BBB Accredited Business since

Battery Mart Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 665-0065 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Battery Drive, Winchester, VA 22601 http://www.batterymart.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Battery Mart Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Battery Mart Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Battery Mart Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 11/01/1983 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. C.Mark Jenkins, President Mrs. Cherie Lauck, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. C.Mark Jenkins, President
Principal: Mrs. Cherie Lauck, GM
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Battery Mart .com Battery Mart of Winchester Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1 Battery Drive

    Winchester, VA 22601

  • 2159-A Winchester Ave

    Martinsburg, WV 25405

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/29/2014 Delivery Issues
7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New battery was purchased for $84.95 and charged and installed in my motorcycle per instructions. Battery failed to crank over motorcycle so I tested it with a multi meter and found it to be below standards under load, I then borrowed a used battery from a friend which had less stated cranking amps and my motorcycle started fine. I have been in the motorcycle and automotive field for 40 + years so I do have experience and I mentioned this to them. After contacting Battery Mart they sent me return instructions with and it was sent on 4-8-2014 by USPS at a cost to me of $26.05 arriving by USPS confirmation to Battery Mart on 4-10-2014. Eight days later on 4-18-2014 Battery Mart said it passed all tests and was being shipped back to me. On 4-25-2014 I sent an e-mail message to their support team that I still had not received the battery with no response and it is now 4-26-2014, It took 2 days to arrive to them and 8 days later I am still without a battery. This battery had a 1 yr. warrantee behind it.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking is that they replace the defective battery with a new proper working battery within a reasonable shipping time. This has now already cost me much more than a local bought battery would have.

Business Response: 4/10/14  - *** *****'s  battery was received at Battery Mart for testing and it was low on charge (12.25 volts).   His battery was brought up to full charge, allowed to set, and then load tested multiple times.  The manufacturer's rating for *** *****'s battery is 310 CCA (cold cranking amps) and it passed at 616 CCA in our facility. 

4/18/14 - Test results were reported to *** *****.

4/25/14 - Good battery was returned to *** ***** at Battery Mart's expense (we paid return shipping after charging and testing his battery).  ***** tracking # ************

4/29/14 - *** ***** received his battery.

5/9/14 - *** ***** called with concerns about his battery and requested a free replacement.

5/14/14 - Battery Mart issued *** ***** a full refund but will not send a replacement as we believe he has a problem with his motorcycle other than the battery.

Regards,
****** *****
Battery Mart




Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have checked with my credit card company and there has been no refund

from Battery Mart as of 5/26/14. Battery Mart claims tthat a refund was issued on 5/10/14. I will be more than happy to accept a refund as I mentioned to them that I bought another battery from Interstate and it has been working flawlessly!


Regards,

****** *****








Business Response: Attached is the detailed credit transaction information from our merchant processor.  This information can be shared with customer's  bank to confirm processing of credit to his card. 
We regret that *** ***** is unhappy but we have no additional information to add to our original response. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: my account does not reflect this refund transaction at this time but I will be checking back daily until it does. There was also no mention of reimbursement for the $26 that it cost me to ship the defective battery back to Battery Mart.


Regards,

****** *****








4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2013, I purchased the ******* PT 12V 5 amp waterproof charger through Battery Mart.com, * ******* ****** **********, VA *****. The item was shipped and I did not try to use it until Jan 2014. When I attached the product to a standard auto battery, the red light flashed for a fraction of a second and then turned green. The trouble shooting guide suggested this was an open circuit and to check the fuse which was fine. Ultimately I contacted Battery Mart and returned the charger which on their testing had no output. Battery Mart replaced it under warranty. The second unit I received did exactly the same thing, and now the third. Battery Mart stated they shipped tested, functional products and has refused to either return my money or ship out any more units stating this is *******’s problem. In fact, the Department Manager suggested I was in some way breaking them. He referred me to *******.

Desired Settlement: A functional product.

