

Business Response: See Attachment

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I received the refund, however no answer was given to my question and that is


"How Is It A Security Risk To Cancel A Unactivated Account?"

What I'm getting from this is there is not really a risk, it's more of a method to keep people stuck in the billing loop because Identity Gaurd don't let people cancel by phone even with no security risk
so again I'm going to ask Identity Gaurd 

"How Is It A Security Risk To Cancel A Unactivated Account?"



Regards,

***** *******








Business Response: See Attachment

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

IDentity guard keeps dodging my question "How does a inactive account present a security risk when cancelled by email?"

If the account is inactive it is impossible for anyone to access it so again answer the question and quit dodging it there is no reason a inactive account's subscription can't be cancelled by email


I could understand a active account, but my account was inactive therefore impossible to access.


Regards,

***** *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
12/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2011 Delivery Issues
11/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/27/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1