BBB Accredited Business since

Coopersburg Construction Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 282-4717 Fax: (610) 282-2951 View Additional Phone Numbers 203 Charles St, Coopersburg, PA 18036 http://www.coopersburgconstruction.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coopersburg Construction Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Coopersburg Construction Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 23, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1975 in PA Business incorporated: 05/23/1988 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA005782.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Fred Derby, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fred Derby, President
Business Category

Contractors - General


Additional Locations

  • 203 Charles St

    Coopersburg, PA 18036

  • PO Box 307

    Coopersburg, PA 18036

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 282-1894(Phone)
  • (610) 865-4065(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
11/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested an estimate from CCC 8/22/12 for work that I wanted to be done on my bathroom. After coming to an agreement that it would be best to charge per hour instead of contracted work, I scheduled the work to be done on 8/31/12. On 8/31/12 one of their associates come to my house @ 1pm and worked to 6pm, replacing the plumbing for my bathtub along with the pipes for the shower. plus he helped put the tub in place along with resetting the toilet. The first bill I received was 11/12/12 and it states 7.25 hours @ 104/hour and he was trying to charge me for 2.25 hours of driving to my house for estimates but we never agreed on it. I contacted him right away to discuss and he said he would have his associate call me. On 1/30/13 he sent another bill saying I was late but we never finished our discussion. On 2/2/13 I sent him a check for $250 and requested a call because I didn't agree with his bill. On 3/1/13 he sent another bill saying I was late again. I agreed to pay 9.88 for one late charge and gave him a final check of $309.43 which I subtracted the 2.25 hours that he never performed. To this day he hasn't cashed the check and hasn't returned my phone calls. On 2/25/13 I returned home to find my drywall started to sag and noticed it wet to the touch. I had to cut a 2 x 2 foot hold in the drywall to remove all that was soaked. right above it was the plumbing that was performed on 8/31/12 and the PVC elbow came off and every time you had a back flow of water it would come out of the pipe soaking the drywall. This has cost me $150-$200 worth of professional work.

Business Response: *** ****** *********,

         Our Sr. Technician, ***** ****, who has been friends with ******** **** since their High School days together, is the employee who worked at *** ****'s home. The first time *** **** called asking for ***** to come to his house for work was on June 21, 2012. *** **** told ***** he had another company at his home to do an estimate for a water softener and to repair his air conditioner. He shared the estimate he received. We did the same job using a bigger softener and still saved him $1,200.00.
        *** **** called us back on August 22, 2013 to do an estimate for installing a bathtub, waste & overflow and new tub & shower faucet he had purchased. We also had to reinstall his toilet. ***** gave him a price of $1,125.00. He told ***** that was too high and asked if we could do it any cheaper. ***** told him we could do it on a time and material basis if he preferred that option. He chose the time and material option. On a time and material option we get paid to scope, size, measure, travel, perform the repairs plus any materials necessary to complete the job.  Our hours for both days were 1.5 hours and 5.75 hrs which equals 7.25 hours at $104.00 an hour for a total of $754.00 for labor. The materials added up to $129.55. The amount of the invoice was $883.55 (much less than the estimate we gave him of $1,125.00).
        All of our estimates, flat rates, contracts, quotes and time & materials include scoping the job, sizing the job, measuring the job and traveling to the job along with the actual repairs. We did not add any overhead and profit to this job. It was billed only on actual time incurred needed to perform the desired outcome expected by the client.
        If *** **** had a leak in his ceiling and thought it was from our installation I am sure he would have called or mentioned this to me in the last 8 months. I actually had ***** call him to answer any questions he had about the invoice. ***** left a message and *** **** never returned his call. 
        At the end of the second day of work, *** **** signed *****'s time sheet which had the hours worked for the day at 5.75 hours. I find it amazing that he is even disputing something he signed.
        As far as the check he sent us; we cannot cash a check that has  "Paid in Full"  written on the lower left hand side of the check next to the signature line unless it is for the full amount, which *** ****'s check was naturally not for the  entire amount and was not considered paid in full.
  
Thank you,
**** ** *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


The reason that I'm rejecting this or disputing the amount is ***** was a friend and he was in a rush to get out of there on Friday night. So he never filled in the hours/work and I thought I could trust him so I just signed the blank form. This was a mistake on my part and it won't happen again.

The company never explained that I would have to pay for Travel or estimate.  I've contacted **** on numerous occasions to try and resolve the issue because I wasn't paying for something that wasn't part of the agreement. He's never called me back and ***** did leave a message but instead of returning *****'s call I called **** again, but he still hasn't returned my phone call.

What about the most recent events at my house? Where the elbow portion of the plumbing came loose and caused water damage to my ceiling and structure because of faulty installation? (see attached picture) I would have contacted **** regarding the issue but since he hasn't been forth coming on returning my calls I didn't see the point, figuring he wouldn't be helpful again.

I will get an estimate from a reliable company on fixing the leak, repairing the damage caused by the poor workmanship and submit my bill to ****.

