BBB Accredited Business since

Credit Bureau Of Lancaster County, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (717) 397-8144 Fax: (717) 397-0045 PO Box 1271, Lancaster, PA 17608 http://www.cboflanc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lien searches/Collections/employment-tenant screening/mobile cellular equipment


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Credit Bureau Of Lancaster County, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Credit Bureau Of Lancaster County, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Credit Bureau Of Lancaster County, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1944 Business started locally: 01/01/1944 Business incorporated 01/01/1944 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kelley R. Lutz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelley R. Lutz, President
Business Category

Credit Reporting Agencies Collection Agencies


Additional Locations

  • 218 W Orange St

    Lancaster, PA 17603

  • PO Box 1271

    Lancaster, PA 17608

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son at age 22 went to emergency room back in 2012, he forgot about bill then finally paid it, however it is showing under my credit reports as "The responsible payor is ***** ****". I have disputed this stating I never signed stating I would take financial reponsibility, yes my son is under my health insurance because I have to carry him do to the new laws. But everytime I ask to show the paperwork making me responsible when my son is considered an "adult" to treat with my concent, I have to pay and now my 3 credit scores have a negative on them.

Desired Settlement: I want Lancaster Collections to contact all 3 credit bureau's and remove this collection from my report immediately.

Business Response:

Thank you for allowing our office the courtesy of looking into this matter.

According to our records, we do not have a direct communication with anyone requesting a credit report deletion.   I would have been more than happy to assist in this matter had I been contacted and given the opportunity.

Upon review, the patient was 19 years old on the date of service.

I am happy to initiate a credit report deletion on behalf of *****, which I have completed today.  According to the national credit reporting agencies, it can, in some cases take more than 14-days to delete.

Moreover, we do not report to all 3 credit reporting agencies.  This complaint states that this account is on all 3 which is impossible to do so from our company as we do not have a subscribership with all 3.  Please provide more information with regard to this, as I am concerned about a third credit reporting of this account.

I trust this satisfies the complaint.

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Hello, 

I had made numerous attempts to contact ********* collections to remove this from my report also it is showing under ******** and ***********
Sincerely,
***** * ****







Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Thank you for your facilitation of ** ****** response.

As stated in my initial response, the deletion command was initiated by our office yesterday.  According to the national credit reporting agencies, it can, in some cases take more than 14-days to delete.

Best regards,

Credit Bureau of ********* ******* ****

3/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is an executive complaint directed to Kelly L***. President of the company. Credit bureau Of Lancaster County Inc. was collecting a debt of $27.57 on behalf of ********* ******* ******. In Dec. 2014, I received a letter dated 12/9 stating this. I contacted them because I had no record of the bill. They sent me a copy via mail from the hospital. On Jan. 6, 2015, I paid the amount directly to ********* ******* ****** via a debit card with a confirmation number. 28 days after the date on the letter which I received around the 14th of Dec. In January I received negative credit reporting from *******. - The payment was within the 30 days stated on the letter. - The persons on the phone continually represented themselves and the company as a Bona Fide Credit Bureau, not a private company collecting a debt. This is misleading. The name of the company is misleading. - I spoke with Lisa at the company and she stated they would not retract the negative reporting, I would have to wait 60 days. - Lisa referred me to Donna at ext. *** and she did not call back to answer the dispute. - This Collections agency should exercise their due diligence before negative credit reporting with a consumer. This is damaging and needs to be addressed. - I consider this an unfair, punitive, and reckless business practice. - I believe this is a sloppy company from my experience with them.

Desired Settlement: Contact the real Credit Bureaus where the negative reporting was sent immediately stating this was in their error.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to look into this matter for Mr. ****.

Our office received a delinquent bill owed by Mr. **** on December 8, 2014.

We credit report approximately 30-days after the account is listed with us. 

We were notified on January 14, 2015 that the bill had been paid; however the account has already been credit reported since more than 30-days had passed.

Mr. **** spoke to our representative, Lisa on 01/27/15, who in promptly made me aware of Mr. ****'s request for a credit report removal.  I reviewed the account history on the same day, January 27, 2015 and initiated a credit report deletion.  The deletion command was sent to the national repositories:  ***** ***** and ********.   We received a deletion response on February 3rd.  The account has been off of Mr. ****s credit report since that time frame.  I'm not sure what prompted this complaint today; however my review of the account reflects that our office responded swiftly to Mr. **** and addressed his concern with diligence and care.

Mr. **** may visit the official credit report website:  www.annualcreditreport.com for up-to-date real-time information regarding his credit report.  If their are any issues, Mr. **** is free to contact me directly as well.

Best regards.

Donna N******** *****

11/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Credit Bureau of Lancaster County was assigned a collection from ****** ********* ********** for an emergency room visit that happened in September 2013. I gave my insurance information to the ER after my visit and was told that I should only owe $100 as the Emergency Room fee for the visit. I later received a bill from ****** ********* ********** for more than $500. I contacted my Aetna insurance who said they would rerun the claims and that the bill should drop. They expected this process to take 2-3 months. During this time, the bill was apparently turned over to the Credit Bureau of Lancaster County for collections. I did not attempt to follow up as I believed insurance would cover the remainder of the payment and I would owe nothing more. In September 2014, I noticed a collection request on my credit report from the Credit Bureau of Lancaster County for an unpaid open collection. As the damage was now done on my credit report, I immediately submitted full payment of $523.00 on September 15, 2014. I appealed the collection on my credit report through the credit agency, but the appeal was denied. I received no notice from the Credit Bureau of Lancaster County that the account was in collections. If letters were sent, I did not receive them (are they not supposed to be sent certified mail with delivery confirmation to ensure I get them?). I do believe I received calls from the Credit Bureau, but they were received once every other month and no voicemail was ever left. In the scope of the number of mystery calls I get, I don't look up every number. In my opinion, there was no attempt to contact me and collect the money. I would have been happy to pay at any point in the process, and was not avoiding collections. The damage done from this collection is unwarranted on my otherwise great credit report. The Credit Bureau of Lancaster County bought the debt at a cheap price from ****** and has received payment in full, with little to no cost to them. I would sincerely appreciate if they would oblige my request to not have this damage my credit for the next 7 years.

