This business is not BBB accredited.

Midas

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 791-4911 Fax: (610) 791-4969 View Additional Phone Numbers 3141 Lehigh St, Allentown, PA 18103 http://www.midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Midas include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1998 in PA Business incorporated 01/01/1998 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Schweizerhof, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Schweizerhof, President/Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service

Alternate Business Names
M.I.N. Corporation Midas Auto Service Experts

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1820 Macarthur Rd

    Whitehall, PA 18052

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2914 William Penn Hwy

    Easton, PA 18045

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3141 Lehigh St

    Allentown, PA 18103

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    335 S West End Blvd

    Quakertown, PA 18951

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    933 S Broadway

    Wind Gap, PA 18091 (610) 863-7777

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 10th my wife took the car over to Midas for a muffler. While it was up on the lift they claimed to have found several other problems, one being the line coming out of the transmission high pressure line, they made the repairs- but not with the correct parts as I was told by Andrew, Manager at Midas. He claimed that since the car was older they didn't make those parts anymore and they had to use what they had.They scared a woman who knew nothing about car repairs, by telling her there could be a fire if she didn't get this fixed immediately.The repairs were done and the next day she took the car out to do some errands. She was driving @ 30-45 minutes before the hose blew off the trans and leaking fluid on the road. She came to a stop when the trans quit and seized up due to lack of fluid. The Whitehall Fire Dept. had to spread anti skid material on the fluid that was on the roadway. The car was towed to a nearby garage and their mechanic couldn't believe how this was repaired. We were told she is lucky it didn't come off on a major highway or she could have been killed! We are now forced to buy a new car, because that was our only one. We were charged $566.00 for the repairs. The car was working on Friday and Dead on Saturday!!! Pictures were taken by other mechanic of the repairs that were done.

Desired Settlement: Because of their actions and lousy repairs I was forced to buy a new car. We were charged $566.00 for the repairs which were put on a Midas credit card which my wife opened that date so she could pay for everything. I want Midas to repay us the $566.00 we spent!!!

Business Response:

We have made every attempt to have the vehicle returned to Midas for repair.  The customer will not return.  He stated he is trading the vehicle in.  We offered to refund the amount paid for the transmission line patch.  He refused the offer.  We offered to tow the vehicle free of charge to make the necessary repairs, he refused.  We are willing to refund the amount paid related to the transmission line patch.  We will not refund the cost of the other work performed.

The customer has stated he has no intention of paying the credit card bill when he receives it.  We will not take action with regards to a refund until the payment amount as been funded and any dispute issued is dealt with.

 

David S***********

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

        I am rejecting this response because: The work that was done was not done right! I have pictures proving that the job was done wrong. Whoever did the job used a pair of electrical dykes or linemen's pliers to cut the high pressure line, and a hose clamp was used to hold the hose onto the line. They only want the car so they can cover their butts because they know it was done wrong!!!  The way the other mechanic said its like putting your garden hose onto a fire hose, then opening the fire hose. The garden hose is either going to blow off or blow up...




Regards,

******* ****







5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2005 ***** *** into Midas for a routine annual inspection. After the technician performed the inspection, I was approached by the Manager Jason H****** who indicated that all was fine with the vehicle except for the front lower ball joints, which have excessive play, with the right side being worse than the left side. I asked him if this were the only thing that they found wrong with the vehicle, to which he replied Yes, and then I asked to see the excessive play in the Ball Joints. Mr. H****** escorted me into the service area where my Truck was still up on the lift. As we were walking towards the vehicle I indicated to Mr. H****** that within the past 6 Months I had the lower ball joints replaced by the ******** Dealer, and it would seem very unlikely that they would need to be replaced again so soon. It was at that point that Mr. H******'s entire attitude changed. He became indignant and verbally abusive, stating "What, You don't believe me that your Ball Joints are bad?" I replied that I would like to see the play in the ball joints he was talking about, and if it was so, I would take up the issue with the ******** Dealer who installed them. He then refused to show me the alleged ball joint problem by stating that it wasn't Company policy to do that, and then told me that I had to leave the service area immediately. He walked away from me mumbling profanities under his breath, but not so quiet that I couldn't hear them. He was way out of line and frankly speaking if he worked for me I would have fired him on the spot after seeing how he treated a Customer. Because I was concerned for my personal safety, the next day I took the vehicle back to the ******** Dealer to inspect the ball joints. I was shown by the ******** Dealer's Service Manager that the Ball joints were in perfect working condition, having no play at all in either the right or left lower ball joint. Much to my surprise, I was also informed that I had a serious leak in the real pinion seal, as there was oil all over the rear end that obviously had been leaking for some time. I saw the oil leak with my own eyes, and even a blind man could have seen that leak. Had I failed to fix that leak I could have burnt up my rear axle from lack of oil.

Desired Settlement: There is no doubt in my mind that I was being scammed by Mr. H****** into making a needless repair on my lower ball joints. This belief was further reinforced by Mr. H******'s behavior when I informed him that the ball joints had recently been replaced, combined with his refusal to show me the excessive play. Even more disturbing is the fact that a major oil leak was seemingly undetected by the so called "Competent" staff of Midas at Wind Gap. I would like to see the store policy changed to allow Customers to see any defective parts that need to be replaced, and I would like to see Mr. H****** reinstructed and disciplined by his Supervisor on poor Customer Relations. Lastly, I was charged the $17.99 fee for the safety inspection even though according to Mr. H****** the vehicle failed to pass inspection. I have no problem with that, but I do have a problem with the fact that I was charged $5.00 for the Inspection sticker, which was never issued. How can they charge me for an inspection sticker when the vehicle failed inspection?

Business Response:

Please see attached response.  Please note that the business sent the original refund check to the BBB. This is being forwarded to *** ******* in the USPS on 5/4/15.

April 28, 2015

I reviewed the file on the Customer vehicle. It was clear that we failed the vehicle for safety inspection. The condition of the lower ball joint on the right side was poor. The specification for movement in that ball joint is 20 inch. In conversation with the shop manager, Jason H******, the events as related by the customer and the events as related by Jason are not similar in any way.

In a situation where we must rely on the testimony of the employee, who has been in service for 15 years and a customer who has had the vehicle serviced by this location 5 times since 2011, it is difficult to determine the fair course of action.
I am enclosing a check for the cost of the safety inspection. This cost will offset any related expense the customer experienced to have the vehicle inspected at another facility.

Please forward the check to *** *******.

Thank you

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to get my car inspected and for one was told I needed to get rotors and brake hardware fixed new. But then went to a different midas location and was told that was not true and completely wrong I feel like I also got brakes done but did not need them done feel like I was scammed also went I got half way home with my car I stopped to get gas and realized my front passenger side fender was hanging off as a result of the midas location on ****** **

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in cash or check for damages done or a repair of the bumper and a some kind of store credit or will take further action

Business Response:

We have had contact with the customer.  We have asked him to bring the car to ****** ** Midas in ********* where the service was performed to see the damage.  The customer has been hostile on the phone and has used profanity repeatedly.  He has threaten the shop manager.  He has hung up on every occasion.  (4)

I will not deal with the customer.  If his vehicle was damaged at our shop why did he not indicate that there was damage before he left.  The damage he claimed was to the front bumper and the vehicle was parked so that he had to walk past the damaged bumper "hanging off" to get into his car.  In any case we can not deal with the issue if the customer will not return to the shop. 

We are a *** approved vendor and will be glad to enter into arbitration if he is a *** member. 

***** ************

*** *** ****

 

 

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for a bolt that required the power steering pump to be removed. He explained that the power steering belt replaced could not be removed, without taking the power steering pump out. The manager informed that it could take awhile, and that it would be an additional charge of $98.00. 10 minutes later, the power steering pump was removed and the car repair was finished. He informed me that the car could possibly be kept overnight, yet it was done mysteriously in 10 min? He told me it is standard procedure to obtain consent for an additional charge. BT the repair that was supposed to completed took 10 minutes for a repair that was supposed to be an hour or more.

Desired Settlement: It obviously does not take 10 min to remove a power steering pump and finish a repair. The manager called me to obtain my consent for the additional charge, but it was finished in 10 minutes. I think a refund for the additional charge that makes no sense is in order.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)