Regards,

******** ****








Business Response: *** ****** *********,
        I just want to be clear. I have talked to *** **** on at least two occasions prior to ***** calling him. On those two occasions I have tried to explain how our company charges for our jobs. After our first conversation I went back into the job file to review our charges. I called him back the second time and confirmed that his invoice was correct. When he called again, after receiving a past due statement, is when I had ***** call him. He never called ***** back but he did indeed call me instead. This is where he is correct. I did not call him back. There is nothing left to talk about.
        Without looking at the plumbing / piping in the ceiling where a hole is cut, we have no idea that this leak is even associated with our work.
        I will make one more final attempt to settle *** ****'s past due invoice. Our invoice is for $883.55. I will eliminate all finance charges. *** **** paid $250.00 on his account. That leaves a balance of $633.55. If *** **** sends us a check for $533.55 we will consider this past due closed and his account paid in full. This offer is a one time good faith effort to settle this matter. The offer stands for 10 days from today, May 16, 2013. If we do not receive a check for $533.55 we will then initiate proceedings to collect the entire amount of the invoice plus interest, costs and attorney fees. This is not a threat in any way. I just want to be transparent of what will take place and leave no doubt of our intentions.

Thank you,

**** ** *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


*** ****** *********,

                Since **** hasn't returned my last two calls I will not be contacting him again on this matter.

                If you read in his previous statement he said that I signed for 5.75 hours’ worth of work and $129.55 for cost of materials. I don't recall in any of the agreements that I would be paying 2.25 hours at $104/hour for his associate to drive to my house which is approximately 15.2 miles one way. His original statement on 11/12/12 says “Labor - 7.25 hours @ $104/hour. His associate ***** DID NOT work 7.25 hours, he was at my house from 1pm-6pm on 8/31/12.

                If *** ***** would like to come out and take a look at the damage done by his company's poor workmanship, I'd be happy to cut open the ceiling again for him to verify. As long as he understands that he will be paying for the work that was done to fix the damage the first time and the second time for him to confirm. Please note that if he does come out to verify the damage, I do not agree to pay his so called "travel" charge.

                After gathering 2 estimates on fixing the issue previously stated, the cost is between $250-$300. This is only for labor/materials and I did verify with these companies that they do not charge a "Travel" fee, which is good news.

 $520.00                = Work Performed on 8/31/12 from 1pm - 6pm @ $104/hr (labor)

+$129.55              = materials

---------

 $649.55

-$250.00               = Check 2071, Partial payment while we work out billing discrepancies

---------

 $399.55                = Please note: I was incorrect in my calculations during my first payment

-$250.00               = Estimate to fix damage. Only an estimate and could change depending on work performed.

---------

 $149.55                = Total amount owed to CCC for work performed on 8/31/12 (minus damages from work performed)

                I will make one more final attempt to settle with *** ***** regarding his erroneous billing charges. I can send a check for $149.55 and consider the account PAID in FULL (this also includes the repairs from the poor work performed on 8/31/12). This offer is a onetime good faith effort to settle this matter. The offer stands for 10 days from today, May 17, 2013.

                I will not be paying the $533.55 amount that *** ***** came up with and since he is unwilling to accept the fact that I now have damage to my home from his previous work. I might have to proceed in my own legal filings, this is not a threat in any way. I just want to be transparent of what will take place and leave no doubt of MY intentions.

Regards,

******** ****








5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When purchasing my house, I asked this company to give me an estimate on a repair. I explicitly asked and was told they would estimate possible work on a septic at no charge, free of charge. A man came, looked at the septic that the house inspector told us was faulty. The man looked and told us that, in his opinion, it did not need repair. I gave the man $20 tip, knowing I was not paying and wanting to thank him for his honesty. Two months later, I began to get bills charging me $80 an hour for labor. I have complained numerous times by mail, called once and was told they would take care of it, but continue to recieve bills and no response from them.

Desired Settlement: They should stand by their word. They should stop hounding me for payment for work they didn't do. They should stop sending me bills.

Business Response: **. ****** *********,
        After discussing this situation with our technician, he knew he was going there to do an estimate. After looking at the job site plus the age and condition of the septic system, he felt that the baffle should be in good working order even though the home inspector said it needs to be replaced, so he dug open the lid to the septic tank and visibly located and confirmed that no estimate or work was needed to replace the baffle in the tank. A job like that would be in the $1,000.00 range. He felt confident enough that he was correct and that by performing more than an estimate he would confirm his diagnosis and also save the owner the cost of replacing the baffle. But he did not confirm payment with the owner. So if the owner feels he did not get any value or save any money by contacting an honest contractor, then he should not be obligated to pay our invoice.
        I know our company will now have to implement a policy going forward so we do not get into this situation again.

Thank you,
**** *. *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I also understand his explanation, but would argue that it would not be possible to provide an accurate estimate based on the assumption that the baffle was gone, without surveying the damage or lack thereof, which is what the technician did.  At the time, I appreciated the input of the technician, who was very thorough, competent and professional.  As an example to this vendor, I would point to the other vendor who came the same day to estimate replacing some windows, who poked, prodded and did some disassembly to determine the extent of the job before he estimated it, and did so without charge.  He is coming back to our house to perform some pretty extensive repairs, but the vendor who is the topic of this conversation has lost my business to someone else.

Regards,

******* *****