BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Streamline Auto Sounds Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Streamline Auto Sounds Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 06, 2005 Business started: 10/16/2000 in MD Business started locally: 10/16/2000 Business incorporated: 07/07/2005 in MD
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andrew Brown, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Brown, Owner
Business Category

Auto Radios & Stereos - Sales & Repair


Additional Locations

  • 9449 Lanham Severn Rd

    Seabrook, MD 20706 (301) 306-1221

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 306-3131(Phone)
  • (301) 306-1615 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a repeat customer of this business and on Friday, February 15, 2013 I decided to patron Streamline Auto Sounds to install an amplifier and equalizer. Once the service was completed, I went to examine the work that was done. There was a loud buzzing noise that projected from the sound system that had not been there before Streamline Auto Sounds installed the amplifier and the equalizer. The buzzing noise was even present when the car system was completely off. I brought my concern to *** **** and he informed me that the sound system needed a filter. He stated that he would order the filter and he would install the filter on Tuesday, February 19, 2013. Due to a job scheduling issue, I was not able to come in for the service on that Tuesday. However, I did call Streamline Auto Sounds to inform **** that I was in need of rescheduling the appointment day. **** stated that I could come in on Saturday, February 22, 2013 and he would take care of the matter. On Saturday, February 22, 2013, I visited Streamline Auto Sounds as me and **** had discussed on Tuesday. While meeting with **. **** to discuss the matter, he informed me that he did not order the filter as he previously promised. In addition, he stated that he was not going to attend to the sound system that was previously installed because he had new business. I was prepared to wait for as long as I needed to, but **. **** refused to assist me in understanding the problem. Even though per our previous conversation he assured me that he would fix the problem on Saturday. I did voice my concerns with **. **** about the poor customer service, auto work and false promises. However, he talked over me and asked me did I install auto systems for a living. I sat in the lobby and waited for **. **** in order to schedule a time that I could return. **. **** then stated that he was not going to fix the problem at all. **. **** then demanded that I move my car off of his lot and said “Let me talk to you outside”. Once outside, **. **** then came close to my face and asked me “What the ___ is your problem?” At that moment, my fiancé stepped between myself and **. **** to mediate the situation. I walked about 8 feet away from **. **** while my fiancé tried to work out the situation. **. **** continued to yell out at me and then walked back into my face. A patron then pulled **. **** back and told him to call the police. Once, the police arrived they suggested to that I write the Better Business Bureau and that I could pursue legal actions. Although this situation was very aggravating, I was more disappointed in fact that my sound system obviously had an issue that was not there before, **. **** acknowledge that he knew that there was an issue and did not follow through with any of the statements that he previously guaranteed me such as the filter, scheduled date, nor diagnostics of the problem. After leaving Stream Line Auto Sounds, I saw a different mechanic to help solve the problem because of potential safety risk . When the radio was on or off the noise was so loud that it was a driving distraction and caused me and my fiance headaches while driving. The mechanic analyzed the installation of the job Streamline Auto Sounds completed. The mechanic discovered that due to faulty wiring, the amplifier had been ruined and was the cause of the projected buzzing noise. This amplifier was purchased brand new when Streamline Auto Sounds installed it. Furthermore, I had to pay for labor and replace the amplifier. In summary, Streamline Auto Sounds incorrectly installed equipment in my car. As the business owner, **. **** did not display proper business etiquette and became an aggressor. Although my equipment was not bought in his shop, **. **** should have informed me that his team was not educated to install other brands/models. I paid for a service that was incorrectly completed and I hope that no one else would have to go through this type of experience with Streamline Auto Sounds.

Desired Settlement: I believe that this business should reimburse me for the faulty service completed on my vehicle in which I had replace/pay for stereo equipment and labor.

Business Response: See Attachment

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1