This business is not BBB accredited.

Six Star Speed, LLC

Phone: (202) 469-6768 6920 Braddock Rd Ste B633, Annandale, VA 22003 View Additional Email Addresses http://6starspeed.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Six Star Speed LLC is a small independent Subaru performance shop and consultancy. Started in 2006, we specialize in performance parts development for the Subaru WRX/STI.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Six Star Speed, LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Six Star Speed, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 10, 2013 Business started: 08/01/2009 in VA Business started locally: 08/01/2009
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jonathan Holmes, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Holmes, Owner
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Internet Shopping


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6920 Braddock Rd Ste B633

    Annandale, VA 22003 (202) 469-6768

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/6/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Six star speed is an automotive parts company specializing in *******. I reached out to them over the internet first in may of 2014 to request services to rebuild a turbocharger I had in my possession. This entailed shipping the turbo to the company, and in-turn the company would rebuild the turbo and send it back. Services were paid for and the turbo was shipped to the company on 7/17/14. The original lead time for this process was quoted at 3 months. During the first 4-5 months after the company received the turbo, they were very helpful and responsive to any questions or concerns i had during this time and all email and phone transactions were always courteous and understanding even after far surpassing the originally quoted delivery date. Around November of 2014, the company sales reps stopped replying to any type of communication at all. I now have not heard from the company in any way since this time. I have tried calling and leaving voice mails countless times and have sent many emails with no response in any form. I'm starting to wonder if the company has financially collapsed.

Desired Settlement: All i want is the delivery of the ball bearing **** turbo I originally ordered to be built. Even if the type of turbo originally purchased cannot be delivered as originally specified, then any equivalent turbo would be acceptable. At this point, I just want a new turbo, as my current one is beginning to fail. At the very least the company should return the turbo i originally sent them as this is my personal property regardless of whether or not the rebuild can be performed.

1/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The following is the content of the email I sent Jonathan H. back on May 15, 2014: Jonathan, The turbo that you sent me back in May 2013 has failed. The other day on the way to work the turbo was failing to make boost. On the way home from work I heard a noise similar to the noise I heard when the original turbo you sent me went out when the vanes were contacting the housing. I have disconnected the downpipe to check the play and the play is excessive on the hot side. I have done everything I could to make sure this turbo lasted including verifying proper oil flow and using 0W-40 full synthetic oil as you recommended. I really need a turbo that is going to be reliable on my car as I cannot keep replacing the turbo every year and having my car out of service while waiting for a replacement. Originally - I sent you a VF43 for rebuild during which something was not secured properly and the turbo failed the day I installed it. In the interest of getting the most reliable turbo possible, I was wondering if you could send me a rebuilt VF43 instead of rebuilding/replacing the defective turbo I am going to send back to you. I know the VF43 may not be rated for as much performance as your turbo, but reliability is really more important for me as this is my daily driver. Thanks, ***** Jonathan H. has not responded to any of the numerous emails I sent or voicemails I have left. They don't answer their business phone any longer and it always goes to voicemail. When I originally started dealing with 6StarSpeed back in December 2011 I would call them and Jonathon would answer the phone without fail. It was nice talking to him, since he was very personable and knowledgeable. The turbos originally had a 2 year warranty period, but now I see on their website that the warranty has been reduced to only 12 months. I believe I received this turbo on May 9th 2013, since I sent Jonathan an email on May 9th asking about the missing plugs that should have been installed in the delivered turbo. Jonathon responded that the tech not being used to the plugs must have left them out and said he would ship the plugs out to me ASAP. On May 14th 2013 I sent him an email asking how/when the plugs were sent which means that the turbo was not installed until sometime after May 14 2013. This proves that the turbo that failed on May 11th 2014 falls within the 12 month warranty period.

Desired Settlement: Ideally I would like to return the failed turbo and have 6StarSpeed send me a rebuilt VF43 turbo as indicated in my May 15th email. If Jonathon is not agreeable to that then I would like to have the failed turbo rebuilt or replaced.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Six Star Speed, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart