BBB Accredited Business since

Kleen Rite Corp.

Additional Locations

Phone: (717) 684-6721 Fax: (717) 684-0213 257 S 9th St, Columbia, PA 17512 http://www.kleen-ritecorp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Car wash supplies


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kleen Rite Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kleen Rite Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kleen Rite Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1962 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated 01/01/1970 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael McKonley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael McKonley, President
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Services Car Wash & Polish


Additional Locations

  • 257 S 9th St

    Columbia, PA 17512

  • PO Box 886

    Columbia, PA 17512

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 10, 2014 I ordered a pump from Kleen-Rite Corp. with the full intention of getting the pump in 3 days. I received an email from the company representative on May 12, 2014 2 days later. ****** ******** said they were out of stock and it would take 2 weeks to their warehouse. I sent other emails pleading for the pump without response. This pump is for a fly spray system for a horse barn housing very expensive horses. I finally called the 800 number and the person who answered tried to put me off until I told her I wanted to file a complaint. She called me back and said the pump would be in their warehouse on the 4th of June almost one full month. I told her I desperately needed the pump and she said over night mail would cost approximately $75.00. I asked her if she could help with the cost of the delivery she said no. The pump did arrive UPS on June 5th. The pump was the correct serial number that I ordered but the wrong pressure. The interesting part is the label on the pump said it was made in Mexico on May 15, 2014, 5 days after I placed the order. As far as I'm concerned they had no pump at all and had to have it built. They could have easily ordered it from another company and satisfied the sale and 3 day delivery! This without a doubt is the worse form false advertising and pathetic customer service I have ever dealt with. All they had to do is tell me the truth and I could have gone elsewhere. I am going to use the pump any way but will never use or recommend this company to anyone. I almost lost a customer because of this outrageous scam.

Desired Settlement: An unreasonable or excessive delay in completing service. They need to honor their on line sales and be honest to the customer. If they keep this up they will be out of business. They could have easily ordered it from another company and satisfied the sale and 3 day delivery! 

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

We were disappointed to hear that we had an unresolved complaint that we did not satisfy in house. I spoke to my customer service supervisor and she was not given the opportunity to resolve ** *******'s issue after he did not agree with our initial course of action. ** ******* placed the order on a Saturday, we are closed on Saturday and Sundays. The item that was ordered on the website ********** states that it is a 2 week lead time on the website. None the less we sent an e-mail on Monday May 12th the 1st business day we were open after recieving the order. See attached stating that his order that was marked for a 3 day delivery is out of stock and has a standard 2 week delivery to our door and we would ship it out upon recieving the item. It would normally take 2 weeks because the pumps are made to order from ******* the manufactuer and this particular model is not a normal stock item for Kleen-Rite. The item took an extra week to arrive and became available to ship on June 4th. There was 1 additional correspondence to an e-mail he sent after close of business on Friday May 30 at 6:51pm as soon as we had insurance that the item would arrive on June 4th on Monday afternoon June 2nd at 4:07pm stating we would ship on June 4th. 

It is not our policy to pay expedited shipping to clear up a delay in the supply chain but we always work to insure the customer is satisfied, this could have been us paying for regular ground or possibly giving a discount on the product. At this time I see we have $81.05 in shipping charges on his invoice ******. We would be happy to split the charge with ** ******* and return $40.53 to the credit card the item was purchased on if this would be agreeable. I see there may be a problem with the pump recieved and will work personally with the customer to insure the pump issues are resolved.

We try to communicate at a high level and will always work to do a better job. Kleen-Rite has been in business for over 50 years and we strive to make every customer want to return for another purchase.

 

Thanks,

***** ****

Vice President/Owner