BBB Accredited Business since

Brubaker, Inc.

Phone: (717) 299-5641 View Additional Phone Numbers 1284 Roherstown Road, Lancaster, PA 17601

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brubaker, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brubaker, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 05, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1945 in PA Business incorporated 12/07/1966 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA004191.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Don Brubaker, President Mr. Gerald Brubaker, Vice President Mr. Bruce Baker, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Bruce Baker, Secretary/Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Don Brubaker, President
Principal: Mr. Gerald Brubaker, Vice President
Business Category

Bathroom Remodeling Electricians Heating & Air Conditioning Plumbers Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies

Additional Locations

  • 1284 Roherstown Road

    Lancaster, PA 17601


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Th company put in a new central air system in my home about five yrs ago and it has never worked correctly. Every year when it comes time turn the unit on it does not work and i have had to wait to get service done. There has not been a yr not one that this system has work when turned on i never complained i just want it fixed this year after the technician came out he said there should not be a charge since it never worked properly. Two weeks later i get a bill for 500 dollars when i called to dispute the bill i had to leave a message for management which called me back a week later. When they called me back the manager was extremely rude and said i have to pay the bill which i will if i don't he will have to take collection actions even after the fact is i was sold a faulty unit . It would have been nice if one year i can turn on my ac and it worked properly. I would not recommend this company to my worst enemy they should take responsibility for the inferior product.

Desired Settlement: I should not have to pay for something that has never been right

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the email notice of a complaint.  We are reviewing *** ********'s account history and will have a response soon.

Bruce B****

Brubaker, Inc.

Business Response:

*** ********'s system was installed in September 2008. We responded to service calls in 2010, 2011, and 2012 for the unit not cooling. Each time the problem was caused by a low Freon refrigerant charge. We performed standard leak testing procedures, which include pressurizing the system with a detectable gas, and were unable to find a source of the leak. In 2012 we replaced parts of the refrigerant system as a precaution, even though we saw no sign of a problem with the original equipment. There was no cost to *** ******** for any of this work. In 2013 we received another call for the same problem. We suspected that some one was tampering with this unit so we installed locking caps on the ******** valves that provide access to the Freon in the refrigerant system.  There was no charge made to *** ******** for this work.  Since the locking caps were installed, there have been no low-Freon problems.  The service call in 2014 was due to a non-functional control board.  This board can fail due to lightning strikes, incoming power surges from the electric utility lines, or simply age.  The unit is now over five years old and a failed control board is not an unusual problem.  This was the first repair that *** ******** paid for.  We believe this to be a common failure considering the age of the unit and as such do not feel a refund is due.

Bruce B****

Sec./Treas., Brubaker, Inc.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


**** ********

Every year i have had to get service on this system it has never worked properlly it would be nice if i can go one year with out needing a service.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Brubaker, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)