BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Washington Boulevard Motors Inc.

Phone: (703) 243-4466 Fax: (703) 243-4481 3210 North 10th Street, Arlington, VA 22201 http://www.wbminc.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Washington Boulevard Motors Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Washington Boulevard Motors Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 25, 2000 Business started: 10/01/1987 Business started locally: 10/01/1987 Business incorporated: 10/01/1987 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ali Nezam, President/GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ali Nezam, President/GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Washington Blvd. Motors

Additional Locations

  • 3210 North 10th Street

    Arlington, VA 22201

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 BMW from WBM Arlington VA .I had the Arlington BMW dealer check out vehicle prior to purchase. They stated it was in top condition. This dealership was recommended by WBM to me. When the car was delivered to NC it had several areas that were not disclosed prior to my purchase so they repaired the bumper areas is question. The car then had to sit for 2 days prior to my driving it for the paint to seal. I started driving the car and put app 1000 miles on it (app 9 days of driving) when it left me stranded on the highway would not crank and I had to have it towed to the nearest dealership for BMW's. The service provider there said the car had faulty injectors faulty spark plugs faulty seals oil filter housing leaking and front lower control ar** were cracked. I paid 300.00 to BMW Arlington for a pre purchase inspection and still all this was amiss. My service provider in NC had to go to bat to get ANY of the warranty I purchased fom ********* Warranties ($4000.00) to cover. Per WBM all the seals would be covered under warranty and they were not. I paid out of pocket less than 2 weeks after purchasing car a total of 1527.38 plus the warranty covered another 1650.00 in parts and have tried numerous times to get in touch with Manager *** ***** to discuss WBM paying at least 1/2 of my out of pocket expenses. I feel this is fair and I also feel like I have been scammed on this vehicle by BMW Arlington for saying it was in perfect working order and by WBM for stating the same.

Desired Settlement: I would like to re coup at least 1/2 of my out of pocket money for this which is app $800.00 I think that is fair.

Business Response: Dear **. ******,

1) Even though the vehicle was sold on an As/Is basis and all of the documents had been forwarded to **. ********, when she noticed some scratches on the front bumper that "were evident on the advertised pictures and others that were surface scratches caused by the transport company"; WBM found a company local to **. ********, and had it repaired. You will receive pictures in the next email due to size of the attachment.

2) Initially, when **. ******* contacted WBM in order to purchase the vehicle we offered to deliver the vehicle to a service facility of her choice in order to have it pre-purchase inspected. She asked for the nearest "BMW Dealer" and that is BMW of Fairfax. They have been in business for almost 45 years, and are very reputable. **. ******* has had many conversations with the service representative at BMW of ******* prior and after her purchase.

3) BMW of Fairfax's recommended that the vehicle needed an ***gnment, and since the transport companies schedule did not leave us enough time to have the ***gnment done here, we asked **. ******** to have it done locally, and that we would pay for it since it was promised in advance.  When **. ******* took the vehicle to ******** BMW for the ***gnment, "********" did not mention any issues with the suspension? Why would they charge for an ***gnment for a vehicle that "according to them 1000 miles later had suspension issues"? We all know that any time there is work done on a vehicles suspension a new ***gnment has to be performed.

4)  During BMW of Fairfax's pre-purchase inspection it was also found that the "Turbo, chargers" which are very expensive had started to weaken, and they "BMW of Fairfax" had those replaced "prior to **. ********'s purchase". This indicates to me that BMW of ******* had done their due diligence in checking the vehicle thoroughly prior to **. ********'s purchase, and had indeed reported any and all of their findings to **. ********. Contrary to that I believe that "********" was either "padding" the charges, or were just misdiagnosing the repairs. The other very unlikely possibility would be that many things went wrong after 1000 miles?

5) Regardless of what I believe or **. ******** believes, this vehicle was sold to **. ******** completely on an As/Is basis, and WBM had offered every opportunity to **. ******** to have the vehicle inspected by an independent in advance of her purchase. We made arrangements to deliver the vehicle for pre-purchase inspection, arranged for the vehicle to be delivered to her house, and arranged to have the bumper repaired and paid for it at her location.

6) Even if there were a warrantied item, we should have had the opportunity to verify the repairs recommended in advance.  It cannot be that she approves the repairs, and tell us about it after the fact.


Attached you will find supporting documents. Please also make sure that you read my correspondences with **. ******** below.

Very kind regards,

*** *****

W B M of Arlington
3210 N. 10th Street
Arlington VA 22201
Tel: +***********
Fax: +***********
Email: ******************
Web: www.wbminc.com



..................................................................................................................................................................................................

From: *** ***** [mailto:******************]
Sent: Thursday, January 9, 2014 7:02 PM
To: '****** ********'
Cc: **** (*******************)
Subject: RE: ****** ********

Dear **. ********,

I apologize for the delay in my reply. As I had mentioned to you I had a close family member in the hospital, and unfortunately I have had to fly to the west Coast for his burial.

I have reviewed the situation with our sales department and BMW of Fairfax. Unfortunately we are not going to be able to offer additional assistance with the repair costs for the following reasons:

7)      The vehicle was sold to you on an AS/IS basis.
8)      You had not given us the opportunity to review the repairs prior to authorizing them.
9)      We find that many of the repairs are questionable as discussed previously.
10)     WBM receives a “Courtesy” discount from service facilities and parts vendors, and you authorized the repairs without consulting us. Had we been given the opportunity we would have had significant saving in the repair costs.
11)     We had given you the opportunity to have the vehicle inspected by a reputable service facility prior to your purchase.
12)     We have also reviewed the repair invoice from ********s BMW with BMW of Fairfax, and it is the opinion of the service department of BMW of ******* that there is a high probability that many of the repairs were not needed. Such as the suspension repair (remember ********s BMW) had charged us for an ***gnment just days prior?! Had the vehicle needed suspension service, the correct avenue would have been to make you aware of the issue prior to changing you/us $160.00?

Very kind regards,

*** *****

W B M of Arlington
3210 N. 10th Street
Arlington VA 22201
Tel: +1**********
Fax: +1**********
Email: ******************
Web: www.wbminc.com



From: ****** ******** [mailto:***********************]
Sent: Thursday, January 9, 2014 10:39 AM
To: ******************
Subject: ****** ********

***
       I have patiently waited on a call from you for 9 days now  I have left numerous messages with my number  ###-###-####  and my BMW service provider has also contacted you without a return call.
I would like a call today as to what your thoughts are on the car failure.

 I am going to contact the BBB and let them know of my situation  as well.

I have paid you and done everything correctly with this transaction.

I was promised a no problem sale with a 100% car and this has not been the case and I have exhausted my efforts to get in contact with you.

 You are wasting my time at this point.     ****** ********




***
        I have yet to hear from you and it has been a week I have called several times and have been told you are busy and will call back and I still have not heard anything.  I would like a call today or Wed as to this situation  Thank you ****** ********


On Mon, Dec 30, 2013 at 8:08 PM, *** ***** wrote:

> Dear **. ********,
>
>
> Obviously we have shown you a good will in the past in our willingness
> to absorb repair costs that have not been part of the contract. It is
> Unfortunate that you are experiencing issues with the vehicle, but
> Surely you are not insinuating that we have knowingly sold you a
> Vehicle with issues?
>
> Finally it must be noted that you the miles according to BMW of
> ******* at the time of the pre-purchase inspection was at 67794 (copy
> attached) and according to our records when the vehicle was handed
> Over to the transport company the odometer indicated 67809. Based on
> the documents faxed today ********s BMW puts the miles at 68877?
> As I have mentioned in my previous email, though we do not have any
> contractual responsibility, I will review and discuss this with my
> Colleagues in the next days. I do appreciate that you would like to be
> notified of our decision "ASAP"; however any offer of assistance on
> Our part will be as a goodwill gesture on our part for the following
> Reasons:
>
> 1) The vehicle was sold to you on an "AS/IS" basis.
> 2) We have provided all and any opportunities to include transporting
> the vehicle to be checked, and inspected by certified and reputable
> 3rd Party prior to your purchase. You have been provided with a copy
> of their findings, and spoken with their representative.
> 3) The repairs in question were not authorized, nor reviewed by us.
> Even though under very difficult circumstances I had made many
> attempts to contact ********s BMW, they have yet to return my calls.
> Again I apologize for not being able to take your call earlier,
> however as it has been your experience in the past either myself or
> one of my colleagues will get back to you as soon as we have had the
> opportunity to asses this.
>
> *** *****
>
> W B M of Arlington
> 3210 N. 10th Street
> Arlington VA 22201
> Tel: +***********
> Fax: +***********
> Email: ******************
> Web: www.wbminc.com