Desired Settlement: Remove the collection from all of my credit reports, not just indicate it was paid in full, but remove the entire collection activity.

Business Response:

Dear ******,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to *** *******'s correspondence with your office.  I reviewed the account in its entirety. 

On March 4, 2014 ****** Emergency listed an emergency room physicians bill with our office.  The services were rendered by ****** ********* ********** at the location of ***** Hospital on Sept 8, 2013.  Our office sent a validation letter on March 5th, 2014 which was not returned by the USPS (to answer *** *******'s question: No, validation notices and collection notices are typically not sent certified and there is no requirement or standard to do so).  There was no response to this written communication.

Our office followed up by calling *** ******* 7 separate times.  Do to privacy laws and compliance with the FDCPA, we do not leave messages on answering machines or voice mail boxes (as there is a high risk of third party disclosure, which would be a privacy violation). 

On Sept 12, 2014 and Sept 26, 2014 our office received a request from the national credit repositories, prompted by *** ******* to verify the validity of the debt.  On Sept 12th the debt remained owed and verified.  On Sept 15, 2014 *** ******* accessed our payment website and paid his obligation.  On Sept 26th we received another request prompted by *** ******* from the national repositories.  We responded accordingly with a paid in full status as well as a disputed status.

To clarify a comment from *** *******, we are not debt purchasers and did not purchase the debt. 

According to our obligations as a subscriber data furnisher and under the act that governs our credit reporting authority, this account is rightfully marked paid in full and disputed by the consumer. 

*** ******* states that early on he did not attempt to follow up with his insurance.  Unfortunately, it truly is the obligation of the insured to do so.   

I hope that this response satisfies the Bureau; however, please contact me should you have any questions.

Best regards,

Donna N******** *****, Executive Director

Credit Bureau of Lancaster County, Inc.

6/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all I want to thank you for being a resource to fight back, when bad practices are encounter. I was in a car accident an had to EMS services (ambulance). My insurance paid in full. This agency is asking me to provide proof that this has been done. They want me to call my insurance company and have them generate proof. 1. I do not trust them and my business was not with them. 2. If they are working for the Ambulance Company they should be able to call them and clear out their records. ( Perhaps they will not get paid if they do this). 3. The burden to investigate if payment was issued to their client should fall on them. Hopefully they will not make any entries in my credit record. I will be checking this shortly.

Desired Settlement: Repair credit bureau entry and stop contacting me.

Business Response:

Dear ***,

Thank you for the opportunity to address this issue. 

We do not collect for the ambulance.  I believe *** ****** is confused as to who the creditor is.  

The debt we spoke to her about yesterday is the emergency room physicians "********* ********* **********".  These is the physician group that treated her in the emergency room (not the ambulance).

Her bill in the amount of $523.00 is past due and no payments have been received by us or the creditor.

It is common practice that the consumer to provide evidence that substantiates their dispute.  When a consumer supplies supporting documentation, we are able to then conduct a more thorough investigation on their behalf.  Without supporting documentation, the creditor has very little to investigate with. 

To further assist *** ******, I will mail verification of the debt to her.

Please feel free to contact our office should you have any further need to discuss this matter.

Best regards,

***** ********* *****, Executive Director

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was treated by ********* General Hospital.  I provided the claim number to them.  This agency or whomever they might be needs to bill me first to obtain the appropriate information.

If they are a group that work with ********* General I do not know.  How can I pay I bill I never received or know where it came from.


Regards,

******* ******








Business Response:

Dear ***,

Thank you for facilitating *** ******'s response. Detailed account information was mailed on 06/06/14.  I'm hopeful *** ****** has had opportunity to review the data.

********* ********* ********** is the Emergency Room physicians that treated her on 11/22/13.  They are not affiliated with the hospital and do not have access to the hospitals database.  ********* Emergency Associates sent bills to her current address with no mail return or response from *** ****** on:  12/03/13, 01/02/14 and 01/30/14.  Our office received the delinquent bill on February 17, 2014 and also sent a letter (30-day validation notice) on 02/17/14 with no response.  Four separate mail communications were made prior to this complaint with no response until 06/05/14 when our agent contacted *** ****** via telephone.

At this juncture, *** ****** may provide billing information to our office and we are glad to assist her with attempting to have her insurance pay.  This should be done promptly as timely filing may be an issue.

In conclusion, 4 mail attempts were made to resolve the matter, 3 of which were prior to sending the account to collections.  The creditor has no access to any other facilities database and any insurance information must be provided by the patient, *** ******.

We hope this additional information is satisfactory to the Better Business Bureau.

Best regards,

***** ********* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Credit Bureau Of Lancaster County, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)