BBB Accredited Business since

Bridals By Sandra, Inc.

Phone: (610) 759-5156 Fax: (610) 759-1771 56 E Lawn Rd, Nazareth, PA 18064 http://www.bridalsbysandra.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bridals By Sandra, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bridals By Sandra, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bridals By Sandra, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1967 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dallas Yeakel, President/Owner Ms. Susan Powell, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Powell, Manager
Principal: Mr. Dallas Yeakel, President/Owner
Business Category

Bridal Shops


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HORRIBLE! They are a bunch of LIARS! I would never purchase anything from this organization. I purchased a gown off the rack on Saturday afternoon. It is not what I wanted. I felt pressured to buy it - both from the sales person and my family. It only needed to be hemmed, which they said would take 2 weeks. As soon as they opened Monday morning 10am, I called them. I told them that I was not happy with it. They said they would look into it and call me back. I called them back at 2:45pm the same day. They told me that the seamstress had the dress at home and did not start the alterations. I never authorized them to take the dress that I paid for out of the store!!! She would take the dress back to the store. At 3:41pm, ***** called me. I told her that I am not happy with the dress because it was not what I wanted. She went off for about 10 minutes telling me how beautiful the dress was. I actually had to cut her off to get a word in. She is not customer oriented at all. She was also trying to talk me into the dress when I specifically told her that it was not what I wanted. The dress is nice but it is not what I wanted. She is not a very good listener. Plus, she is an absolute liar. She told me that the dressed was hemmed and I could not cancel my order. It is amazing that the dress was suppposed to take 2 weeks, at 2:45pm it was not hemmed, but it was hemmed by 3:46pm. Amazing! It only took 1 hour to hem the dress just so they could stick me with it. I would never buy anything from them and would never recommend the store. If I could rate them zero stars, I would. Very Poor customer service. LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS.

Desired Settlement: I called at 10am and 2:45pm. Per their store personnel, the dress was not altered at 2:45pm. And, they told me that the dress was taken out of the store by the seamstress. I never authorized my dress to leave the store. ***** had them hem the dress between 2:45pm and 3:41pm just so she could say that it was altered. And she blatantly knew that I did not want the dress. I want a full refund on the dress and the alterations.

Consumer Response:

On Saturday, January 4, 2014, I shopped at Bridals By Sandra, ** *** **** ***** ********* *** *****.  I told them that I was getting married on February 8, 2014.  They asked what I was looking for and I told them that I was thinking of a tea-length gown either off-white or champagne in color.  They told me that because my wedding date was so soon, they would not be able to order anything for me and I would have to purchase something off the rack.  Plus, I would have to find something that fit me almost perfectly because they would not have time to do extensive alterations.

I tried on several dress, mostly Mother of the Bride dresses.  None of the dresses were tea length or off-white or champagne in color.  All of them were long gowns and almost all of them were blue in color.  There was only 1 gown that fit me fairly well but it had to be hemmed.  They reminded me that because of my near wedding date, I did not have a lot of time.

At approximately 2:00pm, I purchased a Mother of the Bride gown (Blue Willow **********) for $581.94 from Bridals By Sandra.  It is not what I had wanted but I felt pressured to purchase it because of my near wedding date.  They told me they could hem the dress.  It would take 2 weeks to hem with a cost of $35.00.  The bridal salon closed at 5:00pm.

I also purchased undergarments with the same transaction.  The total transaction was $723.94.  However, I am not disputing the purchase of the undergarments.  I am only disputing the purchase of the Mother of the Bride dress and the hemming fee.  There is no sign in the store indicating that all sales are final.  And, they made no mention that this was their policy.  I did not initial any statement that I was aware of this policy.

I thought about the dress all weekend.  It is not what I wanted.  I did not want a long gown.  I did not want blue.  I felt like the Mother of the Bride instead of the Bride.  The more I thought about it, the more unhappy I was that I made the purchase.

The store opened on Monday at 10:00am.  I called them at 10:02am and told them that I was not happy with the dress.  The girl who answered the phone told me that she would have someone call me back.  I did not hear from them all day. 

At 2:45pm, I called them again.  The same girl told me that the seamstress had taken the dress home (which I did not authorize anyone taking the gown out of the building) and it was not hemmed.  She said that the seamstress would bring the gown back to the store unhemmed.

At 3:41pm, I received a phone message from ***** telling me that I could not cancel the order because the dress has already been hemmed.  I called ***** back approximately 4:15pm.  She again mentioned that the dress was already hemmed.  I asked her how it was that the dress was supposed to take 2 weeks to hem, at 2:45pm on Monday it was unhemmed, and by Monday 3:41pm it was hemmed.  She insisted that I could not cancel the order because the dress has already been altered.

This could have been a simple cancellation.  They merely had to remove the pins from the hemline and hang it back up on the rack.  But, they went ahead and rushed the hem job just so the dress would be altered.

I am seeking a full refund on the dress and the hem job, which is a total of $616.94.

Please let me know if you need any further information from me.  Thank you.

 

Business Response:


Dear ****,

We would like to take this opportunity to reply to the complaint made by ******* ********.  A hard copy will be sent to your office along with the authorization by ******* ******** indicating her desire to purchase the said garment and our No Refunds On Cancellation Policy of which she was aware.

On January 4, 2014, ******* entered Bridals by Sandra in search for her perfect wedding gown needed for her February 8, 2014 wedding.  She, along with her children and fiance, found a beautiful dress.  She had nearly a perfect fit.  She purchased accessories and our Contract Seamstress fit ******* into her schedule to accommodate the rush hem of her gown.  