Business Response: Customer ordered a ******* charger on 10/06/13 and it was shipped on 10/07/13.

Customer was shipped a free replacement on 2/21/14.  Replacement charger was fully tested before shipping.

Customer was shipped a second free replacement on 3/18/14. 
Replacement charger was fully tested before shipping.

As of 4/22/14 customer has received three chargers and paid for one (1).

We believe there is a problem related to how the customer is using his charger(s) and recommend he talk to an engineer with *******.

Battery Mart will not send any additional units to this customer.  However, we will refund his original purchase price of $81.95 when he returns the free unit shipped to him on 3/18/14.






Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *********

3/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After only 6 weeks of using the battery that I bought from them (for my ******** ******), it would not hold a charge. Battery Mart's customer service told me they would not recognize a certified shop's testing of the battery.... but that I had to send the battery back to Battery mart for testing. I told them there is no way for a consumer to have confidence in doing this. I told them that having a certified third party do the testing is the only fair way to handle any return of this nature. They left me no choice but to reluctantly ship it back to them for testing... However, prior to doing so, I had it tested by a nationally recognized shop and I included the "BAD" test results with my shipment back to Battery Mart with the hope that this would hold them honest. After many days of waiting for them to finally test it (this bike is my only source of transportation I was missing work), they finally responded by telling me the battery tested "GOOD". The losses for me are quite high considering this is just a motorcycle battery. I'm out $90+ bucks for the initial cost of the battery I bought from them;.. $20 dollars for shipping it back to them;... now another $90+ dollars will be needed to purchase a good battery from somewhere else,.. and it looks like they also want to charge me for the cost of shipping the bad battery back to me!! This will end up costing me well over $200. Incredible. Businesses should not be allowed to deny the recognition a certified third party for testing. Absolutely not. This is wrong.

Desired Settlement: I want Battery Mart to be required to change their policy so that future consumers are able to use a certified third party for battery testing....so they are not taken as I was by this sort of unfair return policy. And I would like compensation for my losses or to be sent another battery.

Business Response:

Customer placed order on 10/19/2013, paid $92.95 for battery, and received free shipping. 

Customer contacted Battery Mart on January 7, 2014 saying he had concerns and experienced problems with battery since receiving, however had used battery for over two (2) months.

Battery Mart CSR responded with options (see attached notes). 

Refer to Battery Mart return policy which is clearly listed on our website. http://www.batterymart.com/c-returns.html

Defective Merchandise
In order for any product purchased from BatteryMart.com to be determined defective it must be returned to BatteryMart.com or the manufacturer and accompanied by a Return Authorization Number within the specified warranty period and terms. BatteryMart.com does not do advanced warranties. BatteryMart.com is not responsible for shipments that are lost or damaged in the return process. BatteryMart.com is also not responsible for shipping charges past the first 45 days. Products found to be defective from original workmanship will be replaced or credited, at customer request. Products found to be non-defective, will be returned to the customer at their expense.

_________________

Customer returned battery to Battery Mart for testing.

January 24, 2014 customer was advised of test results.  Battery is good.

Customer was not satisfied so full credit was issued to his card on January 27, 2014.

2/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for an auto battery I ordered online in the amount of $71.95, which was immediately deducted from my **** card. I was then called by someone saying that the charge didn't go through due to the billing address being wrong. She acted like it was my fault even though I verified the address was correct and had never had any problems with the same card and same address for over a year. I NEVER gave permission to charge me again, but in her troubleshooting of they're apparent computer issues, she ran it again and again it charged my account. I was able to order the part using the same card\address from a different company later that day. I was told that the order had been cancelled and my card wouldn't be charged, but it was, twice. They have told me on 2 different occasions that they had cancelled the order and that I need to contact my bank. My bank has yet to recieve any cancellation going on 2 weeks and I am currently waiting for the time limit to pass so that I can contest the charge. During this time, which I relayed to their customer service, my daughter turned 10 and I was short on money for her party due to the near $150 dollars taken from my card. I am a single father who lives paycheck to paycheck and I don't feel they have acted responsibly with their faulty charges\electronic systems. I will continue to pursue settlement that will include damages beyond the faulty charges. Further, I have documentation including emails from them promising return credit which has never happened and online statements for the charges that DID get charged and never returned if they are needed.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for both charges and assurance they will resolve the technical problems associated with these charges and put better procedures in place for when they occur.

Business Response: January 11, 2014, **. **** placed an order online, entering all the information himself.  He entered the billing address and an alternate 'ship to' address.

Battery Mart carefully screens each order before releasing to be shipped.  When a credit card is sent for authorization the 'Bill To' information entered on the order is verified against the billing information held by the issuing bank.  When the address verification fails, as it did with **. ****'s order,  we make an attempt to verify and contact the customer.  Alternate 'Ship To' addresses are also reviewed.  This is done to prevent fraudulent transactions from being processed. 

**. **** was contacted for verification and a second attempt was made to verify his address with the information on file at his bank.  This is done by sending the card back out for re-authorization and re-verification.   However, **. ****'s address was not verified on the second attempt.   We offered to have a 3 way call with **. ****'s bank but he did not want to do that and asked that his order be cancelled, which we did on January 13, 2014.

Battery Mart never received any funds from **. **** so there is no credit to be issued.  The "charges" **. **** experienced on his account were authorization holds placed by his bank.  Battery Mart has no control over when his bank releases holds.  We understand **. ****'s desire to have those funds available but as we explained to him on 1/14/14, banks typically release authorization holds within 24 to 48 hours.

8/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a defective battery. They refunded some of the money but charged with shipping charges. They said that they tested the battery and it checked out so I had to pay for the shipping. So all they have to say is that they checked it out. They did not have it checked by an independent company. On two occasions I almost didn't make it home due to this battery. My mechanic told me he that it had a short in it. They also guarantee 100% complete satisfaction printed on a large gold star. For me that is false advertisement.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the shipping charge.

Business Response:

Customer placed order on 5/29/13 and received free shipping. 
 
7/5/13 customer contacted Battery Mart with concerns regarding his battery. 
Please note:  when a car or motorcycle stops while running it points to a problem other than the battery. 
 
7/8/13 Battery Mart provided a pre-paid return label with instructions for return.  See copy of email dated 7/8/13.

7/23/13 Customer's battery tested good and customer was credited his original purchase price less the cost of the return shipping.
 
7/26/13 Customer questioned the amount of his credit and our testing methods.
 
7/29/13 Battery Mart responded with details of testing and review of return guidelines.
 
7/30/13  Battery Mart gave further specifics of test results.

For complete details of correspondensce with customer please see attached copy of internal notes from customer's account. 

Credit amount stands at $73.80. 


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

**** ****** *********************3:50 PM (17 hours ago)to meI talked to you today, August 5th, concerning a rejection to batterymart.com reply.   I reject their complaint concerning their testing procedures.   I started having problems with my motorcycle as soon as I installed their battery.  Lets use some common sense.  My old battery still works, I was only replacing it because it was old.   The new battery I purchased from ******* works fine, but their battery caused me problems, and I feel I shouldn’t have to pay shipping on a defective battery that has some internal defects.    If their battery worked, I would not have returned it, my new battery from ******* was more expensive.  
Regards,

***** ******








Business Response: Please refer back to original response and documentation from Battery Mart.

