BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AFC First Financial Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AFC First Financial Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AFC First Financial Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1977 Business started: 09/02/1947 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mimi Frusha, Chief Implementation Officer Ms. Erica Fiji, Business Process Mananger
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Erica Fiji, Business Process Mananger
Principal: Ms. Mimi Frusha, Chief Implementation Officer
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Alternate Business Names
A Company of Renew Financial

Additional Locations

  • 1005 Brookside Rd ste 200

    Allentown, PA 18106

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1221 Broadway 4th flr

    Oakland, CA 94612 (510) 451-7900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business has made it virtually impossible to contact a customer service representative. When you call all you get is someone to take a message and unless you are willing to sit by the phone all day you never get to talk with a customer device representative. I've made 4 calls today. I did get 2 return calls on my answering machine but no way to call back (no extension # directly to them) My last call I told them I would be at home for 1/2 hr and gave my cell #. I waited about an hour then had to leave. When I returned there was another message on my machine from them but no call to my cell. I've had this loan since 10/2012 and my payments have been consistent. In January I got a notice that my payment wasn't received only to find that their address had changed. There is a small note on the bill to notify customers of the change which I didn't see. My check was returned and sent and it was late but if the address change been highlighted or made to stand out, I would have noticed and changed it with my bill payer service. I made a number of calls when the Jan. pay,meant wasn't received but was never told I would be charged a late fee. If I must pay it I will, but my complaint is about the lack of customer service. I'm retired, but had I still been working I'd never be able to contact these people. This is not customer service. The only people being served are the business itself, by shielding itself from it's customers.

Desired Settlement: I'd love to have the late charge removed but I'd think a lot better of the company if they would actually start to have real customer service.

Business Response: This business has made it virtually impossible to contact a customer service representative. When you call all you get is someone to take a message and unless you are willing to sit by the phone all day you never get to talk with a customer device representative. I've made 4 calls today. I did get 2 return calls on my answering machine but no way to call back (no extension # directly to them) My last call I told them I would be at home for 1/2 hr and gave my cell #. I waited about an hour then had to leave. When I returned there was another message on my machine from them but no call to my cell. I've had this loan since 10/2012 and my payments have been consistent. In January I got a notice that my payment wasn't received only to find that their address had changed. There is a small note on the bill to notify customers of the change which I didn't see. My check was returned and sent and it was late but if the address change been highlighted or made to stand out, I would have noticed and changed it with my bill payer service. I made a number of calls when the Jan. pay,meant wasn't received but was never told I would be charged a late fee. If I must pay it I will, but my complaint is about the lack of customer service. I'm retired, but had I still been working I'd never be able to contact these people. This is not customer service. The only people being served are the business itself, by shielding itself from it's customers.


We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.  Since we were founded in 1947, excellence in customer service has been our primary focus. We were having phone system issues during this period which have since been resolved, but I am not sure why return calls were not made to your cell as you requested.  I will ask our customer service team to look into this immediately and hopefully be able to resolve the late charge issue.  Again, please accept our apologies.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ***

11/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We applied for a ***** energy loan for work performed by a contractor listed in their circle. To qualify for the 4.9% loan all work is to be performed by someone in their circle. We are being denied because they are saying now that he is not in the circle for spray foam insulation and no where is it stated that he must be in a specific circle. His business comes up in the contractor circle search.

Desired Settlement: That they would honor the 4.9% loan that we were approved for.

Business Response: ******* ***** *****
**** **** ***
**** ***** * **  *****

This issue relates to a financing program administered by AFC  for an Illinois utility. Contractors who perform the work must be approved by both AFC and the utility.

The contractor had been taken off the utility's approved list but we had not been notified.

The utility approved an exception for the financing but not for any rebate (we do not administer the rebate program or have any involvement in that)

We
emailed the borrower on 10/3 advising them they would be approved for financing.  We also emailed the contractor for the required information to complete the job.

At this point the loan is pending waiting for additional information.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AFC First Financial Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)