BBB Accredited Business since

Bob Rineer Builders, Inc.

Phone: (717) 738-1403 Fax: (717) 738-1740 27 Garden Spot Rd, Ephrata, PA 17522


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers HOME IMPROVEMENTS & REMODELING.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob Rineer Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob Rineer Builders, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bob Rineer Builders, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1993 Business started: 03/01/1979 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA020663.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert R. Rineer, President Ms. Donna A. Rineer, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Donna A. Rineer, Secretary/Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Robert R. Rineer, President
Business Category

Contractors - General


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Bob Rineer Builders to replace my fence and add deck. I negotiated the price for the job for $8,000. I supplied the fencing material, they were to supply the deck supplies and remove the debris. I had 3 people bid on the job, but choose Bob Rineer because of the fact that he is a licenced contractor and I wanted to be sure that the work was up to code and they would be professional. The second day on the job, they needed to go onto my neighbors property to install the fence and destroyed their flowers and left construction dirt. Bob was not appoligetic ,but rude. My neighbors forbid him access to their property to complete the work. I paid my neighbors for their flowers and agreed to take a day off work to be there when that section of the fence was completed. Work resumed and is almost complete. Last Thursday, April 25, I discoved that the gate on the fence was not going to put to code. I have an inground pool and there are codes regarding access. Also, the deck infringes on my neighbors property. I was not pleased with the height of the fence, it was not providing any privacy. They left construction side debris all over my off street parking and spilling into the street. In additioin, they destroyed my flowers, and left trash laying around my yard. They also left the job site insecure that anyone could have walk into my yard and fallen into the pool. I called Bob and and told him I needed the gate replaced and the fence corrected. He got very angry and asked me who was going to pay for the work. I told him that I expected them to do the work up to code and that I would not pay more for his errors. He then became excessively rude to me and made sexist personal attacks. I told him there was no excuse for this to be personal. I just wanted the job done correcly. He advised his wife, who is his secritary, that their son , who also is employed by them, that I would not allow Bob back on the property. I do not trust him on my property. I am afraid of him. He acted very unprofessinaly to both me and my neighbor. I told them if they don't finish the work, I will hire another contractor and subtract that cost from the bill. I think that is reasonable.

Desired Settlement: I have to options I would be agreeable with: 1) Their son can complete the work, I will inspect it with him and write then a check for the blance I owe at that time 2) I can hire another contractor to finish the work. I would sutract that cost from the bill, and submit a copy of that with the balance I owe.

Business Response:

****

THE FIRST THING I AM GOING TO DO IS FORWARD TO YOU ALL E-MAILS I HAVE SENT *** ******* AND THE E-MAILS SHE SENT ME. AFTER  I HAVE ALL OF THESE FORWARDED TO YOU, I WILL COME BACK TO THIS FORM AND REPLY.  I AM NOT THE BEST ON THE  COMPUTER WHEN IT COMES TO DOING EXTRA MAILING SO PLEASE  DON'T BE SURPRISED IF TAKES ME A FEW TIMES TO GET EVERYTHING TO YOU.

THANK YOU,

***** ** ******

BOB RINEER BUILDERS, INC.

Business Response:

 

SORRY IT TOOK SO LONG TO GET BACK WITH YOU. I HAD A FEW PHONE CALLS IN BETWEEN THIS. I AM GOING TO RESPOND THE BEST I CAN. *** WITHERS FATHER, WHOM WE HAVE WORKED FOR MANY TIMES CALLED US AND ASKED IF WE WOULD GO TO ************ TO WORK. HIS DAUGHTER LIVES IN ************ AND SHE NEEDED A DECK AND FENCE BUILT. WE CONTACTED ***, BOB LOOKED AT THE JOB AND GAVE HER A QUOTE.  *** CALLED OR E-MAILED ME ABOUT THE NEIGHBORS FLOWERS. SHE SAID THAT IS HOW THEY ARE. SHE SAID SHE WENT TO ********* AND GOT THEM A GIFT CARD. WHEN I DID THE FINAL BILL I WAS GOING TO ASK FOR HER FOR THE RECEIPT FOR THE CARD AND TAKE THAT OFF THE BILL. WHEN BOB AND **** STARTED THE JOB, BOB TALKED TO *** ABOUT THE HEIGHT OF THE FENCE. SHE WANTED IT LOW ENOUGH TO SEE THE RIVER FROM HER DECK.  ON THURSDAY EVENING APRIL 25TH, BOB SPOKE TO ***. HE SAID HE SHOULD FINISH ON FRIDAY, BUT HE HAD QUESTIONS HE NEEDED HER TO ANSWER. AT THAT TIME HE ASKED ABOUT THE FENCE AND GATES. SHE SAID SHE DIDN'T HAVE A CHANCE TO LOOK AT IT SINCE IT WAS RAINING.   HE INSTALLED THE FENCE AS SHE WANTED IT. SHE CALLS FRIDAY AT LUNCH TIME AFTER HE HAD THE HEIGHT SET ON WHAT SHE WANTED.  AT THAT TIME SHE SAID SHE WANTED IT DIFFRENT. HE WAS UPSET THAT SHE WAITED UP TO LUNCH TIME TO CALL HIM, AND WANTED  CHANGES. BUT HE DID TEMPORARY SET THE FENCE TO HEIGHT THAT SHE SAID SHE WANTED. HE DIDN'T DO ANYMORE UNTIL HE WOULD HEAR FROM HER. BOB LEFT HER A NOTE. THEN SHE CALLS ME AND SAID HE CAN'T COME BACK AND DO THE WORK. AT FIRST SHE SAID WE HAD TO TAKE CARE OF IT ON FRIDAY. I SAID WE COULDN'T , SINCE OUR SON WAS WORKING IN NEW YORK AND BOB WASN'T ALOUD TO COME THERE HIMSELF.  I DON'T KNOW WHAT ALL WAS SAID BUT I BELEIVE BOTH WERE UPSET. AS I EXPLAINED TO ***, BOB SAID SOMETHINGS HE SHOULDN'T HAVE SAID. THAT IS NOT LIKE HIM. HE JUST SAID THAT NO MATTER WHAT HE SAID, SHE WOULD TURN THINGS AROUND AND SAY HE SAID THINGS HE DIDN'T SAY. HE WILL ADMIT, HE SAID THINGS HE SHOULDN'T HAVE. BUT IN 34 YEARS IN BUSINESS HE NEVER LOST HIS TEMPER. WE ARE SORRY FOR THAT. HE WOULD NEVER HURT ANYONE. SHE IS TO BE OUT OF THE COUNTRY, SO I DON'T KNOW WHY IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A PROBLEM FOR HIM AND **** GO BACK AND FINISH. WE WOULD NEVER DO ANYTHING TO ANYONES PROPERTY. THAT WOULD HURT OUR GOOD NAME. AND WE WOULD NEVER DO ANYTHING LIKE THAT.

I REALLY WANTED TO GET HELP TO FIX THIS MATTER, SO ON MONDAY MORNING I CALLED BBB, AND SPOKE TO ***. AFTER TALKING TO HER, BOB AND I DECIDED TO SEND **** UP AND REMOVE THE DEBRIS. SHE GAVE ME VERY GOOD ADVISE. I WAS WAITING TO HEAR FROM *** , SINCE SHE IS OUT OF TOWN.

ON MONDAY MORNING **** WENT UP TO ***S HOME. HE DIDN'T GO INSIDE THE FENCE. HE DID CLEAN UP THE DEBRIS THAT WAS OUTSIDE THE FENCE. I HAD SPOKE TO *** ON THE PHONE FRIDAY NIGHT AND I REALLY THOUGH WE HAD EVERYTHING WORKED OUT. SHE WAS TELLING HOW SHE DIDN'T WANT TO GO OUT OF TOWN  AND JUST SMALL TALK. I TOLD BOB I THINK WE REALLY HAVE THINGS WORKED OUT.  I REALLY BELEIVED AT THAT TIME IT WAS OK FOR BOB AND ****, TO GO ON MONDAY AND FINISH. WE LEFT EARLY SATURDAY MORNING TO GO TO OUR HOME IN THE MOUNTAINS TO MOW. WE GET HOME AND I CHECK MY E-MAILS AND I COULDN'T BELEIVE WHAT I WAS READING. I NEVER SAID ANYTHING  TO HER THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN NEGATIVE. I DID SAY THAT I FEEL IT WOULD BE UNFAIR FOR **** TO COME ALONE AND FINISH. HE IS OUR SON, BUT HE IS AN EMPLOYEE. HE HAS NEVER HAD TO DEAL WITH ANYONE THAT WASN'T HAPPY WITH OUR FIRM. THAT IS THE REASON I DIDN'T SEND **** IN TO DO THE WORK. I REALLY WAS AFRAID IF HE WENT INSIDE HER PROPERTY SHE MIGHT HAVE HIM ARRESTED, FOR TRESPASSING. BUT I FELT SHE WOULD SEE WE WERE TRYING  TO WORK THINGS OUT, IF WE REMOVED THE DEBRIS.

ABOUT DEBRIS LAYING AROUND- WE HAD TO LEAVE THE OLD FENCING THERE UNTIL THE DECK WAS DONE. WE WOULD HAVE TO PUT IT BACK UP AT THE END OF THE DAY, SINCE HER POOL WAS THERE. WE PICK UP AT THE END OF THE DAY, BUT WE DON'T DO ALL OF OUR CLEANING UP UNTIL THE JOB IS FINISHED. 

 

THERE IS ALSO ITEMS *** WOULD LIKE DONE THAT ISN'T INCLUDED ON THE CONTRACT.  WHEN WE DO A JOB CONTRACT, IF WE HAVE ITEMS LEFT OVER WE TAKE THAT WITH US. WE ALWAYS FIGURE EXTRA OUTDOOR LUMBER, JUST IN CASE THE LUMBER YARD SENDS SOME THAT WE DON'T FEEL IS GOOD ENOUGH TO USE.  PLUS WITH THIS JOB BEING SO FAR AWAY WE ALSO ORDERED EXTRA LUMBER.  I KNOW *** MADE A REMARK ABOUT THE MATERIAL AT THE JOB SITE LEFT WAS HERS. AT THAT POINT I NEVER SAID ANYTHING THAT MIGHT UPSET HER MORE.

BOB BELEIVES IT WILL TAKE 1-1 1/2 DAYS TO FINISH WHAT SHE WANTS COMPLETED.  AT THIS POINT  WE DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO.  WE WOULD LIKE THE JOB FINISHED, BUT WE REALLY FEEL NO MATTER WHAT WE DO IT WON'T  BE GOOD ENOUGH. SHE WILL FIND REASON NOT TO PAY US. WE ARE REALLY AT ***S MERCY.  FOUR THOUSAND DOLLARS IS ALLOT OF MONEY.  THAT IS WHAT THE BALANCE OF THE CONTRACT IS.  CAN ANYONE  GUARANTEE US THAT WE WILL GET PAID?

I HOPE I HAVE ANSWERED ANY QUESTIONS THE BEST I CAN.

THANK YOU,

BOB RINEER BUILDERS, INC.

 

Business Response:

Bob asked that *** put in writing everything she expects done. I know she will say she has the items marked at her house. that doesn't do us any good. We need to know in as much detail  as she can give for him to go over it with ******* before he leaves our office to go out there.  Sign and say this is what she expects.  What she feels we owe her.  We have no more to say.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

That is an aburd request. Bob could have put in writing at the time of his quote what is qoute was for.

As they know, I am not in Pa. the work should have been completed. They are making up new operating proceedures. I accepted the meathod at the time of the contract. I am NOT changing the contract. they should simply finsih the work and do a walk through like the do with every customer.

I paid them in good faith. I am NOT the one who has broken the contract.

I want them to honor the contract. Period.

If the do not complete the work by the time I return to Pa I will hire another contractor and reduce the bill the amount it costs me.

I have no other option.

I simply expect them to honor their contract.  they keep adding complications and are making a very simple job very difficult.


Regards,

****** *******







Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ***** ****** ***********************
Date: Thu, May 2, 2013 at 2:45 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington
DC & Eastern Pennsylvania complaint #********
To: info@mybbb.org


***,
What we were hoping if **** could come Monday when she is back in
town. That way our son in law can help him. Also that way when she is
finished work she can inspect while he is still there. Then we don't
need to make a second trip back.  **** will have help. Friday doesn't
work the best for our son in law. He could help a couple hours maybe.
Monday he is free. I haven't heard anything so I am hoping this will
be agreeable.
Thank you,
*****
Bon Rineer Builders, Inc.

Business Response:

Our son requested that we ask you to go into detail everything you needed done. He really wasn't happy about going to do this work alone. We were not trying to upset you in any way. At this point we have no where to go.  So you do what you have to do. We will not make him go, when he isn't sure what he has to do. We don't know for sure when you say the deck needs cut back. Those are items Bob handles.  I am sorry it has to end this way.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  


Please refer to email I previously sent with list of things needed to complete.

Please advise when he will be here, as I will work from home as you previously requested.

Thank you for removing the debris that was on my off street parking. 

You had suggested that it may be one and a half days work, but I would be very surprised if it is more then one.

Regards,

****** *******