BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Star Auto Mall, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 237-5139 View Additional Phone Numbers 3730 Nazareth Pike, Bethlehem, PA 18020 http://www.starautoonline.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Star Auto Mall, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Star Auto Mall, LLC include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Star Auto Mall, LLC include:

  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 27, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated: 11/23/2009 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sunjay Sharma, President Mr. Harry Patel, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sunjay Sharma, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • 3730 Nazareth Pike

    Bethlehem, PA 18020

  • 475 Main Street- Repair Shop

    Freemansburg, PA 18017

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 419-3222(Phone)
  • (610) 419-9876(Phone)
  • (877) 638-8606(Phone)
  • (610) 419-1550 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was pre-approved for a 2009 **** *******, I traded in my ***** ******** and paid the downpayment as agreed. I drove 89 miles to pick up the vehicle. I had the car for 26 days and I had still not heard from the company as to where to send my payment. I called them to inquire about the payment address and was told there was an issue with the finance company. At this point they told me they were having an issue with financing the car, but would call me back with the address shortly. I waited a week and called again. During this second call they informed me that they would be coming to pick the car up as they could not find approved financing. I begged them not to take my car as it was the only mode of transportation I had and I was 9 months pregnant. They threatened to call the police on me if I did not bring them the vehicle. I informed them that I was having a high risk pregnancy and would not be able to bring them the car so they agreed to come and pick it up. They sent three men in the middle of the night to pick up the ****. I asked them when and how I would get the car I traded in back and they stated that once they receive their vehicle and due a damage inspection on it, they would send me my title via mail and I could pick the ***** back up. I waited over a month for the title in the mail and then had to find transportation to go and get the ********. Then once I received the title back I had to pay to reregister the car I had already owned. During the reregistration process the notary had to contact star auto mall and ask what exemption to use as I did not purchase the vehicle I received it back. They informed her to use exemption 0, which does not exist so the title was rejected by the DOT. I had to then drive to ********** over 60 miles away to take care of the issue. I then had to pay again to redo the title and drive another 89 miles to ****** PA to a **** ******** agency to finally have the title done right. I then had to wait another month to get the new title.

Desired Settlement: I would like the fees for the reregistration costs of $187.50. I have forwarded all of the receipts to ***** at star auto who assured me he could take care of the costs. After waiting 2 weeks for a response from him I began to call him daily. I finally got him on the phone today 2/17/14 and was told they are refusing to repay my costs.

Business Response: Hello,

Please note that the complaint submitted with Ref # *******, was not fairly documented, This customer had taken our car and put 4000 miles before returning it back to us and took his trade in car back. We did not charge him for the extra miles put on the car with 4000 X 0,5 =$2000. As the title for the trade in was changed to Star Auto Mall, and when we returned the title, he had to flip the title back to his name. So the charge disputed on this is not valid. We tried to call the customer 2x and left voice mail to discuss this, Please feel free with any questions,

Star Auto Mall Date- 03-15-214

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased vehichle from star two months ago,they promised to fix the interior paneling for me. They failed to keep their promise. I went back to remind them and they said they will contact me in a week. Have not heard anything from them. I now have some issues with the vehichle that is still under warranty and they r giving me the run around. Very dissatisfied with the way they are handling my issues. I will never refer amyone to them again!

Desired Settlement: For them to follow thru with their promise and keep customers satisfied.

Business Response: The above mentioned complaint has been resolved completely, customer is satisfied as we paid all the technical necessary expenses for the car (shocks, liner etc).

Thanks

Star Auto Mall Management

4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I purchased a 2011 Misubishi Galant from Star Auto Mall on Januay 4, 2013, since then I have two complaints about them. My sales person was ****. On a final walk thur of the car the key was left in the door as something they do there. And **** walk by and broke the key off the Key Fab. Because all paperwork was sgined I was stuck with the car and a broken key. **** said he would get me another key in a week and he super glue the broken key together. Well, the first week went by and I got a call but it wasn"t for the key as told. I was asked to stop in, when I got there I was told about how the sale guy misrepresented the loan cmpany but saying the car had more things then it did (leather seat, better sound). **** then told me that I would have to split the diffence that the loan company wouldn"t pay with them. Total was $550 I was to pay $275. I did go along with it till I got the loan paper work and I called my loan company to ask about the $275 payment cause it wasnt on any of the paperwork I got. The loan company told me that they weren't aware of any payment that Star Auto Mall was at fault for the misrpresenting of the car but that was not on me. After that Star Auto Mall called me to tell they were going to repo the car if I didn't pay. But when I asked about the key I was hung up on. After all that my wife was able to get Mitsubishi to trasferr the remaining warranty. So I didn't need the ******* *** warranty the sale guy **** told I need. My wife called ******* *** to cancel the plan. She was told that a downpayment of $333.90 would be refunded but that they conpany was only able to refund $144.90 that the rest $189 was sale tax in our state and I would need to contact Star Auto Mall for it. I did try to called them and was put on hold a bunch of times till hung up on. At this time I have got the $144.90 from ******* ***. Have not be able to talk to anyone from Star Auto Mall.

Desired Settlement: I would a check for $189. Either the key and fab or the money to buy a key and fab, plus to have it cut at ***** Mitsubishi. When I look in to key prices I found $100-$130 plus $25 for the cut. I would like everything mail to me.

Business Response: See attachment.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, the business did send me a check $189 for the replacement key, but there was nothing about the sale tax that should be return to me for the canceling of the vehicle one warranty. 


Regards,

**** *****

12/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues