BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Star Auto Mall, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Star Auto Mall, LLC include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Star Auto Mall, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated 11/23/2009 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sunjay Sharma, President Mr. Harry Patel, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sunjay Sharma, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • 3730 Nazareth Pike

    Bethlehem, PA 18020

  • 475 Main Street- Repair Shop

    Freemansburg, PA 18017

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, 5/22/15, I purchased a 2015 **** **** pickup truck from STAR AUTO MALL. I paid cash, in full. On my way home ( I live 85 miles away,) I realized that the radio and the display were not working. Two days later I took the truck to an Audio specialist and was told that it needed a new radio. I purchased a radio from * *** and received it about a week later. Upon replacing the radio, we saw that the inside of the dash was covered in fine dust and all dash brackets were completely rusted. This prompt me to take a closer look at the truck. I discovered that the truck's undercarriage was completely covered in a wet, sticky kind of mud Silt. When the silt was removed, all bare metal surfaces had excessive rust. The drive shaft, U joints, front lower control arms, steering knuckles and brake backing plates were seriously pitted. I called the Dealer and talked to Jee (?) about the warranty. I was told it only covers "motor, rear and transmission". Following, I found that the pad on the floor of the cab, under the factory's rubber mat, was soaking wet, the floor was rusting and full of sand. The truck's wire harnesses, running inside the R & L rocker panels, were wet, full of sand and deteriorating. The lower part of the truck had been painted to cover the rust. The vehicle shows every sign of having been submerged. Again, I contacted the Dealer and spoke with Chelsea about the problem. Nothing happened. Called, again, the next day and was promised that Mr. Jimmy S***, the owner, would get back to me. A day later I called again. Then, I e-mailed a letter and photos explaining and showing the problem with the floor. Chelsea said, she would forward the e mail to Mr. Sing and that he would call me. Some days later, I was referred to Mr. EMMET O*****, general sales manager. Mr. O***** was very busy and would call me before 5pm. At 5pm Mr. O***** called but could not find my photos so, he would have to call back next day Saturday or Monday 6/15 at the latest. Monday 6/15 at 10:30am I called Mr. O***** and was told that he was waiting for Mr. S*** to arrive around 11am. I called at 3:30pm, Mr. O***** informed me that after talking with Mr. S***, they had agreed that the conditions I had described were "normal ware" for a pickup truck and, therefore they were not about to do anything about it!! When I purchased the truck, I was told that it had been bought at the ******* Auto Auction. Vehicles sold at Dealers auctions must announce all defects to the prospective Dealer/Buyers. The buyers are given the opportunity to examine the vehicles they purchased and, if any defects are found, to place the vehicle in "ARBITRATION" where the selling Dealer would have to negotiate with the Dealer/buyer. There is no way that STAR, and Mr. S*** in particular that does the buying, did not know of the truck's condition. That is, probably, the reason they did not even ask to see the truck before giving me their answer.

Desired Settlement: Star Auto Mall claim that they are a straight and honest used car Dealer. They should prove it by taking care of this problem.

Consumer Response: Dear *** *****,
Thank you for your quick response.
I was contacted by  STAR AUTO MALL this morning and Mr. Jerry S**** offered to settle the problem by reimbursing me $12,500.
I have spent 0ver $600 on the truck and over 30 hours of labor trying to clean it up. 
So, very reluctantly, I accepted their offer, returned the truck to them this afternoon and received a check for $12,500.
One of their mechanics removed the new radio that I had installed and gave it back to me. I had left the old radio in the truck. 
Mr. S**** tried, unsuccessfully, to persuade me that it was not their fault and that "sometimes it happens".
I want to warn all prospective customers of this establishment to be very aware! 
It is certain that, were it not for your involvement I would be in trouble.
Thank you again for you assistance , I appreciate all your help.
 
