BBB Accredited Business since

Jim Dewire & Sons, Inc.

Phone: (610) 865-7977 2718 Winston Rd, Bethlehem, PA 18017

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Business specializes in all phases of building and remodeling.  They do additions, kitchen remodeling, bathroom remodeling, basement remodeling, sun rooms and decks, exterior and interior doors, windows, interior and exterior repairs, roofing and siding, gutters and down spouting, handicap accessibile jobs, and handyman services.  They are also EPA lead certified contractors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jim Dewire & Sons, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Jim Dewire & Sons, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 12, 1960 Business started: 01/01/1965 in PA Business incorporated 01/01/2005 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA004887.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Dewire, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Dewire, Owner/President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Contractors - General Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Windows Building Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
checks, cash

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told I was being charged $75 per guy, per hour and that it may take about 2 hours to complete necessary work. I don’t understand why I was charged $300 when they were there for less than an hour. The excuse of needing a large ladder that took extra time to load is absurd. I think it’s ridiculous to charge for prepping the proper tools/equipment and travel time to a job. Also, the fact that they are not sure if what they did even fixed the leak. I assumed someone would come in and access the leak and try to determine the cause first, then execute the necessary work to repair it. I had stated that I was not sure if it was from the bathroom or roof. I am disappointed with the service/work I received for the price I paid.

Desired Settlement: I would either like to be refunded for the hour of work I did not receive ($150), or have them come back and evaluate the leak properly to determine an appropriate fix and credit me for one hour of work.

Business Response:

You were very clear with me that the leak was only when it rained. And you said you had already checked the plumbing. Plumbing would leak without rain.I was very clear that it was a 2 man job to get up on roof that high and it would be a minimum 300.00 charge.
You called me to look at your roof /chimney flashing because you felt that was leaking and I was very clear that our minimum charge was 300.00. You did not hesitate and said that would be no problem and wanted us to come out as soon as possible. We sealed around the chimney flashing as you requested. This is a normal maintenance item on a roof and the flashing had not been sealed for some time. Jim

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I was not told there was a minimum charge.  I was told how much it was per worker per hour.  They were at my home for under 1 hour.  When I said "we" checked the plumbing, I was clear that was myself and my husband.  Neither of us are plumbers or contractors.  We were unable to tell where the leak was coming from.  I showed the workers when they were at my home where the dripping was occuring and said we were not sure where it was coming from.  They sealed the flashing on the roof and said they weren't sure if that would fix the problem.  It didn't fix it.  We continued to have a leak and had to call another company come out a few days later and repair the problem, which was from the bathroom.  I should only have to pay for the one hour of work that was done, I would like to be refunded for the additional hour, $150.


******* ********

Business Response: When you called for us to look at your chimney you had said it was 3 stories up and a steep roof. I had told you for safety it was a two man job and would require a minimum charge of 300.00 to set up, access what needed to be done with the chimney. If it took longer than 2 hrs. then we would charge additional at 75.00 per man hour. You said go ahead. You said you would be at the house at 9:00. We set up ladder before 8:45 and assessed that the flashing needed roof cement to seal it. We waited to do that until you came very late about 9:30. Then you approved for us to do that. At that point we had already expended an hour. Sealing flashing and taking our 40 Ft. ladder down took some time which you said was one hour.

I would like to settle this by offering you a refund of 75.00. Jim Dewire

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******* ********

1/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Jim Dewire and Sons, Inc. was hired by me following a contract proposal to do some roofing work. Following a considerable delay in starting he project, the work crew arrived, but worked/completed the project at an extremely slow and unacceptable pace. I observed the "work" crew on numerous occasions simply standing around and talking to each other for extended periods of time. In the course of doing the contracted project, Jim Dewire appeared and began soliciting additional projects. I authorized one which involved additional guttering work on the roof. Additionally, however, Mr. Dewire began pointing out additional things that should be done to the residence. His method of operation seemed to have been to speak to me and to ******* **** (who lives with me) separately; and advising each of us that the other person was authorizing the work. Most specifically, Mr. Dewire identified the repair of a front door frame and the re-pointing of stone work on the front of our home. What made this different was that at no time did Mr. Dewire submit a contract proposal as he had done on the initial work, nor did he discuss an hourly rate or time to complete the work in question. After speaking with ******* ****, she advised me that she never authorized the work and was informed by Mr. Dewire that I had done so. At no time did I ever authorize the work or the payment arrangement which was ultimately presented to me. I work a full-time job, and was not usually around the house when Mr. Dewire's worker attended to this additional issue. The few times that I did observe the "worker" in question was after I returned home following my work day. My observation was much the same as what I had seen with the "workers" involved with the roofing project - standing around, talking on his cell phone and, for the most part, not working on the project. This whole process seemed to drag on, and I advised Mr. Dewire that all work had to be concluded as this whole thing was just taking way too long. Mr. Dewire then presented me with a bill for the front entrance area in the amount of $1,364.00 based on an hourly rate of $85.00 per hour and 15 hours needed to do the work. Under protest, I paid the bill, but voiced my displeasure with Mr. Dewire in a letter dated June 9, 2014. I feel that the business practices of this company are extremely questionable. They seem to show up with an initial proposal, and after agreement to do the work, starting trying to pad the bill with other projects. Further, the fact that discussions were held separately with ******* **** and me leads me to conclude that Mr. Dewire's company was playing games through deceptive representations to home owners without reaching consensus with both people. Among the things listed on the itemized charges are: "Adjust storm door, latch, realign hinges, adjust door stop." This was not done properly - the storm door does not close properly. Also, itemized was "Haul away shingles in garage" which Mr. Dewire had offered to do as a courtesy since he was already hauling away waste from the roofing project from the original contract.

Desired Settlement: I ask that the Better Business Bureau assist in securing a partial refund of what I consider to be an amount that is considerably too high, especially since no proposal was made to do the work so as to permit me to consider what my out-of-pocket cost would be. Mr. Dewire's bill states that 15 hours were spent on the project. I suggest that the time actually spent working was more like 7 or 8 hours, and that is being generous. Based on the stated hourly rate of $85.00 per hour, I would, therefore, request a refund of $680.00. A copy of the itemized bill provided by Mr. Dewire is available, if you would like to see it.

Business Response:

When I first met the customers upon arriving at the job to work I assumed they were husband-and-wife. I assumed they discuss things amongst themselves, to come to a agreement, and could speak for one another. I understand better now why they didn't seem to be acting as husband-and-wife since ******* made it clear that they are just living in the same house. Not once did either ******* or ******* say to me, I will discuss this with my spouse and give you an answer about work to be done. It now appears to me decisions were being made Independently. I only had brief moments of discussion while ******* was rushing out the door to volunteer at a charity event throughout the whole time I worked there. ******* seemed to come home around 3 o'clock each day which gave us ample time to discuss what I had done and what they would further like me to do. ******* was very pleased with my workmanship. He told me that they had recently had someone work on the same doorway in question and the work has not held up. I found inappropriate patching material used on the exterior of the door way. I found spackling, which is supposed to be used inside to patch walls, not outside. I had to completely remove the product and use epoxy instead. There were some rotted areas, those I also repaired with epoxy. Caulking was not used to keep water from entering. The lack of caulking caused much of the paint to peel. While scraping and repairing the woodwork I decided to remove the bead of caulking down each side of the woodwork where it meets the stone. It was then I discovered the caulking was the only thing holding the brick pointing on the house.When I removed the caulking the pointing came off with it. That revealed a need for further work to be done. I explained that to ******* when he came home and he agreed I need to fix the pointing.  When the doorway was completely repaired and caulked I was told to paint it. I completely primed the whole project for good paint adhesion. The primer was tinted the same color as the finish paint. I then gave it one coat of finish paint. It actually looks pretty good at that point.  I asked ******* if he would like me to give it a third coat and he said go ahead. It is commonly known that you should have two coats of finish paint for good coverage and protection. ******* was very pleased with everything he saw and we discussed. ******* has a "friend " that was also doing some painting and repairs around the house while we were working there. ******* expressed that he was not pleased with his workmanship. If I recall correctly, I was told he had been the one who had done the faulty work prior to me working on the door way. Regarding the use of my cell phone, I use it for business purposes only. For example, talking to the boss and the office regarding the progress of the job and what I have discussed with the customer. I also use it for checking the radar. During the time I was working there I needed to know that there was no rain coming.  We had some pretty small windows of opportunity because of the unsettled weather trend at the time. I needed to check the radar frequently. I had to make sure there wasn't any rain coming.  It  doesn't do any good to expose bare wood by scraping unless you can get a primer on it before rains and gets wet again. The paint would loosen and peel more if it got wet.  After the paint is applied we need 2 to 4 hours drying time on a good day before any precipitation would fall. It's very crucial to the I assure a good outcome of the job to know the weather. We don't charge customers for "standing around and talking". We only charge customers for the actual work time on the job. Contrary to popular belief communication is an important part of construction also, not just office jobs.

                                           Jeff D*****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The characterization of agreement to proceed with work is not correct and very misleading. Mr. Dewire informed me that ******* **** had asked for and okayed the work which I subsequently found out was incorrect In any event, the initial use of Mr. Dewire's company was through a detailed proposal to which I agreed, not an open-ended hourly calculation which I could not verify in terms of actual hours worked. Nor, did I ever agree to an hourly rate. The observation about standing around is made regarding the people Mr. Dewire had on site. Mr. Dewire actually spent very little time at our property. My complaint stands as originally stated. Mr. Dewire set the parameters or work by submitting a detailed Proposal (copy available upon demand). At no time was he, or his company engaged based on verbal statements because I would not have agreed to simply let him or his workers do a job not knowing what it would cost. Mr. Dewire correctly states that I normally returned home around 3:00 p.m. When I did return home, his workers were already well into whatever portion of the job they were doing. This was the case with the front door. The worker, in question, generally finished his work day within an hour or two of my return. I never saw what time he started work, nor did I see if he worked continuously so as to agree with an accurate calculation of hours. When I did see "workers" it was mainly in relation to the original contract to which I had agreed. I did, in fact observe that the "workers" spent more time talking to each other or standing/sitting around than doing actual work. If the Better Business Bureau would like a copy of the original contract proposal for which I engaged this company,I will be happy to provided it. Mr. Dewire set the method for doing business then proceeded will work that was not covered by a similar contract proposal.

******* **********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


******* **********

Business Response: ****** ******, 

As we are christian company we have tried wholeheartedly to work this out with *** ***********. 
In the spirit of Christmas we agree to accept his offer of settlement. 

Jim Dewire

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Jim Dewire & Sons, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart