BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Carpet Value Center LTD

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 691-3100 View Additional Phone Numbers 3041 Golansky Blvd, Woodbridge, VA 22192 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.flooringamerica-stores.com/

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carpet Value Center LTD meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carpet Value Center LTD include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 20, 2000 Business started: 12/15/1981 in VA Business started locally: 12/15/1981 Business incorporated: 12/15/1981 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The license number is 2705080913A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ed Menefee, CEO Mr. Robert Menefee, President Mr. Britton Smith, Director of Operations and General Manager Mr. Brian Weaver, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Menefee, CEO
Principal: Mr. Robert Menefee, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Britton Smith, Director of Operations and General Manager
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Contractors - Flooring Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floors - Hardwood Home Improvements

Alternate Business Names
FA Design Build Flooring America

Additional Locations

  • 3041 Golansky Blvd

    Woodbridge, VA 22192 (703) 934-7802 (703) 934-7801 (703) 691-3100

  • 4390 Crain Hwy

    White Plains, MD 20695 (301) 909-5845 (301) 843-2598

  • 9979 Main St

    Fairfax, VA 22031 (703) 934-8447 (571) 732-0914

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 934-7801(Phone)
  • (703) 934-7802(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I have purchased laminate flooring and carpet from Flooring America. During the sales process, we have told the person who measured our house that our floors squeak in some places. We also pointed this out to the installer when he dropped off materials 2 days prior to the installation. Both times the response was, "we will use screws to tighten the sub floor". No one has said that we would need to put a layer of plywood throughout the house to fix the problem. When the installer showed up to do the job, first thing he checked was the spacing of the joists and he determined that they are too far apart. He told us that unless we put a layer of plywood on top of existing sub floor throughout the house, Flooring America would not guarantee the installation. About an hour later, site manager has contacted my wife and told her that the cost of plywood and labor will be $2000, and he again confirmed that "lifetime warranty" offered by Flooring America will not be honored unless we agreed to install the plywood. He also insisted that she make a decision on the spot because the installers were already at the house doing nothing waiting for the plywood issue to get resolved. Basically, Flooring America pressured my wife into saying "yes". Upon obtaining verbal agreement from my wife, the installers proceeded with the flooring installation. However, Change Order form was not sent to us until after the floor was installed, which is a violation of the signed contract terms, - “Any alteration or deviation from above specifications involving extra costs will be executed only upon written orders…” Neither my wife nor I had signed the Change Order form. We feel that Flooring America knew ahead of time that we will need plywood but, in the hopes of making extra money off of us, did not disclose the issue to us before we signed the contract. In fact, when we expressed our displeasure to ***** *******, the salesperson who sold us the floor, he said that the plywood was installed to prevent the laminate flooring from caving in and that with the type of floor we purchased "caving in" was highly unlikely. After all plywood installation was unnecessary. Also, ***** *******, the sales person, threatened to send our account to collection agency. Two weeks later, he called to tell us that their attorney has put a lien on our house. We have never received a bill from Flooring America for the plywood installation or any communication from their attorney.

Desired Settlement: Threatening calls from Flooring America should stop. $2000 for plywood installation should be waived.

Business Response:

The day of the installation which was February 25th a phone call was made by the installers to myself about the subfloor conditions at the ****** home. The installers stated that the floor joist in the home were 24” on center and the plywood was flexing between that space. This was determined an issue by our installers. There are multiple reasons that the floor could squeak, faulty  installation of the previous floor, loose fasteners in the subfloor to hold down plywood, faulty framing, or broken structural framing. Per our contract, under “Preparing Your Home” for your new flooring section, we state that “We are unable see your subfloor when measuring for you installation.  If there is a rotten, weak or uneven subfloor after the removal of your existing flooring, there will be additional charges to correct any problems that we were unable to see before your floor was removed.”

After the installer informed me of the issues, I asked to speak to the customer. They advised me that no one was home and that the husband left them his wife’s phone number to deal with her. I gave her a call and explained the situation. There were two options I discussed with her. The first was the additional layer of plywood. I explained how this helps the issues that were found by re-enforcing it.  The second option would be to proceed with the installation without fixing the issue but this option would result in any issues that stem from the subfloor deficiencies would not be covered by our warranty and she would need to sign a waiver stating that she understood and agreed to this. **** ****** was also allowed to take time to think about what she wanted to do but I did inform here that I would have to stop the job until her decision was made. She stated “No I would like to have this fixed.”

Our original price was $2400 for material and labor and we negotiated down and agreed to $2000. Once this was decided I advised her that our sales rep ***** would be sending the change order shortly (it was sent to her within a hour of our last conversation) that will need to be signed and emailed or faxed back.  She agreed to this request. I contacted ***** with the information and he emailed her a change order within an hour of our conversation. I kept the job going in good faith that the client would do as they promised. I was wrong to do this since they have since refused to pay for services rendered.

 

 

From: ***** *******
Sent: Monday, February 25, 2013 11:55 AM
To: '********************
Subject: Change order breakdown

*****

I have attached the change order to your project. As you can see the costs exceed what you are paying. I hate that this is necessary, but we want to make sure you have a correct and quality install.

Thanks

***** ***** *******

Flooring Consultant

Flooring America/FA Design Build

************ ************ *** ************ ****

******** ********************* ****************** ***************** ******** ******************** ************* ******** ******* **********

<v:imagedata o:href="cid:image004.png@01CE134E.E6940440" src="file:///C:\Users\RWICKL~1.FA\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image007.png"> 

<v:imagedata o:href="cid:image004.png@01CE134E.E6940440" src="file:///C:\Users\RWICKL~1.FA\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image007.png"> 

 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:

The installer did not need to remove the floor to measure the distance between the joists. He used a stud/joist finder tool, while I was still in the house, to measure. Also, the same installer was in our house two days prior to the installation. He could have used the same tool then or he could have mentioned that joist spacing can be the issue. Part of the basement ceiling in our home is not finished; we would have suggested to him that he can use basement ceiling to measure the distance between joists. Then we would have had a few days to make a decision on how to proceed with subfloor installation, instead of being pressured into making the decision on the spot. Also, the contract does not state that the installation warranty will not be honored if the customer refuses to correct the problem with the subfloor.

On Monday, February 25, 1013, ***** ******* sent the Change Order to the wrong email address – *******************. My wife’s email address is ********************. ***** did not check with my wife if she has received the email until Thursday, February 28, 2013, at which time he forwarded the Change Order email to the correct address.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Subject: FW: Change order breakdown

From:     ***** ******* ************************************

To:         *********************

Date:      Thursday, February 28, 2013 10:36 AM

 

 

Here you go: 

 

From: ***** *******

Sent: Monday, February 25, 2013 11:55 AM

To: *********************

Subject: Change order breakdown

 

 

 

*****

 

I have attached the change order to your project. As you can see the costs exceed what you are paying. I hate that this is necessary, but we want to make sure you have a correct and quality install.

 

Thanks

 

*****

 

 

 

***** *******

 

Flooring Consultant

 

Flooring America/FA Design Build

 

************ ************ *** ************ ****


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

On Thursday, March 7, my wife and I met with ***** ******* and voiced our displeasure at being pressured into agreeing to $2000 to fix the sub floor. ***** apologized and he told us that if he spoke to my wife on the phone before she agreed to $2000, he would have advised her against it, since the flooring that we have purchased is very light and it would be unlikely to have any “cave in” issues because of the joists spacing. He also offered to speak with the store owner and see if the $2000 fee could be lowered or waived all together. He called me on Monday March 11 and stated that the store owner agreed to reduce the fee to $1000. However, I declined $1000 offer from FA as I feel that we were duped into agreeing to the additional work.


The tactics as employed by Flooring America in threatening to void the warranty was outrageous. I question how many other customers of FA experience what appears to be unfair sales tactics, especially in light of information provided to me by ***** *******, the sales person that this situation is a common one and customers are not advised of this probable hidden cost.


Regards,

****** ******








Business Response: Flooring America has agreed to the customers request for plan of action. The $2000.00 change order has been dropped. We are obsorbing the cost of the subfloor repair. We consider the matter closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1