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  

AS soon as I go to my workplace  DEC 20  I contacted  *** ***** via email and let him know my  car was completely idle on the road  and having to be towed into the nearest dealership for repairs. I also  called WBM as well and left a message for him to contact me ASAP.  No one returned my call that day and he did not return the email until  12/23/13.  I could not wait until I received a call from him prior to having my only means of transportation repaired.     The ********* BMW dealer found the problems and repaired them BUT they did call ***  12/23 to discuss issues and also did not get a return call.  The service advisor for ********* BMW  **** called me app 4 times to let me know he could not get in touch with **. *****  Monday and he needed to start repairs on my vehicle after being there for 3 days.  

As far the the dealership stating they took my vehicle to the pre inspection that was done but I had suggested ********* BMW and the sales person stated the ******* BMW dealer was far closer so that is why it was taken there.. 

 I feel that I was sold a car that had known issues and I am confident in the ********* BMW dealer in NC knowing what they are doing.  The bottom line is:  I have spent over $1600.  out of my pocket  and another $1600 from the warranty I bought with the vehicle  within 1000 miles of driving a supposed certified car by not one ,but 2, dealerships and this is not acceptable to me. 

Regards,

****** ********








Business Response: Attached you will find a picture of the vehicle as it was advertised. If you look closely you will notice that on the driver's side of the front bumper it has 2 imperfections about the size of a silver Dollar. In order to keep **. ******** Happy we had the whole bumper repainted at our expense (even though it was not a covered it, or previously promised).


Please advise us if you need additional information.

Kind regards,

*** *****

W B M of Arlington
3210 N. 10th Street
Arlington VA 22201
Tel: +***********
Fax: +***********
Email: ******************
Web: **************

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:   

Repairing the  bumper ding does not have anything to do with the  injectors  oil housings and front control arms having to be repaired   Yes they repaired the bumper ding.  It was repaired by non BMW personnel and it was adequate.    I am attempting to get resolution to a $3200.00  bill for the car completely stopping  after driving it app 1 week.   The warranty paid $1600.00 for repairs which left me with $1600    I have asked before and am asking once again that they pay for 1/2 of my bills for car repairs which is  $800.00  This is the only fair way to do business in my opinion.   I trusted this Car dealership and I would hope they would do the right thing so soon after the sale of one of their autos.    


Regards,

****** ********








Business Response:  Is she asking us to pay for half of the repairs, even though it was sold on an "As/Is" basis, and had been "pre-purchase inspected" by a certified BMW dealer prior to her purchase for $5381.00 less than the "NADA" book value? Is she also ignoring the fact that she authorized these repairs without consulting us? It seems a little unfair that she authorizes repairs that she expects us to pay for without allowing us to verify the accuracy of the diagnostics, don’t you think?


Very kind regards,

*** *****

W B M of Arlington
3210 N. 10th Street
Arlington VA 22201
Tel: +***********
Fax: +***********
Email: ******************
Web: www.wbminc.com

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I notified the dealership (which is 6 hours from me as soon as I got to work from breaking down.   I left *** ***** numerous messages as did the BMW ********* dealer in NC.  He did not answer the calls that were placed  Dec 20-21 and 22 until  Dec 23 and then he emailed me stating he would contact the ********* BMW  dealer which he did not.  SOOO  I did try to get in touch with them prior to work being done on car.  The repairs weren't started until late Monday afternoon 12/23.  As far as getting a pre inspection   It was done at the ******* BMW dealer who was recommended to me by WBM motors.  AND YES  I am asking for the dealership to pay 1/2 of MY cost for repairs  $800.00.  There was a total of over $3000.00 paid out within 1000 miles of driving the vehicle.  It was sold to me as a very well maintained vehicle without issues per *** ***** and his staff.   This was a complete falsehood. 

Regards,

****** ********

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle was advertised with all options, including windscreen. Vehicle was represented as complete but was missing flat, valet, and master keys as well as windscreen. Advertising showed ******* tire photo, but vehicle had one ******* tire and 3 bald ******** tires. CD changer represented as operable by dealer, but was inoperable. Tires replaced at my expense were a mismatched set of *********** tires. Correct *********** matched set of tires was achieved through my personal diligence with *********** Tire Corporate, as WBM refused to answer my phone communication. Call received from WBM after *********** Tire Corporate solved my issue.

Desired Settlement: As the vehicle I purchased was falsely advertised and falsely represented by WBM,I respectfully request reimbursement of my personal expenditures as follows:1) Mount and balance correct *********** DWS tires - $302) Windscreen replacement - $3253) CD Changer repair - $3004) Flat, Valet, and Master Key replacements - $150Total - $805

Business Response:

This gentleman originally contacted us on September 4th 2013. Between September 4th and September 16th when the vehicle was purchased we have had “17” email exchanges plus at least an equal amount of telephone calls.

 

1)      Since the beginning we have been very transparent with this client. We even suggested a pre-purchase inspection at a service facility of his choice, and offered to transport the vehicle to a facility of his choice free of charge. The gentleman declined that offer.

2)      We offered to take additional specific photographs of the vehicle to include the under carriage, tires, interior, scratches…. Obviously this is all documented.

3)      We had even priced tires (at our wholesale price), and arranged for an appointment with a local tire retailer nearby saving him over $500.00 on tires and alignment. Obviously this subject was addressed by us in advance by providing verbal description, and emailing detailed photographs.

4)      After we informed him that the wind deflector for this vehicle was not available I sent him an email with (*****************************************  this one is $159.00) informing him of the cost. After the client had an opportunity to review the vehicle, and its options (to include the wind deflector) the customer negotiated an additional discount of $577.35 from our already low price of $11995.00 to $11417.65. It must be noted that our asking price of “$11995.00” was the lowest in the United States for an equivalent vehicle and miles by $5500.00. I do not want hid behind fine print but the following statement is mentioned in every WBM advertisement:

- Please double check the accuracy of the options with your sales representative. On some rare occasions, in transmission of the electronic feeds, some options may not be properly indicated.

 

Below you will find 2 of the comparable vehicles that were advertised at that time (one for the same price but with almost double the miles, and not a 40th Anniversary Pkg, and the other was advertised for $5500.00 more than the price this customer paid).

 

Description: Description: https://s3.amazonaws.com/ecl-photos/true_target/6/5/0/2/2/2/1/2.jpg

Vin: *****************
Color: Black


Description: Description: https://www.ecarlist.com/market_analysis/logos/autotrader_logoSM.gif
Description: Description: https://www.ecarlist.com/market_analysis/logos/carsdotcom_logoSM.gif

******** Honda Westm...
46 miles

99,811

 

$11,498

 

Description: Description: https://s3.amazonaws.com/ecl-photos/true_target/5/6/9/8/7/7/5/1.jpg

Vin: *****************
Color: White


Description: Description: https://www.ecarlist.com/market_analysis/logos/autotrader_logoSM.gif
Description: Description: https://www.ecarlist.com/market_analysis/logos/carsdotcom_logoSM.gif

****** Auto Depot
500 miles

54,034

 

$16,999

 

 

 

 

 

 

5)      During the month of October our offices underwent renovations, and computer upgrades. During this process the gentleman’s emails had ended up in my spam box. In addition I had to leave town due to a family emergency. At which time I sent him the email below. However he has not replied.

 

Unfortunately this email had made its way to my “SPAM” folder. In addition to have been relocated from my office due to renovations (which is still ongoing, I have had to leave for California on a “tragic” family emergency during the first part of October, which had left **** very short handed. Though my absence should not have changed our customer service i believe in this case it has, and for that I hope you accept my apology. Also I wanted to inform you that ***** is no longer part of our sales team, and that you should direct your future communication to me.

 

I am hoping to call you in person and get an update, and again apologize, and see if there was anything we could do in order to make it up.

 

6)      The surprise is the following email which this client had sent me on September the 9th  :

 

Thank you for your professional demeanor and follow-up in regards to the 40th Anniversary coupe. 

The *********** DWS's are exactly what I am looking for. I will be in touch as soon as humanly possible to let you know when exactly I will be visiting WBM to get this done so we may coordinate timing to get me back down south to NC in a most expedient manner. I see no reason not to go ahead and order these since they are returnable. I plan to have these installed with appropriate alignment immediately  after I visually inspect and test drive the car, so I can pay your vendor directly at that time. I just don't want to buy them until such time that 
the car is under my ownership, and I certainly don't want WBM investing in rubber they don't want. Sounds like this should work perfectly.

 

Let's hold off on the Mercedes PPI for now until we hear back as to the Lease maintenance records. If this info gap gets filled, an additional  PPI may be a waste of both of our time and resources. 

 

While we have not met personally met yet, I thought you might be interested to know that the cars and motorcycles that I have owned (and all I currently possess), all reflect showroom condition regardless of year, make, etc. This is a personal hobby that I pride myself in and am  recognized for by all those who know me.  The information and follow-up you provide is invaluable to me, especially considering we are a bit beyond 6 hours’ drive time apart. If there are any known concerns that preclude the SL320 coupe from achieving my personal level of excellence, I would more than appreciate hearing it from you. Based on the photos and information viewed to date, I have no reason to believe that the coupe is not a sound vehicle.

 

Thank you again for all you have done, continue to do, and will do to make this deal happen. ***, you are a credit to your profession.

 

Sincerely,

 

*** *****

 

W B M of Arlington

3210 N. 10th Street

Arlington VA 22201

Tel: +***********

Fax: +***********

Email: ******************

Web: www.wbminc.com 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Based on the future effort required by me to dispute the feedback offered by WBM versus the financial benefit of the minimal requested resolution, any positive cost/benefit of my further involvement simply does not exist. 


Regards,

******* *******

10/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from WBM and was told that mats would be purchased for the vehicle since there weren't any in the vehicle. **** added this condition/agreement to the contract. It took them one month to actually purchase the mats. During the month, they found some old, dirty mats which were put in my car until the new mats were ordered. Upon calling to see when the mats would be available, I was told that the mats they thought that the old, dirty mats had been accepted and that there was no need to purchase new mats. I clarified that I did not at all agree to accepting the old, dirty mats and insisted that they comply with the agreement to purchase new mats. After several phone calls and constantly being put off and told that the person who I needed to speak with was unavailable, I was finally told that the mats would be ordered. Approximately one week later I called to check on the status only to find out that the mats had still not been ordered. At that time, I was promised that the mats would be ordered and I would receive a phone call as soon as they were available. During this time, I received a phone call to let me know that my tags were available. Not wanting to make two trips to the dealer, since they are about 45 minutes away from where I live and traffic is always congested during the times that I am able to go, I decided to wait, since I was told that the mats had been ordered and would be available within a few days. After a few days, again, I did not receive the follow-up call as promised, so I called. Had to speak to several people to figure out what was going on with the order. I finally spoke to ***, on the day that my temporary tags were set to expire. I had been told that *** was responsible for placing orders. He confirmed that the mats had been ordered and should be in that day. In my trying to explain that I needed to come and pick up the mats and my tags by a certain time that day, he began screaming at me and eventually hung up on me. This company lacks professionalism and customer service, they are dismissive and unreliable, when it comes to following-up on what is promised. They don't follow-up on commitments unless it has to do with selling the vehicles and receiving payment. I decided to go later in the day to make sure that I would be able to pick up both the tags and the mats. After all that I had gone through to have the mats ordered and to pick them up, upon receiving them, they were the wrong mats. I repeatedly asked for waterproof mats, quite to the contrary they ordered light grey carpet mats. I am extremely frustrated with this company and the lack of customer service and professionalism. In addition, I initially gave them a $500 check as a deposit that I was told would be held and not deposited until I decided how I wanted to proceed. The check was deposited the same day that I left it with them. I am now stuck with the wrong mats and apparently no care or concern for what I asked for. When I told ***, the sales person that I dealt with that the mats were wrong, he stated that I told him that I wanted carpet mats. I have never had carpet mats in any of my vehicles. I have always had a preference for waterproof mats as they are much easier to clean and maintain.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate getting the mats that I requested that I was told that I would receive.

Business Response: Dear **. ******, 1)       **. ******* purchased her vehicle on August 26th 2013.2)       On August 29th she was given a set of floor mat from a 2012 Lexus RX350 with matching interior. At this point I was under the impression that “all was good, and that **. ******* was satisfied.3)       The next time we heard from **. ******* was on September 19th at 6.57 PM telling us that the floor mats that she had received were not satisfactory.4)       On September the 20th we ordered the floor mats from Lexus, and were advised that they would be arriving on Thursday September the 26th. We called the customer, and informed her of the approximate delivery time. In addition we informed her that we are depending on “Lexus” to make the delivery, and that at times there are delays that are beyond our control.5)       On Wednesday the 25th **. ******* called at 12.05 , and demanded the floor mats, I informed her that we were promised the floor mats on Thursday, however I would check with Lexus if there was a chance that they arrive earlier I would make special arrangements.6)       After calling Lexus I called **. ******* at 12.07. She was very irritated and would not allow me to explain that “Lexus” had not received their delivery as of that moment; however they may be able to update me at 1.30 PM. I even told her that in the event that the floor mats were on that delivery, I would send a person to pick them up. (Remember this is one day prior to the promised date).7)       Between 12.07, and 12.17 there were many other phone calls, during which I informed **. ******* that I had already dispatched a delivery person to wait at Lexus, and in the event that her Floor mats had arrived there would not be any time wasted and that she would have them by 2.00 PM. However I also informed her again that I could not promise that the Floor mats would be in that delivery.8)       At 12.20 **. ******* called again, and started to be even more aggressive, at which point I informed her that I would no longer be the subject of such abuse especially when she would not allow me to explain the steps we had taken in order to gain her satisfaction. Again she did not allow me to speak, and I found it useless to continue the conversation, and hung up.9)       At 12.50 “***” our sales representative left a voice mail for **. ******* that our delivery person was at Lexus, and waiting for the delivery to arrive.10)    At 12.55 **. ******* called “***” back and informed her that she was going to call the “BBB”.11)    At 1.05 she had found my home phone number, and had called my wife, and complained that I had hung up the telephone on her. (A 25 minute conversation).12)    At 1.20 the floor mats had been delivered to our dealership. At this point *** called her, and I had emailed her that the floor mats had already arrived.13)    Though **. ******* was in a rush to receive her floor mats no latter then 2.00 PM, she arrived at the dealership at 5.45 PM.  I believe that we have gone out of our way to satisfy **. *******. As for the all-weather floor mats, they cost significantly less than the one we have gotten for her, and more important, there is no wait period for them. Had **. ******* clarified this to me on the many conversations we had, and possibly allowed for a 2 way conversation a lot of these miscommunications would have been avoided? Still we would like to assist her. We ask that she returns the floor mats that were purchased for her on the 25th of September (UN-USED). We will simply return them and get the “Rubber” mats. Kind regards,  *** ***** W B M of Arlington**** ** **** *************** ** *****Tel: +1**********Fax: +***********Email: ******************Web: www.wbminc.com 

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/4/12 purchased car. Not informed car was a "LEMON". Several attempts to repair car. Contacted dealer, dealer was to take car back as a trade-in. Towed car to shop for dignoses of problem (Bad Engine - $7000 to repair). Informed dealer of problem and costs. No response. Need dealer to work out payment arrangement for repairs. No Response.

Desired Settlement: Dealer pay for all repairs and storage fees.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******, *** and ***. ***** purchased their 2001 Jaguar on August 4th 2012, on an (AS/IS) basis. Even though the vehicle had been sold to them on an (AS/IS) basis, and we have many large signs in our offices, advising clients that we do not “guarantee” MD inspection, on August 16th we still assisted the “*****s” with the cost of some minor items that were needed in order to pass MD inspection. The first time we heard of any trouble with the engine of their vehicle was on March 13th2013. Even though the vehicle had been sold over “7” months earlier, and there were no warranties on the vehicle, we still tried to offer assistance on the matter by asking *** and ***. ***** to please provide us with contact information for the repair facility, and a copy of their diagnostics. After two weeks we had still not received any information on the repair facility, nor was there a copy of their diagnostics provided. On April 4th I finally took it up on myself to send the “*****s” an email requesting the same information (please check the emails exchange below). To date I still don’t have any of the information we have been requesting in order to see if we can be of help.   Attached are copies of the documentation signed at the time of sale (August 4th 2012) advising them that the vehicle was sold on an (As/Is) basis. Also you will note that after the sale as a “good will” gesture we paid for a tire.  It is WBM’s policy to allow clients to have our vehicles checked by their own service facility prior to purchase; this is advertised on our website, 2 36 inch x48 inch signs in our offices, and all of our online advertisements. We are still able to offer *** and ***. ***** assistance, however all that we ask of them is to send us information on the repair facility, and a copy of the repair estimate of ($7000.00) for a vehicle that was purchased for ($8995.00). After we receive this information, we will verify their findings, and try to assist them. I do not believe we are asking for too much, given the facts. Very kind regards,   *** ***** * * * ** ************* ** **** *************** ** 2******** **************** ****************** ********************** ************** ;       ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. To provide you with that information is not a problem. However, we are getting mixed messages. First, we were told the car would be used as a trade in and asked to submit an application. We did that.Second, we were told by ****, in his most pleasant voice, to come in on Thursday and take a look at the cars we had suggested to him would be of interest and were basically in the same price range. We were under the impression that the car would be used as a trade-in, based on that information we arranged to have the car towed to your lot which would have been in conjunction with us meeting with **** on Thursday.  Made sense to me, based on the information we had been told.  Just before leaving home to meet with ****, we decided to call and let him know we were on the way. To our surprise and disappointment, we were informed by **** that there was no financing, don't bring the car to the lot, don't bring the car to the repair shop which was a complete departure from the impression we had.**** called on Friday (4/5/13) and informed us that there was no financing available and we would have to bear the cost of the car repairs.So, help us understand exactly what the situation is. I would prefer any future communications concerning this matter come directly from you. Today is Saturday; I am just reading your e-mail after 8pm, so the repair shop is closed. I will contact them on Monday to get the information for you, however, it remains a mystery what assistance you are offering. -----Original Message-----
From: *** ***** ********************
To: ********** ********************
Cc: '******* ******* ***************** ***************** **** ********************** ********** ***********************
Sent: Fri, Apr 5, 2013 5:57 pm
Subject: RE: (14493) *****Dear *** and ***. *****, I had asked **** to ask you for a copy of the “diagnostics” from the repair shop and the repair shop phone number in order to see if there was some sort of assistance we could offer on this issue. As of yet we have not receive neither the document nor the information about the service facility. Please forward the information to the fax number below and we will see how we can be of assistance.   *** ***** * * * ** ************* ** **** *************** ** ********* **************** ****************** ********************** ************** ;

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:



From: ********* ***** ********************
Date: Thu, Jun 6, 2013 at 10:35 AM
Subject: Complaint No. *******
To: info@mybbb.org


Dear *** ******: Thank you for your assistance in resolving this car issue with Washington Blvd Motors.  I have read their recent response and am hopeful that an amicable agreement can reached in getting the car repaired. I have faxed to WBM the information requested to resolve this issue.  We appreciate *** *****'s commitment to reaching an agreement on the repairs.It remains our belief that the vehicle was sold to us with known defects at the time of the sale that were not disclosed by WBM. In particular, the engine problems that exist. Worth noting is no car fax report was provided to us at the time of purchase although we had requested one. We were told at that time that WBM does not provide car fax reports by our salesman. We now realize that was not exactly the truth. In response to *** *****'s reference to the generous act of WBM in purchasing a tire, he inadvertently left out the circumstances which prompted WBM to do so. On 8/13/12 we returned the car to WBM for a cancellation of the sale in accordance with the legal rights described in the WBM Buyer's Order "For Sales Involving Dealer Arranged Financing".(Copy Attached) See letter dated 8/4/12 from American Credit Acceptance.  The financing arranged by WBM had not been approved. *** ***** immediately interceded and personally called the finance company to push through the financing (See letter datedW 8/14/12 from ******** ****** **********) We had already replaced three tires on the car to pass the state inspection. However, on 8/12/12 the one remaining original tire on the car caused a near fatal accident when it blew out. We had made *** ***** aware of this incident and WBM replaced the tire. We had also on several occasions made our salesman, **** *******, aware there were other problems with the electrical system - convertible roof not working, seats not adjusting, all to no avail. We remained however willing to correct these problems over time at our own expense.At present, however, we have a more pressing and serious issue that we need WBM to act upon, which is the engine replacement repair costs (Parts & Labor). The repair shop is being extremely kind to us by not charging storage fees. The car has been with them for over 3 months. We have had to cancel the car insurance since the car is not operating. We have continued to pay a car note on a vehicle we can't use and being faced with a repair bill that is far out of our reach. We need a speedy resolution to this situation to avoid bankruptcy.*** **** Jaguar has the car and willing to repair the car. *** **** is rated A+ by the BBB and we have the highest confidence that their repair service is the best. They have over 20 years in the business and specialize in the Jaguar make. We have no reason to doubt their analysis of the car problem that exists. We believe *** **** is an honorable company and we welcome WBM to contact them concerning their diagnosis of the issues.It remains our hope that *** ***** is sincere in his desire to rectify this unfortunate situation.  Thank You ********* ** ***** Attachments

Regards,

********* *****








Business Response:

Dear *** ******, I want to apologize for the delay in my response. *** ***** is not in the office until next month and I will be the one answering this email, I will respond the best I can. 1. Prior to selling the car to the customer we, Washington Blvd Motors, did not have a Carfax account. However, we encouraged the customer to make their own diagnostics of the vehicle through their own means. Attached is the dealership’s form of “USED VEHICLE DISCLOSURE AND WAIVER”.2.  All of our customers are given the opportunity to have our vehicles checked out prior to purchase, it is stated on our website, on signs in our offices, and our advertisements such as **** ****** which is where **** ***** saw the vehicle.3. It is WBM’s policy to allow clients to have our vehicles checked by their own service facility prior to purchase; this is advertised on our website, 2 36 inch x48 inch signs in our offices, and all of our online advertisements.4.**** ***** has Purchase a vehicle that originally sold for $74355.00 in 2001, and advertised for $9995.00 for $7995.00. They received a $2000.00 discount on August of 2012. The first time she contacted us with any issues with the engine was on April 4th of 2013, demanding for a $7100.00 repair.We told them they can returned the vehicle if the finance did not go thru or approve them, then we can offer any help to get the car back, not after several months of the purchase date.5.We stated that this vehicles are sold on “As Is” basis, which means that WBM will not be responsible for any repairs. As I have provided previously to you the customer was fully advised of this fact both in verbally and in written format. Furthermore, the issue with the failure engine came up about 6 months after **** ***** purchased the vehicle.6. Previously we stated, If **** ***** arranges for the vehicle to be dropped off at our facility, we can offer to repair, or replace the engine. **** ***** would pay $4500.00, and WBM will pay for the balance. She will have to leave a $2500.00 deposit in the event that the **** **** ******” diagnostics are correct, and an engine is needed.  Of course she will need to notify us in advance. We hope to have a resolution with the customer in the near future. Kind Regards, ******* *******Funding Assistant W B M of Arlington**** * **** *************** ** ******* ************ *** ***** ************************************************

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: We have provided all the information requested by WBM to make an amicable offer for the necessary repairs on the car. The offer made by WBM is not amicable, in fact it would be in excess of the repair quote provided by *** **** ******. We have made an amicable counter offer to WBM to resolve the repair issues by obsorbing some of the costs in an effort to move forward and close this matter. WBM, however, has continued to avoid a specific response to our concerns relative to the car being a "lemon" and knowingly selling us the car with the engine problems that existed at the time of the sale which we were not informed about prior to the sale  In addition, they have neglected to respond in a timely manner through the BBB channels to resolve this issue and provide the documents we previously requested.  Our request to communicate directly with *** ***** has been ignored, and WBM has made no attempt to settle this issue based upon the amicable offer we made.  Instead, WBM has re-sent to BBB a copy of their previous response which requests us to bear all costs for the repairs, towing, storage fees, and total costs for an engine replacement while they take no responsibility for their deceptive actions.  This is no good will offer. In addition, considering our dealings with WBM, they could not be trusted to repair the car in an operable condition. If they were able to do so, the car would never have been sold to us in the condition it was in. Mr. Dennis, please provide me with the next steps in this process since it appears WBM is not willing to make an amicable offer which would be beneficial to both parties and to continue to send copies of previous responses which have been rejected tends to create a continued circle. The basic question: Is WBM going to take responsibility and pay *** **** ****** to replace the engine? Simple Yes or No.  If yes, WBM can proceed to make arrangements directly with *** **** ****** to replace the engine and our offer to obsorb the labor costs still stand.  If no, lets go on to the next step, but please no continued circles. We look forward to a speedy response and the documents previously requested of WBM.

Thank You   


Regards,

********* *****







1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service