This business is not BBB accredited.

Kauffman's Construction & Home Improvements

Phone: (717) 855-3878 138 Hellam St Apt 2, Wrightsville, PA 17368


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kauffman's Construction & Home Improvements include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kauffman's Construction & Home Improvements
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1993 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA-059357.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. James L. Kauffman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James L. Kauffman, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Property Maintenance Concrete Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Kauffman's Concrete, Construction & Clean Up

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    138 Hellam St Apt 2

    Wrightsville, PA 17368 (717) 855-3878

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Kauffman's Home Improvement last Oct. 2013. Mr. Kauffman came to our house and worked up a price for the following work: 1. Demoved landing and walkway in front 2. Removed mortar from both sides of front steps 3. Poured new walkway and landing 4. Parged both sides of steps Mr. Kauffman gave us a price of $1500.00, we in good faith sent a check to him on 10/15/13 for half of the cost which was $775.00 and paid the balance $775.00 on 11/11/13 for the completed work. In December, 2013 we found a large crack clear across he sidewalk. I immediately call him he was shocked that that would have happened. He said he would be out to check it. We then had snow and ice storms so I didn't bother to call him again until after the weather cleared. In Mar, 2014, I called to remind him and he was very apologetic but said he forgot, but he would be there to fix the crack. Meanwhile, there were other cracks that appeared so I called again, apologetic again saying he forgot. I asked him why he keeps forgetting since he knew there was a problem. I continue to call he continues to say he will come and never shows. I have called him so many times that i can't even count them, I leave messages upon messages, sometimes he picks up and says he will be there in a couple of weeks, I let 3 weeks go by and he never shows. Finally he came while we were at work on day. What a horrible mess, he plastered the crack with just a sloppy mess that does not even match the color of the concrete, he splattered concrete over our siding, the cracks in the corner of the step does not match, and still shows the cracks, it looks horrible! I called again and again to let him know that this was not satisfactory and we could not believe he actually did this repair himself and I asked if he sent someone else, he said he would be back and I continue to call, he now tells "he is so busy" that he puts me off again and again. Now he will not answer my calls nor return my calls. This is right in the front of my home and it looks terrible. All I want is for him to call and set up a time to meet with him so he can repair it. I don't think this is too much to ask. We did what he requested by paying in full and now I feel we are out $1500.00 and I can't afford to pay someone else to repair the mess he made. I hope you can help us. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I am hoping you can contact him and have him to repair this. It has almost been a year and that is all we are asking that it is repaired properly. He has not been a responsible contractor, and clearly he should not give a customer the excuse that he is too busy to repair something he did wrong.

Business Response: AUGUST 30, 2014

??: ???,
- This letter is in regards to the complaint filed against KAUFFMAN's CONSTRUCTION and HOME IMPROVEMENTS. - -
It is true that the crack was patched sloppy and darker than the walkway. -
On 8/26/2014 at 10:00 am, I arrived at *** ** ***** ***, NEW FREEDOM, PA., and, repaired the crack on landing and walkway.
The patch was grind down and patched with a lighter cement mix, the first patch was a hydraulic cement mix, witch is used for it's strength in cracks and holes. And is darker.
**** ********* did make a false statement when she said, that she contacted me in december, regarding the crack. She did not contact me until early march. -
It is true that I have not been a responsible contractor, by not fixing her problem right away. It is also true that I am busy, working six days aweek. -
Thank you.
Sincerely;

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I feel that the job has been carried out in an unacceptable manner, and that "being too busy" is an inexcusable response to the poor quality of the job results, especially for the amount of money we payed for this job ($1,500). Please see the attached pictures which display the poor quality of work.


Regards,

***** & ***** *********








Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I feel that the job has been carried out in an unacceptable manner, and that "being too busy" is an inexcusable response to the poor quality of the job results, especially for the amount of money we payed for this job ($1,500). Please see the attached pictures which display the poor quality of work.

Regards,

***** & ***** ********* 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kauffman's Construction & Home Improvements
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)