Refund stands at $73.80.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
**** ****** *********************5:19 PM (15 hours ago)to meIn answer to yours is, my complaint still stands.   You should take down that big star that says “Complete Customer Satisfaction” because you don’t honor it, and its false advertisement.    ***** ******


Regards,

***** ******








6/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product is defective after a short period of use. It has a 10 year warranty. Battery Mart Support person #1 asks if I have proof of purchase. Answer is yes. Support person #2 **** says he will not replace or honor the warranty, stating, " I am not sure where you are buying these products and asking us to honor our internet stated warranty (as well as the enclosed warranty statement with the product) but I will not replace this product again. This product has failed multiple times and the last request was done under their pretense of "courtesy" and that they had lost all records of purchase in a computer network change. Made me laugh a little. This request to return the product for testing and confirmation of failure was denied even with proof of purchase. Service support **** has several different excuses, rude, and refused to honor the warranty claim. I have all necessary documents of proof of purchase, a faulty product, and a warranty statement for replacement.

Desired Settlement: Honor the warranty and replace the product as is the warranty statement on the internet site (www.batterymart.com) and enclosed in the product package.

Business Response:

*** ******* purchased a ******* charger (part # ********) from Battery Mart on 11/27/10.

*** * contacted Battery Mart in Jan 2012 requesting a free warranty replacement.  A charger (part #********) was shipped to *** * at no charge on Feb 3, 2012. 

*** * contacted Battery Mart on July 5, 2012 requesting free warranty replacements for two (2) chargers (part #********).  *** * said one of the chargers was purchased from Battery Mart prior to July 2009 but he did not have any receipts or proof of purchase.  

*** * refused to answer questions regarding his use of the chargers.  *** * was abrupt and vague in giving specifics of how the chargers were put into service, which made the task of trying to help or troubleshoot for *** * impossible.  The call center manager approved replacement on both units as a courtesy but advised *** * that Battery Mart would not provide any other free replacements.  *** * was advised that future warranty concerns should be directed to the manufacturer, *******.  *** * said he was not willing to contact *******.

Battery Mart's website clearly states:

In order for any product purchased from BatteryMart.com to be determined defective it must be returned to BatteryMart.com or the manufacturer and accompanied by a Return Authorization Number within the specified warranty period and terms.

*** ******* has received a total of four (4) chargers and paid for one (1).  Battery Mart will not provide any additional free replacements to *** ******* and we ask that he contact:
******* ************ *** **** *** ** ***** ******* ** ***** ***** ************ *** ************

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: incorrect information of rebuttal.  I have reciepts of transactins of purchase in 2007 and 2010.  Batterymart has explicitly told me they lost all sales information when they changed a computer system...  The other information submitted in rebuttal is assumptive on their part.  Bottom line...  warranty the product for 10 years.  I have proof of purchase.  Invoice number ********* and invoice number *****.  Product failed, warranty not honored. 


Regards,

******* *******








Business Response:
We acknowledge *** *******'s concerns over ******* chargers not holding up under his specific service usage.  For this reason we are directing him to the manufacturer for support and assistance from their engineers.  Again, the manufacturer's contact information is:

******* ************ *** **** *** ** ***** ******* ** ***** ***** ************ *** ************


Contradiction:  In all prior conversations *** ******* said he had no receipts?

Note: We found where *** ******* received an additional free warranty replacement which was listed under his business name of 'Quality Specialist'.  See attached document.  With this discovery it brings *** ******* to having received a total of five (5) FREE replacement charger units.

Battery Mart will not provide any further warranty replacements to *** *******.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: your information is incorrect.  Like I said, I have receipts for the purchase of these units from you.  You should consider why you have had to replace the units (poor quality of a product) and live up to your warranty statements.    False information on a web site is poor business.  Word gets around.....

Warranty replacement is requested....


Regards,

******* *******








Business Response: Battery Mart has sent *** ******* a total of five (5) FREE replacement charger units.   For this reason we are directing him to the manufacturer for support and assistance from their engineers.  Again, the manufacturer's contact information is:

******* ************ *** **** *** ** ***** ******* ** ***** ***** ************ *** ************

 Battery Mart will not provide any further warranty replacements to *** *******.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Unacceptable when I have receipts and Batterymart has claimed they lost records of transactions in 2009.  I sent you the receipts for two units I have purchased with a 10 year warranty.  The warranty request is well within the period of purchase plus 10 years.  Replacement is this unit under warranty is the course of action according to the advertisement on Batterymart's web site and the warranty information. 


Regards,

******* *******








5/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took 2 batteries from a Homelite 21" electric lawn mower into local store to purchase replacements on 4/20/13 and got there just before they were closing. Associate brought out 2 batteries--different appearance but similar size and with same specifications--rang up the transaction and I took the batteries home, put them in lawnmower and cut lawn. Checked receipt later and found I had not been credited nor provided any reimbursement for core charges for old batteries they kept at store. A sign prominently displaced behind the store counter lists reimbursement for core charges for lawn and garden batteries as $3.00 for each old battery. Stopped back to store on 4/27/13 as I was traveling by it again; had store receipt of purchase with me after being told earlier I needed receipt for the reimbursement that wasnt provided at time of purchase. Associate looked at receipt and told me I wasn't charged for the cores, I told him that no, I wasn't paid nor credited for core charges for the 2 old batteries I brought in the store, which were retained at time of purchase. The associate then completed some form, took $4 in one dollar bills from register and laid it on counter, I pointed to sign behind him and said it listed lawn and garden batteries at $3.00 per core, not $2. He then stated the batteries sold were motorcycle batteries, not lawn and garden, the core charge was $2 for those. I told the original batteries were from an electric lawn mower, not a motorcycle, and slightly different from the the batteries I bought, which work OK in the mower. The associate then stated they would only pay $4, threw it on counter so I left.

Desired Settlement: $6 reimbursement for core charges, which should have been done at time of sale.

Business Response: All of our batteries are sold at a price that includes an exchange (core).   Lead acid batteries turned in that are not core exchanges are paid at a rate of 0.25 per pound.

This customer brought in 2 batteries, was sold 2 batteries, and never charged for cores.  He did not turn in any additional batteries to receive $$ for scrap return.

When the customer returned a week later with concerns he had not received $$ for his cores we explained the above.  He continued to argue the point and in an effort to resolve the issue, the customer was offered $4.00.  He refused to take the $4.00 and left in a very unhappy mood.

After receiving this complaint (dispute is really over $2.00 and not $6.00) we have attempted to call the customer on 4/29/13 but he has not returned our call.

We are willing to pay the customer $4.00 for his "scrap batteries" which were actually his core exchanges.  This is more than fair.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Arrogant nature of this business location toward its customers is earning it some bad will.  "More than fair" isnt running a customer back in for a third visit for something that should have been done during the first visit or even asserting no batteries were retained by store during 2nd visit.  Money isnt the issue here as much as rude customer service.
Throwing money on counter toward a customer instead of handing it is rude customer service. Their sign refers to reimbursement for used batteries "lawn and garden batteries $3.00", batteries that were retained by this business were specifically from an electric lawn mower, not a motorcycle. By their posted sign, reimbursement is $6.00 for such batteries.  Their associate didnt pay nor credit for any amount whatsoever at first visit.
Havent called as I have been out of town for work during the day, message was left 2 days ago and now this is written here. 


Regards,

******* ***








Business Response: Customer fails to give details of his demeanor in our store. 

If customer is willing to provide a mailing address we will send him a check for $6.00.


Consumer Response: Hi
I accept the business's response with one caveat.  The tone of the responses from this business from start to finish have seemed arrogant, including last reference to customer's "demeanor".  I did not raise my voice, use profanity of any kind nor interact with anyone at the store in other than a civil manner at any time to request a reimbursement for the used batteries, who inexplicably did not provide for this in the first place, whatever amount was at issue. 
Address they can use to mail what they are now offering here through the BBB is:
*** **** ****** ****** *********** ** ******

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, conditional upon performance of their offer. 

Regards,

******* ***

2/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service