BBB Accredited Business since

Choice Concrete Construction Inc

Phone: (301) 937-0046 11225 Old Baltimore Pike, Beltsville, MD 20705 http://www.choiceconcreteinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Choice Concrete Construction Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Choice Concrete Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Choice Concrete Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 18, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1992 in MD Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 01/16/1992 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 43868.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rui C Flores, President Ms. Anne Flores, VP Mr. Loren Levy, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rui C Flores, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Loren Levy, Operations Manager
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Contractor - Commercial Mason Contractors Paving Contractors Asphalt


Additional Locations

  • 11225 Old Baltimore Pike

    Beltsville, MD 20705 (301) 937-0046

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year choice concrete was hired to construct a porch and wall for the back of my row home. The attached wall was bowing out while the porch was crumbing and detached from the house. For that service, choice concrete was paid $7800. In late May, I notice cracks in the concrete and I contacted the company to let them know. I was told by John that I would be put on the list and when their in the area I would be called. Time started going by so I called again in mid June. I was told by John that the company has been very busy and he asked me if his boss call me. I told him no and he would put me back on the list and tell his boss to call. Yet again no call. I just call again (7/10/15) and spoke with someone new who assured me that she would personally hand my information to her boss. I have yet to hear from him nor has anyone come out to see the cracks. I feel like their just giving me the run around waiting for the warranty to run out instead of dealing with the issue.

Desired Settlement: Repair

Business Response: Per John's conversation with this person choice will when in the area this summer check out the crack that has appeared. John has a copy of this complaint and will expedite his investigation even though this complaint occurred after the warranty period had expired.

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid The company to resolve an issue concerning ice at the bottom of the steps. Check was written on 5/12/12 for $400. Winter of 2013 was mild and there was no opportunity to evaluate the work since there was no icing. Winter of 2014 has been severe. Problem was not corrected. Four calls to the company have not been returned although they promise to do so.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to reassess the work and provide a satisfactory conclusion. The remedy was not effective

Business Response:

June 9, 2014

Choice Concrete Construction, Inc. received complaint no. ********, below is our response:
The customer contracted the work from our company in May of 2012; Choice Concrete completed the referenced work in a timely and efficient manner and was paid $400.00 (reduced from our minimum ($2,500.00) due to Choice being contracted by the HOA for community property repairs).

During the warranty period of 1 year (industry standard) there was never an issue/problem with our work. This area had a very harsh winter and after approximately 2 years from the date of installation ***. ****** called our office. Our representative was dispatched to appraise the situation and to decide if Choice could do anything about the problem. Choice has been responsive to all calls received on this matter; I myself have taken one.

***. ****** hired Choice to replace the landing and 2 steps, it has been verified that this work was installed correctly. The deteriorated surface seen in the photos was caused by excessive Ice Melts applied over the course of two winters. As the attached photos show, a level was placed to confirm that Choice installed the proper fall; and we have confirmed that it was installed correctly. The water ponding problem is caused by the common area sidewalks in front of our installation; also note that this home lies down grade and the tie wall used to contain the soil in front of ***. ******’s home actually causes the flow of water from the common sidewalk to swirl, and if not kept clear during the winter it could cause a problem. ***. ****** was informed of this and that there was nothing we could do unless the association wants to change the grades around her walkway; this is evident from the pictures accompanying our statement of facts.

Choice Concrete has always been responsive to our customer’s needs since 1990.
Respectfully submitted,


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Choice Concrete Construction Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)