BBB Accredited Business since

Coopersburg Construction Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 282-4717 Fax: (610) 282-2951 View Additional Phone Numbers 203 Charles St, Coopersburg, PA 18036 http://www.coopersburgconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coopersburg Construction Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Coopersburg Construction Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Coopersburg Construction Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 23, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1975 in PA Business incorporated 05/23/1988 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA005782.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Fred Derby, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fred Derby, President
Business Category

Contractors - General


Additional Locations

  • 203 Charles St

    Coopersburg, PA 18036

  • PO Box 307

    Coopersburg, PA 18036

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I keep receiving statements for services I don't believe they rendered. I requested many time that I want to see the bills as well as my signature approving the work. While I did engage the company I believe the are over charging. I also wish to get an accounting of what I have paid to date and for what service. I have called many times and have never received a call from the owed. The billing clerk is very nasty and unhelpful

Desired Settlement: removal of late charges removal of all erroneous charges

Business Response: Ms. ***** starting calling our company for service to her HVAC systems back in April of 2013. We had worked for the previous owners for many years prior to them selling the home.
We had actually installed new top energy efficient HVAC systems a couple years ago. We had our company stickers on both first and second floor units that we had installed.
Ms. ***** had called us on five different occasions for service starting with the first call in April, 2013 and the last call in July, 2013.
We sent five different invoices and followed up with monthly statements showing the balance due on the account. After no payment was received our office manager called Ms. ***** on November 7, 2013 to let her know that we were still waiting to be paid. Ms. ***** asked why she was being billed, she thought the work would be under warranty. We gave Ms. ***** no reason to believe any work would be under warranty. It is almost comical to think a company that you never worked with before was going to come work at your home for free.
| personally called and talked to Ms. ***** on April 21, 2014. She said she never received any invoices or statements. She also said she feels she owes us nothing. I told her we would again resend copies of all the invoices and another statement.
On May 2, 2014 she called and gave our office manager her credit card and wanted to pay exactly 4 of each invoice. We did exactly what she requested and emailed her a receipt like she also requested.
Our technician had Ms. ***** and the cleaning lady sign his work orders when someone was at the house when he was finished. There were times when Ms. ***** had us use the front door with a keyless entry and nobody was home or Ms. ***** left while we were still there working and told our technician to just call her when he was done. I am offended that she would state we did not do the work and then to say we overcharged her borders on libel.
We have and are still giving an accounting of what is outstanding every month. There is no question what work was done and what is owed.
We have been more than patient with Ms. *****. We will not wait much longer to collect the outstanding balance that is owed.
Sincerely,
Fred W. D**** Coopersburg Plumbing Company
FWD/kjk

Business Response:

Morning ******,

Mrs. ***** was contacted yesterday.

Thanks,

Karen

cid:sigimg0@9e0ce6994071a3167b6d2a80c2a47f73

Coopersburg Construction Corporation

** *** ***

Coopersburg, PA 18036

P ###-###-####

F ###-###-####

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is completely outrageous, I was contacted by the secretary at coopersburg. She was not prepared to discuss their billing errors , she only called to ask me me for times  that would be convenient for him to call me. After giving her a full schedule of my availability, I have yet to hear back . I would appreciate if the Better Business Bureau would step in and assist me to resolve these concerns once and for all. 


Regards,

***** *****








11/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm writing in regard to Coopersburg Construction Co, and my dissatisfaction for their business ethics. As a hard working citizen, with a Bachelor's in Business Admin, I feel I have a decent idea of how a company should treat its customers. The experience with CCC was less than pleasing. First, I had a gentleman come out and do an estimate on roof repairs. He stated there was a 2X2 section that was rough, and there were some other areas that could become problematic in the future. Being that there was already a leak in our spare bedroom, my husband and I decided we wanted to tackle the major problem area first, and if we were satisfied with their workmanship, we'd have them return for the other smaller areas. After the gentleman left my house, I received an email with a contract attached. I immediately printed it, signed it, and enclosed a check for the full amount ($650 for 6 slates, and the labor charges). I sent it in the mail that same day. A few days later, I check my bank account, to see that the check had already cleared. I thought that was a bit strange, since I hadn't even received acknowledgement of the signed contract OR a phone call to schedule them actually coming out to fix the roof. I waited another week and a half (so 2 weeks after they cleared my check) before I finally gave in and called them. Needless to say, I was a bit angry at the fact that they cashed my check without even calling to find out when would be a suitable time to come make the repairs. When I stated my opinion on the matter, Wally said, "well we just take money wherever we can get it!!" I was FLABBERGASTED!! Immediately I knew I was in over my head. He then said he would have his contractor out there the very next day "first thing"! Having knowledge in a variety of different work schedules in different industries, I knew I should be expecting the contractor NO LATER THAN 9am. 9 am came and went, 10 am came and went. Finally, at 11am, I once again gave in and called Wally. He said, "he never came? Well let me call him and see what his schedule looks like." My first thought "shouldn't you have already known what his schedule looked like yesterday when you told me he'd be there first thing? So, my phone rings about a half hour later for him to tell me, he'll be there tomorrow. The next day comes and goes....no one shows up. The next morning I'm so livid, I demand my money back and call their company a joke. Wouldn't you know, the contractor shows up at my house at 4:15pm. Only for his first words to be "yeah, I was over at another property doing repairs when I got Wally's phone call that I needed to leave there immediately and come do the repairs on this property". I was PISSED! But, I left that go. I wished him well, thanked him for coming, and went back inside to mind my daughter. About 2 hours later I go outside to check progress, only to see the contractor fixing rain spouting........totally baffled, I call Wally immediately. He then calls the contractor and tells the contractor that the repairs he is making are not included in my signed contract. Wally then calls me back, apologizes, and says the contractor didn't know what all was on the contract. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!?! Shouldn't that be the ONLY thing he knows??? He then continues to say that the contractor will be out the next day to fix what he's actually contracted to fix and that the repairs he made already are on him (meaning Wally). I thank him, and we hang up. The next day, the contractor comes out first thing in the morning. He's there for 2 hours, then I look out front and notice his work truck is gone. So, I call Wally to ask if his contractor had contacted him to let him know the job was finished. He says no, but he'll give him a shout. About 5 minutes later he calls and says that yeah they're done. So, I go out in the alley to see if I could take note of any changes in coloring of the slate. I see 2 different colored slates, and a whole lining of silver that wasn't in the rain gulley before. So I call Wally to find out what the silver lining in the rain gulley was all about, since it also wasn't in the contract. He calls the contractor, and because of the wonderful "telephone game" where you tell one person one thing and by the end you have a whole different story....the contractor had no clue what I was referring to and came back out to my house. Upon his arrival, I begin recording what he was saying so I could have first hand account of what work was done for my husband. He states that he only actually used two slates for the whole job, and that the silver I'm seeing is a caulk like glue that helps keep the rain gulley from eroding and causing a leak. He states in this recording that he did this out of courtesy and that I "shouldn't mention it to Wally". It didn't occur to me immediately that originally the project was to take 6 slates to fix the problem area and only two were used. About 4 weeks after the job was done, we had a rainstorm. We went in the spare bedroom to ensure there was no leak. To our surprise, the leak WAS STILL THERE. I called Wally and asked that he have his contractor come back out and use the remaining 4 slates that we were slotted *and paid for* and he said, "well he did that other work that wasn't on the contract and billed me for it, so those 4 slates are kinda a wash!" Those were his exact words. I was SHOCKED. I asked that he have his contractor come out anyway and have another look, he stated he'd be in contact with him. It's now been 2 months since that last phone conversation, and I have yet to hear ANYTHING back from him. I have tried contacting him multiple times, but each time I call, he is magically out of the office, and no return call is ever followed through with, even though I leave my name and number EVERY single time. At this point I want one of two things. Either a full refund ($650) or for his contractor to come out and ACTUALLY FIX THE ROOF. I'm so disgusted with CCC and their business ethics. It's not my fault that their communication SUCKS and the contractor spent the whole first day fixing something that wasn't even on the signed contract. It's not my fault that he billed you for it. And it's not my fault that the stupid leak is still there! Maybe if the contractor would've actually used the 6 slates that HE said it needed, there wouldn't be a leak, and CCC wouldn't have a very irate customer right now!!! I WANT RESOLUTION. EITHER GIVE ME MY FULL REFUND BACK OR ACTUALLY FIX MY FREAKING ROOF!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS BEYOND RIDICULOUS!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want a full repair for what was originally contracted. I want the FOUR remaining slates to be installed, at no additional cost to me. If this cannot be done, I want a FULL refund.

Business Response:

November 14, 2014

Dear *** ******:
We originally went to **** ****'s in January, 2013 and looked at her roof. On January 23, 2013, Phil, one of our estimators, wrote a contract and sent it to the Rudy residence. Almost a year later **** **** called and said she was ready to have her roof repaired. Wally, our Sr. Project Manager sent out another contract to **** ****. Our first contract had expired. He sent out the contract on January 14, 2014. **** **** signed and sent back her contract 64 days later on March 18, 2014. She also sent along a check for the full amount even though our contract had asked for no deposit. The contract stated balance due upon completion.
Wally has been with our company for 12 years and is a true professional. He certainly would not have meant to say anything unprofessional about taking money. If something was said I can assure you it was not meant the way **** **** had thought.
I will agree with **** **** that Wally surely could have communicated with her much better than he did. Not returning phone calls is not helpful.
The roof should be replaced. Giving **** **** a contract to just attempt to repair the roof was probably not a good idea. Our recommendation was to replace the roof as the repairs were too costly and could not be guaranteed. We cannot repair this roof, therefore we will be sending **** **** a full refund of $650.00 in the next 10 days.
Thank you,

Fred D

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I would also like to add, though, when Phil came out to do the estimate, I explained that we had a run in with our home insurance, and that I needed him to let me know all repairs that he felt needed to be done. When he came back down, he told me about a small 2X2 section on the rear of the house, and a very small (basically 1-3 slate) on the front of the house. I told him we were not having an issue with the front leaking, but there was a leak beginning where he described the 2X2 section in the back. I informed him that, at that time, we would focus on fixing the 2X2 section, and then whenever we wished, we would give them a call for the smaller section on the front of the house. The roof is all slate, and when we moved in 2 years ago, the home inspector, recommended by the realty company, told us that the roof was in great condition, and that in the next 10-15 years we may want to consider a replacement. We are trusting the home inspector's word, because he doesn't have a horse in the race, so to speak. I am satisfied with the full refund, but I know where not to do my business. Oh and also, CCC is correct. I had called them in January 2013 to do the roof then, but I ended up in the hospital due to severe complications with my pregnancy. I called them and left the receptionist know that I would be requesting another contract at a later date, because with the MULTIPLE hospital stays, I was unable to afford doing the roof at that time. In January 2014, I called and said we were ready to do the roof repairs again. He wrote up another contract (and added over $100 to the price, which was still okay) and I sent in a signed contract immediately after I received it via mail in January, with a check. I never heard anything for 2 months. I am the one who called in to them again and asked why they haven't contacted me to set up arrangements to come out and fix my roof. That is when I was notified that they never received anything. Wally then emailed me the contract again. I printed it same day, and mailed it with another check. And that's when they cashed my check as soon as they received the contract, but never called me to arrange them coming out. I was the one who had to call them. Again. Once again, I'm satisfied with the full refund, but I'm disappointed with the business's response letter. 

Regards,

****** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Coopersburg Construction Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)