BBB Accredited Business since

Mid-Atlantic Control Systems LLC

Phone: (301) 587-6551 View Additional Phone Numbers 11706 Parklawn Dr, Rockville, MD 20852 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


The company offers audio visual and security systems integration.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mid-Atlantic Control Systems LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mid-Atlantic Control Systems LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mid-Atlantic Control Systems LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 13, 2004 Business started: 06/01/1994 in MD Business started locally: 06/01/1994 Business incorporated 06/29/1999 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of State Police (MSP)-MD
Support Services Bureau - Licensing Division, 1111 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville MD 21208
Phone Number: 410.653.4500
Fax Number: 410.653.5441
The number is 107-845.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
1100 N. Eutaw St Room 606, Baltimore MD 21201
Phone Number: 410-767-2241
Fax Number: 410-767-2986
The number is 11-3087.

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705093659 A.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Mannix, President Ms. Carol K Mannix, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Carol K Mannix, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Christopher Mannix, President
Business Category

Contractor - Low Voltage Systems Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Television & Radio - Dealers Video Production Services

Additional Locations

  • 11706 Parklawn Dr

    Rockville, MD 20852


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of Mid-Atlantic Control Systems since summer 2009 when I first bought my townhouse. Last year I tried to terminate my contract; however, I was informed that it was not within the 60 day window for termination. As a result, the company decided to automatically renew my contract thru 16 July 2015. In early March 2013 I contacted their customer service requesting information on their early termination fee. However, I still have not received a response. I have prior experience where it was difficult to get in touch with someone from this company. The below verbiage is from one of their emails last year: " We have reviewed your account and contract and see the account has rolled over into another 3 year term. According to the agreement signed on 7/16/2009 under 2. MONITORING PRICE, TERM AND SERVICE paragraph two: After expiration of the initial term and after expiration of any renewal term of this Agreement, this Agreement shall automatically renew for an additional three (3) year term, unless you or the Company shall have given the other party notice of termination of this Agreement at least sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of the then current term." Your term of service is now through 7/16/15.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written response from the company to explain and list the costs of early termination of service. I have reviewed a copy of my initial contract (from June 2009) and do not see any mention of early termination of service clauses. Moreover, the company needs to improve their customer service process and procedures in terms of acknowledging receipt of customer inquiries/complaints.

Business Response:

We don’t have any record of a cancellation request from ** ******* and until this BBB complaint have not directly heard from her.  Our office is open each week day from 8:30am -5:00pm and ** ******* could have called to discuss her account. Our number is ************.  In general, our monitoring plans are similar to a cell phone or cable plan where you sign-up for a specified term with a renewal period.  We understand that with today’s economy people are struggling and we have worked with other clients on payment options and other monitoring plans.  Unfortunately we have not heard from ** ******* until she posted her BBB complaint so we were not given the opportunity to discuss either.  We have tried to contact ** ******* but got here voicemail.  ** ******* has been a good client and her account is in good standing.  We would like the opportunity to discuss this matter directly.  Please contact us by phone at your convenience any week day from 8:30-5:00.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I first want the company's information in writing regarding contractal terms for costs of early termination of service and/or service plan costs. I have a hardcopy of my initial contract but this information is not listed. Moreover, my contract was automatically extended by the company for another three years; I was not given the opportunity to renew based on available options nor was I provided a copy of the new contract.

I will talk to the business after this information is provided in writing.  


******* *******

Business Response:

It is quite frustrating that *** ******* has not contacted us in any way other than by this BBB complaint.  We have tried to contact *** ******* directly without success.  Without this direct communication we are unable to discuss *** *******'s specific options.  In general, when a monitoring contract renews there is no new contract sent nor are any of the terms adjusted, it is simply renewed for an additional period equal to the original time period with all of the same terms and conditions.  The benefit to the consumer is that the rate does not increase and the consumer is able to lock in the old three year rate for another new three year term.  In exchange for the rate lock, if you do cancel early the balance of the contracted term would be due in full.  Typically people who would like to terminate give written notice at least sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of the then current term.  We did not receive notice and other than this BBB complaint we have not heard from *** *******.  If *** ******* would like to terminate her monitoring she should send written notice to our office and we will respond with our monitoring cancelation form for her to complete.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I am requesting the company to send me a cancellation form and information on the costs to terminate my alarm monitoring contract. I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is partially satisfactory to me. 


******* *******