BBB Accredited Business since

The Exterior Company

Phone: (855) 766-3264 Fax: (855) 766-3274 1200 Corporate Blvd  Ste 20A, Lancaster, PA 17601 http://www.theexteriorcompany.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Exterior Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Exterior Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Exterior Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 2012 Business started: 06/10/2008 in PA Business incorporated 05/07/2012 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA093603.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Hoke, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Hoke, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors Contractors - Gutters

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: Closed

Additional Locations

  • 1200 Corporate Blvd
    Ste 20A

    Lancaster, PA 17601

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed 1st contract with the Exterior Company on 8/8/14 to have my home re-sided for $4,264.99 Contract cancelled by me 8/10/14. Signed 2nd Contract 9/4/14 for re-siding my home, but with a color and style change, again for $4,264.99. Contract stated start date would be 3-4 weeks. 9/11/14 approximately 1150 sq ft of siding was delivered to my home by *** ****** ******* per order from the Exterior Company. 9/23/14 received email from the Exterior Company representative stating "After submitting the work order it was brought to my attention that the numbers to complete all of the siding is to low. Is there anyway you could come out if pocket any to have all the work completed ? I'm sorry for this mess up!" When I asked how much out of pocket, he responded "If you are able come out of pocket 2000 we can have all the siding completed. Please let me know if you are willing to work with me on the numbers." Contacted the head office and told them I expected them to honor the contract. They responded that they were not obligated to honor the contract because no money had exchanged hands.Apparently he was not aware that siding had been delivered to my home on 9/11/14 After contacting an attorney, who believes we have a strong case due to the siding delivery, he suggested that we try to come to a new price through negotiation with the company. Contacted the company by phone, asked if they would negotiate a price increase and they refused. Contacted the company the week of October 6th saying that we would accept the $2000 increase and asked for them to reply. Since then, they have failed to respond to phone calls or emails. We drove to their ********* office 10/8/14 but nobody was there.

Desired Settlement: Contact me by 10/15/14 to make arrangements to re-side my home within a reasonable time and in a professional manner with the standard 10 year warranty for workmanship intact.

Business Response: The Exterior Company met with ***** ****** on 10/15/2014 at our ********* office to discuss this complaint and we found a resolution.


We will do their siding for an addition $2000.

We will be contacting ****** the week of 10/20-10/24 to create a new contract work order to complete her siding repairs requested. 

The date to start the project is yet to be determined due to a month long vacation in the month of November that ****** had mentioned in our conversations on the 16th.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Exterior Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)