**** **********  

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 ****** ******* 2.5i Hatchback from this dealership on February 21, 2015. I was told that the cars sold on this lot go through 3 different inspection processes prior to being considered "passed inspection" with a sticker put on. The car I purchased had the necessary inspections done I was told. The car had 65,700 (roughly, numbers can be corrected to exact if needed) miles on it prior to my purchase. On Sunday March 8th, only 2 weeks after the purchase of the vehicle and not even 500 miles put on the car, I am now left to foot the bill of a $1,000+ dollar repair bill for a clutch system that was said to be "good" during inspection because it is said to be normal "wear and tear". I am aware that the warranty i purchased does not cover certain wear and tear items and the problem i am having more lies with the Star Auto Mall llc themselves. I have tried to ask for the inspection records that were done on the vehicle in January prior to purchase and I am told I have no legal right to see them which I can't see how that is possible. I understand that cars have problems and things can happen but when they are denying me documents about my vehicle and given me no staight forward answer except "it is what it is" from there service manager himself i do not see a trustworthy sale or company in Star Auto Mall. In addition to this complaint about the physical caliber of the cars status when i bought the vehicle, I would also like to bring to your attention that somehow during the course of my personal information collection during purchase my personal information clearly has been put into jeopardy once in the hands of Star Auto Mall llc. Unknowingly to me until my warranty information was sent to me in the mail and along came an extra package with another customers name on it, but my address. Somehow Star Auto Mall has my personal home address, along with who knows what else could have been mixed up, set for a complete strangers car warranty. Mistake or not, I cannot know how much of my personal information was compromised considering they have paystub records, my social security number, etc. Thank you, **** ********

Desired Settlement: Compensation for the repair bill that was paid out of my pocket less than 2 weeks after buying the vehicle

Business Response:

Hello,

This is in response to the letter you sent regarding **** ******** complaint referencing that Star Auto Mall being liable for damages on the vehicle after purchase. Please note with my talks with ****, it's is was clearly mentioned that Star Auto mall is not liable for the damages on a car beyond what is stated on the warranty. We have respectfully addressed this further by having our lawyer look into this legal mater and will communicate directly with ** ********. Hope this is resolved respectfully and in a timely manner.

Thanks,

Star Auto Mall


3/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was pre-approved for a 2009 **** *******, I traded in my ***** ******** and paid the downpayment as agreed. I drove 89 miles to pick up the vehicle. I had the car for 26 days and I had still not heard from the company as to where to send my payment. I called them to inquire about the payment address and was told there was an issue with the finance company. At this point they told me they were having an issue with financing the car, but would call me back with the address shortly. I waited a week and called again. During this second call they informed me that they would be coming to pick the car up as they could not find approved financing. I begged them not to take my car as it was the only mode of transportation I had and I was 9 months pregnant. They threatened to call the police on me if I did not bring them the vehicle. I informed them that I was having a high risk pregnancy and would not be able to bring them the car so they agreed to come and pick it up. They sent three men in the middle of the night to pick up the ****. I asked them when and how I would get the car I traded in back and they stated that once they receive their vehicle and due a damage inspection on it, they would send me my title via mail and I could pick the ***** back up. I waited over a month for the title in the mail and then had to find transportation to go and get the ********. Then once I received the title back I had to pay to reregister the car I had already owned. During the reregistration process the notary had to contact star auto mall and ask what exemption to use as I did not purchase the vehicle I received it back. They informed her to use exemption 0, which does not exist so the title was rejected by the DOT. I had to then drive to ********** over 60 miles away to take care of the issue. I then had to pay again to redo the title and drive another 89 miles to ****** PA to a **** ******** agency to finally have the title done right. I then had to wait another month to get the new title.

Desired Settlement: I would like the fees for the reregistration costs of $187.50. I have forwarded all of the receipts to ***** at star auto who assured me he could take care of the costs. After waiting 2 weeks for a response from him I began to call him daily. I finally got him on the phone today 2/17/14 and was told they are refusing to repay my costs.

Business Response: Hello,

Please note that the complaint submitted with Ref # *******, was not fairly documented, This customer had taken our car and put 4000 miles before returning it back to us and took his trade in car back. We did not charge him for the extra miles put on the car with 4000 X 0,5 =$2000. As the title for the trade in was changed to Star Auto Mall, and when we returned the title, he had to flip the title back to his name. So the charge disputed on this is not valid. We tried to call the customer 2x and left voice mail to discuss this, Please feel free with any questions,

Star Auto Mall Date- 03-15-214

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased vehichle from star two months ago,they promised to fix the interior paneling for me. They failed to keep their promise. I went back to remind them and they said they will contact me in a week. Have not heard anything from them. I now have some issues with the vehichle that is still under warranty and they r giving me the run around. Very dissatisfied with the way they are handling my issues. I will never refer amyone to them again!

Desired Settlement: For them to follow thru with their promise and keep customers satisfied.

Business Response: The above mentioned complaint has been resolved completely, customer is satisfied as we paid all the technical necessary expenses for the car (shocks, liner etc).

Thanks

Star Auto Mall Management


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Star Auto Mall, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart