BBB Accredited Business since

Alick Smith General Contractor, Inc.

Phone: (610) 759-1840 Fax: (610) 759-4664 220 E Lawn Rd  Ste 10, Nazareth, PA 18064 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.alicksmithroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alick Smith General Contractor, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Alick Smith General Contractor, Inc. include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Alick Smith General Contractor, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alick Smith General Contractor, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1980 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA001916.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alick Smith, President Ms. Alexandria Dugan, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alick Smith, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 220 E Lawn Rd
    Ste 10

    Nazareth, PA 18064

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a contract with Alick Smith Roofing to replace my gutters, signed October 15 and by terms of the contract I paid half ($1,495.) up front for the service promised. The check , **** ** ******* number **** was cashed on October 16. . I was told there was a two-week lag time for service. Three months later, I am in worse shape than I started because my gutters were removed (on December 26) and not replaced so now I have no gutters at all. I had to put all of the objects in my basement up on risers to protect against flooding The company has withheld information and demonstrated a huge lack of communication and courtesy. I have a complete paper record of emails and phone calls. The last call from the company rep, John R***, was January 5, he said he would get back to me and never did.

Desired Settlement: I would like the job to be completed in a timely fashion.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have not heard from Alick Smith since my last contact (a phone call) with one of their employees the week of February 9.  No date was set for the work then nor have they tried to arrange to come do the work now even though the snow has melted and each day this week the temperature has been in the 40s or 50s or even 60s.  The original arrangement was for the work to be done in late October to early November; four months have passed since then. I have been without any gutters for almost 3 months now.


Regards,

********* **  *********








Consumer Response:

Date: Tue, May 12, 2015 at 3:46 PM

Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #********.
To: info@mybbb.org

The work was completed, FIVE months and many complains after it was contracted. Very poor communications and no courtesy at all. Thanks for checking in.
********* *********

12/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales representative sold us a product (*** Walking pads) for our roofing project that were. not meant to be used for a residential roof that would require high traffic and need to be shoveled and salted. In the back of our residential/commercial building has 2 floors and the 2nd floor to enter into the apartments you need to walk on a flat roof area. Alick Smith subbed out the work to an inferior company with out our knowledge and had to return 6 times for mistakes. 1. flashing was on backwards. 2. instead of our 1 roof leaking, we had all 3 leaking after there re-roofing job.. 3. The walking pads were buckling up 4. They didn't changed a bad piece of plywood they stuck a piece of metal and cardboard under the rubber roof. which had to be redone. 5. The rubber roofing did not have a retainer bar to hold the material to the wall. The pads are a major problem , they are not meant for high traffic , shoveling snow of the them is almost impossible and the ice melt is not recommended for the rubber roofing.

Desired Settlement: 1. Replace *** walking pads with composite pavers 2. Attached rubber roofing to wall with retainer bar. or full refund.

Business Response:

To address the items listed on the Complaint are as follows:

1)       The *** walk pads not being made for a residential roof with high traffic. 

a.        Enclosed you will find an attachment that is a *** technical data sheet that clearly list high traffic  areas in the description along with the durability. This product is made directly for the application it was used for. Furthermore the product was pre approve by the onsite manger Kylie prior to installing with full approval.

b.       Upon the onsite manger ( Kylie )review we extended the area of these mats for more use of the deck than contracted for creating a additional cost to ASR.

2)       Flashing installed backwards.

a.        The flashing was a commercial grade .032 (Counter metals that could have the use of center slip plates. It was installed proper but needed to be completed.) The customer requested us to not use the center slip plates and run the counter flashing as they requested.

b.       We removed the .032 Counter metal and Reinstalled as requested.

3)       Not changing a bad piece of plywood as needed.

a.        We removed several layers of roofing where 1 small area was brought to the onsite mangers Kylies attention it was ok but soft. We gave her options as follows:

                                                      i.      Change the flooring and install plywood as needed with additional cost. Install heavy .032 decking metal free of charge.

                                                     ii.      Kylie said that the removal of the floor and installing new decking was not in the budget. We repaired as requested.

b.       Upon a walk through inspection the owner requested the flooring to be replaced, ASR replaced it at no addition cost.

