BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

CMI Credit Mediators, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 352-5321 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 456, Upper Darby, PA 19082 http://www.cmiweb.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides business to business collections only.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CMI Credit Mediators, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CMI Credit Mediators, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 12

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1981 Business started: 06/01/1976 in PA Business started locally: 06/01/1976
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nancy Seiverd, President Mr. Andrew McClure, Esq.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Andrew McClure, Esq.
Principal: Ms. Nancy Seiverd, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Alternate Business Names
Credit Mediators, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 414 Sansom St

    Upper Darby, PA 19082

  • PO Box 456

    Upper Darby, PA 19082

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 352-5151(Phone)
  • (800) 456-3328(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a past outstanding debt with **** ******* that we disputed due to leads that were sent to us that were not valid and questionable, as we got leads to remove snow then there was no snow on the ground. We received numerous leads of that nature. They sent us to collections anyway, and On 7-30-2013 I spoke with a representative of CMI, by the name of ******. She informed me that our company could pay $440.46 which would settle and close our account with **** *******. She NEVER mentioned that charge would first need to be approved by **** *******. In fact she stated she was looking at the details of our account and determined $440.46 would settle our account and close it. She directed me to whomever takes their credit card information so I could pay the $440.46 to close our account and settle the debt with CMI, and I paid that amount. Today 7-31-2013 I got a call from ****** stating **** ******* would not accept just that amount ($440.46) and they would need another $389.00 to close the account! This is a highly deceptive practice. Are those conversations recorded? If so, you will not hear ****** say one word about the $440.46 needing to obtain approval by **** ******* to okay that "settlement amount". She told me straight forward "This will settle and close your account with us and **** *******." We were also charged a 4% charge for using our credit card to pay this. When ****** (CMI) called this morning & said we will have to pay an additional $389. to settle & close our acct, I told her she never told me anything would need to be approved by **** ******* first, and proceeded to tell me "well, your original bill was $1600......" First of all THAT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH WHAT SHE TOLD ME YESTERDAY!. And second, as I said in the beginning we were disputing what we owed with **** ******* because they sent us invalid leads of which they ended up deducting a substantial amount off our outstanding bill, therefore we didn't owe all they told us we did in the end. I told ****** we felt this was a deceptive practice and we would file a complaint and this is not fair. We will also be contacting the attorney generals office to report this practice. Again if the conversation from 7-30-13 was recorded you will hear ****** say $440.46 will settle and close your account.

Desired Settlement: We would like CMI to abide by the original agreement ****** made with me on behalf of **** ******* on 7-30-2013. If we are told $440.46 would settle and close our account, we would like this to be true and have no further amounts owed to either CMI or **** ******* as CMI was acting on behalf of **** ******* and stated to me that in order to close our account with **** ******* we would have to pay $440.46 to settle and close our acct with them and CMI. I was very clear in making sure that $440.46 would end settle our account and no further money would be owed to either **** ******* and CMI if I made that payment, and I was assured it would be closed. Our company is an accredited BBB member too, and as an accredited business with the BBB your company is also held to a higher standard of service, is that not correct? Saying anything to get people to approve making a payment is wrong and deceptive.

Business Response: August 20, 2013
Better Business Bureau Of Metro Wash DC and E. PA
1054 Oak Street
Scranton, PA 18508

Attn: ******* *******

(Faxed to ###-###-####)

Re: **** * *** ******* ***, your case # ******* Dear **. *******:

On approximately 6/3/13, Credit Mediators Inc. (CMI)'s client, ***********, placed a bill for collections with CMI, alleging a balance of $1,639.69 owed by **** * *** ******* *** (****). The particulars of this balance were provided to CMI to our satisfaction, upon placement.

Between 6/10/13 and 7/15/13, **** made partial payments totaling $400.00 toward the above referenced balance.

In ****'s complaint, **. ********** claims that an amount of $440.46 plus a credit card fee was paid on 7/30 or 7/31/13 to CMI. This is simply not true. This amount was never processed by CMI and **** can Verify that by reviewing their credit card statement.

As of this writing, the total amount paid by **** was the $400.00 referenced in paragraph 2 above, and the remainder of the balance placed stands at $1,239.69.

If **** desires to resolve this matter, please advise their representative to contact CMI (either the assigned collector, ******, or myself) to negotiate a final resolution that can be approved by ***********. I can be reached at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

Good Afternoon,

 I read the letter attached from Counsel for CMI.  I have ordered a bank history from our bank to check and see if the payment they said they were going to process on 7/30 – 7/31 was processed or not.  Because ****** ******** from CMI took our credit card information that day and the amount we approved them taking was $440.46.  Then she called after that and said we still owed another $380(something) after she said the $440.46 would settle/close our debt. 

Please allow us one week to get that bank history from our bank.  I will respond again by the first week in September 2013.

Thank you for following up with this.  I will be in touch again soon.

Please also note their counsel’s letter still doesn’t mention anything about the fact that they did take our credit card information that day and did say it would settle our account only to be told later it was not enough.  Hopefully our bank statement will resolve whether or not they processed that payment, but it will still leave the question about why they took our credit card information in the first place then. And why I was told $440.46 would close our debt, and why she called after that to say we would need to pay another $380.(something).  In short, why did she lie and say it would close our debt when it didn't.  At least it will be a step in this process to resolving our problem with CMI.

Thank you,

******











Business Response: September 3, 2013

Better Business Bureau Of Metro Wash DC and E. PA
1054 Oak Street
Scranton, PA 18503

Attn: ******* *******

(Faxed to ###-###-####)

Re: **** * *** ******* ***, your case # *******

Dear **. *******:

I am herein responding to your 8/26/13 communication. ****** ********** indicates that she will have her company’s bank information at a later date. This will undoubtedly indicate that the alleged credit card payment was never processed.

If anyone at CMI told **. ********** that $440.46 would close the debt it was either a miscommunication or an error. No one at CMI had the authority to tell her that, because a settlement of that amount was never authorized by *********** or CMI management. Any such miscommunication or error was promptly rectified as CMI did not process the alleged credit card payment.

As stated in my previous response, the total amount paid by **** was $400.00, and the remainder of the balance placed stands at $1,239.69.

If **** desires to resolve this matter, please advise their representative to contact CMI (either the assigned collector, ******, or myself) to negotiate a final resolution that can be approved by ***********. I can be reached at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are two collection accounts with this company via 2 or 3 separate collectors, *******, *****, and *******, with none of them apparently communicating accurately internally about the correct status of my accounts with **************. Also this collection agency has failed to provide itemized billing/payment records. Also the unethical collection practices of this company, making several phone calls a week, sometimes daily, stating the false information below, despite receiving and being informed and knowing the information they are stating is false about the nonpayment of agreement. $200 per month payments have been made regularly to their client, OrthoTechnology, as agreed upon prior to their client assigning my account to their collection agency. I have received emails and phone calls stating that my account would be reported to credit bureaus with negative history due to nonpayment and that legal action would be initiated because no payments for the last 2 months have been made. I have cancelled/deposited checks for the dates of April/May that they have claimed that I did not pay. The June payments were made by check on June 25th. Also the company ***** *********** ********** P.A. (account # ***********) was terminated in December 2012 and is no longer in business. Sincerely, Dr *** ********** President, **** **** ************, P.A.

Desired Settlement: Corrected and itemized billing statements monthly of account history. Remove derogatory credit reporting information based on false, erroneous information due to their poor record keeping and communication with their client. Refrain from the unethical multiple weekly, sometimes daily, calls as long as I am keeping my monthly payment agreement.

Business Response: Please see attached response 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our account was settled with ********** ********* July, 2012 and CMI Credit Mediators, Inc constantly make threaten phone calls and I told them this has been settled with ********** ********* in which I have my canceled check.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling *** ******** *** because this was settled with ********** *********.

Business Response: Please see response from CMI

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1