Bridals by Sandra offers Contract Seamstresses who come into the store and are paid by our clients to custom fit their gown.  They have their own private business working from their homes, or storefront location.  The gowns are then stored in our fireproof vault after the alterations are complete.  Due to the fact that ******* needed this gown so quickly, ******* was able to complete the hem that Saturday in between her afternoon fittings.  A completion date of January 18 was arranged between ******* and ******* as that was the next date ******* was scheduled to be in our store.

We will be happy to supply you with all sales contracts that were endorsed by *******.  She has also received her monies via The Merchant Services who have asked for a copy of our Sales Contract before they charge back her account.  

Bridals by Sandra has been in business since 1966 and upholds all policies suggested by The National Bridal Service.

Please contact me in the event you  have any questions regarding this case.  A hard copy will follow with all Sales Contracts indicating *******'s interest in purchasing this style.

Sincerely,

***** ****** ******
Bridals by Sandra

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

February 19, 2014

 

BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania

RE:  Complaint: *******

Dear BBB,

I did arrive at Bridals by Sandra on Saturday, January 4, 2014.  The statement that I was shopping with my children and fiancé is not accurate.  I only have one child.  My mother and my son did sit in the dressing area with me.  My fiancé drove us to the establishment, but he did not participate in the “shopping”. 

I was looking for a wedding dress for a second marriage and the best that ***** offered me was “mother of the bride” dresses.  ***** did offer to
have the seamstress see if she could hem the dress.  *******, the seamstress, did pin the dress for hemming.  No one, including *******,
ever said that the hemming of the dress was a rush job.  They did schedule me for a final fitting 2 weeks later for Saturday, January 18, 2014. 
Two weeks to hem a dress hardly seems like a rush job when a dry cleaner can hem a dress in 2 days.

I called Sandra’s on Monday, January 6, 2014 at 10:00am when their store opened and they told me that they would call me back.  At 2:45pm, I called them again because I did not hear from them all day.  They told me that ******* had taken the dress home and that she did not hem the dress. 
They said she would bring the dress back to the store unhemmed.  At 3:41pm, ***** called me and informed me that I could not cancel because they went ahead and hemmed the dress.  So, at 2:45, I was told that the dress was not hemmed.  But, by 3:41, less than an hour later, the dress was hemmed.  It appears that they rushed to hem the dress so that they could tell me the dress was altered and could not be canceled. 

The contract states “No Refunds or Store Credit on any Gown Deposits”. 
I did not leave a deposit; I paid for the gown in full.  This statement does not indicate that ALL SALES FINAL.  Also, this statement was
not highlighted when I signed the contract nor did anyone make any mention that all sales were final.  They merely told me “to sign here”. 

Also, the statement to which ***** is referring is also embedded amongst other verbiage.  If it is that important, then it should stand
alone so all consumers can easily identify it. 
And, it should specifically state “All Sales are Final”.  While I was waiting for Sandra’s to finalize all the paperwork, I did look around their establishment and there is absolutely no sign indicating that all sales are final.

I did purchase a dress from another establishment on Saturday, January 18, 2014 for the same Saturday, February 8, 2014 wedding.  They also had to hem the dress and they never indicated that the hem was a rush job either.  They merely fit me into their schedule and made it work.  The most interesting part about this purchase is that their sales receipt specifically states “I acknowledge this purchase is a final sale.”  They literally told me that all sales were final and I had to initial the line so that I knew it was a final sale and they knew that they told me.  There was no hiding this statement on their receipt.  The line stood alone and it was very clear as they pointed it out to me and I had to initial it.  And, there is a sign behind their register that states all sales are final.  I was fully aware of their policy.
  
Again, I am not disputing the undergarments.  I am only disputing the charge for the dress and the hemming of the dress, which comes to a total of $616.94. 

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me.  Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Respectfully,

Regards,

******* ********








10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter and her bridesmaids purchased their gowns here. The gowns were tailored in an inferior manner. The lining was hanging below the hemline, the ruching was falling out, the side seams were crooked. My daughter's gown ripped within five minutes inside the ruching. The bussle had to be put up in two places and could only find three of the four ties to tie it up therefore it was hanging down. Horrible experience for us all.

Business Response: BRIDALSBYSANDRA@aol.com8:44 PM (20 hours ago)

**** *******
The Better Business Bureau

Dear ****,

In response to complaint *********, Bridals by Sandra offers complimentary storage and professional pressings for all of our gowns purchased.  Alterations, however are done by contract seamstresses here in our store for our client's convenience.  Said gowns mentioned were altered by one of our expert sewers.  Clients are encouraged to try on their merchandise prior to leaving our store as we certainly aim to please our customers.  

Upon picking up the merchandise that is stored here in our fireproof vault, we ask each client to sign out their merchandise.  It reads:  "After checking my gown at a final fitting, I am completely satisfied with the pressing and alterations of my garment.  I do not hold Bridals by Sandra responsible after garment leaves the store.

It is indeed unfortunate that this client did not understand the bustle that was completed by her contract seamstress.  It is also unfortunate that the girls were not here to try on the gowns for a final fitting, however we do have signed paperwork indicating our client's satisfaction with the merchandise they purchased at Bridals by Sandra. 

Please do not hesitate to call me with any questions.  We will be happy to send you a copy of all signed documents from this wedding.

Sincerely,

***** ****** ******
Bridals by Sandra

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
We had girls coming from out of state and therefore someone else picked up their gowns . These girls were not here until the Friday prior to the wedding.  As far as the rest they did come. The bustle was not shown to us by the seamstress and therefore was a disaster. My complaint is that the gowns did not hold up, and was ripping at the rushing. I was told by the daughter of the owner that they had trouble with these sorts of gowns, yet no one mentioned this prior to the sale. The so called professional seamstress hemmed these and a lot of these seams were crooked.

Regards,

******* *********









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bridals By Sandra, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)