4)       Roof leaks prior to installation.

a.        All 3 units had prior roof leaking upon investigation. We had received a call about a leak and sent a crew out within 12 hours to repair

b.       The reason for the leaking in the left and center units were a condition which will still exist due to a rotting stairwell and several rotting 4 x 4 railing posts. All items were brought up to Kylie prior to the roof installation to be changed.  Kylie replied that is not in the budget.

c.        We sealed several areas of the Stair stringers and installed new flashings on each 4 x 4 which was not in the original quote. ASR did not charge. We also have photos of the interior leaks of which 2 were completely dry with old staining. ASR repaired the interiors with no questions and documented. ASR did not charge.

d.       On the right unit from the back we replaced the first floor ceiling tiles that were affected and steamed cleaned all the areas necessary. Other than the damaged ceiling tile there were no wet areas to the touch that could be documented. Eg, furniture, carpet, ect

e.       ASR also included a $50.00 **** ***** gift card to cover all ceiling tiles directly to Kylie for supplying a in stock match.

5)       The EPDM does not have a bar

a.        We at ASR offered to install a Turn Bar not required by *** for additional protection. We were told not to touch anything. We are prepared to install.

6)       Removing *** walk pads and installing Compost decking.

a.        RPI walk pads are made for this application. The compost decking was brought up in discussion prior to anything being done however it would not work with the Local Building codes. Kylie and I discussed the use of compost decking which would put the stairs out of BOCA 2011 codes for stair rise. It cannot be used without rebuilding the entire 3 rear stairwells to meet local and BOCA Codes. Kylie replied it not in the Budget.

   We will install the Turn Bar at no charge and expect full payment. The *** walk pads will not be changed to compost decking without an addition charge with new stairwells installed as per local and BOCA 2011 building Codes.

    ASR has been more than accommodating.  We have attended 3 walkthrough. The Walkthroughs were held with Kylie and the owner Diane. ASR has completed all 3 punch list and would like resolution. ASR has been dispatched at every call within 24 hours and the willingness to have another happy customer. We must be reasonable and work within the contract.  We have not been paid even on part 2 of the contract and have extended our services beyond in good faith.


9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had storm damage, I called Alick Smith Roofing. They came out and looked at it and sent me a quote. I sent the quote back with a check for $471.00 for half the quote. This was 7-14-2014, I emailed them twice and they said they would be out shortly. They are stalling because they have bigger and better paying roofing jobs going on. I told them if they didn't want to do the job they should return my money so I can get someone else. 7 weeks is long enough to have my roof and rain gutters fixed. It would only take them a few hours to fix everything that was damaged. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: Repair the storm damaged this week or return my money.

12/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a roof installed by Alick Smith 2 years ago. We had a leak and ***** Smith came out to look and said it was from roof and they are going to have to come out and fix the roof and repair our ceiling. It took awhile for someone to come out to fix the problem. They had to have some one come in to remove possible mold that was in ceiling due to the leak. That went well, they cleaned up after themselves and you wouldn't have even have known they were there if I didn't have 1/2 of my kitchen ceiling torn down. We than had to wait another week someone to come out to repair the ceiling/roof. I was told it was a 2 day job. It turned into 3. The guy on the job was very unprofessional. My house was left a mess. They had to repaint a wall and they couldn't match the color, so my kitchen is now 2 different colors. They didn't put plastic on anything & it took me 3 days just to get the dust out of the house. I called & spoke to ***** & he said he will drop off the paint so I can repaint my kitchen. I still have not received the paint. I don't feel I should have to paint the kitchen. I am not happy with the job at all, you can see the tape on the ceiling & the painting looks like a child did it. I sent an email to the company and it has been over I week and I still haven't received a response.

Desired Settlement: I want my kitchen back to the way it was before they stepped into my house.

Business Response: Hi ******,
In regards to ********'s complaint,we were notified about this complaint in August. In  September we paid *****'s Professional Cleaning & Restoration to do a mold test which came back negative. After that test, I sent 2 gentleman out on 9/24/13 and they hung new drywall, spackled, taped and painted.  ******** was unhappy with the end result. So I then sent out another 2 gentleman to repaint the entire kitchen to have all the walls match. As well as spackle the ceiling where ******** could see the seams. The workers did everything they were asked to do as well as purchase the paint for the ENTIRE kitchen so it could match properly. We attempted to fix this and it costed us $1,461.10 in material alone not including labor cost. I apologized to ******** for her unsatisfactory. I also offered for the workman to come out and look at the end result and fix what made her unhappy. She said no, I apologized again and said if she changes her mind to let me know. I don't want an unhappy customer. Here at Alick Smith we tried our best to accommodate ********. 

If any new information should arise, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I am not happy with the end result and I was never told they will come out to fix the issues again.  I had to have someone at my house for 5 days to try to fix this and it still isn't right.  What about my time and the fact that I couldn't use my kitchen for 3 days while they tried to make the repairs. 

Regards,

******** ********









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alick Smith General Contractor, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)